Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Government-Owned, Contractor-Operated (GOCO) Fuel Services at NAWS China Lake, California
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs: firms owned by veterans with service-connected disabilities) can bid on this set-aside. Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Energy, for Naval Air Weapons Station (NAWS) China Lake, wants a contractor to run and maintain its Government-owned jet fuel facilities in California. The base period is March 1, 2027 to February 28, 2031, plus a five-year option and up to six more months. Pricing is firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs), quoted as a monthly price. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 13, 2026. It moves the due date from Oct 2, 2026 to Nov 9, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 4 of 16 attachments weren't read (SF-30_Amendment_0002 PWS change.pdf, Attachment VIII EQAPs Redacted.pdf and 2 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs: firms owned by veterans with service-connected disabilities) can bid on this set-aside. Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Energy, for Naval Air Weapons Station (NAWS) China Lake, wants a contractor to run and maintain its Government-owned jet fuel facilities in California. The base period is March 1, 2027 to February 28, 2031, plus a five-year option and up to six more months. Pricing is firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs), quoted as a monthly price.
Who can bid
- Service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB): the requirement is set aside 100% for SDVOSBs
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM: the federal contractor registration)
Things to watch (9)
From the version posted Oct 13, 2026.
- Serious: Only SDVOSBs can bid. The requirement is set aside 100% for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses, so other firms cannot win it.
- Worth checking: Union-based wage determination. The attached Service Contract Act wage determination CBA-2025-264 (Kern County) is based on a union agreement between Olgoonik Worldwide Services, LLC and IAM District 725, Local 25, effective June 1, 2024 through June 1, 2027; employees are to be paid its wages and benefits, which affects your monthly price.
- Worth checking: Facility must stay staffed, with two-hour after-hours response. The facility cannot be left unmanned during its hours of operation, and after-hours calls must be met within two hours, all inside the fixed monthly price.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Contractor supplies refuel trucks. You must provide FAA-compliant aviation refuel trucks with listed features (3000 gallons or more each), a large equipment cost for a small business.
- Worth checking: Cybersecurity clauses listed. The clause list includes DFARS 252.204-7020 (National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) SP 800-171 assessments) and 252.204-7021 (Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) level requirements); check which level applies and whether you hold it.
- Worth checking: Key personnel with resumes. The key positions in PWS Appendix B need alternates and resumes sent to DLA Energy; their required qualifications are in Appendix B, which was not read.
- Worth checking: Use the Amendment 0002 PWS. Two PWS versions are attached; the notice says to base proposals on the Amendment 0002 PWS in Attachment IX.
- Minor: Questions were due Sep 30, 2026. Check the amendments for the agency's answers.
- Minor: Response due date moved to November 9, 2026. Amendment 0005 moved the response due date from October 16, 2026 to November 9, 2026, 5:00 PM; the SF 1449 cover page still shows the original date.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 4 of 16 not read. Show which files.
- Amendment 0005 FE SF30 V1.pdf (read)
- Amendment 0004 FE SF30.pdf (read)
- SF 30 Amendment 0003.pdf (read)
- SF30 0001 Preproposal Dates.pdf (read)
- ATTACHMENT II NAWS China Lake PWS.pdf (read)
- ATTACH V PP References.pdf (read)
- China Lake Request for Proposal.pdf (read)
- Attachment IX - NAWS China Lake FY-26 PWS_ (082726)JP.pdf (read)
- China Lake Synopsis (Combined).pdf (read)
- ATTACHMENT I PPF CHINA LAKE.pdf (read)
- ATTACHMENT VI 2025-264 CBA_Redacted.pdf (read)
- Attachment VII Navy QASP.pdf (read)
- SF-30_Amendment_0002 PWS change.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment VIII EQAPs Redacted.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment III PPQ.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- ATTACH IV PP Consent Form.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Run and maintain the NAWS China Lake fuel facilities: receive, store, handle and issue Government-owned fuel, including F-24 jet fuel, at a 430,000-gallon aboveground tank complex
- Keep fuel quality, inventory counts and accounting for multiple grades of product, including routine sampling and testing, under DLA Energy directives
- Do all operator, preventive and recurring maintenance on fuel facilities, systems and equipment
- Staff the facility with a trained, cross-trained workforce per an approved staffing plan, never leaving it unmanned during hours of operation, with after-hours response within two hours
- Provide FAA-compliant aviation refuel trucks (3000 gallons or more each), in enough number to meet demand even during maintenance downtime
- Write and follow plans: staffing, training, operations, inventory, product quality control, safety, security, environmental and spill, maintenance, contract compliance, property restoration and contingency
- Meet all Department of Defense, Federal, Navy, State and local environmental, safety and security rules
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP): one set monthly price per period
- Period of performance
- Base period (contract line item number (CLIN) 0001: one priced line of the order): 48 months, March 1, 2027 to February 28, 2031. Option period (CLIN 0002): 60 months, March 1, 2031 to February 29, 2036. Plus up to 6 more months under FAR 52.217-8. About 9.5 years in all.
- Place of performance
- NAWS China Lake, CA (SAM.gov lists Ridgecrest, CA, USA)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- The part of the Request for Proposal (RFP) that sets the basis of award and the first evaluation factor(s) was attached but not read. Seen: past performance is rated Acceptable or Unacceptable (no record counts as Neutral, which is Acceptable); price is the total evaluated price. The Government may hold negotiations or award without them.
- Offers due
- November 9, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern
What they'll judge offers on
- Past Performance: recent (at least 12 months of performance within the last three years of the solicitation issue date) and relevant (similar in nature, magnitude and scope to the Performance Work Statement (PWS)); rated Acceptable or Unacceptable; at most three Past Performance Questionnaires (PPQs: forms a past customer fills out about your work) used
- Price (Factor 3): total evaluated price = CLIN 0001 monthly price x 48 months + CLIN 0002 monthly price x 60 months + CLIN 0002 monthly price x 6 months; may be checked for overstated, understated or unrealistic prices and unbalanced option prices
What to include when you submit
- Base your proposal on the Amendment 0002 PWS (Attachment IX, dated August 27, 2026), not the January 22, 2026 PWS (Attachment II)
- Fill in Attachment I, the Price Proposal Form: a monthly price for CLIN 0001 (48 Months) and for CLIN 0002 (60 Months)
- Past performance: send references on Attachment V (past performance reference list); the Government will use no more than three of the most recent and most relevant PPQs. Recent means at least 12 months of performance within the last three years; relevant means similar in nature, magnitude and scope to the PWS
- Acknowledge each amendment (SF 30) before the response due date
- Put your best terms in the first offer; any exception to the solicitation's terms may lead to rejection of the offer in part or in full
After award, you must have
- Contractor personnel must complete a background investigation, at minimum a National Agency Check, before using a computer workstation with access to a government server or entering restricted areas unescorted From Attachment IX - NAWS China Lake FY-26 PWS_ (082726)JP.pdf:
C-2.1.3 Suitability Investigations: Contractor personnel must successfully complete a background investigation…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The attached wage determination rests on a union agreement between Olgoonik Worldwide Services, LLC and IAM District 725, Local 25, for a DLA Energy fuel services contract in Kern County, California; the documents do not say whether that is the current China Lake contract.
Not in the notice text
- The middle of the China Lake Request for Proposal.pdf (141 pages: instructions to bidders, the first evaluation factor(s), most clauses, how and where to send offers) was attached but not read; check the RFP on SAM.gov.
- How to send the offer, and any page limits, are not stated in the parts read.
- Hours of operation and the key personnel qualifications (PWS Appendix A and Appendix B) are in the part of the PWS not read.
- Where and how the September 24, 2026 pre-proposal conference is held, and the RSVP deadline for the new date, are not stated; Amendment 0003 set the RSVP for September 8, 2026.
- Amendment 0002 (the PWS change), Attachment III (PPQ), Attachment IV (past performance consent form) and Attachment VIII (energy quality assurance provisions) are attached but not read.
- Insurance amounts, bonding, the limit on subcontracting for this set-aside, and the required CMMC level are not in the parts read.
- The Government's estimate of the contract value is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 493190
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Aug 31, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- DLA Energy, Fort Belvoir, VA
- Product/service code
- M1GC · Operation of Fuel Storage Buildings
- Business type
- Transportation, logistics & vehicles (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 493190)
- Versions
8 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 13, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 9, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 10, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 16, 2026
- Sep 4, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 16, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 31, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 2, 2026
- Aug 31, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 2, 2026
- Aug 31, 2026 · Amendment 0005 (this version)Due Oct 2, 2026
- Aug 28, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 2, 2026
- Aug 27, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 2, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Government-Owned Contractor Operated (GOCO) Aircraft/Ground Fuel Services and Fuel Storage and Distribution at Cannon AFB, NM, Holloman AFB, NM, Davis Monthan AFB, AZ and Luke AFB, AZThe notice text sets this aside 100% for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB), but SAM.gov says total small business set-aside.
- Solicitation - Fort Hood GOCO Aircraft & Ground Fuel ServicesOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid to run and maintain the Government-owned, contractor-operated (GOCO) fuel facilities at Fort Hood, Texas,…
- DNA Warehousing SupportOnly SBA-certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can send quotes for DNA Warehousing Support (N0017826R2500), a Navy request for quotations at Dam…