Solicitation
Breechblock Forging (Rough Machined), per drawing number 12591138, Rev B, for 105mm M20
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryThe Army (W6QK ACC WVA, for Watervliet Arsenal in New York) wants 77 Each of rough-machined breechblock forgings, a gun part for the 105mm M20, made to drawing 12591138 Rev B. Only firms with an active System for Award Management (SAM) registration and Joint Certification Program (JCP) approval can get the drawings. Quotes go by email, and the response due date is November 4, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This summary may miss requirements: 14 of 17 attachments weren't read (WVA-FORM-702-61-R-E.pdf, 8769067-P.pdf and 12 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Army (W6QK ACC WVA, for Watervliet Arsenal in New York) wants 77 Each of rough-machined breechblock forgings, a gun part for the 105mm M20, made to drawing 12591138 Rev B. Only firms with an active System for Award Management (SAM) registration and Joint Certification Program (JCP) approval can get the drawings. Quotes go by email, and the response due date is November 4, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid (4)
- Active SAM registration and certification in the Joint Certification Program (JCP, a DD Form 2345 Militarily Critical Technical Data Agreement) to request the drawings; JCP certifications are validated before drawings are released
- Active SAM.gov registration to be eligible for award
- A United States, Puerto Rico or Canadian source: cannon production technology may not go to any foreign source
Show all 4Show fewer
- Pass the responsibility checks in FAR 9.104; the Army may visit your plant for a preaward survey and ask for financial, technical, production or management information
How to submit: Email to giuseppe.tropiano.civ@army.mil; all responses must be electronic. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (10)
From the version posted Oct 19, 2026.
- Serious: Drawings need JCP certification first. A firm needs a current DD Form 2345 on file to see the controlled drawings, and the file estimates six to ten weeks to process that certification.
- Serious: All or none: quote the full 77 Each. Offers for less than the total quantity are rejected as nonresponsive, so a small shop must be able to make the whole lot.
- Worth checking: One award, two pricing paths. The Army will make one award, with or without first article, so each bidder must price both paths.
Show all 10Show fewer
- Worth checking: First article risk and cost. Until the first article is approved, materials bought and production started are at the contractor's own risk, and repeat tests are at the contractor's cost.
- Worth checking: Only U.S., Puerto Rico and Canadian sources. Cannon technology cannot go to foreign sources or foreign subsidiaries, which limits subcontracting and who can bid.
- Worth checking: On-time delivery is treated as critical. Late delivery can end the order, and raw material or subcontractor problems are not accepted excuses.
- Worth checking: Plant visit and 7-day data requests. The Army may ask for company information and can find a firm not responsible if it is not read (it may be an attached file the AI skipped; check SAM.gov) within 7 days or if a plant visit is refused.
- Minor: Export-controlled data must be destroyed and passed down. The drawings are export controlled; the offeror and every subcontractor must destroy all copies when done, and the rules reach all subcontractors.
- Minor: Priority-rated order. Any award is marked as a DO rated order under the Defense Priorities and Allocations System (DPAS), a national defense priority program the contractor must follow.
- Minor: Contractor pays freight; fixed delivery windows. Delivery is free on board (F.O.B.) destination with the contractor paying transportation, and carriers must book an appointment.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments. 14 of 17 not read. Show which files.
- W911PT27QA009.pdf (read)
- ATTACHMENT 1.pdf (read)
- ATTACHMENT 2- CDRLS.pdf (read)
- WVA-FORM-702-61-R-E.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- 8769067-P.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- 12521199SHT3.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- 7309992-2.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- 7309992-1.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- DWG_12591138-B.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- QAP_12591138-E.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- 010731-QAP-APPX-BL.docx: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- 12521199SHT2.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- E_-6218010G-12591138.docx: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- E_-6218010L-12591138.docx: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- A-6218010G-12591138.docx: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- A-6218010L-12591138.docx: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
- 12521199SHT1.pdf: not read (access is restricted): request it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Make and deliver 77 Each breechblock forgings (rough machined), drawing 12591138 Rev B, for the 105mm M20: 59 Each on CLIN 0001 or 0002 and 18 Each on CLIN 0003 or 0004 (a contract line item number (CLIN) is one priced line of the order)
- First article (CLINs 0001 and 0003): a first article is a sample forging tested and approved before production. The test report is due 120 calendar days from the date of the contract; one forging is destructively tested and two go for 100% inspection
- Delivery with first article: 3 Each 120 days after date of award, then the rest (56 Each on CLIN 0001, 15 Each on CLIN 0003) 60 days after first article approval
- Delivery with first article waived (CLINs 0002 and 0004): production quantity 150 days after receipt of order
- Send the data items on the Contract Data Requirements List (CDRL, DD Form 1423): inspection records, magnetic particle inspection procedures and certificate, and forging chemical and physical properties reports
- Deliver to Watervliet Arsenal, Watervliet, NY 12189-4050, free on board (F.O.B.) destination; the contractor pays transportation
- Upload the CDRL documents with each invoice in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF), the Army's electronic invoicing system
- Contract type
- Request for quotation (RFQ); firm-fixed-price (FFP): one set price, whatever the work ends up costing. One award for the whole quantity
- Period of performance
- Delivery-based, no base or option years. With first article: first article 120 days after date of contract, production 60 days after first article approval. With first article waived: 150 days after receipt of order
- Place of performance
- Watervliet, NY, USA (deliveries go to Watervliet Arsenal, 1 Buffington St, Watervliet, NY 12189-4050)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Award to the lowest evaluated offer that meets all material requirements, meets the drawing and specification requirements, and passes the responsibility checks in FAR 9.104
- Offers due
- November 4, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to giuseppe.tropiano.civ@army.mil; all responses must be electronic
What they'll judge offers on
- Price: lowest evaluated offer; $1,200 is added to offers whose first article test cannot be waived
- Meeting all material requirements of the solicitation and the drawings and specifications
- Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS): item risk, price risk and supplier risk (quality and delivery) are considered
What to include when you submit
- Fill out the Request for Quotation form completely and send it in its entirety, or the quote may not be considered responsive
- Quote the total quantity of 77 Each; offers for less than the total of all items are nonresponsive
- Price both versions: first article required (CLINs 0001 and 0003) and first article waived (CLINs 0002 and 0004)
- To be considered for a first article waiver, give the contract number and date of approval of your prior approved first article or same or similar item
- List the chemistry of the steel you propose to use for the forgings
- If you will subcontract the forging, say who will furnish it
- Fill in the vendor information page: vendor name, point of contact, phone, email, Unique Entity ID, CAGE code, tax ID number and fax
- Email questions only; no phone inquiries
Not in the notice text
- Most technical details are in controlled files attached but not read: DWG_12591138-B.pdf (the drawing), QAP_12591138-E.pdf (quality assurance provisions), 010731-QAP-APPX-BL.docx, WVA-FORM-702-61-R-E.pdf, 8769067-P.pdf, 7309992-1.pdf, 7309992-2.pdf, 12521199SHT1.pdf, SHT2.pdf, SHT3.pdf and four 6218010 .docx files. Request access on SAM.gov. The middle of W911PT27QA009.pdf was also left out
- The drawing's material, heat treatment and dimension requirements and the quality assurance plan are in those controlled files
- Whether this RFQ is a small business set-aside: SAM.gov states none, and the RFQ form's set-aside box couldn't be read; check the form on SAM.gov
- The contract's dollar value is not stated
- Which clauses sit in the unread middle of the main RFQ file
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- The notice mentions export-controlled data. You may need a Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345) approval to see the drawings.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to giuseppe.tropiano.civ@army.mil; all responses must be electronic. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 19, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W6QK ACC WVA, Watervliet, NY
- Product/service code
- 1015 · Guns, 75MM Through 125MM
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 332111)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation