Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
MRTC Direct Action IDIQ
Department of Defense · U.S. Special Operations Command (USSOCOM)
More open U.S. Special Operations Command contracts
AI summaryOnly small businesses can bid: this is a total small business set-aside. The Marine Forces Special Operations Command (MARSOC) wants one contractor to supply Direct Action and combatives instructors for the Marine Raider Training Center at Sneads Ferry, NC. It is a single-award indefinite-delivery/indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract (orders are placed as needed): a base year from January 15, 2027, four option years and a final six-month option to July 14, 2032. The response due date is November 13, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 19, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 16, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 19, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 3 of 9 attachments weren't read (2_Pricing Template_14Oct2026.xlsx, 5_Question Answer Template_14Oct2026.xlsx and 1 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only small businesses can bid: this is a total small business set-aside. The Marine Forces Special Operations Command (MARSOC) wants one contractor to supply Direct Action and combatives instructors for the Marine Raider Training Center at Sneads Ferry, NC. It is a single-award indefinite-delivery/indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract (orders are placed as needed): a base year from January 15, 2027, four option years and a final six-month option to July 14, 2032. The response due date is November 13, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid (5)
- Small business under NAICS 611519 (Other Technical and Trade Schools); this is a 100% total small business set-aside. Amendment 1 sets the size standard at $21,000,000 (from $16,500,000) and the NAICS code at 611519 (from 611699).
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM) at the time of award, and a representation of small business status. The apparent successful quoter must meet this.
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 (Self) status in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS), plus a current affirmation of continuous compliance, before award for each system that handles federal contract information or controlled unclassified information.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Personnel clearance and facility clearance requirements set by the final DD254 and the SOW (levels not stated in the text read); the quote must say how you will meet clearance, facility-access and safeguarding needs.
- Three named Direct Action High-Risk Training Instructors who meet the SOW minimum qualifications, one of them the On-Site Contractor Lead.
How to submit: Email to MSgt Krissia Avelares (krissia.i.avelaresvalle.mil@socom.mil) and Mr. Samuel Williams, Contracting Officer (Samuel.williams1@socom.mil). What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (11)
- Serious: Total small business set-aside. Only small businesses under NAICS 611519 (size standard $21,000,000 after Amendment 1) can bid; larger firms cannot.
- Serious: Statement of Work is restricted. The SOW, with the instructor minimum qualifications, clearances and duties, is posted with restricted access; request access on SAM.gov before you can price or staff the work.
- Serious: CMMC Level 2 (Self) status required before award. A firm without current CMMC status and a compliance affirmation in SPRS is not eligible for award.
Show all 11Show fewer
- Serious: Security clearances and DD254. Facility and personnel clearances follow the final DD254, which was a draft that could not be read; the Government's surveillance plan sets 100% compliance for cleared personnel.
- Serious: Named key personnel must meet minimum qualifications. You must name three instructors and send their resumes with the quote; one who misses a material SOW minimum can make the whole quote Unacceptable.
- Worth checking: Amendment 1 changes scope fields. Amendment 1 changed the NAICS code and size standard and the not-to-exceed amounts on the travel and materials lines (the new amounts are not shown); acknowledge it, since failing to acknowledge a material amendment can fail Volume I.
- Worth checking: Questions due October 30, 2026. Questions go by email, and the pricing template errors must be raised by this deadline too.
- Worth checking: Workforce compensation can sink a quote. An unsupported compensation plan can lead to a risk finding under Price or an unacceptable rating, even if the price is low.
- Worth checking: Best quotation first, no promised revision. The Government may award without any talks, so the first quote must be complete.
- Minor: Staffing standard of 96%. The surveillance plan expects 96% of required qualified personnel present and available throughout performance, so gaps and turnover are tracked.
- Minor: Prices held 180 days. Prices must stay firm for 180 calendar days after the quotation due date.
Read from the notice and 6 attachments. 3 of 9 not read. Show which files.
- Solicitation - H9225727QE001.pdf (read)
- Amend 1_H9225727QE0010001 SF30.pdf (read)
- 3_Draft DD254_14Oct2026.pdf (read)
- 4_QASP_14Oct2026.pdf (read)
- 6_Teaming Agreement_14Oct2026.docx (read)
- 7_OCI Disclosure Form_14Oct2026.docx (read)
- 2_Pricing Template_14Oct2026.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- 5_Question Answer Template_14Oct2026.xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- 1_Direct Action_SOW_2026.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Three full-time Direct Action High-Risk Training Instructors (CLIN 0001, 12 months): CLIN is one priced line of the order
- Episodic (as-needed) Direct Action instructors: 2,800 hours (CLIN 0002), and episodic Combat Marksmanship instructors: 1,200 hours (CLIN 0003)
- Instruction for the Marine Raider Course Phase II (including the Guile Strike Field Exercise), the MARSOF Master Assaulters Course and the MARSOC Special Operations Forces (SOF) Fundamentals Course
- Instructors who meet the Statement of Work (SOW) minimum qualifications, keep their instructor currency and hold the required security clearances
- Travel (CLIN 0004, 50,000 Each at $1.00, billed at actual allowable cost) and materials and ancillary services (CLIN 0005, 150,000 Each at $1.00)
- One on-site contractor lead, chosen from the three instructors, as liaison with Government staff
- Monthly status reports, after action reports within 15 calendar days of each event, and logistical resource summaries
- A transition plan and a quality control plan (the detailed plan is due after award)
- Contract type
- Single-award IDIQ with firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price) lines; the travel and materials lines are FFP not-to-exceed lines billed at $1.00 per Each. Commercial services under FAR Part 12 and simplified procedures.
- Period of performance
- Base year January 15, 2027 to January 14, 2028; four 12-month option periods through January 14, 2032; a final 6-month option from January 15, 2032 to July 14, 2032 (about 5.5 years); plus an option to extend services up to 6 months (FAR 52.217-8)
- Place of performance
- Sneads Ferry, NC, USA (the schedule's inspection and acceptance address for the Marine Raider Training Center is Camp Lejeune, NC)
- Estimated value
- No total value or Government estimate is stated. Order limits: minimum order $2,500; maximum order $5,000,000 for a single item or a combination of items.
- How they'll choose
- Best value, comparative evaluation under simplified procedures for one award. Volume I is pass/fail. Then Technical Capability, Past Performance and Price, in that order of importance. Technical Capability and Past Performance together are more important than Price.
- Offers due
- November 13, 2026, 12:00 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 16, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to MSgt Krissia Avelares (krissia.i.avelaresvalle.mil@socom.mil) and Mr. Samuel Williams, Contracting Officer (Samuel.williams1@socom.mil)
- Page limits
- Volume I Qualifying Criteria: 3 pages (required attachments excluded); Volume II Technical Capability: 10 pages (resumes and qualification matrix excluded); Volume III Past Performance: 5 pages; Volume IV Price: completed pricing template plus a 5-page price narrative (Total Compensation Plans excluded); resumes: 1 page per person
What they'll judge offers on
- Qualifying Criteria (pass/fail): required representations, certifications and fill-ins, acceptance of terms, security and DD254 information (Department of Defense Form 254, the security classification specification), and cybersecurity (CMMC and SPRS) information
- Technical Capability: (a) Staffing, Retention and Key Personnel, (b) Transition and Mission Continuity, (c) Management, Safety, Quality Control and Reporting, (d) Materials and Ancillary Support (less important than the other three; (b) and (c) are about equal)
- Past Performance: recency, relevancy and quality; no relevant history gets a neutral rating
- Price: Total Evaluated Price across base, options and the 6-month extension; reasonableness, balance and workforce compensation and retention risk
What to include when you submit
- Send four volumes: I Qualifying Criteria, II Technical Capability, III Past Performance, IV Price. Each email with its attachments must be 10MB or less; if you send several emails, the subject line reads: RFQ No. H9225727QE001 - [QUOTER NAME] - Email [X] of [X].
- Format: 8.5 x 11 inch pages, margins at least one inch, font no smaller than 10-point, single-sided.
- Volume I: legal name, address, CAGE code, Unique Entity Identifier, parent company, authorized representative and business point of contact.
- Volume I: a signed statement accepting all RFQ terms, conditions and amendments without exception; identify and explain any exception separately.
- Volume I: completed representations, certifications and clause fill-ins; security and DD254 information; and CMMC unique identifier(s), SPRS information and affirmations.
- Volume II: resumes (one page each) for the three Direct Action High-Risk Training Instructors, naming one as the On-Site Contractor Lead, each with a Qualification Cross-Reference Matrix that maps every SOW minimum qualification to the resume page and paragraph.
- Volume II: staffing, retention and backfill approach, transition plan, management, safety and quality control approach, and materials and ancillary support approach.
- Volume III: up to three recent, relevant contracts or agreements. Recent means performed in whole or in part in the five years before the quotation due date, with at least six months of performance.
- Volume III: for each reference give title, number, customer, period, total value, contract type, place, services, relevance, customer contact (name, title, email, phone), any teaming or subcontractor role, and outcomes or corrective actions. One reference may be for a subcontractor, teaming partner or joint venture member that will perform major or critical aspects. If you have none, say so.
- Volume IV: the Government's pricing template (enter prices only in the input cells), a price narrative of up to five pages, and Total Compensation Plans for professional labor categories where FAR 52.222-46 and the final solicitation require them. Subcontractors may send theirs directly to the Government.
- Hold prices firm for 180 calendar days after the quotation due date.
- Acknowledge every RFQ amendment.
After award, you must have
- Limitations on subcontracting: the prime may not pay more than 50 percent of the amount paid by the Government to subcontractors that are not similarly situated entities (other small businesses). From Solicitation - H9225727QE001.pdf:
…it will not pay more than 50 percent of the amount paid by the Government for contract performance to subcontractors that…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named, and the text read gives no previous contract number or estimate.
Not in the notice text
- The SOW (1_Direct Action_SOW_2026.pdf) is attached but not read and is controlled; request access on SAM.gov. It holds the instructor minimum qualifications, clearance levels and detailed duties.
- The pricing template and the question and answer template (both Excel files) are attached but not read, and the draft DD254 could not be read.
- The security clearance levels for the facility and the instructors are not stated in the text read.
- Amendment 1 changes the not-to-exceed amounts on the travel and materials lines, but the old and new amounts are not shown; the solicitation text shows $50,000 travel and $150,000 materials a year ($25,000 and $75,000 in the last 6 months).
- The Teaming Agreement letter (Attachment 6, a subcontractor's promise to pay the minimum salary and benefits in the pricing template) and the Organizational Conflict of Interest (OCI) Disclosure Form (Attachment 7, one per current USSOCOM contract or subcontract your firm or affiliate performs) are attached; the text read does not say if or when they are due.
- No site visit is mentioned in the text read.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 611519
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to MSgt Krissia Avelares (krissia.i.avelaresvalle.mil@socom.mil) and Mr. Samuel Williams, Contracting Officer (Samuel.williams1@socom.mil). Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 16, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- MARSOC H92257, Sneads Ferry, NC
- Product/service code
- U013 · Education/Training – Combat
- Business type
- Education & training (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 611519)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 19, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 13, 2026
- Oct 16, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 13, 2026
- Oct 14, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Nov 13, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Investigative Interviewing Training CourseThe Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) wants a training company to teach its aircraft inspectors and engineers a structured, ethical investigative interviewing course, in…
- Reliability and Probability Training (FAA28335) for Flight Standards and Aircraft Certification Airworthiness Inspectors/EngineersThe FAA is running a market survey (sources sought) to find companies that can teach a 72-hour Reliability and Probability course to FAA airworthiness inspectors and engineers.
- Job Corps Center Operations Procurement Plan