Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
561A4-25-500 Elevator Upgrade & Modernization Repairs at VA NJ HCS Lyons Buildings 6 & 53
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryOnly certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid. The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) wants three passenger elevators and one service elevator upgraded in Buildings 6 and 53 at the VA New Jersey Healthcare System Lyons Campus in Lyons, NJ, under one firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) contract. Each elevator may be shut down no more than 13 weeks. The response due date is October 29, 2026 (an amendment moved it to Nov 20, 2026, 1:00 PM EST), 1:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 29, 2026. It moves the due date from Aug 31, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 15, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 29, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 29, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 13 attachments weren't read (Attachment C - Wage_Determination_NJ20260042_05.18.2026.docx). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid. The Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) wants three passenger elevators and one service elevator upgraded in Buildings 6 and 53 at the VA New Jersey Healthcare System Lyons Campus in Lyons, NJ, under one firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) contract. Each elevator may be shut down no more than 13 weeks. The response due date is October 29, 2026 (passed), 1:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid (7)
- Certified service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB), as the set-aside is limited to certified SDVOSBs
- Prime contractor must be a licensed or certified elevator maintenance company with a valid, current license and a full-time elevator mechanic on staff
- Certify no more than three serious, one repeat or one willful OSHA violation, or any EPA violation, in the past three years
Show all 7Show fewer
- Current experience modification rate (EMR) on insurance carrier letterhead
- Current SAM registration and representations and certifications at award
- Limits on subcontracting for special trade work: pay no more than 75% of the amount the Government pays you to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs or VOSBs; materials costs are excluded
- Use certified personnel directly employed and supervised by the contractor
How to submit: Email to Contracting Officer Ms. Mitchelle Labady at mitchelle.labady@va.gov (electronic submissions by email only), due October 29, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
- Serious: SDVOSB set-aside: certified firms only. Only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses can bid, and the prime must also meet the subcontracting limit.
- Serious: Elevator license and full-time mechanic required. The prime itself must hold a valid elevator license and employ a full-time elevator mechanic; a firm that only subcontracts the elevator work cannot meet this.
- Worth checking: Subcontracting limit certificate required. A signed certificate that you will pay no more than 75% to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs must come with the offer, or the offer is not considered.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Safety record and EMR letter. A weak record with OSHA or the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), or a missing insurance letter, can make the offer nonresponsive.
- Worth checking: The site visit was Aug 14, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
- Worth checking: Service Contract Act applies; wage determination not read. The notice says the Service Contract Act (federal minimum wages and benefits for service workers) applies and points to wage determination NJ20260042, which was not read; Davis-Bacon is not mentioned.
- Worth checking: Outage cap and upkeep of active elevators. Each elevator may be down no more than 13 weeks, and you must also maintain the working elevators and run a 24/7 answering service during the project.
- Minor: Only new parts and VA approval before install. All parts must be new, and cut sheets must be approved before installation, which affects ordering and the schedule.
- Minor: Attachment letters do not match the files. The notice calls Attachment A the Statement of Work and Attachment B the price sheet, but the posted Attachment A is the price schedule and Attachment B the statement of work.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 1 of 13 not read. Show which files.
- 36C24226R0097_8.docx (read)
- 36C24226R0097_7.docx (read)
- 36C24226R0097_6.docx (read)
- 36C24226R0097_5.docx (read)
- 36C24226R0097_4.docx (read)
- 36C24226R0097_3.docx (read)
- 36C24226R0097_2.docx (read)
- 36C24226R0097.docx (read)
- Attachment B - SOW_Lyons VAMC Elevators Repair Bldgs 6 and 53.docx (read)
- Attachment E - VAAR 852.219-75 Limitation of Subcontracting - Certificate of Compliance.docx (read)
- Attachment D - FAR 52.225-2 Buy America Certificate - 36C24226R0097.docx (read)
- Attachment A- Price Schedule - 36C24226R0097.docx (read)
- Attachment C - Wage_Determination_NJ20260042_05.18.2026.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Upgrade and modernize four elevators: Building 6 passenger elevator P1, and Building 53 service elevator S1 and passenger elevators P1 and P2; supply labor, materials and supervision (price schedule items 0001 to 0004, each QTY 1.00, unit JB)
- Install new non-proprietary controllers, drives, car operating panels, hall fixtures, shaft wiring, traveling cables (the cables that connect the car to the controls) and door operators, with fire recall and door lock monitoring as code requires
- Replace the machines with new geared machines and add rope grippers with a secondary brake on the three passenger elevators; the service elevator gets a new hydraulic power unit (tank, oil, valve, pump and motor)
- Provide new cab interiors on a design agreed with the VA, with ADA-height handrails (ADA: Americans with Disabilities Act)
- Use only new parts that are non-proprietary and universally serviceable; send cut sheets and specifications to the VA for approval before installing
- Have a third party test, certify and document that the work meets VA requirements and applicable codes
- Keep each elevator shut down no more than 13 weeks; maintain the active elevators during the project and keep a 24/7 answering service with a toll-free number
- Follow the listed codes (VA Elevator design manual 2023, National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) codes, International Building Code (IBC), ASME elevator standards, and safety rules from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)), and complete VA cyber security and privacy training for staff with access to VA information
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP); one contract is planned; combined synopsis/solicitation, with offers sent by email
- Period of performance
- No total period stated; each elevator may be shut down no more than 13 weeks during the upgrade
- Place of performance
- VA New Jersey Healthcare System Lyons Campus, 151 Knollcroft Road, Lyons, NJ 07939, Buildings 6 and 53
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value: award goes to the responsible bidder whose offer is most advantageous to the Government, price and other factors considered; offers are compared with one another
- Offers due
- October 29, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 15, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to Contracting Officer Ms. Mitchelle Labady at mitchelle.labady@va.gov (electronic submissions by email only)
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical: prime must be a licensed or certified elevator maintenance company (copy of license) with a full-time elevator mechanic; certification of no more than three serious, one repeat or one willful OSHA or any EPA violation in the past three years; current experience modification rate (EMR: an insurance rating of past worker claims) letter
- Past Performance: risk judged from the contracting officer's experience, customer surveys, questionnaires, the Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System (CPARS) or any other reasonable basis
- Price: the total of the price sheet is used to compare offers and check price reasonableness
What to include when you submit
- Send the completed price schedule (Attachment A) with all four items priced and a grand total
- Acknowledge all amendments
- Send the completed and signed VA Acquisition Regulation (VAAR) 852.219-75 Limitation of Subcontracting certificate; offers without it are not considered
- Send the completed Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) 52.225-2 Buy American certificate
- Include a copy of your valid, current elevator license
- Include the OSHA and EPA violation certification and your EMR on your insurance carrier's letterhead (or a rating from the National Council on Compensation Insurance or your state bureau if you cannot get one)
- Include a statement that the solicitation terms are acceptable without change, or list each exception and its reason
- Include a completed copy of FAR 52.212-3 or have current representations and certifications in SAM (the System for Award Management)
- Send the technical and past performance information described in FAR 52.212-2
- Offers must stay valid for 120 calendar days
After award, you must have
- Training certificates and signed Rules of Behavior for staff with VA information access, due after award From Attachment B - SOW_Lyons VAMC Elevators Repair Bldgs 6 and 53.docx:
…within 1 week of the initiation of the contract and annually thereafter…
Not in the notice text
- Attachment C, Wage_Determination_NJ20260042_05.18.2026.docx, is attached on SAM.gov but was not read; it holds the wage rates that apply to pricing.
- No total contract period or start date is given beyond the 13 week limit per elevator.
- Supplemental insurance requirements (clause CL 120) are listed but their terms are not given.
- The number and format of past performance references is not stated, and the relative weight of the evaluation factors is not stated.
- The VA says it is answering a large number of requests for information, but the answers are not in the documents read.
- Whether the August 14, 2026 request for information deadline still applies after the later extensions is not stated.
- No Government estimate is given.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 238290
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to Contracting Officer Ms. Mitchelle Labady at mitchelle.labady@va.gov (electronic submissions by email only). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Aug 19, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- 242-Network Contract Office 02 (36C242), Albany, NY
- Product/service code
- J039 · Maint/Repair/Rebuild of Equipment – Materials Handling Equipment
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238290)
- Versions
10 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 29, 2026 · Amendment 0009Due Nov 20, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0008Due Oct 29, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 30, 2026 · Amendment 0007Due Oct 15, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 18, 2026 · Amendment 0006Due Sep 28, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 10, 2026 · Amendment 0005Due Sep 18, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 31, 2026 · Amendment 0004Due Sep 9, 2026
- Aug 31, 2026 · Amendment 0003Due Sep 9, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 19, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Aug 31, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 11, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Aug 20, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 10, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Aug 14, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Latest amendment note from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- WTX Elevator Inspections and Load Testing ServicesOnly certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs) listed in the SBA certification database can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs job.
- Modernize Damen (Bldg. 1) Elevators Construction 537-24-101Only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) can bid on solicitation 36C25226B0011, a sealed-bid construction job to modernize nine elevators at Jesse…
- 537-26-101 Construction of Ogden Elevator Cab Interiors Jesse Brown VA Medical CenterOnly certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB) can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs presolicitation (an early notice before the bid request) to…
- Elevator Equipment and Systems Recurring Preventative Maintenance and Non-Wear-and-Tear Repairs
- Elevator Maintenance & Related Services (Columbus, OH & Dayton, OH)The General Services Administration's Public Buildings Service wants full-service elevator maintenance at four federal buildings in Columbus and Dayton, Ohio.