Solicitation
Non-Emergent Ambulance Transport Services for Fayetteville VAMC
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThe VA's Fayetteville, NC health system (Network Contracting Office 6) wants one contractor to supply non-emergent ground ambulance transport for veterans, 24/7, to and from the Fayetteville VA Medical Center, its outpatient clinics and other approved sites in North Carolina and Virginia. It is a firm-fixed-price IDIQ (you are paid per trip as orders come in) with a base year starting 04-01-2027 plus three option years. The ceiling is about $15.0 million over all years, and the VA does not guarantee more than a $10,000 minimum. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Nov 3, 2026. It moves the due date from Nov 6, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 7, 2026. The notice was amended Nov 3, 2026. The due date moved from Nov 6, 2026 to Nov 20, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. The notice looks incomplete: Where and how to submit the offer (email address or portal) is not stated in the text read; only the contract specialist's contact details and the question email are given. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The VA's Fayetteville, NC health system (Network Contracting Office 6) wants one contractor to supply non-emergent ground ambulance transport for veterans, 24/7, to and from the Fayetteville VA Medical Center, its outpatient clinics and other approved sites in North Carolina and Virginia. It is a firm-fixed-price IDIQ (you are paid per trip as orders come in) with a base year starting 04-01-2027 plus three option years. The ceiling is about $15.0 million over all years, and the VA does not guarantee more than a $10,000 minimum.
Who can bid (8)
- Active registration in SAM.gov when you submit and at award, including a UEI number
- Relevant past performance: BLS/ALS ambulance contracts within the last five years (up to three references)
- Required business licenses, certifications and insurance for ambulance operation, including state ambulance licensing and registration for all vehicles
Show all 8Show fewer
- Insurance: medical liability, vehicle insurance and workers' compensation, with a written commitment to keep it for the whole contract
- Signed Attachment A confirming you can handle critical care transports (listed drugs and equipment, up to Tier III)
- Personnel screening: no felony conviction or pending felony charge in the past five years, VA background check (low risk), fingerprinting, US citizenship and English fluency
- Pay at least the Service Contract Act wage determination rates for each locality, including driving time
- Optional but scored: SDVOSB or VOSB status (verified in SBA Small Business Search) earns evaluation credit; no set-aside is used
How to submit: Not clearly stated in the text provided. The contract specialist is David E. Smith, david.smith78@va.gov, 757-728-7156. Technical questions must be emailed to him in writing with the subject line 'Non-Emergency ambulance transportation services – Fayetteville VAMC'; phone and fax questions are not accepted., due 12:00 PM on 11-06-2026 (SAM.gov response deadline Nov 6, 2026, 12:00 PM EST; the SF 1449 says 12:00PM EDT). Technical questions are due by 12:00 pm EST on 16 OCT 2026.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
- Serious: 24/7 coverage with simultaneous trips and a 24/7 portal watch. You must keep enough crews and ambulances to run 4 trips at once (one possibly critical care) around the clock, answer in 30 to 60 minutes, and staff the VetRide portal 24/7, which is costly for a small operator.
- Serious: Past performance counts more than price. A new or small ambulance company with no similar BLS/ALS contracts in the last five years gets an 'Unknown Confidence' rating and will have a hard time winning against experienced rivals.
- Worth checking: Very little guaranteed work. The guaranteed minimum is only $10,000 and 4 trips against a $15 million ceiling, so you could staff up for a large volume of trips that never comes.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Trip volumes do not match. The PWS expects 55 to 60 trips each weekday (about 14,000 or more a year), but the price schedule lists about 7,100 ALS/BLS trips a year and the contract caps total trips at 33,000, so your price and staffing estimates are uncertain.
- Worth checking: Unpaid travel to and from pick-ups. Drive time and miles between your base and the patient, and the return, are not paid separately, so rural trips across a wide area must be covered by your base rate and mileage price.
- Worth checking: Service Contract Act wages in many counties. You must price against wage determinations for about 15 localities, pay drive time, and are responsible for finding each one yourself.
- Worth checking: Instructions conflict on location and timing. Offer instructions ask for licenses for the Commonwealth of Virginia while the work is based in North Carolina (and also Virginia), the ordering period text runs 'Date of Award through 04/01/2027' while the base year starts 04-01-2027, and the technical section asks for a 30-minute response time while the PWS allows 60 minutes for some trips; ask questions before 16 Oct.
- Minor: Payment only through the VA, in a specific system. You must bill through VetRide on HCFA 1500 forms within 30 days of service, can never bill the veteran or insurance, and unauthorized charges can be held or denied.
- Minor: Tight offer window and no clear submission method. Questions are due 16 Oct and offers 6 Nov at noon, and the text provided does not say where to send the offer, so confirm with the contracting specialist.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. Show which files.
- S02 -36C24627R0009 Fayetteville Non Emergent Ambulance Tranport Services.pdf (read)
- Attachment B.docx (read)
- Attachment A.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Non-emergent ambulance transport: stretcher, Basic Life Support (BLS), Advanced Life Support (ALS), and Critical Care Transport (CCT, up to Tier III) on an as-needed basis, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, including weekends and holidays
- Supply all vehicles, trained and licensed crews (EMTs, paramedics, critical care paramedics, drivers), supplies, linen, equipment and personal protective gear
- Be able to handle up to 4 transports at the same time, one of which may need CCT capability up to Tier III
- Meet response times: 30 minutes for urgent trips out of the VA, up to 60 minutes for add-on trips from the VA, and pick-up within 15 minutes of the scheduled time for scheduled trips
- Take trip orders, update trip status and bill through the VA's VetRide Vendor Portal (or VA-approved software), with staff watching it 24/7
- Run a written Quality Control Plan and report any accident or safety problem by phone within 1 hour and in writing by the next working day
- Follow VA infection control rules (including transporting COVID-positive patients), TB testing for staff, background checks and privacy rules (HIPAA)
- Never bill veterans, private insurance, Medicare or Medicaid; the VA pays on a monthly schedule of per-trip, per-mile, waiting-time and bariatric fees
- Contract type
- Firm-Fixed-Price, Indefinite Delivery Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ) contract, with task orders placed by VA Network Contracting Office 6 contracting officers
- Period of performance
- Base year 04-01-2027 to 03-31-2028, plus three 12-month option years (through 03-31-2031). The contract also includes the FAR 52.217-8 option to extend services and 52.217-9 option to extend the term (clause titles only; text not read).
- Place of performance
- Fayetteville, NC: Fayetteville VA Medical Center (2300 Ramsey St) and its 14 community clinics. Trips may be anywhere in North Carolina and Virginia, including other VA medical centers in VISN 6, non-VA community care facilities, veterans' homes and the Fayetteville and Wilmington airports.
- Estimated value
- IDIQ minimum $10,000.00 and maximum $15,035,695.30 across the base year and all options. Trips are estimated not to exceed 33,000 over all years. The maximum is not guaranteed.
- How they'll choose
- Competitive best value. Past performance is evaluated on a basis significantly more important than price. Technical acceptability is pass/fail, and offerors must pass all technical subfactors to be considered. The Government may award without discussions.
- Offers due
- 12:00 PM on 11-06-2026 (SAM.gov response deadline Nov 6, 2026, 12:00 PM EST; the SF 1449 says 12:00PM EDT). Technical questions are due by 12:00 pm EST on 16 OCT 2026. (from the version posted Oct 7, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Not clearly stated in the text provided. The contract specialist is David E. Smith, david.smith78@va.gov, 757-728-7156. Technical questions must be emailed to him in writing with the subject line 'Non-Emergency ambulance transportation services – Fayetteville VAMC'; phone and fax questions are not accepted.
- Page limits
- Technical Volume: no more than 25 pages, minimum 12-point font, 1/2 inch margins. Charts, images and exhibits count; section dividers, table of contents, glossaries, cross-reference indices and resumes do not. Pages after the first 25 are not evaluated.
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor 1: Technical Acceptability (pass/fail on four subfactors: Licenses, Certifications and Personnel Qualifications; Equipment, Vehicles and Readiness; Insurance and Coverage; Quality Control Plan)
- Factor 2: Past Performance (BLS/ALS ambulance work similar or greater in scope; confidence rating from Substantial Confidence to No Confidence; Unknown Confidence for no history)
- Factor 3: Price (total of all line items including all options, plus 6 months of the last period's price for the FAR 52.217-8 extension; checked for reasonableness and unbalanced option pricing)
- Factor 4: Veterans Involvement (credit for SDVOSB and VOSB primes, some credit for non-veteran primes that subcontract to SDVOSBs or VOSBs)
What to include when you submit
- Offer in five sections: A) signed and dated SF 1449 with your SAM.gov UEI in the block with your name and address; B) priced Schedule of Services; C) Technical narrative; D) Past Performance; E) Representations and Certifications
- Price every data element shaded yellow in the price schedule (base year and all three option years) or the offer cannot be found technically acceptable; put no price information in the technical volume
- Technical narrative must cover staffing, the ability to meet a 30-minute response time for emergent or critical care requests, how you would handle surge demand, and your vehicle fleet (total vehicles, minimum fleet and surge ability, make/model/year/safety compliance, number of PWS-compliant vehicles dedicated to the VA)
- Include copies of required licenses, certifications and insurance, and a timeline for any that are pending
- Past performance: up to three contracts from the last five years, each with contract number, services, location, period, performing entity, prime or sub role, and contract point of contact (name, email, phone)
- Sign and return Attachment A (Specialty Care / Critical Care Transport capability confirmation)
- Include a statement that vehicle maintenance files are in place (Surveillance Checklist item SS3 asks for this at time of offer)
- Acknowledge any solicitation amendments on the form
- If you are claiming veteran credit or using SDVOSB/VOSB subcontractors, name them, describe the work and give approximate dollar values; all must be verified in SBA's Small Business Search
Not in the notice text
- Where and how to submit the offer (email address or portal) is not stated in the text read; only the contract specialist's contact details and the question email are given
- About 64,500 characters of the main solicitation PDF were left out (roughly PWS Attachment B text through Section C clauses), including Section B.4 Special Contract Requirements, B.5 VA information security language, and clauses C.1 to C.13 such as the supplemental insurance requirements (C.10) and key personnel (C.12), so insurance dollar limits and other special terms are unknown
- Minimum insurance amounts (medical liability, vehicle, workers' compensation) are not stated in the text read
- The QASP document ('P11 QASP - FAYETTEVILLE AMBULANCE SERVICES') and the wage determination documents are referenced but not included
- The 'minimum fleet requirements' mentioned in the technical narrative instructions are not defined in the text read
- Whether there is an incumbent or a prior contract number is not stated
- Final unit prices, base rate mileage (first 25 miles) and trip mix are for the offeror to price; no government estimate for each line is given beyond maximum quantities
- Whether the VA will exercise the optional 6-month extension (FAR 52.217-8) and how it would be priced beyond the evaluation rule
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not clearly stated in the text provided. The contract specialist is David E. Smith, david.smith78@va.gov, 757-728-7156. Technical questions must be emailed to him in writing with the subject line 'Non-Emergency ambulance transportation services – Fayetteville VAMC'; phone and fax questions are not accepted. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 6, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- 246-Network Contracting Office 6 (36C246), Hampton, VA
- Product/service code
- V225 · Transportation/Travel/Relocation – Travel/Lodging/Recruitment: Ambulance
- Business type
- Medical & healthcare (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 621910)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Nov 3, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 20, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 7, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 6, 2026
- Oct 6, 2026 · Solicitation (this version)Due Nov 6, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation