Solicitation
Request for Whitepapers: AEDC Velocity Alliance - A Multi-Billion Dollar OTA Consortium Opportunity
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summaryWhitepaper Opportunities 1 and 2 are closed; the Opportunity 3 whitepaper due date will be announced by amendment, and only firms that pass go on to a mandatory virtual Industry Day. The Air Force (Arnold Engineering Development Complex, AEDC) is forming the AEDC Velocity Alliance, a consortium for test-facility construction and engineering work. It uses Other Transaction (OT) authority, a flexible agreement type outside usual federal contract rules, and the Air Force anticipates multi-billion dollars of investment through Fiscal Year 2032. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 15, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of another version of this notice: check what changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 32 of 44 attachments weren't read (Atch 5 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-7.15.26.pdf, Atch 4 - CMMC-FAQsv6.pdf and 30 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Whitepaper Opportunities 1 and 2 are closed; the Opportunity 3 whitepaper due date will be announced by amendment, and only firms that pass go on to a mandatory virtual Industry Day. The Air Force (Arnold Engineering Development Complex, AEDC) is forming the AEDC Velocity Alliance, a consortium for test-facility construction and engineering work. It uses Other Transaction (OT) authority, a flexible agreement type outside usual federal contract rules, and the Air Force anticipates multi-billion dollars of investment through Fiscal Year 2032.
Who can bid (5)
- Hold a current Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification and send a copy of your approved DD Form 2345 with the whitepaper. A joint venture that will be the prime needs its own JCP certification under its own CAGE code.
- Hold a current, not expired CMMC Level 2 Self-Assessment or a CMMC Level 2 Certification Assessment from an authorized third-party assessor (C3PAO), and send evidence with the whitepaper. The Government checks it in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS).
- Identify a partner firm that meets the statute's definition (non-traditional defense contractor, small business or nonprofit research institution), even if you are a small business yourself.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Have a CAGE code; the technical response must begin with your company's full legal name and CAGE code.
- Have a representative project completed within the last five years for at least one of the project types.
How to submit: Email one searchable PDF to the Agreements Officer (Greggory C. Jones, greggory.jones.4@us.af.mil), the Agreements Specialist (Bailey B. Deason, bailey.deason@us.af.mil) and the two Air Force Project Managers (Haden D. Welch, haden.welch@us.af.mil; Michelle R. Young, michelle.young.11@us.af.mil).. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
From the version posted Oct 15, 2026.
- Serious: Onboarding in phases; Opportunity 3 whitepaper date not set. Opportunities 1 and 2 are closed. The Opportunity 3 whitepaper deadline and Industry Day window will come by amendment, and earlier Opportunity 3 whitepapers are not evaluated until then. Open to all in Step 1 (whitepaper); only firms that pass are invited to the mandatory virtual Industry Day, then sign a Membership Agreement.
- Serious: Only Alliance members can compete for projects. Joining is the only way to bid on most of the multi-billion-dollar project work. The Government may still compete some projects on the open market.
- Serious: Joint Certification Program (JCP) required with the whitepaper. The Joint Certification Program (JCP) is a Defense Department certification to receive export-controlled military data; the proof is DD Form 2345. Without it the whitepaper is non-responsive.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Serious: Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 required. CMMC is the Defense Department's cybersecurity certification for protecting controlled unclassified information. A current Level 2 Self-Assessment or third-party certification is required, or the whitepaper is non-responsive.
- Serious: Partner firm required even for small businesses. Part 4 asks for a named partner that qualifies under 10 U.S.C. § 4022(d)(1)(A) or (B). A small business must still name one.
- Worth checking: Mandatory virtual Industry Day, partner attendance limited. Attendance is required for membership; the date is not set for Opportunity 3. Partner representatives may attend only when the Government authorizes it.
- Worth checking: 10-page limit covers everything. The cover page, JCP and CMMC evidence, charts and exhibits all count toward 10 pages, and outside appendices are not accepted.
- Minor: Older documents on the notice show different CMMC rules. Earlier amendments and answers describe a CMMC Level 1 path and a roadmap. Amendment 6 says it controls over those prior answers.
- Minor: Rules and scope can change. The Government can change the project objectives and consortium articles at any time.
- Minor: Unfunded; no cost reimbursement. You pay for the whitepaper, Industry Day travel and later project proposals yourself.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 32 of 44 not read. Show which files.
- AEDC Velocity Alliance - Request for Whitepaper-Amend 6- 15 Oct 26.pdf (read)
- AEDC Velocity Alliance - Request for Whitepaper-Amend 5- 26 Aug 26.pdf (read)
- AEDC Velocity Alliance - Request for Whitepaper-Amend 4 - 17 Jul 26.pdf (read)
- AEDC Velocity Alliance - Request for Whitepaper-Amend 3 - 15 Jul 26.pdf (read)
- Summary of Changes-AEDC Velocity Alliance-RWP-Amend 2.pdf (read)
- AEDC Velocity Alliance - Request for Whitepaper-Amend 2 - 15 May 26.pdf (read)
- AEDC Velocity Alliance - Request for Whitepaper-Amend 1 - 21 Apr 26.pdf (read)
- Atch 2 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Base Articles - 15 Oct 26.pdf (read)
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-8.31.26.pdf (read)
- Atch 1 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Program Objectives - 26 Aug 26.pdf (read)
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-7.17.26.pdf (read)
- Atch 2 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Base Articles - 17 Jul 26.pdf (read)
- Atch 5 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-7.15.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 4 - CMMC-FAQsv6.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 3 - CMMC-Information..pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 2 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Base Articles - 15 Jul 26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 1 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Program Objectives - 21 Apr 26..pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-6.24.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-6.23.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-6.14.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-5.26.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-5.22.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 5 - UTSI Map.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-5.12.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-5.1.26-2.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-5.1.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-4.30.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-4.28.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-4.27.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-4.24.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-4.23.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-4.21.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 2 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Base Articles - 21 Apr 26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 1 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Program Objectives - 21 Apr 26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-4.17.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-4.15.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-3.31.26-2.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-3.31.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance Consortium_Q_A-3.30.26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- AEDC Velocity Alliance - Request for Whitepaper.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 4 - CMMC-FAQsv4.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 3 - CMMC-Information.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 2 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Base Articles - 5 Mar 26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Atch 1 - AEDC Velocity Alliance Program Objectives-5 Mar 26.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Whitepapers from firms asking to join the AEDC Velocity Alliance; the Government grades them pass or fail.
- Proof of a current Joint Certification Program (JCP) certification and a current Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 status, sent with the whitepaper.
- A detailed example of a project finished in the last five years for one, some or all of the project types: general and industrial construction, process piping (low, high and hazardous), process ducting, high-voltage electrical, fire suppression, equipment repair, mechanical, electrical and instrumentation-data-and-control engineering, utilities, and solid rocket motors.
- Evidence of innovation and partnership capability, including a named partner firm (see Part 4 as explained in the posted questions and answers).
- If invited, attendance at the mandatory virtual Industry Day, then a signed Membership Agreement.
- Later work: members compete for individual project agreements announced in Project Opportunity Announcements (POAs), at sites that may include Arnold Air Force Base (Tennessee), Holloman Air Force Base (New Mexico), Tunnel 9 (Maryland) and Moffett Field (California).
- Contract type
- Other Transaction (OT) consortium membership: a Membership Agreement under the Base Articles, with separate project-level agreements for each project. Not a standard federal contract.
- Period of performance
- This notice stays active until September 30, 2032, and the Government may extend it. The Alliance became active July 1, 2026. Project lengths are not stated.
- Place of performance
- SAM.gov leaves it blank. The documents say project sites may include, but are not limited to, Arnold Air Force Base, Tennessee; Holloman Air Force Base, New Mexico; Tunnel 9, Silver Spring, Maryland; and the National Full-Scale Aerodynamics Complex, Moffett Field, California.
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Contract vehicle
- AEDC Velocity Alliance consortium (Other Transaction authority under 10 U.S.C. § 4022, with 10 U.S.C. § 2808a for facility construction or repair); only members can compete for most projects
- How they'll choose
- Pass/Fail evaluation of the whitepaper; no scoring or price is mentioned.
- Offers due
- September 30, 2030, 5:00 PM Central
- How to submit
- Email one searchable PDF to the Agreements Officer (Greggory C. Jones, greggory.jones.4@us.af.mil), the Agreements Specialist (Bailey B. Deason, bailey.deason@us.af.mil) and the two Air Force Project Managers (Haden D. Welch, haden.welch@us.af.mil; Michelle R. Young, michelle.young.11@us.af.mil).
- Page limits
- Whole whitepaper, Part 1 through Part 4, including JCP and CMMC evidence: 10 pages
What they'll judge offers on
- Mandatory certifications: JCP certification and CMMC Level 2 status
- Technical competency: a representative project completed in the last five years, for each project type you choose to answer
- Intellectual property acknowledgment
- Innovation and partnership capability
What to include when you submit
- Send the whole whitepaper as a single, searchable PDF, 10 pages at most, with no separate appendices or attachments.
- Email subject line must be exactly: RFWP Response: AEDC Velocity Alliance - [Vendor Name].
- Start the Part 2 Technical Competency response with your company's full legal name and CAGE code (Commercial and Government Entity code, your company's ID for federal work).
- Include a copy of your approved DD Form 2345 (Militarily Critical Technical Data Agreement) and evidence of your current CMMC Level 2 status.
- For each project type you answer, describe a representative project completed within the last five years and state your role and scope, as prime or subcontractor.
- Name a partner firm by name and CAGE code in the Part 4 innovation and partnership response, and be ready to confirm its status (the Q&A names non-traditional defense contractor, small business or nonprofit research institution).
- Include the intellectual property acknowledgment; submitting a whitepaper also means agreeing to the Statement of Understanding.
- Questions go by email only, with the subject line: RFWP Question: AEDC Velocity Alliance - [Vendor Name].
After award, you must have
- Sign the Membership Agreement after passing evaluation and attending the mandatory virtual Industry Day; only firms with a fully executed agreement are members and can compete for projects. From AEDC Velocity Alliance - Request for Whitepaper-Amend 6- 15 Oct 26.pdf:
Only vendors who have a fully executed Membership Agreement on file with the…
Not in the notice text
- Part of the Amendment 6 text (the technical questions for each project type, Parts 3 and 4, the Statement of Understanding and evaluation details) and many attachments are on SAM.gov but were not fully read: Atch 3 - CMMC-Information, Atch 4 - CMMC-FAQsv6, the older Base Articles, the older amendments and most question-and-answer files were attached but not read. Check them on SAM.gov.
- Opportunity 3 whitepaper due date and mandatory Industry Day window: to be announced by a formal amendment.
- SAM.gov shows a response date of September 30, 2030, while the notice says it stays active until September 30, 2032. Ask the Agreements Officer which applies.
- How many members will be admitted, and the size and value of individual projects: not stated in the text read; only the multi-billion-dollar investment through Fiscal Year 2032 is mentioned.
- How the NAICS 541330 size standard is used for onboarding, and whether any set-aside applies: SAM.gov states no set-aside.
- Details of the intellectual property acknowledgment and the Part 4 partner rules in Amendment 6 itself.
- Place of performance: SAM.gov leaves it blank; sites are only listed as possible.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- The notice mentions an approved or qualified source list. Only listed sources may be eligible, so check that your company or product is on it.
- The notice mentions CMMC, the Defense Department's cybersecurity certification. Check the level it asks for.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email one searchable PDF to the Agreements Officer (Greggory C. Jones, greggory.jones.4@us.af.mil), the Agreements Specialist (Bailey B. Deason, bailey.deason@us.af.mil) and the two Air Force Project Managers (Haden D. Welch, haden.welch@us.af.mil; Michelle R. Young, michelle.young.11@us.af.mil). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Architect-engineer services tied to buildings or construction are usually bought under the Brooks Act: the agency ranks firms on qualifications from an SF 330 first, then negotiates a price with the top firm. How A/E contracts work.
Notice details
- Posted
- Apr 30, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- FA9101 Aedc PKP Procrmnt BR, Arnold AFB, TN
- Product/service code
- AC13 · National Defense R&D Services; Department of Defense – Military; Experimental Development
- Business type
- Engineering, architecture & research (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541330)
- Versions
28 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 15, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Aug 31, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Aug 26, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Jul 17, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Jul 17, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Jul 15, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Jun 24, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Jun 23, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Jun 14, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- May 26, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- May 22, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- May 15, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- May 12, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- May 1, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- May 1, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Apr 30, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)SAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Apr 28, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Apr 27, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Apr 24, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Apr 23, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Apr 21, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Apr 17, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Apr 15, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Mar 31, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Mar 31, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Mar 30, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Mar 18, 2026 · AmendmentSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Mar 17, 2026 · SolicitationSAM.gov date Sep 30, 2030
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Notice of Opportunity (NOO) U.S. Army Reserve, 88th Readiness Division Energy Savings Performance Contract (ESPC)DLA Energy, buying for the U.S. Army Reserve 88th Readiness Division, plans to give one Energy Savings Performance Contract (ESPC) task order to cut energy and water use at…