Solicitation
F-16 Grip Assembly, Contr
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summarySolicitation SPRHA4-27-Q-0036: Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Ogden, Utah wants four each of the F-16 Grip Assembly, Controller, NSN 1680-01-263-0648. SAM.gov shows a total small business set-aside, but the request restricts the buy to qualified sources: Guardian Electric and Essex Industries. Any other business must first pass a manufacturing qualification before award. The response due date is November 30, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 7 attachments weren't read (Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Solicitation SPRHA4-27-Q-0036: Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Ogden, Utah wants four each of the F-16 Grip Assembly, Controller, NSN 1680-01-263-0648. SAM.gov shows a total small business set-aside, but the request restricts the buy to qualified sources: Guardian Electric and Essex Industries. Any other business must first pass a manufacturing qualification before award. The response due date is November 30, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain.
Who can bid (6)
- Small business set-aside (total) per SAM.gov; the size standard for NAICS 336413 is 1,250 employees
- Be one of the named qualified sources (Guardian Electric, CAGE 73949; Essex Industries, CAGE 83533) or complete a qualification package before award
- Be fully qualified before the award date; qualification requires a qualification article, test plan and test report approved by the Government, all at the offeror's expense
Show all 6Show fewer
- Hold a complete data package, including at a minimum Lockheed Martin (CAGE 81755) drawing 16C1090
- U.S. contractors only
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) level 1 is required
How to submit: Send quotations to the issuing office in Block 5A, DLA Aviation - Ogden, Hill Air Force Base, Utah; buyer April J Blakeley, april.blakeley@us.af.mil. The way to send (email or another channel) is not stated.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (6)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: Restricted to qualified sources. Only Guardian Electric and Essex Industries are named; any other business must pass the Government's qualification before award, and the award will not be delayed for it.
- Serious: Qualification is estimated at 180 days and about $4,000. The qualification effort needs a pre-award qualification article and tests at the bidder's cost, and passing does not guarantee an award.
- Worth checking: First article testing for Bid A. A first article is due 150 calendar days after receipt of order and must be approved before production; the bidder bears the cost of a disapproved article and of production started early.
Show all 6Show fewer
- Worth checking: Technical data package only on request; scanned drawings not readable. The notice says the technical data package (drawings) is available on request, and the attached engineering data file is a scan, so check it on SAM.gov before quoting.
- Minor: Foreign military sales and item unique identification. Items ship for a foreign military sales case and must carry item unique identification (IUID) marking registered through Wide Area WorkFlow.
- Minor: Response due time differs between the form and SAM.gov. The request form says quotations are due by close of business on 30 NOV 2026, while SAM.gov gives 11:59 PM Mountain on November 30, 2026.
Read from the notice and 6 attachments. 1 of 7 not read. Show which files.
- SPRHA427Q0036.pdf (read)
- SOW.pdf (read)
- CDRLCPP.pdf (read)
- MQR.pdf (read)
- CDRLFATR.pdf (read)
- EDL.pdf (read)
- Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Make and deliver 4 EA of the F-16 grip assembly (NSN 1680-01-263-0648; part numbers A218-967614-01 or 16C1090-1) as firm-fixed-price (FFP) items
- Bid A, first article required: 1 EA first article due 150 calendar days after receipt of order, then 3 EA production due on or before June 30, 2028, plus a First Article Test Report (CDRL B001)
- Bid B, first article not required: 4 EA production due on or before June 30, 2028, only for firms that meet a first-article waiver condition
- Send a Counterfeit Prevention Plan (CDRL A001) within 30 calendar days after receipt of order
- Mark items with item unique identification (IUID) and per MIL-STD-130; package under MIL-STD-2073-1E and mark shipments under MIL-STD-129R
- Keep supply chain traceability records for ten years after final payment and supply them within three business days of a request
- Meet the ISO 9001:2015 quality standard listed on each line
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) request for quotation; rated order DO-A1; foreign military sales (FMS) shipment
- Period of performance
- First article due 150 calendar days after receipt of order (Bid A); production items due on or before June 30, 2028
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price or cost is the most important factor; all other factors combined are significantly less important. For Bid A, an evaluation cost of $3,500.00 for first article testing is added. The Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) item, price and supplier risk scores will also be considered.
- Offers due
- November 30, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain
- How to submit
- Send quotations to the issuing office in Block 5A, DLA Aviation - Ogden, Hill Air Force Base, Utah; buyer April J Blakeley, april.blakeley@us.af.mil. The way to send (email or another channel) is not stated.
What they'll judge offers on
- Price or Cost (order of importance 01); for the first article bid, the Government adds a first article evaluation cost of $3,500.00
What to include when you submit
- Quote Bid A (first article required) unless you meet a first article waiver condition; then quote Bid B
- For Bid B, give the prior contract number, contract item number, contract date and issuing agency; leaving them out can make the quote non-responsive
- A first article waiver condition is: previously furnished to the prime contractor for delivery to DoD, currently in production for DoD, or previously furnished to DoD, within 60 months of the earlier contract's completion
- Review the Required Delivery Schedule and propose a delivery schedule you can meet
- Hold prices firm for 120 days
- Complete the representations and certifications, and give your name, address and CAGE code on the request form
- Qualification evidence (qualification article, test plan and test report approvals) must be complete before award
- If you cannot quote, say so on the form and return it to the Block 5A address
After award, you must have
- Register in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF), the Government's online invoicing system, to invoice From SPRHA427Q0036.pdf:
Be registered to use WAWF at https://wawf.eb.mil/…
Not in the notice text
- The attached engineering data file (Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf) is a scan that was not read, and the middle of SPRHA427Q0036.pdf (representations and certifications) was left out; drawings and full terms are on SAM.gov.
- How to submit the quotation (email or another channel) is not stated.
- The place of performance is not given in the SAM.gov fields.
- Whether the Government has any quotes or qualified bidders beyond the two named sources is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 336413
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Send quotations to the issuing office in Block 5A, DLA Aviation - Ogden, Hill Air Force Base, Utah; buyer April J Blakeley, april.blakeley@us.af.mil. The way to send (email or another channel) is not stated. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 26, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Ogden, UT, Hill Air Force Base, UT
- Product/service code
- 1680 · Miscellaneous Aircraft Accessories and Components
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336413)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside