Solicitation
W912CH-27-R-A027 for BUTTSTOCK ASSEMBLY; NSN: 1005-01-576-8901
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryOnly small businesses can bid on this Army five-year requirements contract (orders placed as the Army needs items) for buttstock assemblies, NSN 1005-01-576-8901, part number 13026046. The response due date is November 19, 2026, 3:30 PM Eastern. Check the notice: its text gives November 19, 2026 as the deadline for questions or document requests, not the offer due date. The drawings (technical data package, TDP) are export-controlled, and getting access first needs a DD Form 2345 certification, which takes an estimated six to ten weeks. The buyer is Army Contracting Command Detroit Arsenal. Award goes to one firm, for the total quantity, at a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per unit). More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 20, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 15, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 20, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 6 attachments weren't read (TDP Documents - Buttstock Assembly.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only small businesses can bid on this Army five-year requirements contract (orders placed as the Army needs items) for buttstock assemblies, NSN 1005-01-576-8901, part number 13026046. The response due date is November 19, 2026, 3:30 PM Eastern. Check the notice: its text gives November 19, 2026 as the deadline for questions or document requests, not the offer due date. The drawings (technical data package, TDP) are export-controlled, and getting access first needs a DD Form 2345 certification, which takes an estimated six to ten weeks. The buyer is Army Contracting Command Detroit Arsenal. Award goes to one firm, for the total quantity, at a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per unit).
Who can bid (5)
- Small business under NAICS 332994: this is a 100% small business set-aside.
- A current DD Form 2345 (Militarily Critical Technical Data Agreement) certification on file with the Defense Logistics Information Service, needed to get the export-controlled drawings.
- SAM registration under NAICS 332994 before submitting a proposal; each person who needs the drawings must be registered in SAM and request explicit access to the TDP.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Offer for the total quantity of all items; offers for less are nonresponsive.
- Supply the source-controlled part number 13026046 unless an alternative has written Army TACOM approval of its test procedure before the solicitation was received and final TACOM engineering approval by award.
How to submit: Email to the contract specialist at ciara.l.woodard-brown.civ@army.mil, with the contracting officer copied at elizabeth.l.levinewelhouse.civ@army.mil. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (12)
- Serious: Small business set-aside. Only small businesses under NAICS 332994 can bid, and the notice says a single award will be made.
- Serious: Drawings need a DD Form 2345 that takes six to ten weeks. The technical data package is export-controlled with distribution code D, so a firm without the certification may not see the drawings before the response due date.
- Serious: All-or-none offer. You must price and offer the total quantity of every item, or the proposal is treated as nonresponsive.
Show all 12Show fewer
- Serious: First article testing with 5 sample items. Five first article items are consumed in testing and cannot be delivered; their cost goes in your price, and the Government must get 15 calendar days of written notice before the test starts.
- Serious: Delivery schedule outweighs price. A delivery date later than 45 days past the Section F.1 schedule cannot be awarded, and Section F.1 was not in the text that could be read.
- Worth checking: Question deadline given as two different dates. The notice text gives November 19, 2026, 3:30 PM EST for questions, while the RFP says November 16, 2026, 3:30 PM EST. Ask the contract specialist which governs.
- Worth checking: Old solicitation number in the TDP and email instructions. The RFP says the drawings sit in SAM under W912CH-26-R-A089, and tells bidders to use that number in the email subject. This solicitation is W912CH-27-R-A027.
- Worth checking: Source-controlled part number. Only part number 13026046 is accepted unless an alternative was approved in writing by Army TACOM before this solicitation was received.
- Worth checking: Heavy phosphate coating procedure due 60 days after award. The coating process and its test procedure need Government approval before production starts, with daily and per-lot testing and salt spray tests.
- Worth checking: Contractor must supply and calibrate inspection equipment. The contractor provides all acceptance inspection equipment with calibration traceable to a national or international standard, ready for first article or production acceptance.
- Minor: Controlled information and security rules. Drawings must be destroyed when done, subcontractors at every level are covered, and OPSEC and controlled unclassified information (CUI) rules apply.
- Minor: Certified cost or pricing data may be requested. If only one offer comes in, the Government can ask for certified cost or pricing data (detailed proof of your costs), though you may request an exception.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. 1 of 6 not read. Show which files.
- Contract Data Requirement List (CDRL) (A001 - A006) Buttstock Assembly.docx (read)
- W912CH27RA027.pdf (read)
- Attachment 0004 - First Article Waiver Worksheet.pdf (read)
- Attachment 0002 - TACOM OPSEC Plan.pdf (read)
- Attachment 0003 - Additional Guidelines for Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).pdf (read)
- TDP Documents - Buttstock Assembly.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Make and deliver Buttstock Assembly, NSN 1005-01-576-8901, P/N 13026046 (listed in the CDRL as a collapsible buttstock for the M249 light weapon), built to the Government's technical data package.
- Pass first article testing (examining sample items before production starts): 5 first article items are consumed in testing, and a First Article Test Report with actual measurements goes to the Government.
- Send a heavy phosphate coating test procedure (contract data requirements list item A004) for approval within 60 days after award, and follow the coating and finish tests in Section C.6.
- Provide and calibrate the acceptance inspection equipment (gauges and test tools used to check the parts) and send an equipment report (item A005).
- Preserve, pack and mark items to military standards (MIL-STD-2073-1 and MIL-STD-129), Level B packing, using special packaging instruction 13026046 Rev D.
- Submit engineering change proposals, requests for variance and notices of revision (items A001 to A003) only when a change to the drawings is needed.
- Follow operations security (OPSEC), counterintelligence awareness and controlled unclassified information (CUI) handling rules.
- Deliver under orders placed in five ordering years (CLINs 0011 to 0015, one line per year).
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) requirements contract; delivery orders under FAR 52.216-18, 52.216-19 and 52.216-21
- Period of performance
- Five one-year ordering periods beginning on the contract award date; the first ordering year is the award date plus 364 days
- Place of performance
- Not stated in the notice. The Government inspects and accepts at origin, at the facility the offeror names in its offer.
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value tradeoff between two factors, delivery schedule and price; delivery schedule is significantly more important than price
- Offers due
- November 19, 2026, 3:30 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 15, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to the contract specialist at ciara.l.woodard-brown.civ@army.mil, with the contracting officer copied at elizabeth.l.levinewelhouse.civ@army.mil
What they'll judge offers on
- Delivery Schedule: rated per CLIN 0011 to 0015 as Outstanding (30 or more days sooner than the Section F.1 schedule), Good (29 days or less sooner), Acceptable (equal), Marginal (up to 45 days later) or Unacceptable (more than 45 days later, which cannot be awarded)
- Price: total evaluated price (unit price times estimated quantity for each CLIN, added together), plus checks for price reasonableness and unbalanced pricing
What to include when you submit
- Email subject line as the RFP gives it: Proposal Submission W912CH 26-R-A089 (company name). That number differs from this solicitation's W912CH-27-R-A027; ask the contract specialist which to use.
- Offer the total quantity of all items. Offers for less than the total are treated as nonresponsive.
- Fill in Section B with your prices, including a separate price for first article testing (CLIN 0001) if you plan to ask for a waiver of first article testing.
- Give a delivery date in days after delivery order award for each CLIN. Do not propose a delivery rate; that makes the proposal unawardable.
- Include a scanned signed Standard Form 33 cover page, all completed fill-ins for Sections A through K, and signed copies of any amendments.
- State your proposal acceptance period in calendar days. Proposals must stay valid for a minimum of 120 calendar days.
- Include a statement of acknowledgement saying how far you agree with all terms, and one consolidated list of your assumptions with a statement that none contradict the solicitation.
- Name the facility (name, CAGE code, address) where the Government will inspect and accept supplies at origin.
- If you want a first article test waiver, send the First Article Waiver Worksheet (Attachment 0004) on company letterhead, signed by an agent of the company, with supporting documents such as an approved earlier first article test report.
- If Government property will be used, describe your property management system.
- Spreadsheets must show all rows, columns, cells, worksheets and the equations used; do not send hidden cells or values-only files.
- Be registered in the System for Award Management (SAM) under NAICS 332994 before you submit and valid at award.
After award, you must have
- Name an operations security (OPSEC) coordinator who has completed Level I OPSEC training. New employees complete the training within 30 calendar days of reporting for duty. From W912CH27RA027.pdf:
The contractor shall identify an individual who will be an OPSEC Coordinator.
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The RFP refers to solicitation number W912CH-26-R-A089 as the place the drawings are posted.
Not in the notice text
- Section B quantities and unit of issue are not readable in the text, and Sections F through K and the start of Section L (delivery schedule, page limits, special clauses) are in the middle of W912CH27RA027.pdf, which was only partly read. Check the full RFP on SAM.gov.
- The technical data package (TDP Documents - Buttstock Assembly.pdf) is attached but not read; it is controlled and needs access requested on SAM.gov.
- Delivery dates in Section F.1 (Time of Delivery) are not in the text read.
- Page limits for the proposal, if any, are not in the text read.
- The Government's estimated quantities for each ordering year are not readable.
- Which question deadline governs: November 16, 2026 (RFP) or November 19, 2026 (notice text).
- Which solicitation number to use in the email subject and for drawings access: W912CH 26-R-A089 or W912CH-27-R-A027.
- Whether a Use and Non-Disclosure Agreement is needed to view the drawings; the RFP says to send it with the access request if the solicitation requires both.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 332994
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to the contract specialist at ciara.l.woodard-brown.civ@army.mil, with the contracting officer copied at elizabeth.l.levinewelhouse.civ@army.mil. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W6QK ACC- DTA, Warren, MI
- Product/service code
- 1005 · Guns, Through 30MM
- Business type
- Weapons & ammunition (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332994)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 20, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 19, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · Solicitation (this version)Due Nov 19, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Tripod Head Assembly
- Sear Assembly
- Cover Assembly Machine GunThe Defense Logistics Agency's weapons support office plans to buy 15 machine gun cover assemblies (National Stock Number, NSN, 1005-00-608-5091), with a possible 100% option for…
- Clamp Assembly, RetainiOnly HUBZone-certified small businesses can bid: DLA Weapons Support wants CLAMP ASSEMBLY,RETAINI (NSN 5340015220846), HUBZone being a program for firms in historically underused…
- Adapter Assembly, Re