Presolicitation
Cover Assembly Machine Gun
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryThe Defense Logistics Agency's weapons support office plans to buy 15 machine gun cover assemblies (National Stock Number, NSN, 1005-00-608-5091), with a possible 100% option for 15 more, delivered in 300 days FOB Origin with inspection and acceptance at origin. This is a presolicitation: the notice says the solicitation will be on the DLA Internet Bid Board System (DIBBS) around November 1, 2026, but SAM.gov lists the response date as October 30, 2026, 11:59 PM Eastern. Technical drawings go only to vendors certified in the Joint Certification Program. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Defense Logistics Agency's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Defense Logistics Agency's weapons support office plans to buy 15 machine gun cover assemblies (National Stock Number, NSN, 1005-00-608-5091), with a possible 100% option for 15 more, delivered in 300 days FOB Origin with inspection and acceptance at origin. This is a presolicitation: the notice says the solicitation will be on the DLA Internet Bid Board System (DIBBS) around November 1, 2026, but SAM.gov lists the response date as October 30, 2026, 11:59 PM Eastern. Technical drawings go only to vendors certified in the Joint Certification Program.
Who can bid
- Be certified in the Joint Certification Program (JCP) to get the technical drawings and bid sets; some stock numbers need an extra one-time request to jcpvalidation@dla.mil
- Offers in English and in US dollars
How to submit: Upload through DIBBS (preferred: log in, find the solicitation and click the red Offer button), or email amber.weaver@dla.mil. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch
From the version posted Oct 15, 2026.
- Serious: Drawings need Joint Certification Program certification. Without Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification and approved access, a business cannot get the technical drawings, and the agency says it cannot promise validation is done by the due date.
- Minor: Not a commercial buy. The Government is not using the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) Part 12 commercial item rules, so expect the full set of Government requirements.
- Minor: Possible 100% option. The Government may buy 15 more, so pricing for the option may be needed.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Supply 15 cover assemblies for a machine gun, NSN 1005-00-608-5091, delivered in 300 days (the notice does not say from when)
- Price a possible 100% option for an additional 15 each
- Ship FOB Origin, with inspection and acceptance at origin
- Send offers in English and in US dollars
- Period of performance
- Delivery required in 300 days (start point not stated); possible 100% option for an additional 15 each
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value
- Offers due
- October 30, 2026, 11:59 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Upload through DIBBS (preferred: log in, find the solicitation and click the red Offer button), or email amber.weaver@dla.mil
What they'll judge offers on
- Price
- Past Performance
- Delivery
What to include when you submit
- Write the offer in English and in US dollars
- A single email cannot exceed 15 MB; split larger proposals into several emails
- Vendors who cannot open the technical data for a stock number in DLA cFolders must send a one-time request to jcpvalidation@dla.mil
- Use the correct company official name and contact information in all correspondence
Not in the notice text
- The solicitation, with its clauses, line item details and delivery terms, will be on DIBBS (https://www.dibbs.bsm.dla.mil/) around November 1, 2026 and is not in this text; technical drawings are in DLA cFolders under the Technical Data tab
- Contract type and total value
- What the 300 days are counted from
- Whether the response date moves once the solicitation posts
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- The notice mentions export-controlled data. You may need a Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345) approval to see the drawings.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Upload through DIBBS (preferred: log in, find the solicitation and click the red Offer button), or email amber.weaver@dla.mil. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- DLA Weapons Support, Columbus, OH
- Product/service code
- 1005 · Guns, Through 30MM
- Business type
- Weapons & ammunition (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332994)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- W912CH-27-R-A027 for BUTTSTOCK ASSEMBLY; NSN: 1005-01-576-8901The Army (W6QK ACC- DTA) wants to buy the Buttstock Assembly, national stock number (NSN: the supply-system item code) 1005-01-576-8901, part number 13026046, from one small…
- Clamp Assembly, RetainiOnly HUBZone-certified small businesses can bid: DLA Weapons Support wants CLAMP ASSEMBLY,RETAINI (NSN 5340015220846), HUBZone being a program for firms in historically underused…
- Tripod Head Assembly
- Sear Assembly
- Rail Cover,11 Rib