Presolicitation
ID FLAP CLEAR 4783(1), Dent Bridge Road Improvements
Department of Transportation · Federal Highway Administration
AI summaryThe Federal Highway Administration's Western Federal Lands Division plans to buy a road rebuild on 4.8 miles of Dent Bridge Road near Orofino in Clearwater County, Idaho. This is an early (presolicitation) notice: the actual request for proposals has not been posted, and only the six companies on the Idaho, Montana, and Surrounding Areas MATOC contract may bid as prime. Small businesses can use it to find subcontracting work with those primes. Tentative completion is Fall 2027. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Federal Highway Administration's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
A newer version of this notice was posted Nov 3, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Sep 14, 2026. The notice was amended Nov 3, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. The notice looks incomplete: Proposal due date and time (not given; the solicitation has not been issued). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Federal Highway Administration's Western Federal Lands Division plans to buy a road rebuild on 4.8 miles of Dent Bridge Road near Orofino in Clearwater County, Idaho. This is an early (presolicitation) notice: the actual request for proposals has not been posted, and only the six companies on the Idaho, Montana, and Surrounding Areas MATOC contract may bid as prime. Small businesses can use it to find subcontracting work with those primes. Tentative completion is Fall 2027.
Who can bid (4)
- Limited competition: only six MATOC holders can bid, not every business that meets the set-aside.
- Only the six prime contractors on the Idaho, Montana, and Surrounding Areas MATOC may submit proposals: Ascorp Inc (dba Debco Construction), Granite Construction, Hamilton Construction, M.A. Deatley Construction, MJ Hughes Construction, and Thompson Contracting. Other businesses can take part as subcontractors.
- No small business set-aside is shown in SAM.gov (set-aside: none).
Show all 4Show fewer
- Commercial sources of select borrow, unclassified borrow, and aggregate must be certified weed free (North American Weed Free Forage Program or a similar certification approved by FHWA).
How to submit: Not yet set. The request for proposal (specifications and plans) will be posted on SAM.gov when issued; use the Follow button on the opportunity page to be notified.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (7)
- Serious: Only six MATOC holders can bid as prime. Unless you are one of the listed MATOC contractors, your route in is as a subcontractor or supplier to one of them.
- Worth checking: Solicitation not yet released; no due date. Evaluation factors, instructions, bonding and other contract terms are not available until the request for proposal is posted.
- Worth checking: Date passed (Oct 31, 2026): Site viewing may not be possible after October 31, 2026. Snow can block access; viewing is strongly encouraged in fall (not stated as mandatory) and FHWA will not give tours.
Show all 7Show fewer
- Worth checking: Weed-free certified borrow and aggregate. Materials must come from certified commercial sources, and a fall weed inspection may be necessary, which can limit supplier choices.
- Worth checking: Davis-Bacon wages likely apply. Federal construction over $2,000 in the U.S. pays at least the Davis-Bacon wage rates in the wage determination attached to the solicitation. This summary doesn't name one: find it on SAM.gov and price your labor from it.
- Minor: Solicitation timing is stated two ways. The notice says the solicitation is anticipated in Fall/Winter 2026, while the preliminary letter says documents will be available in winter 2026/2027.
- Minor: Material changes only after award. An alternative pavement or cement material could not be approved up front; it would be reviewed as a value engineering change proposal after the task order is issued.
Read from the notice and 4 attachments. Show which files.
- QA_09.14.26.pdf (read)
- PROJECT DESCRIPTION_ID FLAP CLEAR 4783(1).pdf (read)
- Prelim Letter_ID FLAP CLEAR 4783(1).pdf (read)
- ida-clear4783-1_PLAN_preliminary.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Full-depth pavement reclamation with cement, 8-inch depth (about 76,600 square yards listed)
- Asphalt concrete pavement (about 15,770 tons) plus 4-inch asphalt milling (about 73,100 square yards)
- Shoulder reconditioning, deep patch repair (subexcavation, geogrid, underdrain), and erosion control fiber rolls
- Intermittent guardrail improvements (about 315 linear feet of guardrail and 7 end terminals listed)
- Signing and pavement striping
- Temporary traffic control (flaggers, pilot car, drums, two temporary traffic signals, signs)
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price task order under the Idaho, Montana, and Surrounding Areas MATOC (multiple award task order contract)
- Period of performance
- Tentative completion date Fall 2027; the exact fixed completion date will be in SF1442 Continuation, Block 11 once the solicitation is issued. Start date not stated.
- Place of performance
- Dent Bridge Road, Clearwater County, Idaho, from the Cedar Street intersection in Orofino northeast to the Wells Bench Road intersection (4.8 miles)
- Estimated value
- $5,000,000 to $10,000,000
- Contract vehicle
- Idaho, Montana, and Surrounding Areas MATOC (only the listed MATOC holders may submit proposals)
- How to submit
- Not yet set. The request for proposal (specifications and plans) will be posted on SAM.gov when issued; use the Follow button on the opportunity page to be notified.
What to include when you submit
- No offer is being requested yet; this is a presolicitation notice with preliminary plans
- Technical questions must be emailed to wfl.plans-spec@dot.gov
- General questions: wfl.contracts@dot.gov or 360-619-7520
- Work will be solicited and awarded under one bid schedule
- Question and answer sheet posted 9/14/26: any change to the pavement or geotechnical design is expected to be handled as a value engineering change proposal after the task order is issued
Not in the notice text
- Proposal due date and time (not given; the solicitation has not been issued)
- Evaluation method and factors (not stated)
- Submission method, page limits and required forms (will be in the request for proposal)
- Bonding, insurance and other contract requirements
- Specific material requirements for the cement full depth reclamation, including submittals and testing (the Q&A says they will be in the solicitation documents)
- Exact fixed completion date (will be in SF1442 Continuation, Block 11 of the solicitation)
- Whether the interested vendors list, which is only visible to registered SAM.gov entity users, includes teaming partners
- Whether there's a site visit: this summary doesn't say. Check the solicitation and its amendments on SAM.gov.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- Limited competition: only six MATOC holders can bid.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not yet set. The request for proposal (specifications and plans) will be posted on SAM.gov when issued; use the Follow button on the opportunity page to be notified. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Aug 12, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- 690567 Western Federal Lands Div, Vancouver, WA
- Product/service code
- Y1LB · Construction of Highways, Roads, Streets, Bridges, and Railways
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 237310)
- Versions
4 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Nov 3, 2026 · SolicitationDue Dec 8, 2026
- Sep 14, 2026 · Amendment 0002No date on SAM.gov
- Aug 31, 2026 · Amendment 0001No date on SAM.gov
- Aug 12, 2026 · Presolicitation (this version)No date on SAM.gov
- Related notices
Other notices that name this solicitation, or that this one names.
- ID FLAP KOOTEN 8450(1), Yellowstone Trail Road, Segment 1 · 69056726R000019Posted later Nov 4, 2026 · Due Nov 13, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- UT NP ARCH 100(2) Bridges on Delicate Arch RoadThe Federal Highway Administration's Central Federal Lands Division wants three new 100-foot concrete bridges and road reconstruction on Delicate Arch Road in Arches National…
- OK FW TSM 10(1) NFH Entrance Road and Parking ImprovementsThe Federal Highway Administration's Central Federal Lands Division wants a contractor to repave the entrance road and parking areas at the Tishomingo National Fish Hatchery in…
- AK FLAP ANCHORAGE 2021(1), Far North Bicentennial Park EnhancementsThe Federal Highway Administration's Western Federal Lands Division plans to build a prefabricated steel pedestrian bridge and two boardwalks in Far North Bicentennial Park,…
- WA ERFO NPS OLYM 2022-1(3), OLYMPIC NPS ERFO REPAIRS 2022 Road 107 MP 0.3 TO 0.5 & MP 0.8The Federal Highway Administration's Western Federal Lands Division plans to buy emergency road repairs on Hoh River Road in Olympic National Park, about 26 miles southeast of…
- Humbolt Pacific Crest Trail Bridge Replacement