Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
RTOIL Office rehab
Department of Defense · Department of the Navy
AI summaryThe Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division wants a contractor to refresh an office building (the RTOIL offices) at Naval Base Ventura County, Point Mugu, California. Work is new flooring, wall repair and paint, new LED lighting, glass whiteboards and window shades, under a firm-fixed-price order. The attached schedule runs from 29 Oct 2026 to 26 Feb 2027 (120 calendar days to finish), and it is a 100% small business set-aside. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 5, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 22, 2026 to Oct 30, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov.
The Naval Air Warfare Center Weapons Division wants a contractor to refresh an office building (the RTOIL offices) at Naval Base Ventura County, Point Mugu, California. Work is new flooring, wall repair and paint, new LED lighting, glass whiteboards and window shades, under a firm-fixed-price order. The attached schedule runs from 29 Oct 2026 to 26 Feb 2027 (120 calendar days to finish), and it is a 100% small business set-aside.
Who can bid (10)
- Small business. The notice says this is a 100% small business set-aside (NAICS 236118), though the SAM.gov header field says no set-aside.
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM), with a CAGE code and UEI.
- Registered in Wide Area Workflow (WAWF) to submit invoices electronically.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Performance and payment bonds, each for 100 percent of the contract price, unless the contract price is $150,000 or less. The stated size ($250,000 to $500,000) is above that.
- Certificate of insurance within 15 calendar days after award: general liability $500,000 per occurrence, automobile liability, workers' compensation and employer's liability ($100,000).
- A Site Safety and Health Officer (SSHO) with 3+ years of safety work on similar projects, a 30-hour OSHA construction class (or equivalent) in the last 5 years, and an average of 24 hours of formal safety training each year for 5 years. Must be on site during all construction and cannot be the superintendent.
- A Quality Control Manager (the superintendent may fill this role) holding NAVFAC Contractor Quality Management (CQM) training, and a QC plan.
- All workers must be U.S. citizens or documented legal residents and obtain base badges (DIBDS); allow 10 calendar days for background checks.
- A usable Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) record, since SPRS risk assessments are an evaluation factor.
- Obtain all licenses and permits needed for the work at your own cost and submit a Permits Record of Decision (PROD) form within 21 days after award. The documents do not name a specific trade license.
How to submit: due Oct 22, 2026 at 3:00 PM Pacific time (15:00 -07:00). The notice says the Government may shorten the closing date if no questions are received by the question deadline.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
- Serious: Performance and payment bonds likely required. Bonds of 100 percent of the price are required above $150,000, and the notice puts this job at $250,000 to $500,000, so you need a surety relationship before bidding.
- Worth checking: Davis-Bacon wage rates apply. Federal construction wage rates, weekly certified payrolls and related labor paperwork apply; the wage determination attachment had no readable text in the file provided, so the actual rates are not visible here.
- Worth checking: Tight schedule right after award. Quotes are due Oct 22, 2026, the delivery period begins 29 Oct 2026, work must start within 14 days of notice to proceed and finish within 120 days, with flooring, lighting and furniture moves to coordinate in an occupied office.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: No site visit, but you must field-verify the site. The notice says no site visit will be held, while the general requirements make you responsible for site conditions, so you price blind from the floor plan and scope.
- Worth checking: Heavy safety and quality-control staffing. You need a separate qualified Site Safety and Health Officer on site during all work, a QC plan with NAVFAC CQM-trained QC manager, an Accident Prevention Plan and other government-approved submittals before work starts.
- Minor: Safety checklist can cause payment retention. A monthly safety self-evaluation must score 90 or higher or the Government can hold back up to 10 percent of the voucher.
- Minor: Set-aside and value details do not line up. The SAM.gov header says no set-aside while the notice and attachments say 100% small business; the notice gives a $250,000 to $500,000 range yet cites a $350,000 simplified acquisition ceiling, so ask the contracting office to confirm.
- Minor: Form contains supply-order leftovers and a conflicting SSHO rule. The solicitation includes supply-style questions (shipping point, country of origin) and the general requirements say the superintendent can be SSHO while the project-specific attachment says not, so follow the project attachment and confirm by email.
- Minor: Government may shorten the closing date. If no questions arrive by the deadline, the notice lets the Government amend the solicitation to close earlier, so watch SAM.gov for amendments.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. Show which files.
- Solicitation - N6893627Q0001.pdf (read)
- General requirements - Part 2a attachment - Part 3 Scope of Work - Floor Plan.pdf (read)
- Wage Determination 9.3.2026.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Remove about 2,455 sq ft of carpet, about 974 sq ft of vinyl flooring, about 1,150 linear feet of base board, and all window blinds
- Install 34 dimmable LED troffer lights (3500K) in 16 offices and 19 dimmable LED troffer lights (4800K) in hallways, storage and conference room; 3 of the 19 need battery back-up and a night light
- Install dimming/occupancy sensor switches in each office, storage room and conference room, and 4-way dimmable switches with ceiling occupancy sensors in the hallways
- Patch, texture and paint about 9,000 sq ft of walls (light French Grey, satin) and paint 20 door frames blue-gray
- Install carpet tile in offices and conference room, vinyl plank in hallway, storage and mess area, and 6-inch navy blue vinyl wall base
- Install 16 new 4 ft x 8 ft magnetic glass whiteboards (one per office and the conference room)
- Remove, store and reinstall all furniture in the offices and conference room
- Buy and install new roller shades on all windows
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price order under simplified acquisition procedures (commercial services, FAR Part 12)
- Period of performance
- Start within 14 calendar days and finish within 120 calendar days of notice to proceed; line item delivery period 29 Oct 2026 to 26 Feb 2027. No option years stated.
- Place of performance
- Naval Base Ventura County (NBVC), Point Mugu, CA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value: award to the responsible offeror whose conforming quote is most advantageous to the Government, price and other factors considered; award without discussions possible
- Offers due
- Oct 22, 2026 at 3:00 PM Pacific time (15:00 -07:00). The notice says the Government may shorten the closing date if no questions are received by the question deadline. (from the version posted Oct 5, 2026; amended since)
What they'll judge offers on
- Price (evaluated for completeness, reasonableness, and realism)
- Delivery Schedule
- Technical Compliance / Qualifications specific to work performed
- Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) Risk Assessments (DFARS 252.204-7024)
- Award without discussion
What to include when you submit
- Questions go by email to Andrea Farrell and Markelle Griffin with the subject line "QUESTIONS: N6893627Q0001 - Office Rehab"; question deadline is Oct 15, 2026, 2:00 PM PT
- Government answers will be posted as an amendment on SAM.gov by Oct 19, 2026
- Submit a separate quote with all specifications and details that can be technically evaluated
- Give enough technical information to show you understand the project, or the submission will not be considered
- Answer the vendor questions in the solicitation: CAGE code, SAM UEI, GSA contract number if any, company address and contact, country where items are made, estimated delivery date or period of performance, warranty, agreement to FAR/DFARS terms, and WAWF registration
- Complete the Standard Form 1442 offer section (offer, amendment acknowledgments, signature) and the quote number and vendor/technical contact blocks
- Complete the representations and certifications (telecom equipment, delinquent tax/felony, Buy American certificate)
- Acknowledge any amendments
Not in the notice text
- How and where to send the quote (email address or portal) is not clearly stated; confirm with the purchase agent
- The wage determination attachment contained no readable text, so the actual Davis-Bacon wage rates are unknown
- No page limits or quote format are stated
- Whether the building has lead paint or asbestos is not stated; the general requirements prohibit asbestos and lead-based paint materials, but no hazardous material survey was provided
- The floor plan drawing is not readable as text; room sizes and counts come only from the scope of work
- Exact contract price range and the Government's price expectation: the notice gives $250,000 to $500,000 but also cites a $350,000 ceiling
- Whether a California contractor's license or other specific trade license is required is not stated
- Names of the contracting officer's representative and technical contact are blank in the documents
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. More open small business set-asides under NAICS 236118
- How and where to submit is in the notice text and its attachments on SAM.gov.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 27, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- Naval Air Warfare Center, China Lake, CA
- Product/service code
- Z2EZ · Repair or Alteration of Other Industrial Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236118)
- Versions
2 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Oct 30, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 5, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 22, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside