Solicitation
1355-01-436-4620 CWFP CABLE ASSY, ADCAP F/MK48 MODS 6 AND 7 TORPEDOES
Dept of Defense · Dept of the Navy · Sol. N0010426RK022
Due in 20 days
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) wants a manufacturer to build 350 MK62 Mod 1 umbilical cable assemblies for MK 48 ADCAP torpedoes (NSN 1355-01-436-4620), built to Government drawings. The vendor must first pass a Government-tested first article (2 sample cables), then ship production units to three Navy sites in Washington, Virginia and Hawaii. There is also an option for up to 120% more units (an FY28 requirement).
Watch out for
- Costly first article test with no separate pay. You must build and pre-test 2 first article cables (plus 5 practice cable segments) before any production, and all testing is Not Separately Priced, so you must fund it inside your unit price.
all testing items are Not Separately Priced (NSP) for this solicitation
- Long wait before production can ship. First article units are due 360 days after award and Government testing is estimated at 240 days; production deliveries start only after approval, and lots cannot ship until the Contracting Officer approves in writing.
The Contractor shall not make shipment of the production lot until receipt of written notification
- Drawings are controlled and must be requested. The technical data package files (TDP1, TDP2) require an access request on SAM.gov, so you may not be able to price the work until access is approved.
- Contractor pays for failed lot retests. If a production lot test sample fails, you pay for additional testing, estimated at about $18,000 to $20,000 per retest for item 0001.
all costs and expenses related to such test(s) shall be borne solely by the Contractor
- You must buy many parts yourself. The Government will not provide connectors, insulators, shipping covers and similar items, so you must source them and carry that cost and lead time.
The Government will NOT provide the property within this table to the contractor for use in the performance of this contract.
- Price is padded for evaluation if you need first article. The Government adds $80,000 to your evaluated price when first article testing is required, which can hurt a vendor that has to do it.
Base Total = Quantity x Proposed Unit Price + $80,000.00, if the Government requires FAT for an eligible offeror.
- Past performance drives the award. Past performance is weighted far above price, and a new vendor only gets a neutral rating, which can lose to experienced torpedo or defense cable suppliers.
- Heavy government contracting paperwork. The clause list includes cost accounting standards, cost estimating system rules, specialty metals and Buy American limits, and cost data in Excel; new small contractors may find this costly to meet.
- Submission rules not fully visible. The Section L instructions (formats, past performance forms, small business plan content) were cut from the text, and missing the required format can make a proposal unevaluable.
may render the offeror's proposal unevaluable
- Rated order and tight spec compliance. This is a DPAS rated order and you must meet the specs strictly; do not price in expected deviations.
This Contract is a Rated Order under the Defense Priorities and Allocations
Read from the notice and 9 attachments. 3 not read in full.
- Solicitation Amendment N0010426RK0220003 SF 30.pdf
- Solicitation Amendment N0010426RK0220002 SF 30.pdf
- Solicitation Amendment N0010426RK0220001 SF 30.pdf
- Solicitation - N0010426RK022.pdf
- 3.04_Amendment(8)_26RK022.pdf
- 3.04_Amendment(7)_26RK022.pdf
- 3.04_Amendment(6)_26RK022.pdf
- 3.04_Amendment(4)_26RK022.pdf
- CDRLs_26RK022.pdf
- 3.04_Amendment(5)_26RK022.pdf: scanned PDF: no text to read
- TDP2.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
- TDP1.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
Full brief
What they want
- Build 350 MK62 Mod 1 A cable assemblies to drawing 6894510 Rev H and all associated drawings and specs (100 to Keyport WA, 125 to Yorktown VA, 125 to Ewa Beach HI)
- First article: build 2 complete cable assemblies for destructive Government testing, due within 360 days of award
- Before the first article, make and inspect 5 cable segments (at least 3 feet long) to certify tooling and fabrication practices; these are kept by the vendor and not delivered
- Production lot test samples: 4 more units (2 extra per lot) that are destroyed in Government testing
- Deliver the data items on the CDRL: test procedure (A001), test/inspection reports (A002), failure analysis reports (A003), and monthly progress reports (A004)
- Follow an ISO 9001:2015 quality system, get serial numbers assigned through NUWC Newport, and invoice through WAWF (the Navy's electronic invoicing system)
- Price an option for up to 120% more units using three stepladder price tiers (121-220, 221-320, 321-420)
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (single contract, best-value tradeoff); includes a priced option line
- Period of performance
- First article units due 360 days after award; production lots due 80 to 260 calendar days after first article approval (230 days for the 4 test units). Option line is an FY28 requirement, valid up to 365 days from award.
- Place of performance
- Not stated in the SAM.gov fields. The vendor builds at its own facility (first article and production must be made at the same facility). Deliveries go to Keyport WA, Yorktown VA and Ewa Beach HI; data and the first article go to Newport RI.
- How they'll choose
- Best value tradeoff. All non-price factors combined are significantly more important than price. Past performance must be rated at least 'limited confidence' to be eligible. The Government may award without discussions.
- Offers due
- 2026-10-29 at 2:00 PM Eastern (14:00 -04:00), per the SAM.gov notice. Amendment 8 moved the response date from 17 Sep 2026 to 29 Oct 2026.
- How to submit
- Email the offer to mckenzy.s.harris.civ@us.navy.mil (the Contracting Officer's address in the Section B note). Full Section L instructions were not available to read.
What they'll judge offers on
- Past Performance (3 subfactors: Quality, Timeliness of Delivery, Small Business Utilization; the first two are about equal)
- Small Business Participation commitment
- Price (reasonableness and balance; the Government adds $80,000 to the evaluated price when first article testing is required)
What to include when you submit
- Proposal is organized in four volumes: Volume 1 Introductory, Volume 2 Past Performance, Volume 3 Small Business Participation, Volume 4 Price
- Offer must stay valid at least 120 days after the RFP closes (the SF 33 form itself defaults to 60 days)
- Acknowledge every amendment in your offer or by separate letter or email
- Cost portion of the proposal must be in Excel with formulas intact
- Price the first article work knowing all testing is not separately priced; test costs must be built into the unit price
- Price the option line with stepladder tiers 121-220, 221-320 and 321-420
- Certified cost or pricing data threshold is now $10 million per Amendment 6, but other cost or price data may still be requested
- Questions go to the Contracting Officer; Section L detail on formats and past performance forms was not visible
You must have
- Open to all businesses (no set-aside). Small businesses still must submit a small business participation plan, and small firms can count their own work toward it.
- Past performance must be rated at least 'limited confidence' to be eligible for award. Companies with no recent, relevant history get a neutral rating.
Offerors must receive a rating of at least limited confidence in past performance to be eligible for award.
- Quality system: comply with ISO 9001:2015 as a higher-level quality standard, with Government source inspection at your plant.
The Contractor shall comply with the higher-level quality standard(s) listed below.
- Produce the first article and all production units at the same facility.
The Contractor shall produce both the first article and the production quantity at the same facility.
- Pass first article testing. Every vendor, proven or not, must do it and repeat it every 5 years.
FIRST ARTICLE/PREPRODUCTION: ALL VENDORS (PROVEN OR NOT) ARE REQUIRED TO PERFORM FAT EVERY 5 YEARS.
- Active SAM.gov registration with an electronic business point of contact, plus WAWF registration for invoicing.
Have a designated electronic business point of contact in the System for Award Management
- Be found a responsible contractor under FAR 9.104-1; the Government may run a pre-award survey.
Pursuant to FAR Part 9.103, the Contracting Officer will award only to a contractor deemed a responsible contractor.
- Basic cybersecurity controls for systems that hold federal contract information (FAR 52.204-21), plus DFARS 252.204-7012 for covered defense information.
Basic Safeguarding of Covered Contractor Information Systems
- Access to the controlled technical data package (drawings) is needed to price and build. It is restricted and must be requested on SAM.gov.
Not in the notice text
- Section L (proposal instructions) is mostly missing from the text provided, including volume formats, page limits, past performance and small business plan requirements
- Amendment 5 is a scanned PDF with no readable text, and Amendment 7 text is garbled, so their changes are unknown
- The technical data package files (TDP1 and TDP2, including drawings 6894510 and 6894520) are controlled and were not provided
- Estimated contract value is not stated
- Place of performance is not listed in the SAM.gov fields
- Whether Amendment 4 performance-based payments or progress payments will apply is not settled in the text
- Which qualified sources or prior producers exist is not stated
Is this a fit for your business?
Create a free accountFedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 29, 2026, 6:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Sep 10, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- N0010426RK022
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Dept of the Navy
- Office
- NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support Mech
- Set-aside
- No Set aside used
- NAICS
- 325920
- Product/service code
- 1355
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment
- Contracting contact
- McKenzy Harrismckenzy.s.harris.civ@us.navy.mil
- Versions
- 11 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
1355-01-436-4620 CWFP CABLE ASSY, ADCAP F/MK48 MODS 6 AND 7 TORPEDOES
Similar open opportunities
- 41- Vaneaxial FansDLA Troop Support (Defense Logistics Agency) is doing market research to find companies that can supply vaneaxial fans (NSN 4140-00-289-8783) built to a military spec.
- COMPRESSOR,REFRIGER, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Mechanicsburg) posted a presolicitation for repair of 13 refrigeration compressors (NSN 7H-4130-015136359), delivered FOB Origin.
- Sources Sought - Directional Hemispherical ReflectometerThe Army's Product Manager Vehicle Protection Systems is doing market research to find companies that can supply handheld Directional Hemispherical Reflectometer (DHR) devices,…
- C-130 Sanding Booth with Allen Bradley Control System and GVS-RPB Safety Respirator SystemDLA Weapons Support Richmond is doing market research for a C-130 sanding booth with fire suppression, ventilation, dust collection and related systems, to be installed at Fleet…
- AMMONIUM HYDROXIDE,NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans to buy 2,739 PG of Ammonium Hydroxide (NSN 1HM 6810-01-018-9769 X2) made to a technical data package.