Solicitation
A-E Services for Electron Injector Complex
Department of Energy
AI summarySolicitation RFP_476957: Brookhaven National Laboratory (listed under the Department of Energy) is asking for proposals for architect-engineer (A/E) design services for the Electron Injector Complex of the Electron-Ion Collider, in Upton, NY. The response due date is November 30, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern. No set-aside applies. The RFP letter, statement of work and design files are not fully readable here, so the instructions, evaluation and contract terms are unknown. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 7 of 15 attachments weren't read (EIN_Concept Design.pdf, Basis of Design - EIN_Injector.pdf and 5 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Solicitation RFP_476957: Brookhaven National Laboratory (listed under the Department of Energy) is asking for proposals for architect-engineer (A/E) design services for the Electron Injector Complex of the Electron-Ion Collider, in Upton, NY. The response due date is November 30, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern. No set-aside applies. The RFP letter, statement of work and design files are not fully readable here, so the instructions, evaluation and contract terms are unknown.
Things to watch
From the version posted Oct 23, 2026.
- Serious: Proposal instructions are in the RFP letter, which was not read. The notice sends bidders to the RFP letter and attachments for submission requirements; those are in a zip file attached on SAM.gov, so how to submit and how offers are judged are unknown.
- Worth checking: Statement of work is still being signed. The statement of work is a Word file being routed for signatures, and a signed PDF is to be added to the posting later, so the scope here is not final.
- Minor: Quality assurance plan attached. The attached EIC Quality Assurance Plan follows a Department of Energy quality order; whether its rules bind this design contract is not stated in the text read.
Read from the notice and 8 attachments. 7 of 15 not read. Show which files.
- NEPA - BHSO Letter June 2025.pdf (read)
- EIC-QAG-PLN-002 Quality Assurance Plan for EIC.pdf (read)
- EIC-ORG-RSI-026 Rev 2 EIC Code of Record 2025.pdf (read)
- EIC Infrastructure HDR Basis of Design.pdf (read)
- NEPA-DOE BHS EA for EIC.pdf (read)
- EIC Fire Hazard Analysis - Prelim FP Assessment.pdf (read)
- Finding of No Significant Impact (FONSI).pdf (read)
- EIC-ESH-PLN-008 EIC Hazard Analysis Report 2025.pdf (read)
- EIN_Concept Design.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
- Basis of Design - EIN_Injector.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
- RFP Letter - Attachments - Enclosures.zip: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- EIC Drawings Vol. I.zip: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- EIC Infrastructure Drawings_Volume III.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
- EIC Infrastructure Drawings_Volume II.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
- EIC Infrastructure Drawings_Volume IV.pdf: not read (it couldn't be opened): open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- A/E design services for the EIN Injector Complex project at Brookhaven National Laboratory
- Place of performance
- Upton, NY, USA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- November 30, 2026, 5:00 PM Eastern
What to include when you submit
- Follow the RFP letter and its attachments for proposal submission requirements; the letter is in a zip file that was not read.
Not in the notice text
- The RFP letter, its enclosures and the drawings are in zip files that are attached but not read: RFP Letter - Attachments - Enclosures.zip and EIC Drawings Vol. I.zip.
- Attached but not read because they are too large: EIN_Concept Design.pdf, Basis of Design - EIN_Injector.pdf, and EIC Infrastructure Drawings Volumes II, III and IV.
- The signed statement of work is not among the files read; the notice says a signed PDF will be added later.
- How to submit, page limits, required forms and volumes are not in the text read.
- Evaluation method and factors are not in the text read.
- Contract type, period of performance, estimated value and any size or eligibility requirements are not in the text read.
- Whether the design must follow the attached EIC Basis of Design, Code of Record and Quality Assurance Plan is not stated in the text read.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
- Architect-engineer services tied to buildings or construction are usually bought under the Brooks Act: the agency ranks firms on qualifications from an SF 330 first, then negotiates a price with the top firm. How A/E contracts work.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 23, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- Brookhaven Natl Lab -DOE Contractor, Upton, NY
- Product/service code
- C1HC · Architect and Engineering – Construction: Govt-Owned CTR-Operated (GOCO) Environmental Laboratories
- Business type
- Engineering, architecture & research (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 541330)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation