Solicitation
Latanoprost Ophthalmic Solution (VA-27-00006027)
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThe VA Enterprise Procurement Office plans to buy Latanoprost eye drops (an ophthalmic solution) for VA, DoD, Bureau of Prisons, Indian Health Service and the Federal Health Care Center. This is a pre-solicitation notice, so the actual RFP is not out yet. One contract will be awarded for one year plus four one-year options. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 2, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 30, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 16, 2026 to Nov 17, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. The notice looks incomplete: Estimated annual quantities (the list is empty in the text). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The VA Enterprise Procurement Office plans to buy Latanoprost eye drops (an ophthalmic solution) for VA, DoD, Bureau of Prisons, Indian Health Service and the Federal Health Care Center. This is a pre-solicitation notice, so the actual RFP is not out yet. One contract will be awarded for one year plus four one-year options.
Who can bid (5)
- Open to all responsible sources (unrestricted, no small business set-aside)
- Your own NDC number (National Drug Code, the product ID for a drug) that no one else uses
- Your label must be the only label on the product, with VA labels able to stick on top of it
Show all 5Show fewer
- Cap and label colors must follow the American Academy of Ophthalmology uniform color-coding system
- Trade agreement rules (WTO Government Procurement Agreement and Free Trade Agreements) apply to one or more items
How to submit: Not stated for offers. The solicitation will be posted electronically on SAM.gov. Questions can be emailed to the contract specialist, James Sullivan., due Oct 16, 2026 2:30 PM Central Time (response date on the notice). The notice also says the RFP is expected around October 21, 2026, with a tentative closing date of November 4, 2026.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
- Serious: Quantities not provided. The text ends right after promising estimated annual requirements, so you cannot size the bid or check if you can supply the volume.
- Serious: Single award for a whole federal market. One winner supplies VA, DoD, BOP, IHS and FHCC, so a small business needs manufacturing or supply capacity for a large, steady volume with no gaps.
- Worth checking: Solicitation not issued yet. This is only a notice of intent; the real requirements, evaluation and instructions come with the RFP, and dates may change.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Worth checking: Pharmaceutical labeling and NDC rules. You need your own labeled product and NDC, which in practice means being a drug manufacturer or having a labeler relationship, not just reselling.
- Minor: Date passed (Nov 4, 2026): Deadline dates differ. The notice response date is October 16, 2026, but the text says the RFP closes around November 4, 2026, so confirm which date matters.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- 36E79727R0039.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Supply Latanoprost Ophthalmic Solution as an uninterrupted source of supply
- Deliver through the VA and DoD Pharmaceutical Prime Vendor programs
- Supply under your own label and your own unique NDC number (drug product code)
- Follow the American Academy of Ophthalmology color-coding for caps and labels
- Price all four option years up front
- Contract type
- Request for Proposal (RFP) in commercial item format under FAR Part 12; one contract award. Pricing type not stated.
- Period of performance
- 1 base year + 4 pre-priced one-year option periods
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Contract vehicle
- None stated; distributed through the VA and DoD Pharmaceutical Prime Vendor Programs
- Offers due
- Oct 16, 2026 2:30 PM Central Time (response date on the notice). The notice also says the RFP is expected around October 21, 2026, with a tentative closing date of November 4, 2026. (from the version posted Oct 2, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Not stated for offers. The solicitation will be posted electronically on SAM.gov. Questions can be emailed to the contract specialist, James Sullivan.
What to include when you submit
- Offerors must state the exact name that appears on the drug label
- Offerors must have an NDC number unique to the offeror
- No paper copies of the solicitation and no phone requests; check SAM.gov for amendments
Not in the notice text
- Estimated annual quantities (the list is empty in the text)
- Strengths and package sizes required
- How the award will be decided and the evaluation factors
- How and where to submit offers, and any page limits
- Place of performance / delivery details
- Estimated contract value
- Whether there is a current supplier
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not stated for offers. The solicitation will be posted electronically on SAM.gov. Questions can be emailed to the contract specialist, James Sullivan. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- SAM.gov has no description for this notice beyond its title. The work is described in its attachments, listed under Notice details.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 30, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Nac Pharmaceuticals (36E797), Hines, IL
- Product/service code
- 6505 · Drugs and Biologicals
- Business type
- Medical & healthcare (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 325412)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 30, 2026 · Solicitation (this version)Due Nov 17, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 2, 2026 · PresolicitationDate Oct 16, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Epinephrine InjectorThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Troop Support) wants one national supplier of epinephrine 0.3 MG/0.3 ML auto-injectors in 2-count boxes for the Department of Defense, Veterans…
- Ramipril Capsules RFP
- MVAHCS FDG Radiopharmaceutical Sources Sought
- General Radioisotopes (Diagnostic & Therapeutic)
- FY27 Lenalidomide BPA