Solicitation
155mm Modular Artillery for Combat Effectiveness (MACE)
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryThe Army (Contracting Command at Picatinny Arsenal, New Jersey) wants proposals to prototype a manufacturing process for 155mm cargo-carrying artillery projectiles, called MACE. It plans up to two prototype Other Transaction Agreements (OTAs: flexible deals outside standard contract rules). One proposal covers Phase I (range 30 to 35 km) and Phase II (beyond 35 km), and the response due date is October 30, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern (an amendment moved it to Nov 30, 2026, 3:00 PM EST). Awards go only to firms that meet the eligibility conditions in 10 U.S.C. §4022(d), such as a nontraditional defense contractor with a significant role. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 27, 2026. It moves the due date from Oct 30, 2026 to Nov 30, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 16, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. The due date moved from Oct 30, 2026 to Nov 30, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 9 of 10 attachments weren't read (Attachment 26 - Updated MACE Offeror Questions Addressed (Dated10-15).xlsx, Attachment 19 - M1128 Base Bleed Package.pdf and 7 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Army (Contracting Command at Picatinny Arsenal, New Jersey) wants proposals to prototype a manufacturing process for 155mm cargo-carrying artillery projectiles, called MACE. It plans up to two prototype Other Transaction Agreements (OTAs: flexible deals outside standard contract rules). One proposal covers Phase I (range 30 to 35 km) and Phase II (beyond 35 km), and the response due date is October 30, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern. Awards go only to firms that meet the eligibility conditions in 10 U.S.C. §4022(d), such as a nontraditional defense contractor with a significant role.
Who can bid (5)
- Meet one of four conditions in 10 U.S.C. §4022(d): (A) a nontraditional defense contractor or nonprofit research institution takes a significant part; (B) all significant participants besides the Government are small businesses or nontraditional defense contractors; (C) at least one third of total cost is paid from non-Federal funds; or (D) a written senior procurement executive determination of exceptional circumstances
- Register in SAM.gov to get a Commercial and Government Entity (CAGE) code and Unique Entity ID
- Be found responsible and not suspended or debarred by the Federal Government
Show all 5Show fewer
- To get the restricted Purchase Description and drawings, be the Department of War or a U.S. Department of War contractor, and submit the data request questionnaire, non-disclosure agreement and DD 2345 military critical technical data agreement
- Section 889 certification: evidence of the SAM.gov entry for FAR provision 52.204-26
How to submit: Through the SAM.gov website, due October 30, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
- Serious: Eligibility limited by 10 U.S.C. §4022(d). A firm needs a nontraditional defense contractor on its team, an all-small-business or nontraditional team, a one-third non-Federal cost share, or a special written determination, or it cannot be awarded.
- Serious: One proposal must cover both Phase I and Phase II. Phase I (30 to 35 km) and Phase II (beyond 35 km) are each proposed and priced now, and the Government may start Phase II before Phase I is done. Phase I is estimated at 34 months; Phase II length is to be defined.
- Serious: Purchase Description and drawings are restricted. The design documents come only after the firm signs and submits a data request questionnaire, a non-disclosure agreement and a DD 2345 agreement and is approved. No request deadline is stated, and the design depends on these files.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Serious: Explosive-ammunition work with safety and security review. The items are hazard class 1.1D (mass-explosion hazard) arms, ammunition and explosives. The Government may run a safety and security pre-award survey, so a bidder needs suitable facilities and procedures.
- Worth checking: Cost proposal needs a detailed basis of estimate. Pricing is cost-plus-fixed-fee per line, with direct labor, indirect rates, materials, subcontracts and fee shown, which takes accounting records many small firms lack.
- Worth checking: Terms and conditions are not expected to be negotiated. A firm that cannot accept the Government's agreement terms may lose the award to another offeror.
- Worth checking: Funding not obligated at award. Money is committed only when appropriated, and the schedule, milestones or work may be renegotiated depending on available funds.
- Worth checking: Pages over the limit are not read. Volumes I and II are capped at 23 pages each, and anything beyond the cap is ignored in scoring.
- Minor: Schedule baseline replaced by Amendment 0005. Amendment 0005 replaced the Statement of Work and CLIN Matrix with Attachments 25 and 24, using months after award. Proposals must follow those versions.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. 9 of 10 not read. Show which files.
- PPON MACE Extended Updated Attachments- W15QKN26R1C5R (Dated 10-15).docx (read)
- Attachment 26 - Updated MACE Offeror Questions Addressed (Dated10-15).xlsx: not read (the AI doesn't read this file type yet): open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 19 - M1128 Base Bleed Package.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 21 - rf_smoke_payload.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 22 - SPEC_MIL-DTL-32720_M1128_Base_Burner 5.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 17 - 3D Model Creation and Standardization Guidance Document - 13 Dec 2021.docx: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 18 - Contract Quality Requirements for MACE.docx: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 20 - MACE_BB_Motor_Assembly_Components_20260626.xlsx: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 8 - Purchase Description - MUST BE SUBMITTED FOR TDP ACCESS.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- Attachment 9 - Packaging and Unitization - MUST BE SUBMITTED FOR TDP.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Phase I: design a cargo-carrying 155mm projectile that reaches 30 to 35 km, plus its manufacturing process, and deliver loaded, assembled and packed (LAP) projectiles for engineering, safety, qualification and soldier tests
- Phase II: design a version with an alternate range-extension solution that reaches beyond 35 km, and deliver those sub-systems and projectiles for qualification testing
- Show a plan to scale production to up to 10,000 projectiles per year under a possible follow-on agreement
- Quantities in the packing section: up to 115 projectiles for engineering tests and demos (CLIN 002), up to 335 for limited safety tests (CLIN 006), up to 1,200 IPB projectiles (CLIN 008), 1,000 in FY28 (CLIN 009) and 1,000 in FY29 (CLIN 011) for soldier testing, up to 1,200 alternate configuration IPB projectiles (CLIN 023), and up to 100 alternate range extension sub-systems (CLIN 019). A CLIN, or contract line item number, is one priced line of the order. IPB is not defined in the text read.
- Build a detailed Integrated Master Schedule (IMS: the project timeline) for each phase and fill in the milestone payment table in the Statement of Work
- Pack projectiles to Title 49 CFR and MIL-STD-129: eight per pallet, three pallets bundled, heat-treated wood packaging, and tested hazardous-material packaging
- Provide safety data sheets and an arms, ammunition and explosives (AA&E) worksheet
- A possible follow-on production contract or agreement without further competition if the prototype succeeds
- Contract type
- Prototype Other Transaction Agreement (OTA) under 10 U.S.C. §4022, expected to be cost-plus-fixed-fee (CPFF: the Government pays allowed costs plus a set fee). Up to two awards.
- Period of performance
- Phase I estimated at 34 months per the Statement of Work, with qualification testing 13 months after agreement award. Phase II duration is to be defined.
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value through an integrated assessment of all factors. Non-cost factors together are significantly more important than cost/price, which is evaluated but not rated.
- Offers due
- October 30, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern (from the version posted Oct 16, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Through the SAM.gov website
- Page limits
- Volume I (Phase I): maximum 23 pages. Volume II (Phase II): maximum 23 pages. Schedule narratives: maximum 3 pages each. Cover letter: maximum 2 pages. Extra pages are not read.
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor 1, Phase I (155mm MACE to 30-35 km): Sub-factor 1.1 Schedule (most important for Phase I): integrated master schedule and narrative; Sub-factor 1.2 Technical: design, risk and manufacturing, facilities and scaling
- Factor 2, Phase II (alternate range extension beyond 35 km): Sub-factor 2.1 Technical (most important for Phase II); Sub-factor 2.2 Schedule
- Factor 3, Cost/Price: evaluated for realism, reasonableness, allowability and allocability; Total Evaluated Price is Phase I plus Phase II, less any proposed cost share
What to include when you submit
- Send four volumes: Volume I Phase I (schedule and technical), Volume II Phase II (technical and schedule), Volume III Cost/Price, Volume IV Miscellaneous Agreement Documentation
- Name files VendorName_Vol_1_Phase1_155mm MACE_XXXXXX, VendorName_Vol_2_Phase2_XXXXXX, VendorName_Vol_3_Price_Proposal_XXXXXX and VendorName_Vol_4_Docs_XXXXXX.pdf
- Volume III: price every line from CLIN 0001 through CLIN 0026 as total cost plus fixed fee, with a basis of estimate, in Microsoft Excel with working formulas
- Put no pricing in Volumes I, II or IV, and include the completed Statement of Work Section 6.0 milestone table in Volume III
- Volumes I and II: send the Integrated Master Schedule as a printed PDF and a Microsoft Project native file; the Government evaluates the PDF
- Volume IV: cover letter with company name, point of contact, UEI/CAGE, SAM.gov confirmation for NAICS 332993, small business status, team members, six-month proposal validity statement and signatures
- Volume IV: Terms and Conditions with highlighted portions completed and minor deviations in tracked changes; Business Status Certification (Attachments 2 and 3); Section 889 evidence of SAM.gov entry for FAR 52.204-26
- Format: Arial, 12-point minimum for text, 1-inch margins, 8.5 x 11 inches; spreadsheets and diagrams up to 11 x 14 inches with 10-point text
- Use searchable Microsoft Office or PDF files only; no .exe files, hyperlinks or ZIP files
- Proposals stay valid for six months after submission; one firm may send several separate proposals
- Use the Statement of Work (Attachment 25) and CLIN Matrix (Attachment 24) from Amendment 0005 as the sole basis for the proposal
After award, you must have
- After award, register in Wide Area Work Flow (WAWF) through the Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment (PIEE) to invoice and get paid From PPON MACE Extended Updated Attachments- W15QKN26R1C5R (Dated 10-15).docx:
Offerors must register in Wide Area Work Flow (WAWF) through the Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment (PIEE)
- During the work, comply with the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR: export controls on defense items), the National Industrial Security Program Operating Manual and the Commerce export rules From PPON MACE Extended Updated Attachments- W15QKN26R1C5R (Dated 10-15).docx:
…the recipient will comply strictly with the International Traffic in Arms Regulation (22 CFR 120-130)
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. This is a new effort to add domestic 155mm projectile manufacturers. Up to 10,000 projectile systems per year is the anticipated scale of a follow-on production award without further competition.
Not in the notice text
- Key documents are on SAM.gov and weren't read here: the Purchase Description and Packing Drawings (restricted), Attachments 17 to 22 (restricted), and the newest Offeror Questions Addressed spreadsheet (Attachment 26, dated October 15, 2026). The Terms and Conditions, Statement of Work and CLIN Matrix text also wasn't in what was read.
- Government estimate, funding amount and fee limits for the agreements are not stated in the text read
- Place of performance is blank on SAM.gov and not stated in the PPON text read
- Set-aside is not stated on SAM.gov; the PPON eligibility rules apply instead
- Length of Phase II and the date by which restricted technical data must be requested are not stated
- What IPB stands for in the packing section's projectile quantities is not defined
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Through the SAM.gov website. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Sep 1, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W6QK ACC-Ri-Picatinny, Picatinny Arsenal, NJ
- Product/service code
- 1320 · Ammunition, Over 125MM
- Business type
- Weapons & ammunition (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332993)
- Versions
12 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 30, 2026 (changed)
- Oct 16, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026
- Oct 6, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 24, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 24, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 18, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 1, 2026 · Amendment 0007 (this version)Due Oct 30, 2026
- Sep 1, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026
- Aug 31, 2026 · AmendmentDue Oct 30, 2026 (changed)
- Aug 19, 2026 · AmendmentDue Sep 30, 2026
- Aug 19, 2026 · SolicitationDue Sep 30, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Test Stand, Torpedo, War
- 9mm M1041 Close Combat Mission Capability Kit (CCMCK)
- Electronic Safe and Arm Devices (ESAD)The U.S. Army Contracting Command-Rock Island at Picatinny, for the Fuze Integrated Product Team, is asking industry about its ability to make Electronic Safe and Arm Devices…