Presolicitation
Sacubitril/Valsartan Tablets (VA-27-00014055)
Department of Veterans Affairs
AI summaryThis is a presolicitation: the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Enterprise Procurement Office plans to issue a request for proposals (RFP) for sacubitril-valsartan tablets on or about December 18, 2026, with a tentative closing date of January 7, 2027. One unrestricted contract is planned, for one year plus four pre-priced one-year options, serving VA, Department of Defense (DoD), Bureau of Prisons, Indian Health Service and Federal Health Care Center users through pharmaceutical prime vendors (wholesalers that distribute drugs to the government). SAM.gov lists a response due date of November 3, 2026, 2:30 PM Central. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Department of Veterans Affairs's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
The notice looks incomplete: The notice text stops at 'The estimated annual requirements are as follows:' with no list, so the quantities, strengths and Schedule of Supplies are not shown; the RFP is expected to be posted on SAM.gov on or about December 18, 2026. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
This is a presolicitation: the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Enterprise Procurement Office plans to issue a request for proposals (RFP) for sacubitril-valsartan tablets on or about December 18, 2026, with a tentative closing date of January 7, 2027. One unrestricted contract is planned, for one year plus four pre-priced one-year options, serving VA, Department of Defense (DoD), Bureau of Prisons, Indian Health Service and Federal Health Care Center users through pharmaceutical prime vendors (wholesalers that distribute drugs to the government). SAM.gov lists a response due date of November 3, 2026, 2:30 PM Central.
Who can bid
- A National Drug Code (NDC) that is unique to your company, with your label the only label on the product.
- If you are not the manufacturer, a letter of commitment from the manufacturer assuring a source of supply for the contract period (the market research questionnaire lists this as a minimum requirement).
How to submit: Not stated yet. The RFP will be issued electronically and posted on SAM.gov; questions go by email to james.sullivan3@va.gov. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
From the version posted Oct 22, 2026.
- Serious: Own NDC and own label only. You need an NDC unique to your company, and your label must be the only label, so a firm without its own labeler code cannot bid.
- Worth checking: Manufacturer commitment and wholesaler agreements. A non-manufacturer needs a manufacturer's letter of commitment, and chargeback agreements with the wholesalers must be in place before distribution.
- Worth checking: One winner; other products blocked from ordering. This is a national mandatory contract with one award, so similar products from other companies will be blocked from ordering.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Worth checking: Award across all strengths and sizes for all years. Products are awarded in the aggregate, so you must be able to supply every strength and size for the base year and all option years.
- Worth checking: Unit of use bottle and safety cap rules. Bottles must meet set size, cap and label-space rules, which may not fit a firm that packs in large bulk bottles.
- Worth checking: Trade agreements apply. The notice says trade agreements cover one or more items; the questionnaire asks whether the product is U.S.-made or from a trade agreement designated country.
- Worth checking: Estimated annual requirements not shown. The notice text ends before listing the quantities, so you cannot size a bid from this text.
- Minor: Supply start within 60 days of award. The questionnaire asks whether you could begin supplying the estimated quantities within 60 days of award.
- Minor: Market research questionnaire requested by October 28, 2026. VA asks interested firms to return the questionnaire to james.sullivan3@va.gov; the text does not make it a condition of bidding.
Read from the notice and 2 attachments. Show which files.
- 36E79727R0007.docx (read)
- Market Research Questionnaire Sacubitril-Valsartan.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Supply sacubitril-valsartan tablets on one national contract for VA, DoD, the Bureau of Prisons, Indian Health Service and Federal Health Care Center; strengths and quantities are not shown.
- Be an uninterrupted source of supply for the contracted items.
- Pack in unit of use bottles of 60 and 180 count, each with a safety cap, a minimum 120cc volume, a cylindrical body, a minimum 5.75 inch circumference, and room for a 5.25 x 2 inch label.
- Use a National Drug Code (NDC: the unique product ID on a drug label) unique to your company, and keep your label the only label on the product; VA labels must stick on top of it.
- Supply through the VA and DoD pharmaceutical prime vendor programs, with chargeback agreements (agreements with the wholesalers on pricing and billing) in place in time to start distribution.
- Contract type
- One national contract for the listed agencies, awarded in the aggregate; RFP in commercial item format under FAR Part 12 (price type not stated)
- Period of performance
- 1 base year + 4 pre-priced one-year option periods
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Not stated in the presolicitation; VA will award one contract to the responsible offeror able to provide an uninterrupted source of supply
- Offers due
- November 3, 2026, 2:30 PM Central
- How to submit
- Not stated yet. The RFP will be issued electronically and posted on SAM.gov; questions go by email to james.sullivan3@va.gov
What to include when you submit
- State the exact drug name as it appears on the label and give an NDC unique to your company.
- Give a separate eleven-digit NDC for each product offered; the first five digits identify your company.
- If you are not the manufacturer, send a letter of commitment from the manufacturer that assures a source of supply for the contract period.
- Watch SAM.gov for the RFP and amendments; no paper copies or phone requests are offered.
After award, you must have
- Chargeback agreements with the pharmaceutical prime vendors executed in time for them to start distributing government orders. From Market Research Questionnaire Sacubitril-Valsartan.docx:
The contractor shall ensure that chargeback agreements with the PPVs have been executed…
Not in the notice text
- The notice text stops at 'The estimated annual requirements are as follows:' with no list, so the quantities, strengths and Schedule of Supplies are not shown; the RFP is expected to be posted on SAM.gov on or about December 18, 2026.
- What the SAM.gov response due date of November 3, 2026 is for is not explained.
- Evaluation factors, how to send offers, and the pricing format are not stated.
- The contract's value and the place of delivery are not stated.
- SAM.gov states no set-aside; the notice text calls the buy unrestricted.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Not stated yet. The RFP will be issued electronically and posted on SAM.gov; questions go by email to james.sullivan3@va.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- Nac Pharmaceuticals (36E797), Hines, IL
- Product/service code
- 6505 · Drugs and Biologicals
- Business type
- Medical & healthcare (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 325412)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Methylphenidate ERDLA Troop Support (Defense Logistics Agency) wants one national supplier of methylphenidate extended-release tablets in four strengths, in 100-count bottles.
- Epinephrine InjectorThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Troop Support) wants one national supplier of epinephrine 0.3 MG/0.3 ML auto-injectors in 2-count boxes for the Department of Defense, Veterans…
- FY27 Low Energy General Radiopharmaceuticals 36C25027Q0052Sources sought (market research only, not a solicitation): the Veterans Affairs Network Contract Office 10 wants to find firms that can supply unit-dose low energy…
- Lidocaine 5% Patches-Request for InformationThe Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) National CMOP Office is doing market research for L0515: Lidocaine 5% Patches, box of 30.
- TECHNOLOGY LICENSING OPPORTUNITY: Clathrate Therapeutics Platform