Solicitation
Navy Child Development Centers (CDC) Industrialized Construction (IC) Projects via Other Transaction Authority (10 U.S.C. § 2808a)
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryPhase 1 white papers (short written proposals) are due November 6, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern; only vendors short-listed after Phase 1 may send Phase 2 full proposals. NAVFAC Atlantic (Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command) wants commercial vendors to design, build and commission Child Development Centers (CDCs) using industrialized construction (IC): factory-built modular methods. Awards would be other transaction agreements (OTAs), flexible agreements outside the standard federal contracting rules, for 11 centers at Navy sites in California, Virginia, the Washington, DC area, Florida and New Hampshire. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 22, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 15, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 22, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov.
Phase 1 white papers (short written proposals) are due November 6, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern; only vendors short-listed after Phase 1 may send Phase 2 full proposals. NAVFAC Atlantic (Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command) wants commercial vendors to design, build and commission Child Development Centers (CDCs) using industrialized construction (IC): factory-built modular methods. Awards would be other transaction agreements (OTAs), flexible agreements outside the standard federal contracting rules, for 11 centers at Navy sites in California, Virginia, the Washington, DC area, Florida and New Hampshire.
Who can bid (7)
- No set-aside is stated. Phase 1 is open to interested vendors, but only short-listed vendors are invited to Phase 2 and can receive an award.
- Experience: at least three completed industrialized construction commercial projects within the 10 years before the AOI posting date, each totaling at least $25,000,000 (the proposed team's experience may be used).
- Alternative experience: at least three completed Child Development Centers, Elementary Schools or other institutional industrialized construction projects, each over 25,000 square feet.
Show all 7Show fewer
- Bonding capacity for projects of comparable size and complexity, stated in the white paper (specific bonding submission details go to vendors selected for Phase 2).
- Manufacturer name and factory address(es) must be listed in the white paper.
- Vendors without a CAGE code (Commercial and Government Entity code, an ID for federal vendors) must register in SAM.gov if selected for an agreement award.
- A company incorporated outside the United States may take part unless barred by Revolutionary FAR Overhaul (RFO) Part 40.202 prohibitions and Clause 52.240-91, Security Prohibitions and Exclusions.
How to submit: Submit to the three Government points of contact named in the AOI (Anna Sarah Bellinger, Rebecca Douglas, Erin Quimby, whose email addresses are listed there). The AOI does not say how the white paper is sent.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: Two-phase process: Phase 2 is by invitation only. This notice is Phase 1 (white papers, due November 6, 2026). Only vendors short-listed after Phase 1 receive the Phase 2 Request for Project Proposal (RPP) and can price the work; a firm that does not send a white paper is shut out.
- Serious: Three completed projects of at least $25,000,000 each required. Experience must be verified industrialized (factory-built modular) projects from the last 10 years. A small business without this record, or a team that can show it, will likely not be short-listed.
- Serious: Bonding capacity must be stated in the white paper. Vendors describe per-project and aggregate bonding capacity for projects of comparable size; limited surety capacity can sink a small business's white paper.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: Must show 20% or more lower cost. The technical approach must prove design and construction costs fall by 20% or more against traditional commercial construction, with quality and lifecycle performance kept.
- Worth checking: Must show 30% or more faster delivery. The approach must cut design and build timelines by 30% or more, with structures designed, reviewed and approved within 9-12 months, backed by schedule data from comparable projects.
- Worth checking: Follow-on production award without further competition. An agreement awarded under this AOI may lead to a follow-on production award with no new competition, possibly much larger and usable by other organizations. Firms not selected now may not get a later chance.
- Worth checking: Number of agreements and project assignments not set. The Navy has no set plan for how many agreements it will award. Phase 2 will go to multiple short-listed vendors, so a vendor may not be assigned a particular center.
- Minor: Past BR IC portal submissions do not count. A new white paper must be sent under N6247027R0003 even if the firm is already in the Barracks Resilience through Industrialized Construction portal.
- Minor: White paper valid for only 1 year. A white paper stays eligible for 1 year after the due date, with an option to extend to 2 years at the Government's discretion. After that the vendor is no longer eligible for an award under this AOI.
- Minor: Construction and cybersecurity rules apply after award. Awardees must follow the Buy American Act, Davis-Bacon Act, Miller Act and CMMC, among others. No wage determination is attached.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. Show which files.
- Amendment 02 AOI N6247027R0003 - OTA CDC.pdf (read)
- Amendment 01 AOI N6247027R0003 - OTA CDC.pdf (read)
- AOI N6247027R0003 - OTA CDC.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Design, manufacture, ship, assemble, build and commission new Child Development Centers using industrialized construction (volumetric modular, hybrid, and/or Kit of Parts), using the Navy's CDC design standards.
- 11 centers are listed: Naval Base San Diego (CDC, 300 Children, 36,020 SF; Murphy Canyon II CDC Addition, 300 Children, 9,341 SF), NAS Oceana, VA (300 Children, 42,290 SF), NSA Hampton Roads, VA (200 Children, 42,643 SF), Naval Station Norfolk, VA (150 Children, 29,601 SF).
- Also listed: JEB Little Creek-Fort Story, VA (200 Children, 24,317 SF), NSA Washington, DC Area (300 Children, 28,008 SF), Naval Base Coronado, CA (176 Children, 37,083 SF), NAS Jacksonville, FL (475 Children, 33,616 SF), NAWS China Lake, CA (300 Children, 42,000 SF), Portsmouth Naval Shipyard (Pease Tradeport), NH (300 Children, 37,488 SF).
- Count is stated two ways: the AOI refers to OTA 4 as ~324,919 SF and 10 Buildings; Amendment 02 says 11 CDCs are identified and all are intended to be awarded under the OTA.
- Meet or exceed Unified Facility Criteria (UFC) and Whole Building Design Guide (WBDG) standards; other commercial methods may be considered if equivalent or better is proven.
- Show design and build time cut by 30% or more (designs reviewed and approved in 9-12 months) and design and construction cost cut by 20% or more versus traditional commercial construction.
- Vendor keeps responsibility for all Quality Control; Navy personnel keep Quality Assurance. Use a Modular Open Systems Approach with open, standardized interfaces.
- Phase 2 (short-listed vendors only): full proposal with expanded technical approach, rough-order-of-magnitude price and schedule, and data rights/IP assertions; possible pitch session, then negotiation of the agreement.
- Contract type
- Other transaction agreement (OTA) under 10 U.S.C. § 2808a, not a standard federal acquisition contract. Price type is not stated.
- Period of performance
- Not stated with dates; the AOI says responsibilities run "over the next several years".
- Place of performance
- SAM.gov lists none. The AOI lists centers at Naval Base San Diego, CA; NAS Oceana, VA; NSA Hampton Roads, VA; Naval Station Norfolk, VA; JEB Little Creek-Fort Story, VA; NSA Washington, DC Area; Naval Base Coronado, CA; NAS Jacksonville, FL; NAWS China Lake, CA; and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard (Pease Tradeport), NH.
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Contract vehicle
- Other transaction agreement through a two-phase process (Phase 1 area of interest (AOI) white paper, Phase 2 Request for Project Proposal (RPP)).
- How they'll choose
- Phase 1: the Government scores white papers on three criteria and short-lists vendors. Phase 2: best-value evaluation of full proposals, possible pitch sessions, then negotiation with the selected vendor(s).
- Offers due
- November 6, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern (written as 1400 EDT in the AOI) (from the version posted Oct 15, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Submit to the three Government points of contact named in the AOI (Anna Sarah Bellinger, Rebecca Douglas, Erin Quimby, whose email addresses are listed there). The AOI does not say how the white paper is sent.
- Page limits
- White paper: 10 written pages (5 if double sided), 12-point font. Title page and one-page executive summary are excluded.
What they'll judge offers on
- Relevant Experience: verified examples of completed industrialized construction projects (at least three, each totaling at least $25,000,000, within the 10 years before the AOI posting date), the role each key participant performed, prefabricated components delivered and actual cost/schedule savings; preference for managing concurrent projects over $75,000,000 in total and/or similar building types
- Technical Approach: team roles, Pre-Manufactured Value share, cost predictability, 20% or more cost reduction, 30% or more faster delivery
- Vendor Capability: managing design, manufacturing, logistics, construction and commissioning; quality control; factory names and addresses; bonding capacity
What to include when you submit
- Submit a new Phase 1 white paper under AOI N6247027R0003; existing Barracks Resilience through Industrialized Construction (BR IC) portals will not be considered.
- Title page must show Vendor Name, Date, Point of Contact (Name, E-Mail Address, Phone), Vendor Address, and the AOI Number.
- Include a one-page, single-sided executive summary of the proposed technology and approach.
- Relevant experience: describe at least three completed industrialized construction commercial projects within the 10 years before the AOI posting date, each totaling at least $25,000,000; a project with multiple buildings at one location can count; the proposed team's experience can count, showing each participant's role.
- Alternative experience: at least three completed Child Development Centers, Elementary Schools, or other institutional industrialized construction projects exceeding 25,000 square feet each.
- For each project give type and number (and/or percentage) of prefabricated components, modules, pods or panels delivered, total square feet delivered, and actual cost/schedule savings against conventional construction, with both sets of cost assumptions.
- Name who owns factory manufacturing, shipping, storage/staging, set/installation, final MEP connections, site work, foundations and final testing for commissioning and handover, with company name and point of contact.
- Give the estimated Pre-Manufactured Value: the share of the proposed solution manufactured off-site relative to overall construction cost, excluding design and engineering.
- List the manufacturer name and factory address(es), the preferred factory, who directs factory coordination if several factories are used, and a production start date for any new factory.
- Describe current surety support and approximate per-project and aggregate bonding capacity; official surety documents are not required.
After award, you must have
- Awardees must follow the Buy American Act (RFO Part 25.2), Davis-Bacon Act (federal construction wage rules), Miller Act (payment and performance bonds) and Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC, a Defense Department cybersecurity standard); more detail goes to Phase 2 vendors. From AOI N6247027R0003 - OTA CDC.pdf:
Buy American Act, Davis Bacon Act, Miller Act, and…
Not in the notice text
- Phase 2 details are not in this notice: the Request for Project Proposal (RPP), its due date, bonding submission details, pricing format and Buy American determinations go only to short-listed vendors.
- Amendment 02 says more answers to vendor questions and an Interested Parties List will be posted by a future amendment.
- No Government estimate, contract value, or number of awards is stated.
- SAM.gov lists no set-aside and no place of performance, and the AOI states no set-aside.
- No site visit is mentioned and no Davis-Bacon wage determination is attached.
- No period of performance dates or per-center schedules are given.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Submit to the three Government points of contact named in the AOI (Anna Sarah Bellinger, Rebecca Douglas, Erin Quimby, whose email addresses are listed there). The AOI does not say how the white paper is sent. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Navfacsyscom Atlantic, Norfolk, VA
- Product/service code
- Y1JZ · Construction of Miscellaneous Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
4 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 22, 2026 · Amendment 0003Due Nov 6, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Nov 6, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 6, 2026
- Oct 6, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 6, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Sources Sought- Sources Sought & Other Transaction Authority (OTA) Construction for Non-Destructive Testing Facility, Red River Army Depot, TexasThis is a sources sought notice (market research only, no solicitation yet) from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Fort Worth District, for an 8,000 SF non-destructive testing…
- Child Development Center (CDC), Tinker Air Force Base, OklahomaThe U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Tulsa District wants a new single-story Child Development Center at Tinker Air Force Base, Oklahoma, for 228 children from infants to…
- ICD-705 Controlled Spaces Modernization and Sustainment Program - (Progressive Design-build (PDB) Other Transaction Agreement (OTA)The Army Corps of Engineers Far East District is running a sources sought (market research, not a request for offers) on upgrading two buildings at Osan Air Base, Republic of…