Presolicitation
IE4 Power RFI
Department of Defense · Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA)
AI summaryThe Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) is asking industry for white papers on how to install and upgrade site power at its global Defense Information Systems Network (DISN) and satellite Teleport sites. This is a request for information (RFI) only, not a solicitation, and no contract is awarded from it. Work would span sites in the U.S. and overseas; the notice lists Fort George G Meade, MD as the place of performance. More in the summary
Market research, not a bid. Replying is free and tells Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) who could do this work. Send a short reply to the contracting contact; no price is needed. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 8, 2026. The notice was amended Nov 5, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 29, 2026 to Nov 12, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov.
The Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) is asking industry for white papers on how to install and upgrade site power at its global Defense Information Systems Network (DISN) and satellite Teleport sites. This is a request for information (RFI) only, not a solicitation, and no contract is awarded from it. Work would span sites in the U.S. and overseas; the notice lists Fort George G Meade, MD as the place of performance.
Who can bid
- Companies are asked to state their facility security clearance level, if they have one
How to submit: Email to mallory.m.melosi2.civ@mail.mil or trevor.k.whitaker.civ@mail.mil, due Oct 29, 2026 4:00 PM Central time. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch
- Worth checking: Large, global scope. The work covers hundreds of network sites and satellite sites in the U.S. and overseas, which may be too big for a small business to do alone and may point to teaming.
- Minor: Information request only. No solicitation exists yet and the government is not committed to buying, so responding costs you time and money with no guarantee of a contract.
- Minor: Classification codes may change. The NAICS and PSC codes may change in the real solicitation, which could affect size standards and set-asides.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- IE4_Power_RFI_Document_Final_10.8.2026.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Planning, scheduling, coordination and management of site power upgrades at DISN locations
- Power site surveys and survey documentation (Site Component List, Technical Site Integration Plan, installation bill of materials)
- Engineering solutions and procurement/delivery of materials for power upgrades
- Installation and testing of complete, operational direct current (DC) power upgrades
- Decommissioning and removal of old power equipment and circuits, with disposal per government instructions
- Contract type
- Not stated. This is an RFI for a potential new requirement
- Place of performance
- Fort George G Meade, MD per the notice; the RFI describes sites in both CONUS and OCONUS (inside and outside the continental U.S.)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- Oct 29, 2026 4:00 PM Central time (from the version posted Oct 8, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to mallory.m.melosi2.civ@mail.mil or trevor.k.whitaker.civ@mail.mil
- Page limits
- White paper, no more than 5 pages, single-spaced, 12-point type, 1-inch margins, 8.5 x 11; 20 MB email limit for everything
What to include when you submit
- Responses must specifically address sections 4 through 7 of the RFI (requested information, corporate information, facility clearance level, contract vehicles)
- Include company name, UEI and/or CAGE, address, point of contact and business type (and socioeconomic category if small); if teaming, give this for every company on the team
- State your facility clearance level, date of last verification and clearance agency, if any
- List contract vehicles available to the government (GSA Schedule, IDIQ, BPA, etc.)
- Questions by email only, ideally before 3:00 PM Central on October 15, 2026; answers will be posted on SAM.gov
- Mark proprietary information clearly; oral communications are not permitted
Not in the notice text
- Contract type, value and length of any future contract
- Whether the future contract will be set aside for small businesses
- Exact list of sites and which are overseas
- Whether a facility clearance will be required for the future work
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside. Any business can reply: this is market research, and no bid is being taken yet.
- To respond, send a short reply to the contracting contact near the top of this page. No price is needed.
Notice details
- Posted
- Nov 5, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- IT Contracting Division - PL83, Scott AFB, IL
- Product/service code
- R425 · Support – Professional: Engineering/Technical
- Business type
- Engineering, architecture & research (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541330)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Nov 5, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Nov 12, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 28, 2026 · Amendment 0001Date Nov 5, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 8, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Oct 29, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation