Sources Sought
DOWEA Preventative Maintenance Demand Maintenance- Puerto Rico IDIQ
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryOnly small business prime contractors are sought: SAM.gov lists this sources sought as a total small business set-aside. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District (W2SD ENDIST NORFOLK) plans a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) IDIQ (indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity: orders placed as needed) contract for preventive and demand maintenance at Department of War Education Activity (DoWEA) schools in San Juan and Aguadilla, Puerto Rico. Capability statements are due by the response due date, November 23, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern. The planned contract is a 12-month base period plus four option years. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of the Army who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Only small business prime contractors are sought: SAM.gov lists this sources sought as a total small business set-aside. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District (W2SD ENDIST NORFOLK) plans a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) IDIQ (indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity: orders placed as needed) contract for preventive and demand maintenance at Department of War Education Activity (DoWEA) schools in San Juan and Aguadilla, Puerto Rico. Capability statements are due by the response due date, November 23, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern. The planned contract is a 12-month base period plus four option years.
Who can bid
- Small business prime contractor under NAICS 238220 (size standard $19,000,000); SAM.gov lists a total small business set-aside.
- Registered in SAM.gov and PIEE (Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment) to submit a proposal when the solicitation is issued.
How to submit: Email to Susan Ellis (susan.k.ellis@usace.army.mil), copying Nicholas Lizotte (nicholas.lizotte@usace.army.mil). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: Small business set-aside. SAM.gov lists this as a total small business set-aside, so only small businesses under NAICS 238220 are being sought as prime contractors.
- Worth checking: $20,000 liability limit per repair event, with no yearly cap on events. The contractor pays materials and labor for each demand maintenance event up to $20,000 under the fixed price, so many repairs can add up.
- Worth checking: Full-time on-site staffing in Puerto Rico. The Government asks what full-time on-site staff and trades you would use, so expect to staff a local team.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Minor: Virtual Industry Day is voluntary. Virtual Industry Day: November 16, 2026, 9:00-10:00 AM Eastern Standard Time. RSVP by email is due November 12, 2026. Attendance is optional for a capability statement.
- Minor: Solicitation timing. The solicitation is expected on or about January 2027 with a proposal due date on or about February 2027; no solicitation or specifications exist yet.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Preventive maintenance (scheduled upkeep) and demand maintenance (repairs when something breaks) at Ft. Buchanan, San Juan and the Ramey Unit School, Aguadilla.
- Operation and maintenance of heating, ventilation and cooling systems, kitchen equipment, facility control systems, playgrounds, plumbing, electrical, fire alarms, building systems and roofs.
- Five buildings: three schools and one support facility at Ft. Buchanan, about 320,870 GSF (gross square feet), and one school at Aguadilla, about 122,539 GSF.
- Services provided on an ongoing basis without protracted lapse.
- Under the firm-fixed-price portion, the contractor covers material and labor for any single demand maintenance event up to a $20,000 limit of liability (LoL).
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) services contract (planned)
- Period of performance
- 12-month base period plus four option years, five years in total (planned)
- Place of performance
- Ft. Buchanan, San Juan and Ramey Unit School, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best-value tradeoff (price and non-price factors) for the solicitation to come
- Offers due
- November 23, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to Susan Ellis (susan.k.ellis@usace.army.mil), copying Nicholas Lizotte (nicholas.lizotte@usace.army.mil)
- Page limits
- Narrative: no longer than five (5) pages
What to include when you submit
- Give company name, address, phone number and point of contact.
- State your business size under NAICS 238220 and give your UEI to verify your status (small business, SDVOSB, HUBZone, 8(a), women-owned or other than small).
- Write a narrative of primary business lines and the geographic regions you serve, showing experience in similar work, at similar contract values, in similar locations.
- Say whether you have the technical capability and capacity, in-house or through subcontractors, to provide the services.
- Suggest the full-time on-site staffing, including the trades and the staff's pertinent certifications and licenses.
Not in the notice text
- The notice says no solicitation, specifications or drawings are available yet, so the full list of facility coverage requirements is not posted.
- Which wage rule applies (for example Davis-Bacon or Service Contract Act wage determinations) is not stated.
- Whether a site visit will be held; only the voluntary virtual Industry Day is mentioned.
- The estimated value of the contract.
- Evaluation factors for the future solicitation beyond best-value tradeoff of price and non-price factors.
Eligibility and how to respond
- If it goes ahead as planned: set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 238220
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- W2SD ENDIST Norfolk, VA
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238220)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Design-Build Repair Storm Sewer Lines at U.S. Coast Guard Base San Juan, Puerto Rico Project Number: PN 15852459The U.S. Coast Guard plans an invitation for bid (IFB, a sealed price bid) set aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) to repair storm sewer lines at…
- SHI Replace Lead Glazed Bathtubs at United States Coast Guard Rio Bayamon Housing Base San Juan, Puerto Rico PNUM 24658602Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) can bid.
- Repair Mechanical Systems IDIQ (FY 27-32)
- IDIQ JOC Total Small-Business Set-Aside for Electrical and Other Wiring Installation Projects at Various Government Facilities Located Within the Marine Corps Logistics Base Barstow, Marine CoThe Navy (NAVFAC Southwest) is seeking small businesses for an indefinite delivery indefinite quantity (IDIQ) job order contract (JOC: a contract for many small construction jobs…
- Facility Enhancement and Maintenance IDIQSmall businesses only: the Air Force's 628th Contracting Squadron seeks a target of two firms for a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per item) indefinite-delivery,…