Presolicitation
NIH Multiple-Award Construction Contract (MACC) for General Construction Services
Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health
AI summaryThis is a presolicitation (an early heads-up before the real request): the National Institutes of Health (NIH) plans to award up to 20 multiple-award indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: a contract where the Government orders work later through separate task orders) construction contracts, called a multiple-award construction contract (MACC), for general construction at NIH campuses. The Government anticipates issuing the request for proposals (RFP) on or about October 29, 2026, with proposals due on or about December 15, 2026; both dates are estimates. About 4 awards are open to all businesses and about 16 are reserved for small businesses, with an aggregate ceiling of $3 billion over an eight-year ordering period. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on National Institutes of Health's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
This is a presolicitation (an early heads-up before the real request): the National Institutes of Health (NIH) plans to award up to 20 multiple-award indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: a contract where the Government orders work later through separate task orders) construction contracts, called a multiple-award construction contract (MACC), for general construction at NIH campuses. The Government anticipates issuing the request for proposals (RFP) on or about October 29, 2026, with proposals due on or about December 15, 2026; both dates are estimates. About 4 awards are open to all businesses and about 16 are reserved for small businesses, with an aggregate ceiling of $3 billion over an eight-year ordering period.
Who can bid (4)
- To bid under a small business reserve (HUBZone, women-owned small business, service-disabled veteran-owned small business, or 8(a) Business Development Program), meet all Small Business Administration (SBA) eligibility rules for that category and the NAICS code 236220 size standard of $45 million
- Bonding capacity for a full-and-open award: $100 million for a single project and $300 million aggregate
- Bonding capacity for a small business reserve award: $3 million for a single project and $10 million aggregate
Show all 4Show fewer
- A joint venture must follow all SBA joint venture rules, including the rules on SBA-approved Mentor-Protégé relationships
How to submit: The solicitation, amendments and other public documents will be posted on SAM.gov under Solicitation No. 75N99027R00002; how to submit proposals will be in the solicitation. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
From the version posted Oct 13, 2026.
- Serious: Small business reserves require program eligibility. About 16 of the awards are split among HUBZone, women-owned, service-disabled veteran-owned and 8(a) reserves (about 4 each), and you must qualify for the category you bid under.
- Serious: Large bonding capacity required. Full-and-open bidders need $100 million per project and $300 million total from a surety; small business reserve bidders need $3 million per project and $10 million total. Task orders may carry their own bonding requirements.
- Worth checking: Seed project site visits on November 9, 2026. Two organized sessions, one morning and one afternoon, are anticipated; you may attend only one. The notice says bidders are urged and expected to inspect the site, which is strongly encouraged but not called mandatory. Times, place and registration will be in the solicitation.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Worth checking: Dates and requirements are estimates. The RFP is anticipated on or about October 29, 2026 and proposals on or about December 15, 2026. The actual due date, evaluation factors and submission rules will come only with the solicitation, so you need to watch SAM.gov.
- Minor: Very large possible task orders. The anticipated maximum for a single task order is $800 million, and task orders may require project-specific bonding, so some orders may be beyond a small business's capacity.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- General construction, alteration, repair and maintenance work for the NIH Office of Research Facilities, ordered through individual task orders
- Work types may include renovations, new building construction, demolition, roofing, mechanical, electrical, plumbing and heating, ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) systems, civil and earthwork, structural work, painting, fencing and sustainable construction
- Both design-bid-build and design-build projects (design-build: one firm designs and builds)
- Compete for task orders among MACC holders; each task order sets its own scope, drawings, period, wage determination and bonding
- Complete an initial seed project (the first sample project used to pick awardees) as part of the source selection; details come in the solicitation
- Contract type
- Multiple-award indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) construction contracts; task orders generally firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing). Guaranteed minimum of $1,000 per contract.
- Period of performance
- One eight-year ordering period (anticipated)
- Place of performance
- SAM.gov lists Bethesda, MD. The notice lists NIH campuses in Bethesda, Frederick and Poolesville, Maryland; Research Triangle Park, North Carolina; and Rocky Mountain Laboratories in Hamilton, Montana.
- Estimated value
- Anticipated aggregate ceiling of $3 billion for all awardees together (not per contractor); anticipated maximum single task order of $800 million
- How to submit
- The solicitation, amendments and other public documents will be posted on SAM.gov under Solicitation No. 75N99027R00002; how to submit proposals will be in the solicitation
What to include when you submit
- Questions about this notice go by email to the contracting officer and contract specialists listed in the notice (no phone calls), with subject line 75N99027R00002 – NIH MACC
- Full-and-open offers must include evidence from your surety (the company that backs your bonds) of bonding capacity: $100 million for a single project and $300 million total
- Small business reserve offers must include surety evidence of bonding capacity: $3 million for a single project and $10 million total
- Small business reserve offers must include documentation of your eligibility for the category you bid under; the solicitation will say what is required
Not in the notice text
- The solicitation has not been issued yet. The seed project scope, estimated construction magnitude, evaluation factors, proposal submission requirements and the final due date will be in the solicitation.
- How the 16 small business reserve awards will be split among categories is not stated; the solicitation will give it.
- The documents needed to prove bonding capacity and small business or socioeconomic eligibility are not stated.
- The time, place and sign-up steps for the November 9, 2026 site visit sessions are not stated.
- The set-aside is not stated on SAM.gov; the notice text describes full-and-open competition with small business reserves.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- Only holders of the MACC the notice names can bid.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: The solicitation, amendments and other public documents will be posted on SAM.gov under Solicitation No. 75N99027R00002; how to submit proposals will be in the solicitation. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 13, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- NIH a E Construction, Bethesda, MD
- Product/service code
- Y1JZ · Construction of Miscellaneous Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- FY27 Macc
- Sources Sought for Indefinite Delivery Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ) Multiple Award Construction Contract (MACC) for Projects Under Naics 236220 Located Within the Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command (NAVFAC) Northwest Area of Responsibility.Naval Facilities Engineering Systems Command (NAVFAC) Northwest is running a sources sought notice, a market survey, to find small businesses for a multiple award construction…