Solicitation
Atomically Precise Molecules (APM)
Department of Defense · Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)
AI summaryTwo steps: a short abstract (summary of your idea) is required first, due October 27, 2026 (passed), 1:00 PM Eastern; the full proposal is the response due date, December 18, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. DARPA (the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency) wants new ways to make polymers whose molecule order is programmable, for light-controlling (nonlinear optical, or NLO) materials, ending in a prototype device demonstration. It plans multiple Other Transaction (OT: a flexible research agreement) prototype awards over 36 months: Phase I is 12 months, Phase II is 24 months, with a down-select (cut to fewer teams) after Phase I. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 27, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 20, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 4 of 16 attachments weren't read (DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_E_Price_Detail_Spreadsheet.xlsx, DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_B_Proposal_Summary_Slide.pptx and 2 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Two steps: a short abstract (summary of your idea) is required first, due October 27, 2026 (passed), 1:00 PM Eastern; the full proposal is the response due date, December 18, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. DARPA (the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency) wants new ways to make polymers whose molecule order is programmable, for light-controlling (nonlinear optical, or NLO) materials, ending in a prototype device demonstration. It plans multiple Other Transaction (OT: a flexible research agreement) prototype awards over 36 months: Phase I is 12 months, Phase II is 24 months, with a down-select (cut to fewer teams) after Phase I.
Who can bid (5)
- No foreign entities doing research and development tasks, whether as prime, subcontractor or team member; foreign vendors of standard commercial products or services are allowed
- Not a federally funded research and development center (FFRDC), university affiliated research center (UARC) or government entity as the prime; these may join only as subcontractors under extra conditions
- CMMC Level 2 (Self-Assessment), or a plan and the optional Phase I milestone to reach it; work beyond Milestone 2 needs it completed and verified in SPRS
Show all 5Show fewer
- A valid Commercial and Government Entity (CAGE) code, needed to submit through BAAT
- Not providing systems engineering support or advisory services to DARPA at the same time as being a technical performer, unless a waiver is granted
How to submit: DARPA Broad Agency Announcement Tool (BAAT) at https://baa.darpa.mil, uploading a .zip or .zipx file (no password protection) and finalizing before the closing time. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
- Serious: SAM.gov and the solicitation disagree on the set-aside. SAM.gov lists no set-aside, but the solicitation the AI read says a set-aside for small businesses. Ask the contracting officer which applies before you bid.
- Serious: Abstract required before the full proposal. The abstract is due October 27, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern; intent to propose is due December 4, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern; the full proposal is due December 18, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern. A firm that skips the abstract may be shut out.
- Serious: Down-select after Phase I. Only some teams are expected to continue from Phase I (12 months) into Phase II (24 months), based on technical progress, funding and Department of War needs.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Serious: No foreign research partners. Foreign organizations cannot do research tasks on any team, and foreign national students or postdocs may take part only under the program's security and controlled unclassified information (CUI) rules.
- Serious: Cybersecurity gate before further work. All 110 security requirements of NIST SP 800-171 must be actually implemented and verified in SPRS; no later milestone work is authorized until that is done, and the self-attestation is a legal representation.
- Worth checking: Government rights to your data. DARPA expects at least Government Purpose Rights (the Government may use the data for government purposes) to technical data and software created under the award; final terms are negotiated.
- Worth checking: Publication restrictions. The research is not fundamental research, so DARPA reviews publications before release, which matters to universities and academic teams.
- Worth checking: Live oral presentation. Each proposer gives a 30-minute oral presentation by Microsoft Teams, then a 45-minute question session; anticipated dates are January 5, 2027 to January 20, 2027.
- Worth checking: Performance measure named two ways. The Q&A asks whether the measure is n squared times r33 or n cubed times r33; DARPA's answer uses n squared with a 3000 pm/V Phase I target, while the slides show n cubed. Ask DARPA which applies.
- Minor: No small business set-aside. Small businesses compete with universities and large firms on the same terms; no part of this solicitation is reserved for them.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 4 of 16 not read. Show which files.
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_FAQ_V2_20OCT2026.pdf (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_FAQ_V1_07OCT2026.pdf (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141.pdf (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Enclosure_2_Proposer_Checklist.docx (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Enclosure_1_DARPA_BAAT_Submission_Portal_Guide.docx (read)
- APM_Proposers_Day_Combined_Slides.pdf (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_C_Proposal_Instructions_and_Volume_I_Template_Technical.docx (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_D_Proposal_Instructions_and_Volume_II_Template_Price.docx (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_J_APM_CUI_Guide.pdf (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_A_Abstract.docx (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_G_Task_Description_Document__TDD__Template.docx (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_F_Other_Transaction_Certifications.docx (read)
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_E_Price_Detail_Spreadsheet.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_B_Proposal_Summary_Slide.pptx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_I_Model_Other_Transaction_for_Prototype.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- DARPA-PS-26-141_APM_Attachment_H_Schedule_of_Milestones_and_Payments.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Synthesis methods for programmable precision polymers where monomer sequence, orientation and composition are controlled, and that can scale up
- Phase I (12 months): make an NLO material that meets the program metrics, with demonstrations at month 6 and month 11 checked by the Government's independent verification and validation (IV&V) team
- Phase II (24 months): improve the synthesis, then work with the IV&V team, which builds the modulator, integrates your material and tests it (demonstrations at month 23 and month 35)
- Targets in the Q&A: demonstrate 3000 pm/V by the end of Phase I and 8000 pm/V by the end of Phase II; the CUI guide also cites bandwidth above 1 THz and VpiL below 0.0005 V*cm for the device
- Computer modeling and simulation that guides the synthesis and the material design
- A plan to scale production and fit the material into commercial foundry (chip factory) processes for packaged devices
- Analytical methods, quantitative metrics, risks and mitigation for every demonstration
- Store program data in systems that meet Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 (Self-Assessment); an optional Phase I milestone of up to $25,000 covers getting there
- Contract type
- Other Transaction for Prototype agreement under 10 U.S.C. 4022; multiple awards anticipated
- Period of performance
- 36 months: Phase I 12 months, Phase II 24 months
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- December 18, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 20, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- DARPA Broad Agency Announcement Tool (BAAT) at https://baa.darpa.mil, uploading a .zip or .zipx file (no password protection) and finalizing before the closing time
- Page limits
- Abstract: 7 pages. Full proposal written content (Volume 1): 25 pages. Oral presentation: 20 slides. Executive summary: 1 page. Management plan, schedule and milestones, personnel, and capabilities: 1 page each. Price volume: no page limit
What to include when you submit
- Submit the abstract first on the mandatory Attachment A template (7 pages maximum, 12-point type, 1-inch margins) by October 27, 2026, 1:00 PM Eastern; the prime organization submits it
- Notify DARPA of your intent to propose by December 4, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern, following the solicitation's instructions (not in the text read)
- Full proposal: Volume 1 technical and management proposal on the mandatory Attachment C template, in PDF or Word
- Include oral presentation slides (20 slides maximum, PDF or PowerPoint) with the proposal; slides cannot change before the presentation
- Volume 2 price proposal (Attachment D) with the Attachment E price spreadsheet, plus Attachment F (Other Transaction certifications), Attachment G (Task Description Document) and Attachment H (schedule of milestones and payments)
- Provide each subawardee's price proposal and price spreadsheet; proprietary subawardee prices may be emailed to APM@darpa.mil with "Subawardee Price Proposal" in the subject line
- State a proposal validity period of at least 120 days and say whether AI tools were used
- Give CMMC Level 2 (Self) evidence from the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS), or the required security documents if you need the optional $25,000 Phase I CMMC milestone
- Leave out the cost of materials and fabrication of the nonlinear optical test articles; the IV&V team builds the test modulators
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The announcement type is Initial Solicitation and multiple awards are anticipated; no total program budget is given.
Not in the notice text
- Attached but not read in full: the main solicitation (DARPA-PS-26-141.pdf) is missing its middle section, which likely holds Section II evaluation criteria and Section III submission details; check it on SAM.gov for the evaluation factors, how awards are decided, and how to give notice of intent to propose.
- Attached but not read: Attachment E (Price Detail Spreadsheet), Attachment B (Proposal Summary Slide), Attachment H (Schedule of Milestones and Payments) and Attachment I (Model Other Transaction); milestone payment terms and agreement terms are in them.
- The total program budget and the number of awards are not given; the Q&A says only that multiple awards are anticipated.
- Place of performance is not stated.
- Section II evaluation factors are only referred to in the Q&A (a Budget and Price criterion and team integration), so the full list and its order are unknown.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: DARPA Broad Agency Announcement Tool (BAAT) at https://baa.darpa.mil, uploading a .zip or .zipx file (no password protection) and finalizing before the closing time. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 20, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Def Advanced Research Projects Agcy, Arlington, VA
- Product/service code
- AC12 · National Defense R&D Services; Department of Defense – Military; Applied Research
- Business type
- Engineering, architecture & research (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541715)
- Versions
5 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0004Due Dec 18, 2026
- Oct 20, 2026 · Amendment 0003 (this version)Due Dec 18, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Dec 18, 2026
- Oct 8, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Dec 18, 2026
- Sep 25, 2026 · SolicitationDue Dec 18, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation