Solicitation
Navy Child Development Centers (CDC) Industrialized Construction (IC) Projects via Other Transaction Authority (10 U.S.C. § 2808a)
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryPhase 1 of 2: white papers are due November 6, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern, and only vendors the Navy shortlists will be invited to send full proposals in Phase 2. NAVFAC Atlantic wants factory-built (industrialized construction, or IC) Child Development Centers (CDCs) at 11 Navy projects, awarded as Other Transaction (OT) agreements. An OT is a flexible agreement outside the standard federal contracting rules (the FAR). More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Phase 1 of 2: white papers are due November 6, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern, and only vendors the Navy shortlists will be invited to send full proposals in Phase 2. NAVFAC Atlantic wants factory-built (industrialized construction, or IC) Child Development Centers (CDCs) at 11 Navy projects, awarded as Other Transaction (OT) agreements. An OT is a flexible agreement outside the standard federal contracting rules (the FAR).
Who can bid (4)
- At least three completed IC commercial projects in the 10 years before the AOI posting date, each totaling at least $25,000,000 (the team's experience may count)
- Alternatively, at least three completed Child Development Centers, elementary schools or other institutional IC projects, each over 25,000 square feet
- Ability to get bonding for projects of comparable size and complexity; a brief description of surety support and bonding capacity is needed in the white paper
Show all 4Show fewer
- A vendor without a CAGE code must register in the System for Award Management (SAM) if selected for an agreement award
How to submit: Submit to the Government points of contact named in the Area of Interest (Anna Sarah Bellinger, Rebecca Douglas, Erin Quimby). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
From the version posted Oct 22, 2026.
- Serious: Two-phase process: only shortlisted vendors get Phase 2. Phase 1 is a white paper due November 6, 2026; only vendors short-listed from it receive the Request for Project Proposal (RPP) for Phase 2, so a business that skips Phase 1 is shut out.
- Serious: Heavy past-experience bar. Three completed IC projects of at least $25,000,000 each in the last 10 years is a high bar for a small business; a team or partner's experience may count.
- Serious: Needs a factory-based IC team and bonding capacity. You must name the manufacturer and factory addresses and state per-project and total bonding capacity, so a small firm likely needs a manufacturing partner and a surety.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Not a regular FAR contract. This uses Other Transaction Authority, with no FAR-based source selection or published weighting, and terms are negotiated in Phase 2.
- Worth checking: Required savings: 20% cost and 30% schedule. Vendors must show they can cut design and construction costs by 20% or more and timelines by 30% or more against traditional construction.
- Worth checking: No project budgets released. The Navy is not releasing budgets for individual CDCs, so vendors must build their own parametric (size-and-capacity based) estimates.
- Worth checking: Construction laws apply. Awardees must follow the Buy American Act, the Davis-Bacon Act (set minimum pay for construction workers), the Miller Act (payment protection on construction work) and Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification.
- Minor: Questions were due Oct 27, 2026. Check the amendments for the agency's answers.
- Minor: Follow-on production may skip competition. An OT awarded here may lead to a follow-on production agreement or contract without further competition, possibly for other Department of War organizations.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. Show which files.
- Amendment 03 AOI N6247027R0003 - OTA CDC.pdf (read)
- Amendment 02 AOI N6247027R0003 - OTA CDC.pdf (read)
- Amendment 01 AOI N6247027R0003 - OTA CDC.pdf (read)
- AOI N6247027R0003 - OTA CDC.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Design, manufacture, deliver, build and commission 11 Navy Child Development Centers using industrialized construction (volumetric modular, hybrid or kit of parts)
- Meet or exceed Unified Facilities Criteria (UFC) and Whole Building Design Guide (WBDG) standards, or show equal or better durability and safety
- Cut total design and construction costs by 20% or more compared with traditional commercial construction
- Cut design and build timelines by 30% or more, with designs reviewed and approved in 9 to 12 months
- Run quality control (QC) yourself while Navy staff keep quality assurance
- Use a Modular Open Systems Approach: open, standardized interfaces to speed maintenance and lower lifecycle costs
- Send a white paper (a short qualifications and approach paper) of at most ten pages with a one-page executive summary
- Contract type
- Other Transaction (OT) agreement under 10 U.S.C. § 2808a, not a FAR-based contract; a follow-on production OT or contract may be awarded without further competition
- Period of performance
- Not stated; anticipated completion dates will be set by the final agreement and project packaging. Programmed budget years run from FY 26 to FY30
- Place of performance
- 11 CDC projects at Naval Base San Diego (2), NAS Oceana VA, NSA Hampton Roads VA, Naval Station Norfolk VA, JEB Little Creek-Fort Story VA, NSA Washington DC area, Naval Base Coronado CA, NAS Jacksonville FL, NAWS China Lake CA, and NSS Portsmouth Naval Shipyard (Pease Tradeport) NH
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Contract vehicle
- Other Transaction Authority, 10 U.S.C. § 2808a (Area of Interest N6247027R0003)
- How they'll choose
- Phase 1: the Navy assesses white papers to shortlist vendors; no weighting is given and this is not a FAR-based source selection. Phase 2: full proposals are evaluated for best value, and vendors may be invited to a pitch session
- Offers due
- November 6, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Submit to the Government points of contact named in the Area of Interest (Anna Sarah Bellinger, Rebecca Douglas, Erin Quimby)
- Page limits
- White paper: 10 written pages (5 if double sided), 12-point font, 8.5 x 11-inch pages; title page and one-page executive summary are not counted
What they'll judge offers on
- Relevant Experience: verified completed IC projects, prefabricated content, and actual cost and schedule savings
- Technical Approach: team roles, share of work manufactured off-site, cost predictability, cost cut of 20% or more, timeline cut of 30% or more
- Vendor Capability: managing design, manufacturing, logistics, construction and commissioning; quality control; factory names and addresses; bonding capacity
What to include when you submit
- Title page must show vendor name, date, point of contact (name, email, phone), vendor address and the AOI number N6247027R0003
- Add a one-page, single-sided executive summary of the proposed technology and approach
- Show at least three completed IC commercial projects from the 10 years before the AOI posting date, each totaling at least $25,000,000; one project may have several buildings at a location
- Or show at least three completed CDC, elementary school or other institutional IC projects, each over 25,000 square feet
- State each key team member's role (general contractor, architect/engineer, IC manufacturer, IC set/stitch, onsite non-IC construction) on each example
- For each project give prefabricated components or modules delivered (type and number or percent), total square feet, and actual cost and schedule savings with prefabricated and conventional cost assumptions
- Preference goes to examples whose submitted projects together exceed $75,000,000 and/or are CDCs, elementary schools or similar institutional projects
- Name who owns factory manufacturing, shipping, storage, set/installation, final connections, site work, foundations and final testing, with a company name and point of contact for each
- Give the estimated Pre-Manufactured Value: the percent of construction cost made off-site, excluding design and engineering
- Show how your approach cuts total design and construction costs by 20% or more versus a comparable traditional baseline, with key assumptions, exclusions and cost elements
- Show how your approach cuts timelines by 30% or more, with designs reviewed and approved within 9 to 12 months, using schedule data from comparable projects where available
- List the manufacturer name and factory address or addresses, the preferred factory, and a production start date for any new facility
- Briefly describe your surety support and approximate per-project and aggregate bonding capacity; official surety documents are not required
- Questions go by email to the points of contact by 2:00 PM EDT on October 27, 2026; requests to join the Interested Parties List are due the same day and time
Not in the notice text
- Phase 2 details are not yet given: prototype designs, specifications, bonding submission details, packaging of projects and the Hampton Roads site will come in the Request for Project Proposal, sent to shortlisted vendors
- Budgets for individual CDCs are not released and completion dates are not available
- The set-aside is not stated on SAM.gov or in the documents read
- No site visit is mentioned in the documents read
- The Interested Parties List and answers to further questions will be posted in later amendments
- How many agreements the Navy will award is not set; the number depends on the white paper and Phase 2 evaluations
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Submit to the Government points of contact named in the Area of Interest (Anna Sarah Bellinger, Rebecca Douglas, Erin Quimby). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Navfacsyscom Atlantic, Norfolk, VA
- Product/service code
- Y1JZ · Construction of Miscellaneous Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
4 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 22, 2026 · Amendment 0003 (this version)Due Nov 6, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 6, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 6, 2026
- Oct 6, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 6, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Sources Sought- Sources Sought & Other Transaction Authority (OTA) Construction for Non-Destructive Testing Facility, Red River Army Depot, TexasThis is a sources sought notice (market research only, no solicitation yet) from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Fort Worth District, for an 8,000 SF non-destructive testing…
- Child Development Center (CDC), Tinker Air Force Base, OklahomaThe U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Tulsa District wants a new single-story Child Development Center at Tinker Air Force Base, Oklahoma, for 228 children from infants to…
- ICD-705 Controlled Spaces Modernization and Sustainment Program - (Progressive Design-build (PDB) Other Transaction Agreement (OTA)The Army Corps of Engineers Far East District is running a sources sought (market research, not a request for offers) on upgrading two buildings at Osan Air Base, Republic of…