Solicitation
ICBM Bulkhead Assembly
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryDefense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Ogden, UT wants 40 each (EA) of the intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) bulkhead assembly, national stock number (NSN) 1420-01-390-4419, under solicitation SPRHA2-26-R-0039, shipped to Hill Air Force Base, Utah. SAM.gov lists a total small business set-aside, but Amendment 0002 says it dissolves that set-aside. The response due date is November 25, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain. Price is the most important factor, and a Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 self-assessment must be on file in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) before award. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 26, 2026. It moves the due date from Oct 7, 2026 to Nov 25, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 3 of 10 attachments weren't read (Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf, 1420-013904419.zip and 1 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Ogden, UT wants 40 each (EA) of the intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) bulkhead assembly, national stock number (NSN) 1420-01-390-4419, under solicitation SPRHA2-26-R-0039, shipped to Hill Air Force Base, Utah. SAM.gov lists a total small business set-aside, but Amendment 0002 says it dissolves that set-aside. The response due date is November 25, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain. Price is the most important factor, and a Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 self-assessment must be on file in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) before award.
Who can bid
- Small business status, if the set-aside stands: the base solicitation and SAM.gov say total small business set-aside, while Amendment 0002 dissolves it
- CMMC Level 2 (Self) status entered in SPRS, with a current affirmation of continuous compliance, before award
- Supply chain traceability documentation for the item, showing it conforms and, for part numbered items, comes from an approved manufacturer
Things to watch (10)
From the version posted Oct 26, 2026.
- Serious: Set-aside conflict: SAM.gov says total small business, Amendment 0002 dissolves it. SAM.gov and the base solicitation call this a total small business set-aside, while Amendment 0002 says to dissolve it; ask the buyer who may bid before you spend time on an offer.
- Serious: CMMC Level 2 self-assessment required before award. A firm without a current CMMC status and affirmation in SPRS is not eligible for award, and CMMC UIDs must go in the proposal.
- Serious: Engineering data is export-controlled and needs access requests. The drawings and engineering data are attached on SAM.gov as controlled files that need an access request, so pricing and capability checks depend on getting approved; release to foreign-owned firms needs approval.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: First article testing required unless waived. A first article is a sample unit the government tests and approves; Bid A includes it, and production risk before approval is the bidder's own.
- Worth checking: Part numbered item from an approved manufacturer. Only the named part (manufacturer part number 79272 23007735G1) is acceptable, and offers must show supply chain traceability to an approved manufacturer.
- Worth checking: Delivery schedule runs from first article approval. Production of 39 EA is due 180 calendar days after approval of the first article, and the clause lists 210 as the approval days for item 0001AB, so total time depends on the government review.
- Minor: Offer price hold: 120 days in one place, 60 days on the form. The solicitation text holds prices firm for 120 days, while the Standard Form 1447 block 11 shows 60 calendar days unless the bidder inserts another period; ask which applies.
- Minor: Response due date extended to November 25, 2026. Amendment 0002 moves the response due date from October 23, 2026 to November 25, 2026; Amendment 0001 had earlier moved it from October 7, 2026 to October 23, 2026.
- Minor: Item unique identification marking required. Each item needs permanent IUID marking under MIL-STD-130, which adds production and verification steps.
- Minor: Rated order under DPAS. A rated order must be accepted and filled ahead of unrated orders, which can limit a shop's scheduling.
Read from the notice and 7 attachments. 3 of 10 not read. Show which files.
- SPRHA226R0039_______0002.pdf (read)
- SPRHA226R0039_______0001.pdf (read)
- SPRHA226R0039.pdf (read)
- SOW.pdf (read)
- SPI.pdf (read)
- CDRL_FATR.pdf (read)
- EDL.pdf (read)
- Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- 1420-013904419.zip: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- EDR.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Build and deliver 40 each (EA) of ICBM Bulkhead Assembly, NSN 1420-01-390-4419 AH, manufacturer part number 79272 23007735G1 (CAGE code 79272)
- Bid A (first article required): 1 first article within 210 calendar days after receipt of order, with a First Article Test Report (contract data requirements list item A001), then 39 production units 180 calendar days after first article approval
- Bid B (first article not required, only for firms that meet a waiver condition): 40 EA on or before April 29, 2027
- Mark items under MIL-STD-130 with item unique identification (IUID: a permanent digital marking) and pack under MIL-STD-2073-1E with MIL-STD-129R shipping marks
- Keep supply chain traceability records (part, manufacturer, intermediaries, inspections and tests) for ten years after final payment and provide them within three business days of a request
- Notify the government 30 days before the first article ships; mark first article containers FIRST ARTICLE, DO NOT PLACE IN AIR FORCE SUPPLY
- Contract type
- Firm fixed price (FFP: one set price per unit); rated order under the Defense Priorities and Allocations System (DPAS)
- Period of performance
- Delivery-based. Bid A: first article 210 calendar days after receipt of order, production 180 calendar days after first article approval. Bid B: 40 EA on or before April 29, 2027
- Place of performance
- Not stated for the work itself; the ship-to address is Hill Air Force Base, Utah
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price or cost is the most important factor; all other factors combined are significantly less important
- Offers due
- November 25, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain
What they'll judge offers on
- Price or Cost (most important), including a first article evaluation cost of $3,000.00 for item 0001
- Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) risk: item risk, price risk and supplier risk (quality and delivery) are considered
What to include when you submit
- Offers go to the issuing office: DLA Aviation - Ogden, DLR Procurement Ops/AUB, 6051 Gum Lane Bldg 1225, Hill AFB UT 84056-5820; buyer Kody R Quayle, kody.quayle@us.af.mil
- Submit Bid A (with first article) unless you meet a waiver condition; Bid B (no first article) is for firms with this item currently in production for the government or previously furnished to the government within 36 months
- A Bid B must give the prior contract number, contract item number, date of contract and name and address of the government agency that issued it
- Review the Required Delivery Schedule and propose an achievable delivery schedule based on your own production lead time
- Provide the CMMC unique identifiers (UIDs) from SPRS for each system that will handle federal contract information or controlled unclassified information
- Hold offered prices firm for 120 days
- Acknowledge Amendment 0002 (and Amendment 0001) before the response due date
- Complete the representations and certifications in the solicitation (SAM.gov annual reps or the provisions in Section K)
- Fill in the contractor fill-in lines for the inspection and F.O.B. origin addresses
After award, you must have
- Designated electronic business point of contact in SAM.gov and registration in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF) to invoice From SPRHA226R0039.pdf:
(1) Have a designated electronic business point of contact in the System for Award Management at…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The engineering data list names Lockheed Martin Corp (CAGE 79272) as manufacturer for reference number 23007735G1.
Not in the notice text
- Some documents are attached on SAM.gov but not read here: the controlled engineering data (1420-013904419.zip and EDR.pdf, which need an access request), the scanned file Unmarked Eng Data 2022.pdf, and part of the main solicitation (SPRHA226R0039.pdf, middle section left out). SPI.pdf (special packaging instruction) is protected and could not be read.
- How to submit an offer (email, DIBBS or another portal) is not stated in the text read.
- The deadline for questions is not stated.
- The place where the work is done is not stated.
- The Government's estimate or any dollar value for this contract is not given.
- Which firms may bid once the small business set-aside is dissolved is not spelled out beyond Amendment 0002.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 336419
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 7, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Ogden, UT, Hill Air Force Base, UT
- Product/service code
- 1420 · Guided Missile Components
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336419)
- Versions
4 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 26, 2026 · Amendment 0003Due Nov 25, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 7, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Oct 23, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 7, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Oct 7, 2026
- Aug 19, 2026 · SolicitationDue Oct 7, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- MMIII Support Assembly FRDLA Aviation at Ogden (Hill Air Force Base, Utah) wants to buy 40 Support Assemblies, Frustum (NSN 1420-00-435-1313, drawing 68J52342G2) for the Minuteman III missile.
- Adapter, Hellfire Missile (Upper) and Adapter, Hellfire Missile (Lower)
- F-16 Grip Assembly, ContrSolicitation SPRHA4-27-Q-0036: Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Ogden, Utah wants four each of the F-16 Grip Assembly, Controller, NSN 1680-01-263-0648.
- Bomb Hook Assembly
- Procurement of Tube Assembly