Solicitation
Solicitation for Acquisition of Door (R), Aircraft
Department of Defense · Department of the Army
AI summarySole source: Army Contracting Command-Redstone plans to buy the UH-60 Black Hawk helicopter right aircraft door (Door (R), part number 70207-52701-041) only from Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation. Other firms can compete only if the Army approves them as a source before award. It is a three-year firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per unit) indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needed) contract. It covers QTY 7 each minimum and 12 each maximum, and the response due date is November 16, 2026, 4:30 PM Central. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The notice looks incomplete: Part of the solicitation was attached but not fully read: W58RGZ-26-R-0070.pdf had 150,000 of 257,285 characters included (start and end only). The middle, with later contract clauses and the Section J list of attachments, was left out. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Sole source: Army Contracting Command-Redstone plans to buy the UH-60 Black Hawk helicopter right aircraft door (Door (R), part number 70207-52701-041) only from Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation. Other firms can compete only if the Army approves them as a source before award. It is a three-year firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per unit) indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needed) contract. It covers QTY 7 each minimum and 12 each maximum, and the response due date is November 16, 2026, 4:30 PM Central.
Who can bid (5)
- Be Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation (CAGE code 78286, a federal ID for the manufacturing site) or a firm the Army has approved as a source for this part before award. Only these sources are considered.
- A firm that wants to be approved must send a Source Approval Request (SAR) package to the Systems Readiness Directorate, Aviation and Missile Center, DEVCOM. Approval is for one part number at one manufacturing location.
- Have an active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM).
Show all 5Show fewer
- Have a current CMMC Level 2 (Self) status and affirmation entered in SPRS before award, for each information system that handles federal contract information or controlled unclassified information.
- Work to a quality system meeting ANSI/ISO/ASQ 9001:2015, as 9100 or equivalent (design and development paragraphs excluded).
How to submit: Cost portion of the proposal by e-mail or DoD SAFE (a Department of Defense secure file-transfer site). The contract specialist listed is Pamela Pritchard, pamela.n.pritchard.civ@army.mil. The address for the rest of the offer was not in the text read.. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (9)
From the version posted Oct 13, 2026.
- Serious: Sole source to Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation. The Army says Sikorsky is the only known source with the technical data. Other firms can send an offer only if they are approved as a source before award; no separate deadline for source approval is stated.
- Serious: Source approval needed before award. Approval is per part number and manufacturing location, may require testing at no cost to the Government, and will not necessarily delay this solicitation.
- Serious: First article test required. You build and test one unit at your own cost. The report is due 710 days after award, and production before approval is at your own risk.
Show all 9Show fewer
- Serious: Cybersecurity certification before award. Without the required CMMC Level 2 (Self) status in SPRS, a firm is not eligible for award.
- Worth checking: Same facility for first article and production. The first article must be made with the same processes, supplier parts and facility as production, which limits changes of site or sources later.
- Worth checking: Only QTY 7 each is guaranteed. The Government must order only the Year 1 minimum, and the first delivery order for it is issued with the award. Everything up to the maximum of 12 is optional.
- Worth checking: Delivery start differs by line. Line 0001AA (with first article) starts delivery 1080 days after award, while the other lines start 720 days after award, both at 1 per month.
- Minor: Item marking and packaging rules. Item unique identification markings and bar codes are required, with military packaging and ISPM-15 wood, which adds cost on a small order.
- Minor: Ordering periods stated two ways. Section A says five ordering periods but lists only three, and the schedule and ordering clause describe a three-year ordering period.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- W58RGZ-26-R-0070.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Supply the Door (R), Aircraft, national stock number (NSN) 1560-01-582-6079, part number 70207-52701-041: QTY 7 each minimum, 12 each maximum, over three years.
- Price each line at a fixed unit price. Year 1 is QTY 7 each, Year 2 QTY 3 each, Year 3 QTY 2 each, which totals 12.
- Year 1 is priced twice for the same QTY 7 each: line 0001AA with the first article test and line 0001AB without it.
- Build and test one first article (a sample unit) at the production facility. Send the First Article Test Report (line 0004, not separately priced) 710 days after award.
- Deliver to Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania (DLA Distribution, 11 Hap Arnold Blvd, Bldg 11), FOB destination (delivered to the buyer's site at the seller's cost). Delivery starts 1080 days after award for line 0001AA and 720 days after award for the other lines, at 1 per month.
- Mark each door with item unique identification (IUID: a machine-readable 2D barcode mark) and bar codes. Pack to military packaging standards, with wood that meets ISPM-15 (a heat-treated wood standard).
- Meet the quality system standard ANSI/ISO/ASQ 9001:2015, as 9100 or equivalent, and calibrate test equipment to the listed standards.
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity (IDIQ) contract; the Government intends one award
- Period of performance
- Three-year ordering period: orders may be issued from award through 1095 days after the date of contract award. No option periods are stated.
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- Offers due
- November 16, 2026, 4:30 PM Central
- How to submit
- Cost portion of the proposal by e-mail or DoD SAFE (a Department of Defense secure file-transfer site). The contract specialist listed is Pamela Pritchard, pamela.n.pritchard.civ@army.mil. The address for the rest of the offer was not in the text read.
What to include when you submit
- Fill in a firm fixed unit price and total for each line in ordering periods 1, 2 and 3. Price both 0001AA (with first article) and 0001AB (without it).
- Complete the Proposal Adequacy Checklist (DFARS 252.215-7993), giving the page where each requested item is found or an explanation if it is not provided.
- Give the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) unique identifier from the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) for each information system that handles federal contract information or controlled unclassified information.
- If you hold a contract or purchase order for the same national stock number that requires a first article test, give its contract number and first article due date.
- Non-manufacturers (distributors) must state the source and part number of the item they will supply, and the source must be approved before award.
- Fill in Standard Form 33 block 12 (the offer stays open 60 calendar days unless you insert a different period). Sign it and acknowledge any amendments in block 14.
After award, you must have
- Follow the Defense Priorities and Allocations System (DPAS) rules for a DO-rated order (a priority-rated national defense order). From W58RGZ-26-R-0070.pdf:
[ X ] DO rated order…
Current contractor
No incumbent or prior contract number is named. Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation (CAGE code 78286) is named as the only known source with the technical data. No market research or Government estimate is given.
Not in the notice text
- Part of the solicitation was attached but not fully read: W58RGZ-26-R-0070.pdf had 150,000 of 257,285 characters included (start and end only). The middle, with later contract clauses and the Section J list of attachments, was left out.
- Evaluation factors (Section M) and how the award will be decided are not in the text read.
- Where to send the full offer (block 8 of Standard Form 33) is blank in the text. Only the cost portion is stated to go by e-mail or DoD SAFE.
- The technical data package and any drawings are not described, so what a newly approved source needs to build the part is unknown.
- No dollar estimate or ceiling is given for this contract.
- The place of performance is not stated; the doors ship to the destination named in the schedule.
- Whether the first article test can be waived is up to the contracting officer, who will use any existing first article contract number the offeror gives.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Cost portion of the proposal by e-mail or DoD SAFE (a Department of Defense secure file-transfer site). The contract specialist listed is Pamela Pritchard, pamela.n.pritchard.civ@army.mil. The address for the rest of the offer was not in the text read. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 13, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- W6QK ACC-RSA, Redstone Arsenal, AL
- Product/service code
- 1560 · Airframe Structural Components
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336413)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Solicitation for Acquisition of Door (L), AircraftSole source: Army Contracting Command-Redstone plans to buy the UH-60 Black Hawk helicopter left aircraft door (Door (L), part number 70207-52701-042) only from Sikorsky Aircraft…
- Door, AircraftNaval Supply Systems Command (NAVSUP) Weapon Systems Support, a Navy unit, has posted a solicitation for an aircraft door.
- Door, AircraftThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation office in Philadelphia, PA is asking for quotes on an aircraft door ("DOOR,AIRCRAFT", PSC 1560) under request for quotation…
- 1560014188986 / Rib, Airfoil / Aircraft, Stratofortress B-52DLA Aviation plans a full and open, firm-fixed-price buy of QTY 7 EACH of an airfoil rib (NSN 1560014188986, part number 1-75011-17) for the B-52 Stratofortress.
- Tank, Fuel, Aircraft, in Repair/Modification ofNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) wants offers to repair 4 units of an aircraft fuel tank, National Stock Number (NSN: the catalog number for the item) 7RH 1560 015656152 CB,…