Solicitation
WJHTC Armed Security Guard Services
Department of Transportation · Federal Aviation Administration
AI summarySolicitation 692M15-25-R-00012 is open only to 8(a) firms (the federal program for small businesses owned by socially and economically disadvantaged people). The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) wants armed security guards at its William J. Hughes Technical Center in Atlantic City, New Jersey. One firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) contract is planned: a 2-month transition, a 12-month base period and four 12-month option periods. The response due date is November 4, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern Time, by email to the contracting officer (CO). The notice schedules a mandatory site visit for 9:00 AM Eastern Time on September 29, 2026 (passed). More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 22 of 34 attachments weren't read (Attach 02 Pricing Schedule-Attach 30 ODCs-Attach 31 SCLS Comp-Attach 33 FFP Buildup 10-15-2026.xlsx, 25-R-00012 redcated Guards Site Visit sign-in sheet 9-29-2026.pdf and 20 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Solicitation 692M15-25-R-00012 is open only to 8(a) firms (the federal program for small businesses owned by socially and economically disadvantaged people). The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) wants armed security guards at its William J. Hughes Technical Center in Atlantic City, New Jersey. One firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing) contract is planned: a 2-month transition, a 12-month base period and four 12-month option periods. The response due date is November 4, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern Time, by email to the contracting officer (CO). The notice schedules a mandatory site visit for 9:00 AM Eastern Time on September 29, 2026 (passed).
Who can bid (4)
- Be an 8(a) firm (Total Socially and Economically Disadvantaged Business set-aside); this is the SAM.gov set-aside: 8(a) Set-Aside (FAR 19.8)
- Corporate Experience rated at least Somewhat Relevant. Relevance looks at an annual dollar value of at least $5,000,000, about 70 armed guards (55 full-time and 15 part-time), about 3000 employees at the facility and 227 to 800 visitors a week
- Past Performance not rated High Risk
Show all 4Show fewer
- Signed SCLS Compliance Certification (Attachment 32) saying the proposed pricing meets the collective bargaining agreement pay and benefit minimums
How to submit: Email to the contracting officer, with the subject line 692M15-25-R-00012 WJHTC Guards followed by the offeror's name. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (18)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: Only 8(a) firms can bid. The set-aside is the 8(a) program; a business without 8(a) certification cannot win this award.
- Serious: The site visit was Sep 29, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
- Serious: Union workforce and fixed collective bargaining pay rates. Two collective bargaining agreements (CBAs) are attached as Service Contract Act wage determinations, one naming Hana Industries, Inc. and one Centerra Group LLC, both running May 1, 2025 through April 30, 2028. The Hana agreement sets armed officers at $29.22, $30.12 and $31.00 an hour for May 1 of 2025, 2026 and 2027, Lieutenants at $35.06, $36.15 and $37.20, and Computer Operators at $25.62, $26.41 and $27.18, plus $2.00 an hour for dispatch and operations center work. Price to these rates.
Show all 18Show fewer
- Serious: No price relief if the labor buildup is wrong. Within 60 days after award the contractor must submit a buildup (Attachment 33) proving the price covers the CBA rates. A mistake found later gets no price adjustment, payment can be withheld, and the FAA says a gap may be grounds for termination for default.
- Serious: Large past-work size bar for Corporate Experience. References are judged on size: an annual dollar value of at least $5,000,000, about 70 armed guards, about 3000 employees and 227 to 800 visitors a week. A rating of Not Relevant makes a firm ineligible.
- Worth checking: Real ID needed to enter the Technical Center. Visitors without proper Real ID identification or an identified alternative are not allowed in, including at the mandatory site visit.
- Worth checking: Past Performance rated High Risk is ineligible. A High Risk rating shuts a firm out. Problems the offeror does not explain are treated as still existing, and a firm with fewer than two usable references gets a neutral Unknown Risk rating.
- Worth checking: New Jersey firearms permits and registration for every guard. Guards must hold a New Jersey permit to carry and SORA certification. The FAA answered that if they are not in hand, the contractor sends proof of application within 30 days after award and must provide fully trained, qualified guards when full performance starts.
- Worth checking: Contractor supplies vehicles and protective gear. The contractor furnishes and maintains at least seven serviceable vehicles with replacements so seven are always available, plus body armor, helmets, shields, firearms, ammunition and handheld radios. Costs go in the fixed-price lines (CLINs, the priced lines of the order).
- Worth checking: Surge work has no guaranteed minimum. Surge guards are ordered in writing for events and emergencies at not-to-exceed rates. The FAA will try to order surge events at least 7 days ahead, but says this is not always possible.
- Worth checking: Transition and start dates differ between versions. The September 14 solicitation says the 60-day transition begins approximately February 1, 2027 and contractor responsibility begins approximately April 1, 2027. The amended text prints 1 March beside February 2027 and 1 May beside April 2027 together, so the current dates are unclear. Ask the CO which dates apply.
- Worth checking: Price realism and balance checks. The FAA may find a price unrealistic and drop the proposal, and may reject materially unbalanced pricing across lines or option years. It may also treat any statement that contradicts a requirement as an exception.
- Worth checking: Award may be made without discussions. The FAA says offerors should not assume they can fix omissions later, so each initial offer needs to be complete and on the best terms.
- Worth checking: Date passed (Oct 15, 2026): Two versions of the statement of work. Statements of work dated June 22, 2026 and October 15, 2026 are both attached, and the Q&A points to revised SOW sections (3.3.1.1, 3.3.20, 3.5, 3.5.2, 3.5.10, 3.6.1). Only parts of each were read, so check the October 15 version in full.
- Minor: No waiver for the program manager's degree. A bidder's question says the SOW requires a bachelor's degree for the Contract Program Manager. The FAA answered that the SOW allows no waiver for that position, while the supervisor degree can be waived case by case.
- Minor: Weekly hours capped at 40 per guard. Contractors must schedule so no guard works over 40 hours a week but still pay overtime under the labor rules, so staffing and cover for breaks must be planned in the price.
- Minor: All training is inside the fixed price. The FAA says all required initial, annual and dispatcher training is to be proposed as part of the FFP, either as labor or as other direct costs.
- Minor: Relief guard needed within two hours. The contractor must keep a qualified relief replacement available within two hours for any guard unable to perform.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 22 of 34 not read. Show which files.
- 692M15-25-R-00012 AMD 0001 conform 10-21-2026.pdf (read)
- AMD 0001 WJHTC Guards SIR Q and A 10-15-2026.pdf (read)
- 692M15-25-R-00012 WJHTC Guards 9-14-2026.pdf (read)
- Attachment 01 Statement of Work 10-15-2026.pdf (read)
- Attachment 01 Statement of Work 6-22-2026.pdf (read)
- WJHTC Seniority List.pdf (read)
- Attachment 28 Corporate Experience Info Sheet 6-15-2026.docx (read)
- Attachment 32 SCLS Compliance Certification 6-15-2026.pdf (read)
- Attachment 28 Corporate Experience Info Sheet 6-15-2026.docx (read)
- Attachment 27 SIR Q and A template 6-15-2026.docx (read)
- Attachment 26 CBA - Centerra - CBA-2025-181 5-1-2025.pdf (read)
- Attachment 25 CBA - Hana - CBA-2025-180 5-1-2025.pdf (read)
- Attach 02 Pricing Schedule-Attach 30 ODCs-Attach 31 SCLS Comp-Attach 33 FFP Buildup 10-15-2026.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- 25-R-00012 redcated Guards Site Visit sign-in sheet 9-29-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attach 02 Pricing Schedule-Attach 30 ODCs-Attach 31 SCLS Comp-Attach 33 FFP Buildup 6-22-2026.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 17 Active Shooter Training Example 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 16 NJ Title 2C-NJ Code of Criminal Justice Section 2C3-4 - 2C3-9 Use of Force 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 15 Contractor Vehicle Security Decal Placement 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 12 Certification of Citizen-Edu-Age-Comm Skills 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 11 Initial Checklist for Contractor Personnel 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 09 Contract Security Officer Firearms Qualification Course of Fire (CoF) and Cert 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 08 New Jersey Revised Statutes Title 2C58-4 Handgun Permit 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 06 Cert of Review of Guard Orders and Contractor Guard Manual 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 05 GFE List 6-4-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 03 Facility Buildings List 10-24-2025.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 07 DOD Contract Security Classification Specification Form DD254 7-21-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 29 Past Performance Evaluation Survey 6-15-2026.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 29 Past Performance Evaluation Survey 6-15-2026.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 21 Lost and Found Report Form 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 20 Daily Desk Log Sample Form 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 18 Incident Report Form 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 14 Certification of Drug Testing Form 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 13 Certification of Physical Qualifications Form 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 10 Lautenberg Amendment IAW 18 USC 922 and Certification Form 6-15-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Armed guards on posts across the Technical Center 365 days a year, 24 hours a day: gates, visitor and vehicle screening, building and perimeter patrols
- Staff and run the District 24 Command-and-Control (C2) dispatch center around the clock: monitor alarms and cameras, take 911 calls, alert and direct responders
- Support the operations center, keep a written daily desk log and file incident reports as described in the statement of work (SOW)
- Guard the Transportation Security Laboratory on the Technical Center grounds and a small remote facility in Elwood, New Jersey, and respond to alarms and emergencies at the off-campus site
- Furnish and maintain at least seven serviceable patrol vehicles, plus radios, firearms, ammunition, 7 ballistic body armor sets, 7 ballistic helmets and 5 ballistic shields
- Provide extra guards for events, emergencies and ad-hoc needs (surge) at firm-fixed-price not-to-exceed rates; the Q&A names the airshow, exercises and planned power outages as the largest recurring events
- Provide all initial and annual training and firearms qualification, priced in the fixed price; the Q&A says all required training is to be proposed as part of the FFP
- Pay the wage rates and benefits in the attached collective bargaining agreements and submit a pricing buildup that proves compliance within 60 days after award
- Contract type
- Single firm-fixed-price (FFP) contract; surge work is ordered at firm-fixed-price not-to-exceed (NTE) rates
- Period of performance
- 2-month (60-day) transition, 12-month base period and four 12-month option periods; the FAA decides alone whether to exercise each option
- Place of performance
- William J. Hughes Technical Center for Advanced Aerospace, Atlantic City International Airport, NJ 08405, and a small remote facility at 1300 Elwood Long Range Radar, Building 200, 1300 Elwood/Pleasant Mills Rd, Elwood, NJ 08217
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value tradeoff (the FAA weighs technical merit against price, not price alone); the FAA may award on initial offers without discussions
- Offers due
- November 4, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern Time
- How to submit
- Email to the contracting officer, with the subject line 692M15-25-R-00012 WJHTC Guards followed by the offeror's name
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical proposal (Volume 1): Tab 1 Staffing Approach and Tab 2 Management Approach; their weights are in Section M, which was cut from the text read
- Factor 3 Corporate Experience: rated Very Relevant, Relevant, Somewhat Relevant or Not Relevant on size and scope of past work, with emphasis on staffing and managing a 365/24/7 Command-and-Control dispatch center and 365/24/7 security operations; Not Relevant is ineligible for award
- Factor 4 Past Performance: risk rating from the Attachment 29 questionnaire elements (quality of service, timeliness of performance, cost control, program management, customer relationship, customer satisfaction); High Risk is ineligible for award; a firm with fewer than two reference contracts gets Unknown Risk, treated as neutral
- Factor 5 Cost/Price: checked for reasonableness, completeness and consistency with the technical proposal; not scored or rated; the total evaluated price is the Attachment 02 Pricing Schedule value Contract Total with Options
What to include when you submit
- Send the proposal by email so the Government receives it before the response due date; a late proposal is not evaluated (AMS 3.2.2.3-14, the FAA's Acquisition Management System rule on late submissions)
- Volume 1 Technical Proposal: Tab 1 Staffing Approach and Tab 2 Management Approach
- Volume 2 Cost/Price Proposal: Tab 1 cost and pricing spreadsheets (Attachment 02 Pricing Schedule and Surge FFP NTE Rates), Tab 2 service contract labor standards (SCLS) compliance, Tab 3 cost/price narrative explaining any inconsistency with the technical proposal
- Tab 2 SCLS compliance: the Attachment 31 SCLS Compliance pricing spreadsheet and a signed Attachment 32 SCLS Compliance Certification covering the Armed Security Officer, Lieutenant and Computer Operator pay classes
- Training the FAA does not give as on-the-job training is listed as other direct costs (ODCs) in Attachment 30, which was revised
- Corporate Experience: complete the revised Attachment 28 form with a narrative per contract, as Section L.11.1.3 directs; submit contracts for the offeror (including each joint venture) and for each team member; Section L limits the number of contract references (a bidder's question cites 5)
- Past Performance: only contracts submitted under Factor 3 Corporate Experience are evaluated; the Attachment 29 Past Performance questionnaire applies
- Volume 3 Tab 1 includes Attachment 07, the DD 254 (Department of Defense contract security classification form), completed for the offeror and each applicable subcontractor and affiliate; Section L.11.3.1.h was revised
- Format: tables, charts, graphics, headers and footers may not use fonts smaller than 8-point (Section L.8, revised); 11x17 pages are not allowed
- Acknowledge receipt of Amendment 0001 before the response due date, as the amendment form requires
- Joint ventures are allowed (8(a) certified or Mentor-Protege); the FAA evaluates the joint venture and each member
After award, you must have
- Certificate of insurance for work on a Government installation, due 30 days after award From 692M15-25-R-00012 AMD 0001 conform 10-21-2026.pdf:
Certificate of Insurance 30 days after contract award.
- Guards hold a valid New Jersey firearms permit and New Jersey Security Officers Registration Act (SORA) certification; due 30 days after award, or proof of application with fees paid and prerequisites completed From 692M15-25-R-00012 AMD 0001 conform 10-21-2026.pdf:
State of New Jersey valid…
- Per-guard certifications due 30 days after award and before each new hire is assigned to a post: U.S. citizenship, education, minimum age, communication skills, medical standards, drug testing and Lautenberg Amendment compliance (a federal firearms law) From 692M15-25-R-00012 AMD 0001 conform 10-21-2026.pdf:
Certification of Drug Testing via submission of…
- Evidence of required personnel security clearances and resumes for contract management personnel, due 30 days after award
Current contractor
The documents refer to a current contract and an incumbent contractor but name none. The attached collective bargaining agreements name Hana Industries, Inc. and Centerra Group LLC as employers under the same union, both for May 1, 2025 through April 30, 2028; the text does not say which is the current contractor. The FAA says historical post hours and surge history will not be provided, and a seniority list of current covered employees is posted. No sources sought or estimate figures appear in the text read.
Not in the notice text
- Large parts of the solicitation were cut from the text read: most of Sections G to M (including all of Section L, the proposal instructions, and the start of Section M), the middle of the statement of work and the middle of the Q&A (questions 38 to 56). The pricing spreadsheets (Attachments 02, 30, 31 and 33) are attached but not read.
- Also attached but not read: Attachment 03 Facility Buildings List, Attachment 05 Government Furnished Equipment List, Attachment 07 DD 254, Attachment 29 Past Performance Evaluation Survey, the firearms, training and form attachments (6, 8 to 16, 17, 18, 20, 21), and the scanned site visit sign-in sheet.
- Page limits, the exact volume contents, the number of Corporate Experience references and the weights or order of importance of the evaluation factors are in Sections L and M, which were not read.
- What happens to a firm that did not attend the mandatory site visit is in Section L.4, which was not read.
- The Government's estimate or contract value is not stated; the CLIN prices and surge hours are in the pricing spreadsheet, which was not read.
- The current transition start date and the date contractor responsibility begins are unclear after Amendment 0001.
- The security clearance level guards and the company need is set by the DD 254 and the security attachments, which were not read.
- The CBAs end April 30, 2028; wage terms for contract years after that are not stated. The Centerra agreement's wage table was cut from the text read.
- Whether a New Jersey security company license or local office is required of the bidder or its team is not stated in the text read.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only firms in SBA's 8(a) program can bid as the prime contractor. Not in the 8(a) program? How the 8(a) program works. More open 8(a) set-asides under NAICS 561612
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to the contracting officer, with the subject line 692M15-25-R-00012 WJHTC Guards followed by the offeror's name. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 692M15 Acquisition & Grants, AAQ600, Atlantic City, NJ
- Product/service code
- R430 · Support – Professional: Physical Security and Badging
- Business type
- Security & guard services (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 561612)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 21, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 4, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 14, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 29, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open 8(a) set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, 8(a) program, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- AMENDMENT 0002 Sol 70FBR427R00000001 Level II Armed Guard Security Services
- INSCOM G-2 Access Control and Security Escorts (ACES)Only 8(a) program firms can bid on this Army contract for unarmed access control officers and security escorts at secure intelligence facilities.
- Armed Protective Security Officer Services, Los Angeles Area
- Unarmed Security Guards at the SLVHCS POP: 12/20/2026 - 12/19/2027 4 Option Years POC: Christopher RossiSources sought 36C25627Q0078 (a market research request, not a solicitation) is set aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB).
- Security Services at Davis and Parker DamsThe Bureau of Reclamation's Lower Colorado Dams Office is asking businesses to show they can provide armed security guards at Davis Dam and Parker Dam in Arizona.