Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Scanner Ultrasonic Ocular
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryNo set-aside: the Army (Project Manager Maneuver Medical Systems, under Portfolio Acquisition Executive Maneuver Ground) wants prototype ultrasonic eye scanners through a direct Other Transaction (OT) agreement, which is not a standard federal contract. It plans two awards and four prototype devices (the price table shows 2 EA, so the quantity is unclear), over 12 months. Proposals are due November 3, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern (an amendment moved it to Nov 12, 2026, 5:00 PM EST). More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 27, 2026. It moves the due date from Nov 3, 2026 to Nov 12, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 22, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. The due date moved from Nov 3, 2026 to Nov 12, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov.
No set-aside: the Army (Project Manager Maneuver Medical Systems, under Portfolio Acquisition Executive Maneuver Ground) wants prototype ultrasonic eye scanners through a direct Other Transaction (OT) agreement, which is not a standard federal contract. It plans two awards and four prototype devices (the price table shows 2 EA, so the quantity is unclear), over 12 months. Proposals are due November 3, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid (6)
- Offer a product cleared by the FDA for human use: a 510(k) clearance if it is a Class II device, or FDA registration if Class I
- Trade Agreements Act (TAA) compliant system, accessories and repair parts, made in the United States or a TAA-designated country, with a signed TAA certificate
- Registered in SAM.gov when the proposal is submitted
Show all 6Show fewer
- State whether you are a Nontraditional Defense Contractor (NDC) and give support; if no party qualifies, at least one-third of the total cost must come from non-Federal sources for the Government to proceed
- At least two relevant past contracts or commercial sales of ultrasonic ocular scanner systems
- Handle Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) under NIST SP 800-171 (the federal standard for protecting sensitive unclassified data); no security clearance is needed to propose
How to submit: DoD SAFE (Secure Access File Exchange) file transfer or secure email to Michael James, Agreements Officer, with a copy to Matt McNeely, Agreements Specialist, due November 3, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: Needs an FDA-cleared, TAA-compliant device that already exists. The Army wants an off-the-shelf device needing little or no change; a firm without a cleared, TAA-compliant scanner cannot meet the minimum, and developmental items will be rated unfavorably or excluded.
- Worth checking: Other Transaction agreement, not a FAR contract. Terms, data rights and payment follow a negotiated agreement rather than standard federal contract rules, so read the whole request for prototype proposals before bidding.
- Worth checking: Quantity unclear: four devices in the text, 2 EA on the price table. The notice says the awardee(s) deliver four devices, but CLIN 0001 shows 2 EA and the Army plans two awards; confirm how many units each award covers when you ask questions.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: Agreements officer email addresses differ. Section 7.7 gives michael.c.james78.civ@army.mil for Michael James, while the contact table lists a different army.mil address for him and for Matt McNeely. Ask which addresses to use before sending questions or the proposal.
- Worth checking: Strict page limits. Volumes are limited to 1, 7, 5 and 3 pages, and pages over the limit are not read.
- Worth checking: Price modifications separately or risk a non-compliant proposal. Any change to the baseline device must be explained, priced under CLIN 0007 and tied to a delivery schedule; failing to separate it may make the proposal non-compliant.
- Worth checking: Contact only the Agreements Officer. Talking to program office staff, end users or technical contacts about this request can lead to disqualification; all questions go through the written Q&A process.
- Worth checking: Government data rights in manuals and new technical data. The Army requires Unlimited Rights in technical data first produced or modified under the agreement and a perpetual, royalty-free license for manuals; the full terms are in Attachment C, which was not read.
- Minor: Follow-on production without further competition. After successful testing the Army may buy about ten more units from the awardee(s) without a new competition, and wants a plan to add the device to the Defense Logistics Agency catalog.
- Minor: Late proposals are not accepted. Only a formal amendment can extend the response due date; verbal communications are not binding.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- RPP_Scanner Ultrasonic Ocular_22Oct26.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Deliver prototype ultrasonic ocular scanners: QTY four (4) devices in the text, but 2 EA on the price table's device line, so the quantity is unclear
- Offer a commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) or non-developmental (NDI) device that needs little or no modification, cleared by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and compliant with the Trade Agreements Act (TAA)
- Device must do A-Scan and B-Scan imaging, eye measurements and intraocular lens (IOL) power calculations, and run on 110-120 VAC/60 Hz power with a 30-60 minute battery
- Deliver prototype units 45-60 days after award for Army operational testing and MIL-STD-810H environmental testing, with a technical representative at test events
- Provide a minimum 1-year warranty, manuals, copyright release, up to two on-site training sessions in the continental U.S., and cybersecurity documentation
- Support maintenance by Army biomedical equipment technicians without proprietary tools or software where possible
- Show you can support a follow-on run of about ten (10) units
- Contract type
- Direct Other Transaction (OT) agreement for a prototype project, under 10 U.S.C. § 4022; not a FAR-based contract
- Period of performance
- 12 months from the date of award, including unit delivery, training, operational testing and environmental testing
- Place of performance
- Frederick, MD, USA (as listed on SAM.gov)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Holistic 'best fit' (best value) comparison by a Government team; not a Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) Part 15 source selection, and no lowest-price-technically-acceptable or numeric scoring. Areas 1 through 6 combined matter more than cost.
- Offers due
- November 3, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 22, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- DoD SAFE (Secure Access File Exchange) file transfer or secure email to Michael James, Agreements Officer, with a copy to Matt McNeely, Agreements Specialist
- Page limits
- Volume I Executive Summary: 1 page; Volume II Technical Approach: 7 pages; Volume III Management, Past Performance and Schedule: 5 pages; Volume IV Cost/Business Proposal: 3 pages. Covers, tabs, compliance matrices and the table of contents do not count.
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical Approach: feasibility, soundness and maturity of the design and testing method
- Technical Maturity and Commerciality: COTS or NDI status; little or no modification rated highly
- Performance Compliance: meeting or exceeding the performance specifications and deliverables
- Reliability, Maintainability and Supportability: warranty, repair parts, organic maintenance by military technicians
- Schedule Realism: timeline and ability to support Government test events
- Past Performance: rated Acceptable or Unacceptable
- Cost / Price: reasonableness and realism, no adjectival rating
What to include when you submit
- Send four separate PDF files, one per volume, named [Company Name]_Scanner Ultrasonic Ocular _RPP_W91CRB-26-AWSP_Vol[X]_[Title].pdf
- Page format: 8.5 x 11 inch sheet, minimum 11-point Arial, 1-inch margins, single spacing; graphics, figures and tables count toward limits
- Volume I: overview of the solution, company name, CAGE code, SAM.gov UEI, size and socioeconomic status, Nontraditional Defense Contractor (NDC) statement or cost-share position, TAA statement with country of origin, total cost and period of performance
- Volume II: model name and number, a compliance matrix for each critical specification (Meets / Does Not Meet / Exceeds), FDA 510(k) clearance number or Class I registration status, technical data, data rights position, approach to the deliverables, risk plan, and the completed Appendix E Data Rights Assertions Table
- Volume III: past performance of at least two (2) relevant contracts or commercial sales of ultrasonic ocular scanner systems, with customer name, agreement or order number, system delivered, quantity and period
- Volume III: key personnel, current production capacity and ability to support a ten (10)-unit follow-on run, a milestone schedule from award to end of performance, and the approach to up to two (2) on-site continental U.S. training sessions
- Volume IV: price the CLINs (priced lines): baseline units, training, warranty, packaging and shipping, documentation, transport case, any modification (separately, CLIN 0007) and software license, with a basis of estimate and payment schedule
- Submit the signed Trade Agreements Certificate (Attachment A) with the proposal
- Mark proprietary information on each page that contains it
- Disclose any actual or potential organizational conflict of interest in the proposal
After award, you must have
- Vendor staff who need access to Government facilities complete Anti-Terrorism Level I Awareness training within 30 days of the agreement start date From RPP_Scanner Ultrasonic Ocular_22Oct26.pdf:
…employees requiring access to Government facilities must complete AT Level I Awareness training within…
Current contractor
No incumbent contractor is named. The fielded Sonomed E-Z Scan AB5500+ (NSN 6510-01-486-3181, manufactured in 2004) is no longer procurable through the Defense Logistics Agency Electronic Catalog. September 2026 market research found at least three small businesses capable, and the Army plans two awards.
Not in the notice text
- The Government's estimated value or budget in dollars is not stated; funding is FY26 Defense Health Program research and development 2-year funds, subject to availability.
- Attachment C (Technical Data Articles Annex) holds the full data rights terms and was not in the text read; Attachment B is listed as 'TBD'.
- The delivery address for the prototype units and the test facility locations are not stated.
- The Trade Agreements Act certificate form (Attachment A) and the Government-provided cybersecurity documentation forms were not in the text read.
- How the four devices split across the two awards is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: DoD SAFE (Secure Access File Exchange) file transfer or secure email to Michael James, Agreements Officer, with a copy to Matt McNeely, Agreements Specialist. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- W6QK ACC-Apg, Aberdeen Proving Grou, MD
- Product/service code
- 6515 · Medical and Surgical Instruments, Equipment, and Supplies
- Business type
- Medical & healthcare (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 334510)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 12, 2026
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 12, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 22, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/Solicitation (this version)Due Nov 3, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Electro-Therapeutic Modalities for Pain Management (ETMPM) - Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulation (TENS) Procurement ProgramThe Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) wants firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per item) indefinite-delivery/indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needed) contracts for…
- Digital Imaging Network - Picture Archiving and Communication Systems (DIN-PACS) - Generation VThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Troop Support and the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) National Acquisition Center are asking for offers on commercial Digital Imaging…
- Sources Sought for Cefaly Devices at VA Puget SoundThe Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Network Contract Office 20, wants to find vendors that can supply an estimated 1224 Cefaly Connected migraine treatment devices to the VA…
- NX EQ Image Guided Surgical Navigation System (VA-26-00083972)Only Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid.
- NX EQ Environmental Disinfection Systems Pulsed Xenon UV Light (VA-27-00012571)The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Enterprise Procurement Office wants to know which companies can supply pulsed xenon ultraviolet (UV) room-disinfection systems, the Xenex…