Solicitation
Design-Build Services – STM Security Fencing - North Boundary
Department of Energy
AI summarySolicitation RFP-2027-27107: the National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR), run for the Department of Energy by Alliance for Energy Innovation, LLC, wants one firm to design and build new perimeter fencing along the north boundary of its South Table Mountain Campus in Golden, Colorado. Notice of Intent to Propose: due October 27, 2026 (passed), 5:00 PM MST, to get the project documents; the response due date is November 11, 2026, 5:00 PM MST. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The notice looks incomplete: The statement of work, sample subcontract, price proposal form, EMR form, wage determination and LPTA selection criteria are listed in the RFP letter and updated on Box.com; they weren't among the files read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Solicitation RFP-2027-27107: the National Laboratory of the Rockies (NLR), run for the Department of Energy by Alliance for Energy Innovation, LLC, wants one firm to design and build new perimeter fencing along the north boundary of its South Table Mountain Campus in Golden, Colorado. Notice of Intent to Propose: due October 27, 2026 (passed), 5:00 PM MST, to get the project documents; the response due date is November 11, 2026, 5:00 PM MST.
Who can bid (5)
- Small business under NAICS 238990 (size standard $19.0 million in average annual receipts). The set-aside covers small business and its subcategories (disadvantaged, woman-owned, HUBZone, veteran-owned, service-disabled veteran-owned); no subcategory is weighted.
- A current, accurate SAM.gov size and socioeconomic status registration, certified through the Small Business Size Certification form as of the offer date.
- A bona-fide office within 50 miles of the STM Campus, or a showing that you can perform in this area.
Show all 5Show fewer
- If teaming with a larger business through lower-tier subcontracting, the small business must do at least 15% of the work itself.
- No use of covered telecommunications or video surveillance equipment or services (Huawei, ZTE, Hytera, Hikvision, Dahua) by the offeror or its lower-tier subcontractors, unless an exception or waiver applies.
How to submit: Upload to the NLR Document Collection portal (the NLR Proposal Collection Form link in the RFP letter). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
From the version posted Oct 22, 2026.
- Serious: Small business set-aside. Only small businesses under NAICS 238990 can bid; larger firms are shut out.
- Serious: Date passed (Oct 27, 2026): Notice of Intent due October 27, 2026, 5:00 PM MST. Amendment 1 extended the Notice of Intent (NOI) deadline. The project specification documents go only to firms that submit an NOI, so skipping it leaves you without the full requirements.
- Worth checking: Site walk only for firms that sent an NOI. Site walk details are sent only to firms that submitted an NOI by the amended deadline; the site walk date and place are listed as upon request.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Office within 50 miles of the campus. Bidders need an office near Golden, Colorado, or must show they can perform in the area, which is harder for out-of-state firms.
- Worth checking: Davis-Bacon wage rates apply. Construction wage rates (Davis-Bacon wage determination for Jefferson County, Colorado) are the minimum pay and must be built into your price.
- Worth checking: Price validity period differs: 90 days or 120 days. The RFP letter says prices must be valid for 90 days; the submission checklist says 120 days. Ask the NLR subcontract administrator which applies.
- Worth checking: Date passed (Sep 1, 2026): Statement of work and price form not in the text read. The statement of work dated September 1, 2026 and the other attachments are listed in the RFP letter and updated on Box.com; they weren't among the files read, so scope and price details may be missing here.
- Minor: State Historic Preservation Office coordination. Parts of the work need coordination with the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO), which can affect schedule.
- Minor: RFP number differs between documents. SAM.gov and the amendment use RFP-2027-27107, while the RFP letter says RFP-2026-26152. Use the SAM.gov number and confirm with the subcontract administrator.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. Show which files.
- AMENDMENT NO. 1 - RFP-2027-27107.pdf (read)
- 0 - RFP-2027-27107 - STM Security Fencing- North Boundary - LPTA.pdf (read)
- SAM Post Narrative - STM North Boundary Fencing.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Design and install new perimeter fencing along the north boundary of the South Table Mountain (STM) Campus
- Remove designated sections of existing chain-link fence
- Submit designs at the 50% and 90% review stages, then a complete 100% Issued-for-Construction package, in NLR's required CAD/BIM formats
- Use Procore (project software) for drawings, specifications, requests for information and submittals
- Do utility locates before any digging; control erosion; track recycling and off-site disposal
- Coordinate parts of the work with the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO)
- Provide a project manager, on-site supervision, an approved Quality Assurance Plan, testing and commissioning support
- Deliver as-built drawings, testing records and turnover materials at completion
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) design-build subcontract; NLR intends to award 1
- Period of performance
- Anticipated basic period of 360 days, starting on the date the subcontract is signed
- Place of performance
- Golden, CO, USA (South Table Mountain Campus, 15013 Denver West Parkway)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Lowest price technically acceptable (LPTA): the lowest evaluated price among offers that meet all technical requirements
- Offers due
- November 11, 2026, 5:00 PM MST
- How to submit
- Upload to the NLR Document Collection portal (the NLR Proposal Collection Form link in the RFP letter)
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical acceptability: ability to meet the statement of work, drawings, specifications and guidelines, including the requested period of performance, the technical skills needed, and qualified personnel for safety
- Price: lowest evaluated price of all technically acceptable offers
What to include when you submit
- Send a Notice of Intent to Propose (NOI) through the NOI portal by October 27, 2026, 5:00 PM MST; this is how you get the project specification documents.
- Send two parts: a technical proposal and a business proposal.
- Start the technical proposal with a title page (RFP title and number, organization name, project manager with address, phone and email, and SAM Unique Entity ID) and a cover letter.
- The cover letter accepts or takes exception, with reasons, to the sample subcontract, statement of work, anticipated period of performance, standard terms (Appendix B-10) and intellectual property terms (Appendix C-3).
- The technical proposal must show you can meet the statement of work, with enough detail on technical acceptability.
- Business proposal: the Design-Build Services Price Proposal Form (Attachment 3) converted to PDF in one file, with support for each price category and lower-tier subcontract prices shown separately.
- Price any add alternates separately from the base scope, and include a bill of materials (BOM) listing the materials proposed.
- Include the Small Business Size Certification (Attachment 6) and the Representations & Certifications for Subcontracts form.
- Include the EMR form (Attachment 4, also called the environment, safety and health (ES&H) risk evaluation form).
- Include either the Organizational Conflicts of Interest Representation Statement or the Disclosure Statement, as applicable.
- Include a copy or link to your corporate health and safety program and a resume of your safety oversight personnel.
- Format: one side of an 8 1/2 x 11 inch sheet per page, 12-point font, at least 1-inch margins, and the same page orientation throughout.
- Do not send the ACH banking form with your response.
Not in the notice text
- The statement of work, sample subcontract, price proposal form, EMR form, wage determination and LPTA selection criteria are listed in the RFP letter and updated on Box.com; they weren't among the files read.
- Fence length, materials, design standards and the Government's cost estimate are not given in the text read.
- Whether bonding or specific insurance is required is not stated in the text read.
- Whether a site walk is required to bid is not stated; details go only to firms that sent a Notice of Intent.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 238990
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Upload to the NLR Document Collection portal (the NLR Proposal Collection Form link in the RFP letter). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Alliance for Energy Innovation, LLC - DOE Contractor, Golden, CO
- Product/service code
- 5660 · Fencing, Fences, Gates and Components
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238990)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 22, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Nov 11, 2026
- Oct 8, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 11, 2026
- Oct 7, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 11, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- PGMB Security GateThe Department of the Interior's Reclamation Contracting Activity, for the Bureau of Reclamation's Pleasant Grove office in Utah, wants the main vehicle entrance gate removed and…
- Aluminum Boundary Post Markers, Region One
- Design-Build Maintenance and Repair Army Reserve (MRAR) of Equipment Concentration Site (ECS), B-56767, at North Fort Hood, TXPhase II only: Amendment 0002 went to Phase II selected offerors on October 19, 2026, and the response due date is November 20, 2026, 2:00 PM Eastern.
- 36C25627R0012 PRESOLICITATION NOTICE REPLACE Perimeter Security FenceOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on this planned Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) project to replace the perimeter security fence for the…