Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
FCC Medical Cache Maintenance
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryOnly certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs job for the Eastern Colorado Healthcare System: store, maintain and deploy the Federal Coordination Center's emergency medical supply cache around Aurora, CO. The response due date is November 4, 2026 (an amendment moved it to Nov 12, 2026, 10:00 AM MST · 12:00 PM Eastern), 10:00 AM Mountain (12:00 PM Eastern), by email only. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) contract for a base year plus four option years, awarded all or nothing. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 20, 2026. The notice was amended Nov 3, 2026. The due date moved from Nov 4, 2026 to Nov 12, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 2 of 5 attachments weren't read (Attachment A - Denver Inventory Count Sheet.xlsx, Department of Labor Wage Determination - 2015-5419 Rev 34 - 08-27-2026.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can bid on this Department of Veterans Affairs job for the Eastern Colorado Healthcare System: store, maintain and deploy the Federal Coordination Center's emergency medical supply cache around Aurora, CO. The response due date is November 4, 2026 (passed), 10:00 AM Mountain (12:00 PM Eastern), by email only. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) contract for a base year plus four option years, awarded all or nothing.
Who can bid (5)
- Certified service-disabled veteran-owned small business (SDVOSB), verified and visible in the SBA certification database at quote submission and at award
- Limitations on subcontracting: the contractor may not pay more than 50% of the amount the Government pays it to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs or VOSBs; a signed certificate is part of the quote
- At least 2 years of experience in medical cache maintenance and deployment, with experience in the Incident Command Structure
Show all 5Show fewer
- Evidence of employee certification such as Incident Command System courses 100, 200, 700 and 800, or an equivalent national certification
- Active System for Award Management (SAM) registration with the clause and provision certifications (52.204-7 applies)
How to submit: Email to Noaa Lanotte at Noaa.Lanotte@va.gov; email is the only method, 10MB limit; no hand-carried or faxed quotes, due November 4, 2026, 10:00 AM Mountain (12:00 PM Eastern). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: SDVOSB set-aside: certification must show in SBA database. Only certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses can bid, and a business not listed when the quote is sent and at award is non-responsive.
- Serious: Half of the money must stay with certified SDVOSBs or VOSBs. The prime may pay no more than 50% of what the Government pays it to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs or VOSBs, and a signed certificate is due with the quote.
- Serious: All-or-nothing award. A quote must cover every line, base and options; leaving any line out risks the whole quote.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Serious: Storage site near Denver airport. A bidder needs 2,000 sq ft of secure, climate-controlled space within 25 miles of Denver International Airport, so a business without such space must lease it.
- Serious: 72-hour deployment for real emergencies. The cache and staff must be ready to deploy within 72 hours of an activation notice, whatever the day or weather, and the contractor must be reachable 24/7.
- Worth checking: Two years of cache experience and trained staff. The contractor needs 2 years of medical cache maintenance and deployment experience plus staff with incident command training.
- Worth checking: Quote by email only, signed and dated. Only emailed quotes with a 10MB limit are accepted, and an RFQ not completed in full, signed and dated will not be considered.
- Worth checking: Transition work within 30 days of award. A new contractor must move the cache, reconcile inventory and set up a tested digital inventory system within 30 days after award, with payment withheld for noncompliance.
- Minor: Payment deductions for missed standards. The VA's quality plan sets compliance targets, from 95% to 100%, with deductions or cure notices when they are missed.
- Minor: NAICS 624230 described two ways. SAM.gov names 624230 Emergency and Other Relief Services, while the solicitation text names it Commercial and Industrial Machinery and Equipment Repair and Maintenance, with a $41.5 million size standard.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. 2 of 5 not read. Show which files.
- 36C25927Q0030.docx (read)
- Performance Work Statement - FCC Cache - 10-20-2026.docx (read)
- VAAR 852.219-75 VA Notice of Limitations on Subcontracting_Certificate.docx (read)
- Attachment A - Denver Inventory Count Sheet.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Department of Labor Wage Determination - 2015-5419 Rev 34 - 08-27-2026.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Store and maintain the VA-owned medical cache listed on Attachment A (the Denver inventory count sheet) so it is ready for emergency response
- Provide at least 2,000 sq ft of secure, climate-controlled storage (64 to 78°F) within 25 miles of Denver International Airport, with 24/7 access for Government employees
- Rotate and condition batteries, keep monthly inventory reports, and report equipment to replace after every activation, training or exercise
- Deliver, set up and break down the cache at a Patient Reception Site: 2 complete and 2 partial deliveries a year, with at least 6 staff on site; setup and breakdown each within 2 hours
- Be able to deploy the cache with the needed staff within 72 hours of a real-world activation notice, day or night; be reachable 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
- Take part in at least one yearly table-top exercise, one yearly cache deployment, planning meetings and monthly readiness reporting (20 training and meeting units a year)
- Provide transition work if a new contractor takes over: move the cache, reconcile inventory, set up a digital inventory system and train staff within 30 days of award
- Real-world activations are paid by the hour under the not-to-exceed (NTE) labor lines, 168 HR a year at 7 staff
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP); priced by contract line item number (CLIN: one priced line of the order), including not-to-exceed (NTE) labor lines; all-or-nothing award
- Period of performance
- Base year December 1, 2026 to November 30, 2027, plus four one-year options ending November 30, 2031; clause 52.217-8 allows an extension of up to 6 months, and clause 52.217-9 caps total duration at 5 years
- Place of performance
- Aurora, CO, USA (Rocky Mountain Regional VA Medical Center, 1700 North Wheeling Street, Aurora, CO 80045); contractor storage site within 25 miles of Denver International Airport; events anywhere in the ECHCS catchment area (44,000 sq miles)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value, using comparative analysis; offers that do not meet or exceed the technical requirement are not selected regardless of price
- Offers due
- November 4, 2026, 10:00 AM Mountain (12:00 PM Eastern) (from the version posted Oct 20, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to Noaa Lanotte at Noaa.Lanotte@va.gov; email is the only method, 10MB limit; no hand-carried or faxed quotes
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor I, Technical Capability: how well the quote meets or exceeds the Performance Work Statement requirements
- Factor II, Price: total of all line-item prices including all options; option prices checked for unbalancing
- Factor III, Past Performance: how closely past work relates to this requirement and how well it was performed; no record means neither favorable nor unfavorable
What to include when you submit
- Send four volumes: I Technical Capability, II Price, III Past Performance, IV the signed VAAR 852.219-75 limitations on subcontracting certificate; a quote missing a volume may be treated as non-responsive
- Volume I: show how the quote meets the Performance Work Statement and solicitation
- Volume II: complete the price schedule and price the base year and every option year line
- Volume III: at most three recent and relevant past efforts, finished within five years of the RFQ release date, and similar in nature, size, magnitude, complexity and scope
- Volume III: include the Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System (CPARS) evaluation if one exists; if not, give contract numbers, award amount, point of contact with email and phone, and a description of the work
- Volume IV: list every subcontractor with its size standard under NAICS 624230 and what it will do, and say how the firm will meet the limitations on subcontracting; if none, state that no subcontractors will be used
- Complete, sign and date the whole RFQ
- State whether quoted items are available through a Government-wide contract, GSA Multiple Award Schedule or VA-wide contract
- Show certified SDVOSB status in the SBA certification database when the quote is sent
- Show evidence of employee certification such as ICS 100, 200, 700 and 800 (Incident Command System courses) or an equivalent national certification, and 2 years of experience
- Mark proprietary information; extra attachments count against page limits
- Questions in writing by October 26, 2026, 3:00 PM MT; the Government answers through an amendment
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The Performance Work Statement lists steps "Upon award to new contractor (if applicable)" for moving and reconciling the Government's inventory.
Not in the notice text
- Attached but not read: Attachment A, the Denver inventory count sheet (a spreadsheet listing the cache items), and the Department of Labor wage determination 2015-5419 Rev 34 (a scanned PDF), which sets Service Contract Labor Standards wage rates; check both on SAM.gov
- The Government's estimate or budget is not stated
- Dates and locations of the yearly exercises and trainings are not given
- The VA's quality assurance surveillance plan is not read (it may be an attached file the AI skipped; check SAM.gov)
- Whether the storage site must be named in the quote or can be secured after award
- Answers to questions will come through an amendment
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) certified through SBA's VetCert can bid as the prime contractor. Not certified through VetCert yet? Apply on VetCert (SBA), or start with the SDVOSB guide. More open service-disabled veteran-owned set-asides under NAICS 624230
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to Noaa Lanotte at Noaa.Lanotte@va.gov; email is the only method, 10MB limit; no hand-carried or faxed quotes. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Nov 3, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- Network Contract Office 19 (36C259), Greenwood Village, CO
- Product/service code
- R706 · Support – Management: Logistics Support
- Business type
- Medical & healthcare (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 624230)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Nov 3, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 12, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 20, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Nov 4, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open SDVOSB set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, SDVOSB (service-disabled veteran-owned small business), Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- DNA Warehousing SupportOnly SBA-certified service-disabled veteran-owned small businesses (SDVOSBs) can send quotes for DNA Warehousing Support (N0017826R2500), a Navy request for quotations at Dam…
- Request for Information (RFI) for Joint Project Manager for Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Protection (JPM CBRN P) Chemically Protected Deployable Medical System (CP DEPMEDS)
- Fire Control Radar (FCR)The Army Contracting Command at Redstone Arsenal, Alabama wants a new follow-on contractor to keep the Apache AH-64 Fire Control Radar supplied, tracked and supported for a…
- 486-27-2-3980-0006 - Wall-to-Wall Pharmacy Inventory
- Group of Seven (G7) Host Year Integrated Event Management, Production, and Logistical Support