Solicitation
Edwards AFB Holiday Light & Decor Installation
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summarySolicitation FA930127Q0006: Edwards Air Force Base (AFB), California, wants a small business to install Government-owned Christmas lights and decorations for its December 4, 2026 lighting ceremony and take them down in January 2027. It is a total small business set-aside, requested by the 412th Civil Engineer Squadron, with one firm-fixed-price award on best value. Quotes are due by email on November 2, 2026, 6:30 AM Pacific; Amendment 1 added questions and answers and the Kern County wage determination. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
Solicitation FA930127Q0006: Edwards Air Force Base (AFB), California, wants a small business to install Government-owned Christmas lights and decorations for its December 4, 2026 lighting ceremony and take them down in January 2027. It is a total small business set-aside, requested by the 412th Civil Engineer Squadron, with one firm-fixed-price award on best value. Quotes are due by email on November 2, 2026, 6:30 AM Pacific; Amendment 1 added questions and answers and the Kern County wage determination.
Who can bid (6)
- Small business: this is a 100% total small business set-aside under NAICS 238210 (size standard $19,000,000).
- Current CMMC Level 1 self-assessment (basic cyber hygiene for protecting contract information) posted in SPRS before award.
- Active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM).
Show all 6Show fewer
- California C-10 electrical contractor license for any repair work (not needed for inspection only). The Government says the work can be subcontracted.
- A current driver's license, vehicle registration and auto insurance, plus general liability insurance, to get on base. Insurance amounts are not stated.
- Registration in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF), the Defense Department's online invoicing system. The documents don't say when it must be done.
How to submit: Written offers by email to Contract Specialist Elsa Ortiz Aguilar (elsa.ortiz_aguilar@us.af.mil) and Contracting Officer Suzanna Kussman (suzanna.kussman@us.af.mil); oral offers are not accepted. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
From the version posted Oct 21, 2026.
- Serious: CMMC Level 1 self-assessment needed before award. Without an active self-assessment in SPRS, a business may not be eligible for award, and the quote should include its CMMC identifier or the date it will be posted.
- Worth checking: Site visit on October 28, 2026; notice of intent due October 26. Visitors must email names and contact details by 7:00 AM PDT on October 26, 2026 and bring a REAL ID or passport, vehicle registration and proof of insurance; the notice does not call the visit required.
- Worth checking: California C-10 license for electrical repairs. Minor outlet repairs need a licensed C-10 electrical contractor, so a business without one needs a licensed subcontractor.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Worth checking: Fixed installation and ceremony dates. Installation starts November 30, 2026 and must be working for the December 4, 2026 ceremony, with removal January 4 to 8, 2027, so there is little room to move the schedule.
- Minor: Government-furnished items differ between documents. The statement of work says the Government provides no equipment, but the questions and answers say it supplies the switch, cords, timers, connectors and replacement decorations.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. Show which files.
- Attachment 1 - SOW Christmas Decor and Lighting Installation.pdf (read)
- Attachment 2 - Solicitation FA930127Q0006.pdf (read)
- Attachment 3 - CMMC Level 1 Guide.pdf (read)
- Questions and Answers-Edwards Holiday Decor and Light Install.pdf (read)
- Kern County Wage Determination_2015-5603_Rev32.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Pick up the Government-owned decorations from Building 3610 and move them to the main location, 5 miles away.
- Connect power for decorations on 30 streetlight poles (each up to 25 feet): a side-mounted decoration and a garland plugged into existing outlets on top of each pole.
- Check the pole outlets, make minor repairs, and make every connection waterproof. Install the on/off push button for the lighting ceremony and the main tree lights (the Government supplies the switch).
- Be on site at 5:30 PM on the ceremony date, December 4, 2026, for the switch-over, then switch the lights back to a photocell (a light-sensing timer) about an hour later or the next day.
- Take down all pole and main tree decorations January 4 to 8, 2027 and return them in an organized way to Building 3610.
- Provide your own traffic control (cones were used before) and lifts; bucket trucks may be used on base, including on grass.
- Follow the 412th Civil Engineer Squadron (CES) Service Contracts Section's directions on garland colors and decoration order. Work normal duty hours, 7:00 AM to 3:30 PM.
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work ends up costing), single award, two lines of 1 Job each
- Period of performance
- Date of award through the January 2027 turn-in: installation starts November 30, 2026, ceremony December 4, 2026, removal January 4 to 8, 2027
- Place of performance
- Edwards AFB, CA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value: price and other factors considered
- Offers due
- November 2, 2026, 6:30 AM Pacific
- How to submit
- Written offers by email to Contract Specialist Elsa Ortiz Aguilar (elsa.ortiz_aguilar@us.af.mil) and Contracting Officer Suzanna Kussman (suzanna.kussman@us.af.mil); oral offers are not accepted
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical Capability: confirm you understand and can meet the mandatory schedule and every requirement in the statement of work (Attachment 1)
- Price: total price is checked for fairness and reasonableness
- Cybersecurity Verification: affirm Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 1 with an active self-assessment in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS)
What to include when you submit
- Enter firm-fixed prices for line items 0001 and 0002 on Attachment 2, and complete its provision and clause fill-in information.
- Give your company name, physical address, point of contact (name, title, phone, email), SAM Unique Entity ID (UEI), Commercial and Government Entity (CAGE) code, and proof of small business status under NAICS 238210.
- Include your CMMC unique identifier(s) from SPRS in the quote. If the self-assessment isn't posted by the response due date, state the date before award when it will be.
- Affirm your CMMC Level 1 self-assessment is active in SPRS.
- Send the quote by email only; late submissions are not accepted.
Current contractor
No company is named. The questions and answers give last year's contract number as FA930126F0031.
Not in the notice text
- Minimum insurance amounts are not stated; the answers say only that general liability is required.
- No page limit for the quote is stated.
- The award date is not stated; the answers say evaluations follow the response due date.
- Whether attending the October 28, 2026 site visit is required is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. The notice also names requirements: More open small business set-asides under NAICS 238210
- The notice mentions CMMC, the Defense Department's cybersecurity certification. Check the level it asks for.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Written offers by email to Contract Specialist Elsa Ortiz Aguilar (elsa.ortiz_aguilar@us.af.mil) and Contracting Officer Suzanna Kussman (suzanna.kussman@us.af.mil); oral offers are not accepted. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Service contracts usually set minimum pay rates (the Service Contract Act). Price the labor with the SCA price calculator.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- FA9301 AFTC PZIO, Edwards AFB, CA
- Product/service code
- N062 · Installation of Equipment – Lighting Fixtures and Lamps
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 238210)
- Versions
3 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 21, 2026 · Amendment 0001 (this version)Due Nov 2, 2026
- Oct 21, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 2, 2026
- Oct 19, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 2, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside