Sources Sought
RFI - Turnkey Industrial Plant Systems & Support (TIPSS) (HAFB)
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summaryRequest for information (RFI), solicitation FA8227-27-RFI-TIPSS: the Air Force's Ogden Air Logistics Complex (OO-ALC) at Hill Air Force Base, Utah, asks industry about a possible future contract. It would cover turnkey Depot Industrial Plant Equipment (DIPE: heavy shop equipment such as test stands and paint booths) plus engineering services. Responses are information only, not offers; the response due date is November 24, 2026, 5:00 PM Mountain. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of the Air Force who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Request for information (RFI), solicitation FA8227-27-RFI-TIPSS: the Air Force's Ogden Air Logistics Complex (OO-ALC) at Hill Air Force Base, Utah, asks industry about a possible future contract. It would cover turnkey Depot Industrial Plant Equipment (DIPE: heavy shop equipment such as test stands and paint booths) plus engineering services. Responses are information only, not offers; the response due date is November 24, 2026, 5:00 PM Mountain.
Who can bid
- A small business set-aside is being considered for the future competition (the NAICS code is expected to be 541330, Engineering Services). Nothing is set aside yet, and SAM.gov lists no set-aside.
- Adequate financial resources, or the ability to obtain them, to cover significant up-front equipment costs, with evidence you meet FAR 9.104-1(a)
- Some engineering staff may need security clearances, and experience with government badging and access to restricted and controlled areas will be required
How to submit: Email to both Shawna Dudis (shawna.dudis@us.af.mil) and Travis Dean (travis.dean@us.af.mil). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: Large up-front financial outlays. The contractor would buy and deliver equipment before being paid, so a small business needs cash or credit and must show it meets the financial responsibility rule.
- Worth checking: Small business set-aside is only contemplated. The Air Force expects a small business set-aside for the future contract but has not decided, and SAM.gov lists no set-aside; the RFI asks if you are small under NAICS 541330.
- Worth checking: Integrator and cybersecurity experience asked about. The RFI asks if you have run Authority to Operate (ATO) cybersecurity approvals and coordinated several equipment vendors into one turnkey system, which is hard for a firm without that record.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Worth checking: Security clearances and base access. Some staff may need clearances, and the contractor must handle badging and access to restricted areas on the base.
- Minor: Information only, not an offer. Answering does not place you on a contract; a later solicitation, if any, would carry the bidding rules.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- RFI.TIPSS_Final.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Answers to the RFI questions on your size, designations, engineers, cleared staff and past DoD prime contracts
- Details of past work as a prime contractor: contract number, customer, length, number of full-time staff (FTEs), labor categories and services performed
- Whether you have acted as an integrator who delivered equipment and services together as one turnkey solution
- Whether you have done Authority to Operate (ATO: formal approval for a system to run on DoD networks) cybersecurity work for equipment
- Evidence that you can meet the financial resources test in FAR 9.104-1(a) (Federal Acquisition Regulation: the government's buying rules)
- Optional extra feedback, insights and recommendations
- Place of performance
- Hill Air Force Base, UT, USA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- November 24, 2026, 5:00 PM Mountain
- How to submit
- Email to both Shawna Dudis (shawna.dudis@us.af.mil) and Travis Dean (travis.dean@us.af.mil)
What to include when you submit
- Send the response to both email addresses listed.
- For each past prime contract, give the contract number, customer, contract length, number of FTEs, NAICS code, labor categories and a summary of services.
- Say whether the work was services, supplies or both, and separate work done by your own employees from work done by subcontractors.
- Extra feedback, insights and recommendations are welcomed.
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The RFI says this is a potential upcoming requirement and asks about your past DoD prime contracts for similar services.
Not in the notice text
- Contract type, contract length, number of awards and dollar value are not stated.
- The future solicitation's set-aside, evaluation method and dates are not stated.
- The number of full-time staff and the clearance levels needed are not stated.
- Page limits and file format for responses are not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- FA8227 AFSC OL H Pzim, Hill AFB, UT
- Product/service code
- R425 · Support – Professional: Engineering/Technical
- Business type
- Engineering, architecture & research (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541330)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice