Solicitation
Government-Owned, Contactor-Operated (GOCO) and Contractor-Owned/Contractor-Operated (COCO) fuel services at Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center 29 Palms, CA
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryDLA Energy (the Defense Logistics Agency's fuel office) wants a Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) to run fuel storage and distribution at Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center, Twentynine Palms, California. That means one government-owned aviation fuel facility (GOCO) plus two contractor-owned ground fuel stations (COCO). It is a firm-fixed-price contract priced by the month, starting in March 2028, with a 3 to 3.5 year base period and options that run out to 2056. The award goes to the lowest-priced offer that passes the technical and past performance checks. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 1, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 28, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 30, 2026 to Nov 30, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 10 attachments weren't read (SPE60326R0543-0002.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
DLA Energy (the Defense Logistics Agency's fuel office) wants a Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) to run fuel storage and distribution at Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center, Twentynine Palms, California. That means one government-owned aviation fuel facility (GOCO) plus two contractor-owned ground fuel stations (COCO). It is a firm-fixed-price contract priced by the month, starting in March 2028, with a 3 to 3.5 year base period and options that run out to 2056. The award goes to the lowest-priced offer that passes the technical and past performance checks.
Who can bid (7)
- Must be a Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (100% set-aside under NAICS 493190)
- Registered in SAM and in PIEE
- Limitations on subcontracting clause applies (an SDVOSB set-aside caps how much work can be passed to non-qualifying subcontractors; clause text was not in the pages provided)
Show all 7Show fewer
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) clauses are included; the required level was not visible in the pages provided
- Employees who process fuel inventory transactions need DoD ADP Level III system access, which requires a background check (National Agency Check)
- Insurance certificates (general liability and workers' compensation, $2,000,000 limits in the draft COCO license) before entering the premises
- Service Contract Act wage determination applies to the workforce
How to submit: E-mail proposals are allowed to bidcustodian@dla.mil (PDF, Word, Excel or PowerPoint; max 10 MB per email; signed). Notice also says companies must be registered in SAM and PIEE., due October 30, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern (notice shows Oct 30, 2026 15:00 at UTC-04:00). The RFP form shows an earlier date of 2026 OCT 05 3:00 PM, so confirm against the latest amendment.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: Only certified SDVOSBs can bid. This is set aside for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses certified by SBA (VetCert); others can't bid as the prime.
- Serious: Contractor must furnish COCO facilities and equipment. You must bring all equipment (leasing it at your own expense if delivery is late) and show a facility and equipment design in your proposal, which takes real capital; the visible text does not say whether you build new tanks or take over existing ones.
- Serious: COCO site license can be revoked at any time. The draft license for the contractor-owned fuel sites can be revoked without notice, which is a big risk for a company investing in equipment.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Serious: Very long term with fixed monthly pricing. Options run to 2056, all priced up front and added together for evaluation, and unbalanced option pricing can get the offer rejected; no price-adjustment terms were visible.
- Worth checking: Lowest price wins. Once you pass the pass/fail technical and past performance checks, only price decides, so margins will be tight.
- Worth checking: The site visit was Sep 2, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
- Worth checking: Heavy technical data required with the initial proposal. Missing tank history, maps, schematics and capacity data can make the proposal technically unacceptable, and this may be hard for a bidder who does not already control the tanks.
- Worth checking: Many detailed plans due before performance starts. Eleven or more plans (compliance, quality, maintenance, staffing, security, safety and others) must be accepted before the start date, which is substantial paperwork for a small firm.
- Minor: Government-owned fuel accounting in DLA Energy systems. You must enter every transaction within one business day and reconcile monthly and yearly, with staff cleared for system access.
- Minor: Small paperwork mismatch. The Past Performance Questionnaire form lists solicitation number SPE603-26-R-0524 instead of 0543, so ask the contracting officer which number to use.
Read from the notice and 9 attachments. 1 of 10 not read. Show which files.
- SPE60326R0543 RFP.pdf (read)
- SPE60326R0543-0001.pdf (read)
- Attachment II - PWS.pdf (read)
- Attachment VI - PPRL.pdf (read)
- Attachment III - DLA E QAPs.pdf (read)
- Attachment I - PPF.pdf (read)
- Attachment VII - Consent Form.pdf (read)
- Attachment V - PPQ.pdf (read)
- Attachment IV - WD 2015-5629 Rev 29.pdf (read)
- SPE60326R0543-0002.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Manage, operate and maintain the GOCO fuel facility (Strategic Expeditionary Landing Field bulk storage with loading and off-loading racks) and two COCO ground-fuel facilities (B2083 Del Valle and Camp Wilson)
- Receive, store, sample and test, transfer and issue petroleum products, and safeguard fuel, facilities and equipment in normal and adverse conditions
- Track inventory and accounting for Government-owned fuel in DLA Energy systems (daily transactions, month-end and year-end reconciliation)
- Run product quality surveillance (sampling, testing, water drain-off, documentation)
- Furnish the facilities, equipment and vehicles for the COCO sites and keep all sites maintained, including a computerized maintenance system
- Meet safety, environmental, spill-response and security requirements and train all staff
- Submit detailed plans (compliance, quality, maintenance, staffing, environmental, equipment, contingency, security, inventory, safety, training) to the Contracting Officer 60 days before performance starts
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP), priced per month by CLIN; request for proposal (RFP); 100% SDVOSB set-aside
- Period of performance
- COCO base 3.5 years (March 15, 2028 to September 14, 2031) and GOCO base 3 years (September 15, 2028 to September 14, 2031); four 5-year options through September 14, 2051; one 4.5-year option to March 14, 2056; plus an option to extend up to 6 months through September 14, 2056
- Place of performance
- Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center (MCAGCC), Twentynine Palms, CA (SELF GOCO facility; COCO facilities at B2083 Del Valle and Camp Wilson)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Lowest evaluated price among proposals rated acceptable on the non-price factors (lowest price technically acceptable); price includes all option years
- Offers due
- October 30, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern (notice shows Oct 30, 2026 15:00 at UTC-04:00). The RFP form shows an earlier date of 2026 OCT 05 3:00 PM, so confirm against the latest amendment. (from the version posted Oct 1, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- E-mail proposals are allowed to bidcustodian@dla.mil (PDF, Word, Excel or PowerPoint; max 10 MB per email; signed). Notice also says companies must be registered in SAM and PIEE.
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor 1 - Technical/Management, rated Acceptable/Unacceptable, four equal sub-factors: Staffing, Operations, Maintenance, Contractor-furnished Facilities and Equipment
- Factor 2 - Past Performance, rated Acceptable/Unacceptable (recent and relevant: at least 12 months of performance in the last 3 years; no record is rated neutral, which counts as Acceptable)
- Factor 3 - Price (monthly CLIN prices multiplied by the months in each period, base plus options plus 6-month extension; unbalanced option prices can make an offer unacceptable)
What to include when you submit
- Include a signed offer; non-PDF attachments must be sent password protected for read-only
- Fill out Attachment I Price Proposal Form with a monthly price for each CLIN (0001 COCO base 42 months, 0002 GOCO base 36 months, options 0003 to 0007)
- Check the box choosing how higher-order fuel tests will be done (own staff, own facilities for Government testing, or a commercial lab)
- Include a map, facility layout drawing, equipment and line description, pump capacities, and each storage tank's cleaning, maintenance and repair history with the last and next API 653 inspection dates
- Confirm certified strapping charts exist for each tank offered; give tank bottoms, pipeline fill, maximum safe fill capacity and ballast water receiving capacity
- If offering a segregated system instead of the preferred dedicated system, describe it and the handling procedures to protect Government fuel
- Past performance package: Past Performance Questionnaires (Attachment V), reference list (Attachment VI) and consent forms from joint venture, teaming or subcontract partners (Attachment VII); the Government will use no more than three of the most recent and relevant PPQs
- Address each Technical/Management sub-factor: staffing matrix, concept of operations, maintenance approach, and facility and equipment design
- Ask questions in writing to micherie.dougherty@dla.mil; answers will be posted on SAM.gov as an amendment
- Clearly show any exceptions or deviations by attachment to the offer
Not in the notice text
- Estimated contract value or budget is not stated
- Section L proposal format, page limits and any volume structure were in the middle of the RFP that was not read (it may be an attached file the AI skipped; check SAM.gov)
- The CMMC level required and the full text of the limitations-on-subcontracting and other clauses were not visible
- Whether the contractor must build and own the COCO tanks and dispensers or take over existing ones, and the cost of that
- What Amendment 0002 changed (it was a scanned PDF and could not be read), including any new due date
- Contents of the DLA Energy Quality Assurance Provisions and the wage determination tables (only page headers were readable)
- Operating hours, staffing levels, response times and key personnel details in the middle of the PWS and Appendix A were not read (it may be an attached file the AI skipped; check SAM.gov)
- Who the current operator is, and whether any economic price adjustment applies over the long contract term
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 493190
- How to submit, from the AI summary: E-mail proposals are allowed to bidcustodian@dla.mil (PDF, Word, Excel or PowerPoint; max 10 MB per email; signed). Notice also says companies must be registered in SAM and PIEE. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 28, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- DLA Energy, Fort Belvoir, VA
- Product/service code
- M1GC · Operation of Fuel Storage Buildings
- Business type
- Transportation, logistics & vehicles (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 493190)
- Versions
4 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 28, 2026 · Amendment 0003 (this version)Due Nov 30, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 1, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Oct 30, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 27, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Oct 5, 2026
- Aug 18, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 5, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Government-Owned, Contractor-Operated (GOCO) Fuel Services at NAWS China Lake, CaliforniaOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs: firms owned by veterans with service-connected disabilities) can bid on this set-aside.
- Government-Owned, Contractor-Operated (GOCO) fuel services at Naval Air Station Corpus Christi, TX
- Solicitation - Fort Hood GOCO Aircraft & Ground Fuel ServicesOnly service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid to run and maintain the Government-owned, contractor-operated (GOCO) fuel facilities at Fort Hood, Texas,…
- Government-Owned Contractor Operated (GOCO) Aircraft/Ground Fuel Services and Fuel Storage and Distribution at Cannon AFB, NM, Holloman AFB, NM, Davis Monthan AFB, AZ and Luke AFB, AZThe notice text sets this aside 100% for service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSB), but SAM.gov says total small business set-aside.
- Contractor-owned, Contractor-operated (COCO) bulk retail services at two locations on Fort Bragg, NC.DLA Energy wants a contractor to own, build and run fuel storage and distribution facilities at two sites on Fort Bragg, NC (an East Bragg site and an 82nd Airborne site).