Sources Sought
Cathodic Protection Survey/Inventory/Assessment Services
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summarySources sought (market research, not a request for offers): the Air Force, for the Air Force Civil Engineer Center, wants capability statements for cathodic protection survey work, which tests the systems that keep buried and underwater metal from corroding. It is considering an indefinite delivery indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contract, where orders come over time, for about 140 installations worldwide. The response due date is November 23, 2026, 10:00 AM Central on SAM.gov, but the notice says 9:00 AM Central. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Department of the Air Force who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Sources sought (market research, not a request for offers): the Air Force, for the Air Force Civil Engineer Center, wants capability statements for cathodic protection survey work, which tests the systems that keep buried and underwater metal from corroding. It is considering an indefinite delivery indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contract, where orders come over time, for about 140 installations worldwide. The response due date is November 23, 2026, 10:00 AM Central on SAM.gov, but the notice says 9:00 AM Central.
Who can bid
- AMPP (formerly NACE) certified personnel: Lead Cathodic Protection Specialist (CP4), Field Supervisory Technician (CP3) and Field Technician (CP2)
- Registered in the System for Award Management (SAM) before any contract award
- Personnel who can pass standard background checks for unescorted installation access (Homeland Security Presidential Directive 12 vetting)
How to submit: Email a capability statement to nicole.dean.2@us.af.mil. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (7)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: Certified cathodic protection staff needed. The draft work statement requires AMPP-certified CP4, CP3 and CP2 personnel, and the CP4 specialist must stamp the final report, so a firm without them cannot do the work.
- Worth checking: Work at about 140 installations, including overseas. Task orders could send crews to U.S. and overseas bases (Attachment 02 lists sites in Kuwait, Qatar, Japan, Germany and others), and the notice does not say what local presence, licenses or taxes overseas work needs.
- Worth checking: Asked to cover all 25 tasks. The notice asks whether your firm can perform every task in the draft work statement, so a firm that covers only some tasks would need teammates.
Show all 7Show fewer
- Minor: Not a solicitation. No contract is promised and responses are for planning only; the acquisition approach, set-aside and final work statement may change.
- Minor: Draft work statement still has blanks. The draft PWS leaves the installation name as a placeholder, so site-specific details are not yet given.
- Minor: Controlled information and installation access. Infrastructure locations and vulnerability data must be handled as Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI), and staff need background checks for unescorted base access.
- Minor: 15-page limit on the response. The capability statement, including any drawings, brochures or manuals, may not exceed 15 pages.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. Show which files.
- Atch 01 - CP Services DRAFT PWS 21Sep26.pdf (read)
- Atch 02 - CP Services Base List.pdf (read)
- Sources Sought-Cathodic Protection.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Provide all labor, certified personnel, calibrated equipment and materials to inventory, survey and assess cathodic protection systems under the UFM 3-570-06 operation and maintenance manual
- Routine potential measurements (electrical readings that show if protection is working) at test stations, pipelines, water tanks, underground tanks, isolated structures, foreign line crossings, casings and waterfront structures (Tasks 1-9)
- Anode bed and deep anode circuit measurements, and rectifier inspections (Tasks 2, 10-12)
- Close-interval potential surveys (CIPS: readings every few feet) of pipelines and tanks (Tasks 13-18)
- Water tank calibration measurements and resistance bond checks (Tasks 19-22)
- Installation-wide annual corrosion survey, direct current voltage gradient (DCVG) survey and leak survey (Tasks 23-25)
- Deliver survey reports within 30 days after fieldwork, plus a Mitigation and Repair Plan stamped by the lead cathodic protection specialist (CP4)
- Contract type
- Not decided; an IDIQ contract with a multi-year ordering period is among the strategies under consideration, with task orders by installation
- Period of performance
- Multi-year ordering period under consideration; length not stated
- Place of performance
- Tyndall, FL per SAM.gov; the notice says the scope includes about 140 Air Force installations in the continental U.S. and overseas (sample list in Attachment 02)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- No evaluation: this is market research and the Government does not plan to rank responses or reply to firms
- Offers due
- November 23, 2026, 10:00 AM Central (SAM.gov); November 23, 2026, 9:00 AM Central (sources sought notice)
- How to submit
- Email a capability statement to nicole.dean.2@us.af.mil
- Page limits
- Capability statement: 15 pages (single spaced, front and back, no smaller than Times New Roman 12 or equivalent); drawings, brochures and manuals count toward the 15 pages
What to include when you submit
- Give your business name, address, point of contact (phone and email), CAGE code (a business ID for federal sites) and Unique Entity ID
- Say whether this work is typically sold in the commercial market, and whether NAICS 541330 fits or another NAICS code is better, with reasons
- State your business type for NAICS 541330 (large, small, small disadvantaged, 8(a), HUBZone, woman-owned, veteran-owned, service-disabled veteran-owned); list all that apply
- Say whether you would bid as a prime, prime with subcontractors, prime with team members, or a joint venture, and give team members' sizes and how the team would be composed
- Say whether you can perform all 25 tasks in the draft Performance Work Statement (PWS) paragraph 2.0
- List any existing IDIQ or Government-wide contract that covers these services, with contract number, point of contact and managing agency
- List projects completed in the past five years of the same or similar scope, showing experience surveying and testing strictly under UFM 3-570-06, whether on active Air Force installations or other Department of Defense work, and your ability to work overseas; include contract number, Government point of contact, whether you were prime or subcontractor, a detailed description and the contract value
- Give the number of CP4, CP3 and CP2 certified staff on your full-time staff who could be assigned, and the AMPP/NACE certifications your key personnel hold
- Say which of the U.S. and overseas locations in Attachment 02 you can serve, and whether your personnel can meet Homeland Security Presidential Directive 12 (HSPD-12) vetting for installation access
- Describe experience testing fuel storage and distribution assets (hydrant fueling systems, underground and aboveground storage tanks, fuel piping) and utilities (high temperature hot water lines, water mains, elevated and on-grade tanks, gas distribution)
- Say whether you know of any organizational conflicts of interest or other Government agencies with similar needs
- Optional: send comments, questions or suggested changes to the draft PWS as tracked changes in a Word document, including contractor versus Government responsibilities and any barriers to performance
Not in the notice text
- Whether a future solicitation will be set aside for a type of business is not stated; the notice invites all business concerns to respond
- The contract value, ceiling or length of the ordering period is not given
- What overseas work would require (local office, host-country licenses, currency and taxes) is not stated
- The deadline for questions is not given, and the Government may or may not answer them
- The draft PWS leaves the installation name blank, and the list of bases in Attachment 02 is only a sample
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Office
- FA8051 772 Ess PKD, Tyndall AFB, FL
- Product/service code
- R425 · Support – Professional: Engineering/Technical
- Business type
- Engineering, architecture & research (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541330)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Sources sought notice
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- MAPS RFP Draft 5, Virtual Listening Session & Survey!Army Contracting Command at Aberdeen Proving Ground, MD is planning MAPS, a large multiple-award IDIQ for professional and IT services that Army and other federal customers would…
- VHA Fire Protection and Life Safety Services BPAThe VA's Veterans Health Administration plans to award several nationwide Blanket Purchase Agreements (BPAs) for third-party fire protection and life safety engineering services…