Solicitation
SABER V Hill AFB
Department of Defense · Department of the Air Force
AI summaryOnly businesses in the Small Business Administration's (SBA) 8(a) program (for socially and economically disadvantaged small firms) can bid on SABER V, a multiple-award construction contract run by the Air Force at Hill Air Force Base (AFB), Utah. Work is ordered through separate task orders (individual project orders under the main contract) at Hill AFB and other Utah and Wyoming sites. The response due date is November 5, 2026, 4:30 PM Mountain. The offer must include a priced seed project (a sample first job), a bid guarantee and past performance as a prime contractor. More in the summary
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 27, 2026. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 13, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 27, 2026. Check what else changed on SAM.gov. This summary may miss requirements: 6 of 18 attachments weren't read (Attachment_01_SABER 2027 SOW 05OCT2026.docx, Attachment_01_SABER 2027 SOW 10SEP2026.docx and 4 more). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Only businesses in the Small Business Administration's (SBA) 8(a) program (for socially and economically disadvantaged small firms) can bid on SABER V, a multiple-award construction contract run by the Air Force at Hill Air Force Base (AFB), Utah. Work is ordered through separate task orders (individual project orders under the main contract) at Hill AFB and other Utah and Wyoming sites. The response due date is November 5, 2026, 4:30 PM Mountain. The offer must include a priced seed project (a sample first job), a bid guarantee and past performance as a prime contractor.
Who can bid (6)
- Be an 8(a) firm: the contract is set aside 100 percent for the SBA 8(a) program
- Have a bona fide place of business (an SBA-recognized office) in Arizona, parts of California, Colorado, Idaho (Boise region), Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah or Wyoming, or establish one within 60 days of award
- Bid guarantee of 20 percent of the bid price, capped at $3,000,000, based on the seed project bid price
Show all 6Show fewer
- Bonding capacity of $5 million for a single job and $20 million combined; task orders need payment and performance bonds
- Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) status in the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) at the level the provision states (it shows Level 1), with a current affirmation of continuous compliance
- A project manager/superintendent with at least three years of construction management experience on similar projects
How to submit: The Total Evaluated Price spreadsheet goes by email; where the proposal volumes go is in Section L, which was not read. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (12)
- Serious: 8(a) firms only. Only firms in the SBA 8(a) program can bid; Amendment 0001 corrected the set-aside from none to 8(a).
- Serious: Bona fide place of business and 60-minute in-person response. You need an SBA-recognized office in a listed state or must set one up within 60 days of award, and some prime contractor positions must respond in person within 60 minutes.
- Serious: Bid guarantee and large bonding. A bid guarantee is due with the offer, and winners must carry $5 million single and $20 million combined bonding for task orders.
Show all 12Show fewer
- Worth checking: Seed project must be priced and drawn with the offer. You must price the Building 586 job and send a conceptual drawing with the proposal; an incomplete narrative can be rated technically unacceptable.
- Worth checking: Past performance must be as a prime contractor. Work you did as a subcontractor does not count toward recent and relevant past performance.
- Worth checking: Wage determinations set task order by task order. Davis-Bacon wage rules (federal minimum construction pay rates) apply; the seed project uses UT20260083, and other task orders will name theirs later.
- Worth checking: Funds not yet available. The Government says no award will be made until funds are available and may cancel before or after the closing date.
- Worth checking: Solicitation renumbered and documents revised often. FA820126R1004 was cancelled and replaced by FA820126R0020 (7 versions on SAM.gov); Sections L and M and the Statement of Work were reissued, so use only the latest.
- Minor: The site visit was Sep 15, 2026. Check the notice and its amendments for whether attendance was required, and whether another visit is offered.
- Minor: Task order size limits differ. Section B caps each order at $10,000,000.00, while a Government answer says there is no maximum task order amount.
- Minor: Liquidated damages on the seed project. Late completion of the 150-day seed project costs a fixed daily amount.
- Minor: Utah-licensed abatement subcontractor. Asbestos and lead paint work on the seed project must go to a Utah certified and licensed abatement contractor.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 6 of 18 not read. Show which files.
- Solicitation Amendment FA820126R00200005 SF 30.pdf (read)
- SABER V RFI with Responses 9Oct2026.docx (read)
- Solicitation Amendment FA820126R00200004 SF 30.pdf (read)
- Solicitation_Q_and_A_14_Sep_2026.pdf (read)
- Solicitation Amendment FA820126R00200003 SF 30.pdf (read)
- Solicitation_Q_and_A_10_Sep_2026 (2).pdf (read)
- Solicitation Amendment FA820126R00200002 SF 30.pdf (read)
- Solicitation Amendment - FA820126R00200001.pdf (read)
- Solicitation Amendment FA820126R00200001 SF 30.pdf (read)
- REV 1 - Seed SOW Bldg 586 6OCT2026.pdf (read)
- REV 1 - Seed SOW Bldg 586.pdf (read)
- Bldg 586 Seed Project FOPR (LPTA) Amendment 1.docx (read)
- Attachment_01_SABER 2027 SOW 05OCT2026.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment_01_SABER 2027 SOW 10SEP2026.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment_13_Section_M_Evaluation_Factors_09OCT26.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment_12_Section L Instruction to Offerors 11SEP26.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- Attachment_12_Section_L_Instruction_to_Offerors_9OCT2026.docx: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
- PZIOC ATTENDANCE FORM.pdf: not summarized: open it on SAM.gov
Full summary
What they want
- Construction, repair, alteration and new building work ordered one project at a time at Hill AFB, Carter Creek Recreational Property, the Utah Test and Training Range (UTTR), Little Mountain Test Annex and the Boulder Seismic Site, Wyoming
- Seed project to price with your offer: Building 586 'Repair Restrooms and Drains' at Hill AFB, 150 days, part-time superintendent
- Seed project scope: full renovation of the men's and women's restrooms and janitor's closet, new underground plumbing, new ceilings, lights, flooring and paint, epoxy floors in the work bays (up to 4 phases), white-striped bollards
- Seed project fire work: replace sprinkler heads and smoke detectors and upgrade the fire alarm throughout the entire building, per the Government's answers to questions
- Seed project asbestos and lead paint removal through a Utah certified and licensed abatement contractor
- Provide shop drawings with up to 35 percent design detail before work starts and as-built drawings in AutoCAD and PDF at the end
- Attend a post award conference and submit a safety plan (line item 0002)
- Staff prime contractor positions that must respond in person within 60 minutes, per the SABER 2027 Statement of Work (SOW) sections 6.1, 6.2 and 6.5
- Contract type
- Indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity (IDIQ: the Government orders work as needed up to a ceiling), multiple-award 8(a), with firm-fixed-price task orders
- Period of performance
- A base period plus Option Years 1 to 5 and a 6-month extension option (FAR 52.217-8); the base period's length is not in the text read. Seed project: 150 days.
- Place of performance
- Hill AFB, UT (Davis County); Carter Creek Recreational Property (listed at Evanston, WY, and a Government answer says it is in Duchesne County); Utah Test and Training Range, UT; Little Mountain Test Annex, UT; Boulder Seismic Site, WY. A Government answer says no service work will take place in Nevada.
- Estimated value
- Government's ordering limits in Section B: estimated minimum $500 and estimated maximum $490,000,000 for the contract; per order $500.00 to $10,000,000.00
- How they'll choose
- Not stated in the text read (Section M was attached but not read). The seed project task order uses lowest price technically acceptable (LPTA): the lowest-priced offer that meets the minimum requirements wins.
- Offers due
- November 5, 2026, 4:30 PM Mountain (from the version posted Oct 13, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- The Total Evaluated Price spreadsheet goes by email; where the proposal volumes go is in Section L, which was not read
- Page limits
- Technical volume: 50 pages (the seed project conceptual drawing, narrative and material submittals do not count; 11 x 17 drawing sheets are allowed). Past performance: 3 pages per highlighted contract, 9 pages in all. Pricing assumptions: 4 pages.
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical (Volume II, 50 pages): Subfactor 1 covers the seed project conceptual drawing and material submittals with a narrative; the other subfactors are in Section M, which was not read
- Past Performance (Factor 3): up to three highlighted contracts you performed as prime contractor, judged on recency and relevance and on CPARS (Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System) records
- Total Evaluated Price (TEP): hourly rates for six management roles tested against the wage determinations, plus the seed project price
- Contract documentation (Volume IV): includes the bid guarantee
What to include when you submit
- The proposal has four volumes; Volume II is the technical volume and Volume IV is contract documentation, which holds the bid guarantee. Section L has the full list but was not read.
- Price the seed project (Building 586) on the fair opportunity proposal request (FOPR) form: signed FOPR, pricing schedule, and a Gantt chart (a bar-chart schedule) on 8-1/2 x 11 paper with no company identifiers.
- Write the seed project technical narrative on blank paper with no letterhead or company identifiers; copying the Government's SOW will be rated unacceptable.
- Include a management plan with position descriptions, resumes, licenses and certifications for all key personnel, and say which positions are subcontracted.
- List the conceptual drawing on an Air Force Form 3000 (AF IMT 3000, the submittal transmittal form) as a separate attachment placed in Volume II under Subfactor 1, with a narrative on how the materials meet the SOW equipment requirements.
- Past performance: send up to three highlighted contracts, 3 pages each, as prime contractor only; an IDIQ contract or a task order is allowed, and any CPARS or surveys you add count toward the page limit.
- Include engineering fees in your price; extra work the engineer finds is handled by contract modification.
- Send a bid guarantee of 20 percent of the seed project bid price, or $3,000,000 if less (a bid bond is one allowed form).
- Send the Total Evaluated Price spreadsheet by email with hourly rates for the Contract Manager, Project Manager/Superintendent, Quality Control Officer, Site Safety/Health Officer, Environmental Officer and Draftsman.
- Give the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) unique identifier from the Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) for each system that handles contract information.
- Complete the FAR 52.204-24 telecommunications representation, acknowledge each amendment, and keep the offer open 90 calendar days (seed project FOPR).
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The solicitation contemplates a multiple-award 8(a) contract; the number of awards is not stated.
Not in the notice text
- Section L (instructions to offerors), Section M (evaluation factors), the SABER 2027 SOW and the October 2026 versions were attached but not read: Attachment_12_Section_L_Instruction_to_Offerors_9OCT2026.docx, Attachment_13_Section_M_Evaluation_Factors_09OCT26.docx, Attachment_01_SABER 2027 SOW 05OCT2026.docx, plus the site visit attendance form. Full submission rules and evaluation subfactors are there.
- The SF 30 text for Amendment 0005 could not be read; check on SAM.gov what it changed.
- The length of the base period and of each option year (Section F) is not in the text read.
- Where and how to send the proposal volumes is in Section L; only the cost spreadsheet is said to go by email.
- Wage determinations for task orders outside Davis County will come with each task order.
- How many 8(a) firms will receive awards is not stated.
Eligibility and how to respond
- Only firms in SBA's 8(a) program can bid as the prime contractor. Not in the 8(a) program? How the 8(a) program works. More open 8(a) set-asides under NAICS 236220
- How to submit, from the AI summary: The Total Evaluated Price spreadsheet goes by email; where the proposal volumes go is in Section L, which was not read. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
- Construction contracts over $2,000 pay at least the local Davis-Bacon wage rates, from the wage determination in the solicitation. Price your labor from it: How to price a government contract, and how Davis-Bacon differs from the Service Contract Act.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 13, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- FA8201 AFSC OL H Pzio, Hill AFB, UT
- Product/service code
- Z2JZ · Repair or Alteration of Miscellaneous Buildings
- Business type
- Construction & renovation (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 236220)
- Versions
9 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 27, 2026 · Amendment 0008Due Nov 5, 2026
- Oct 21, 2026 · Amendment 0007Due Nov 5, 2026
- Oct 13, 2026 · Amendment 0006 (this version)Due Nov 5, 2026
- Oct 9, 2026 · Amendment 0005Due Nov 5, 2026
- Sep 17, 2026 · Amendment 0004Due Nov 5, 2026
- Sep 14, 2026 · Amendment 0003Due Nov 5, 2026
- Sep 10, 2026 · Amendment 0002Due Nov 5, 2026
- Sep 1, 2026 · Amendment 0001Due Nov 5, 2026
- Aug 31, 2026 · SolicitationDue Nov 5, 2026
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
- Open 8(a) set-aside contracts
Terms on this notice: Solicitation, 8(a) program, Set-aside