Solicitation
Motor, Control
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summaryThe Army intends to award this contract to one named company, TransDigm Inc. (CAGE code 81833; a CAGE code is a company ID): the solicitation is restricted to it. It is for a Motor, Control (National Stock Number, NSN, 6105-01-073-6008, part number 11566322) for the PATRIOT missile system launcher assembly, minimum 151 Each and maximum 291 Each, as a five-year firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per unit) indefinite-delivery indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needed) contract. Delivery is to Fort Bliss, TX, and the response due date is November 26, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The Army intends to award this contract to one named company, TransDigm Inc. (CAGE code 81833; a CAGE code is a company ID): the solicitation is restricted to it. It is for a Motor, Control (National Stock Number, NSN, 6105-01-073-6008, part number 11566322) for the PATRIOT missile system launcher assembly, minimum 151 Each and maximum 291 Each, as a five-year firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per unit) indefinite-delivery indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needed) contract. Delivery is to Fort Bliss, TX, and the response due date is November 26, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern.
Who can bid
- Only TransDigm Inc. (CAGE code 81833) is invited to send an offer; this is a sole-source request for proposal
- The product, manufacturer or source must already meet the qualification requirements that apply, and be qualified at the time of award
How to submit: Email to tamela.d.riggs.civ@army.mil. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (7)
From the version posted Oct 15, 2026.
- Serious: Sole-source request to TransDigm Inc.. The Army plans to award only to TransDigm Inc. (CAGE code 81833); the documents do not say whether any other firm may send an offer or by when.
- Worth checking: Funds not yet available. No contract will be awarded until money is available to pay for it.
- Worth checking: First article test (FAT) required before production. A first article test (a pre-production test of 1 Each) must be approved in writing before the rest of the quantity can be made; the firm bears the cost of repeat tests.
Show all 7Show fewer
- Worth checking: Cost or pricing data requirements. The offer must include certified cost or pricing data or a written request for an exception, plus detailed Excel cost and sales data open to DCMA and DCAA review.
- Worth checking: Contractor pays transportation to Fort Bliss. Delivery is F.o.b. destination, so shipping costs are the contractor's; the first 151 Each are due 365 calendar days from award.
- Minor: Rated order under the Defense Priorities and Allocations System. The contract is a priority-rated order, which carries a duty to give it priority over unrated work.
- Minor: Date passed (Sep 3, 2026): Special Provisions attachment shows a different solicitation number. Attachment 0001, dated September 3, 2026, is headed W31P4Q26RA008, not W31P4Q27RA007; ask the contracting specialist to confirm it applies.
Read from the notice and 2 attachments. Show which files.
- Solicitation - W31P4Q27RA007.pdf (read)
- Attachment 0001 - Special Provisions.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Supply the Motor, Control, NSN 6105-01-073-6008, part number 11566322: QTY MINIMUM 151 EACH / MAXIMUM 291 EACH over five ordering periods
- Ordering periods: 151 Each in months 1-12 (contract line item number, CLIN: one priced line of the order, 0002), then 35 Each in each of months 13-24, 25-36, 37-48 and 49-60 (CLINs 1001, 2001, 3001, 4001)
- First article test of 1 Each (CLIN 0001): complete testing within 180 calendar days from award; the Government has 30 calendar days from receipt to approve or disapprove the report
- Deliver to Fort Bliss, TX: 151 Each within 365 calendar days of award, then 35 Each each at 731, 1096, 1461 and 1826 calendar days; the contractor pays transportation (F.o.b. destination)
- Pack to military preservation, Level B packing, with item unique identification (IUID: a machine-readable mark on each item) and marking to MIL-STD-130 showing NSN, CAGE code, part number and nomenclature
- Solder to ANSI/J-STD-001 Class 3, keep an electronic parts control program, a lead-free control plan and a counterfeit risk management plan
- Meet the higher-level quality standard ANSI/ISO/ASQ 9001:2015, AS 9100 or equivalent (operation requirements only)
- Early delivery is authorized at no extra cost to the Government; invoices go through Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF)
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) indefinite-delivery indefinite-quantity (IDIQ) contract; sole-source request for proposal
- Period of performance
- Five-year ordering period: 151 Each in months 1-12 and 35 Each in each of months 13-24, 25-36, 37-48 and 49-60 (291 Each total); orders may be issued from award through five years thereafter
- Place of performance
- Fort Bliss, TX, USA (SAM.gov). Delivery is to the AMCOM Fleet Management Center at Fort Bliss; the first article test report goes to Redstone Arsenal, AL.
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Award to the responsive, responsible offeror whose offer is the lowest overall cost to the Government (Attachment 0001, Special Provisions, section 5)
- Offers due
- November 26, 2026, 4:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Email to tamela.d.riggs.civ@army.mil
What they'll judge offers on
- Price: lowest overall cost to the Government
What to include when you submit
- Price each line item firm-fixed-price: CLIN 0001 first article test report, QTY 1 Each; CLIN 0002, 151 Each; CLINs 1001, 2001, 3001 and 4001, 35 Each each
- Send certified cost or pricing data (FAR Table 15-1 format), or a written request for an exception with the supporting information the provision lists
- Send data other than certified cost or pricing data in unlocked Microsoft Excel with intact formulas: historical sales data, detailed bill of materials, labor hour estimates by category, indirect rate agreements, and access to accounting records for DCMA and DCAA review
- Complete and sign the offer block of Standard Form 33 (SF 33: the solicitation, offer and award form) and list any amendments you acknowledge; the offer stays open 60 calendar days unless you insert a different period
- Fill in the representations and certifications in Section K, or confirm your current ones in SAM.gov
- To ask for a first article test waiver, send the First Article Waiver Worksheet (the buyer provides it on request) on company letterhead, signed by an authorized agent, with supporting documents, by email
- If your product or source is qualified but not on a qualified list, send evidence of qualification before award
- You may state an opinion on whether the quantities are economical (provision 52.207-4, optional)
After award, you must have
- Contractor first article testing of 1 unit, with a test report, within 180 calendar days from award From Solicitation - W31P4Q27RA007.pdf:
CONTRACTOR FIRST ARTICLE TESTING (FAT) IS REQUIRED.
- Item unique identification (IUID) marking on delivered items From Solicitation - W31P4Q27RA007.pdf:
ITEM UNIQUE IDENTIFICATION DESIGNATION IS REQUIRED.
- Comply with the higher-level quality standard ANSI/ISO/ASQ 9001:2015, AS 9100 or equivalent, tailored to operation requirements (paragraphs 7.1, 7.2, 7.4, 7.5 and 7.6) From Solicitation - W31P4Q27RA007.pdf:
ANSI/ISO/ASQ 9001:2015, AS 9100 OR EQUIVALENT, TAILORING: OPERATION…
- Register in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF), the Government's electronic invoicing system, and have an electronic business point of contact in SAM.gov From Solicitation - W31P4Q27RA007.pdf:
Be registered to use WAWF at https://wawf.eb.mil/ following the step-by-step procedures for…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The solicitation is a sole-source request to TransDigm Inc. (CAGE code 81833); no sources sought, market research or Government estimate is given.
Not in the notice text
- About 39,100 characters in the middle of the solicitation PDF (late clauses and the list of attachments) were attached but not read here.
- The documents do not say whether any firm other than TransDigm Inc. may send an offer, or by when.
- The Government's estimate or contract value is not stated.
- The deadline for sending a first article test waiver request is not stated.
- A Year 1 delivery table in Section F lists monthly quantities (20 Each, with the last month 11 Each) whose dates did not read clearly; check the PDF against the 365-calendar-day delivery for CLIN 0002.
- Section L gives provisions only; proposal format and page limits are not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Email to tamela.d.riggs.civ@army.mil. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 15, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W6QK ACC-RSA, Redstone Arsenal, AL
- Product/service code
- 6105 · Motors, Electrical
- Business type
- Electronic parts & equipment (supplies) (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 335312)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Motor, Alternating CThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA), through DLA Aviation at Philadelphia, PA, posted a solicitation for an item titled "MOTOR,ALTERNATING C". The text is mostly a list of clauses…
- Synchro, Control TransfDefense Logistics Agency (DLA) Weapons Support wants quotes on QTY 46, unit of issue EA (each), of SYNCHRO,CONTROL TRANSF, national stock number (NSN) 5990009285593.
- Panel, Control, Elect
- 61 - Control, Motor, FanThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Land and Maritime) has posted a presolicitation for 112 fan motor controls (NSN 6105-01-684-5495), all shipped to New Cumberland, PA. The full…
- Controller, Electric, in Repair/Modification ofThe Navy's NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support wants a business to repair and test an electric controller (national stock number (NSN) 6110-01-703-0671, part number 2056AS4000-G05).