Solicitation
Aircraft Coatings and Sealants OO-ALC
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summaryOnly small businesses can bid on this Air Force buy: one contractor to supply, store and deliver aircraft coatings and sealants at Hill Air Force Base, Utah. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needed) contract with an 8-month ramp-up, a 5-year ordering period and 6 more months for remaining deliveries. The response due date is November 3, 2026, 3:00 PM Mountain, sent through PIEE (the Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment, the Defense Department's online portal). More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The notice looks incomplete: The solicitation, statement of work, instructions, evaluation factors and the product list (Appendix D) are in the PIEE solicitation module and were not read; only the question-and-answer file was available here. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only small businesses can bid on this Air Force buy: one contractor to supply, store and deliver aircraft coatings and sealants at Hill Air Force Base, Utah. It is a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price, whatever the work costs) indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needed) contract with an 8-month ramp-up, a 5-year ordering period and 6 more months for remaining deliveries. The response due date is November 3, 2026, 3:00 PM Mountain, sent through PIEE (the Procurement Integrated Enterprise Environment, the Defense Department's online portal).
Who can bid
- Small business: this is a total small business set-aside, and the Government plans a single award
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 self-certified; firms not yet certified are told to begin the process immediately
- Prior experience: at least two DoD contracts in the past five years, each showing all four elements (coatings and sealants, delivery fulfillment, temperature-controlled and premixed-frozen handling, 85% shelf life methods)
How to submit: PIEE solicitation module; the PIEE submittal instructions explain how to upload proposal documents. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (11)
From the version posted Oct 15, 2026.
- Serious: Total small business set-aside. Only small businesses can bid, and the Government plans to award a single contract.
- Serious: Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2 required. Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification Level 2 is a Defense Department cybersecurity standard. The notice says firms without it must start the process immediately.
- Serious: Each reference contract must show all four elements. A contract that lacks even one element is insufficient, and elements cannot be combined across contracts. Reference contracts must be DoD contracts from the past five years.
Show all 11Show fewer
- Worth checking: Four-hour urgent delivery and -80F frozen handling. You must meet a strict four-hour delivery time for urgent needs and move frozen premixed material at -80F, which calls for cold-chain capability near the base.
- Worth checking: Only the listed products can be priced. Substitute products are not accepted in the offer, and approving new products takes too long to happen before the response due date. Substitutes can be proposed after award.
- Worth checking: FMS-3600 has one qualified product. An industry question says the statement of work names one qualified FMS-3600 product from one manufacturer. The Government says the price matrix line will name FP-600, not FP-361.
- Worth checking: Year 5 quantity basis unclear. The Pricing Matrix raises Year 5 quantities by 50% for 18 months, but Ordering Period 5 looks like 12 months. The Government's answer does not say whether to keep the multiplier.
- Worth checking: Pricing Matrix being corrected. The Government says contract line item number (CLIN) 0015 will name FP-600, and the total evaluated price cell moves to R383 from R385. Check the latest posted version before pricing.
- Worth checking: Small guaranteed minimum. The guaranteed minimum is $1,000 against a $90,000,000 maximum, so most of the revenue depends on funded orders the Government chooses to place.
- Minor: Eight-month ramp-up to full readiness. You must reach full performance readiness within eight months of award, with a ramp-up plan and monthly status reports before physical items are ordered.
- Minor: Contract dates are estimates. The performance dates may change depending on when the contract is awarded.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- Solicitation FA822427R0002 QandA V2.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Source, store and deliver all coatings and sealants on the attached list, with frequent ordering and quick delivery
- Meet a strict four (4) hour delivery time for urgent needs, and move Premixed Frozen Material (PFM) at -80F
- Deliver every product with at least 85% of its shelf life left, and manage shelf life and storage before delivery
- FMS-3600 coating: lock-and-key storage that meets the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR: export rules for defense items), with a chain of custody for the material
- Technical help: answer material failures within one business day, support the Government on site during monthly visits, support product changes, and report on quality audits
- Run a secure web ordering and tracking system showing real-time lead times and minimum stock levels (MSLS)
- Carry out a ramp-up plan to reach full performance readiness within eight (8) months of award; physical items are not ordered during ramp-up
- After award: send final versions of the Personnel Management Plan and Quality Program Plan 30 days after award; the draft is no longer due with the offer
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract; one award, orders placed as funded orders
- Period of performance
- Per the Q&A: 8-month ramp-up (February 15, 2027 to October 14, 2027), 60-month ordering period (October 15, 2027 to October 14, 2032), then a final six months to April 14, 2033 for deliveries; about 6 years 2 months in all. The notice says these dates are estimates tied to the award date
- Place of performance
- Hill Air Force Base, UT, USA
- Estimated value
- Maximum $90,000,000 and guaranteed minimum $1,000 for the IDIQ, per the Q&A (to be added to Section B of the solicitation)
- How they'll choose
- Best value to the Government, single award to a responsible bidder
- Offers due
- November 3, 2026, 3:00 PM Mountain
- How to submit
- PIEE solicitation module; the PIEE submittal instructions explain how to upload proposal documents
- Page limits
- Technical Proposal: 60 pages, as cited in an industry question in the Q&A; confirm in the solicitation on PIEE
What they'll judge offers on
- Prior Experience (Subfactor 4 under paragraph 2.4 of the instructions): at least two DoD contracts in the past five years, each showing coatings and sealants, delivery fulfillment, temperature-controlled and premixed-frozen handling, and methods to keep 85% shelf life
- Price: total evaluated price from the Government's Pricing Matrix workbook (cell R383)
What to include when you submit
- Submit the proposal through the solicitation module in PIEE, following the PIEE submittal instructions
- Show at least two DoD contracts within the past five years; each one must by itself show coatings and sealants, delivery fulfillment, temperature-controlled and premixed-frozen material handling, and methods to keep 85% shelf life
- A 'contract' means a stand-alone contract or purchase order, an IDIQ contract, or a Basic Purchase Agreement (BPA); an IDIQ or BPA counts as one contract however many orders it has
- A subcontractor's contract can count if it met all four elements, and you must show the subcontractor will perform those same parts on this contract
- Price strictly the items as listed on Appendix D; do not offer substitutes
- Use the Government's Pricing Matrix workbook; the Total Evaluated Price is in cell R383
- Ask questions in the PIEE module; the questions and answers are public
Not in the notice text
- The solicitation, statement of work, instructions, evaluation factors and the product list (Appendix D) are in the PIEE solicitation module and were not read; only the question-and-answer file was available here.
- Item quantities and the full list of coatings and sealants are in the attached list and Pricing Matrix, which were not read.
- Evaluation factors beyond prior experience and price, and their order of importance, are not stated in the text read.
- Whether Year 5 pricing uses 12 or 18 months of quantities is not settled by the Government's answer.
- Where deliveries go on Hill Air Force Base and how funded orders are sized per group are not stated in the text read.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Set aside for small businesses: only a business that counts as small under this notice's NAICS code can bid as the prime contractor. The notice also names requirements: More open small business set-asides under NAICS 325510
- The notice mentions export-controlled data. You may need a Joint Certification Program (DD Form 2345) approval to see the drawings.
- The notice mentions CMMC, the Defense Department's cybersecurity certification. Check the level it asks for.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: PIEE solicitation module; the PIEE submittal instructions explain how to upload proposal documents. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- FA8224 AFSC OL H Pzim, Hill AFB, UT
- Product/service code
- 8010 · Paints, Dopes, Varnishes, and Related Products
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 325510)
- Versions
11 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 15, 2026 · Amendment 0002 (this version)Due Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 15, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 2, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 2, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 2, 2026 · AmendmentDue Nov 3, 2026
- Oct 2, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 3, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Set-aside contracts explained
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, Set-aside
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- ACC TRSS Det 9 - Powder Coating BPA
- Polyurethane Coating
- POLYURETHANE COATING (Paints)The Army contracting office for Tobyhanna Army Depot, PA, is running a sources sought notice (an information request, not a solicitation) for three chemical agent resistant…
- Sealer, SurfaceThe Navy (NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support, Mechanicsburg) is buying surface sealer, a polyurea hull treatment material for submarines and ships, under emergency acquisition…