Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Access to Web of Science, EndNote and Incites
Department of Health and Human Services · National Institutes of Health
AI summaryThe National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Logistics and Operations (OLAO) wants Web of Science, EndNote and InCites access for NIH library users. The term is a base year plus four option years, with pricing for an extra six-month extension option. The solicitation is unrestricted, and the response due date is November 4, 2026, 6:00 AM Eastern. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
The notice looks incomplete: The addendum to the instructions (FAR 52.212-1) and to the contract terms (FAR 52.212-4) are referenced as attached, but their text was not in the files read. The Statement of Work, other attachments and Attachment 5 (the full FAR 52.212-5 text) are also not in the text. They may hold more evaluation information and terms; check them on SAM.gov. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Logistics and Operations (OLAO) wants Web of Science, EndNote and InCites access for NIH library users. The term is a base year plus four option years, with pricing for an extra six-month extension option. The solicitation is unrestricted, and the response due date is November 4, 2026, 6:00 AM Eastern.
Who can bid
- Send a completed FAR 52.212-3 (offeror representations and certifications) with the offer
How to submit: By email, referencing RFP-OD-04157; the Contracting Officer's email in the notice is Lynda.cole@nih.gov. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (4)
From the version posted Oct 23, 2026.
- Worth checking: Two different NAICS codes. SAM.gov lists NAICS 519290, but the notice text says 541940 with a $10.0M small business size standard; ask the Contracting Officer which governs.
- Worth checking: Option prices count in the evaluation. All option prices are added to the base price, and unbalanced option prices can make a quote unacceptable.
- Minor: Brand name or equal. The notice names specific products, so an equal product must meet the same needs; the salient characteristics are not listed in the text read.
Show all 4Show fewer
- Minor: Response due date is 6:00 AM Eastern. The response due date falls early in the morning, so email timing needs planning.
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. Show which files.
- Combined_syn_solAcq of Web of Sciences-.docx (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Web of Science access for NIH and Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) staff served by the NIH Library, plus Journal Citation Reports.
- Web of Science indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Emerging Sources Citation Index. Also Index Chemicus, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index and Zoological Record.
- Options for InCites Benchmarking, for NIH Library staff only and for NIH and HHS agency staff served by the NIH Library.
- Desktop bibliographic management software with 7000 citation styles and custom reference styles. It must allow read-only sharing of citation libraries, automatic reference and link updates, a view of collaborators' activity in shared libraries, and matching of papers to relevant journals.
- Database contents updated at least weekly, and Journal Citation Reports updated annually. Open-URL enabled software links citations to NIH Library documents or document delivery services, such as with Primo. Staff are sent to a Web of Science view showing only their agency library link.
- API access (a way for software to query the databases) for NIH and HHS Digital Library users. The proposal must detail the type and terms of API access.
- Cited reference searching, visualizations of author impact, software updates, technical help Monday through Friday during normal business hours, and documentation and training materials.
- Options to add new resources and to cancel selected resources if funding drops. Web platform upgrades come at no added cost.
- Contract type
- Listed as IDIQ (indefinite-delivery, indefinite-quantity: the agency orders as needed); commercial products under Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) Part 12 and Part 13 procedures; brand name or equal
- Period of performance
- 1 base year + 4 option years, plus pricing for an additional six-month extension option
- Place of performance
- Bethesda, MD, USA
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value: the Government may pick a higher-priced quote if its technical merit or lower performance risk is worth the extra price; option prices are added to the base price for evaluation
- Offers due
- November 4, 2026, 6:00 AM Eastern
- How to submit
- By email, referencing RFP-OD-04157; the Contracting Officer's email in the notice is Lynda.cole@nih.gov
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical Proposal/Program Plan
- Organizational Experience
- Past Performance
- Personnel Experience and Availability
- Price
What to include when you submit
- Reference RFP-OD-04157 on all email submissions
- Price the base year and each of the four option years, plus an additional six-month extension option
- Include a completed copy of FAR 52.212-3, the offeror representations and certifications. If the annual representations and certifications are complete in the System for Award Management (SAM), only paragraph (b) is needed.
- Give detailed information on the type and terms of the API access you will provide
- Address the evaluation factors: technical proposal/program plan, organizational experience, past performance, and personnel experience and availability
Not in the notice text
- The addendum to the instructions (FAR 52.212-1) and to the contract terms (FAR 52.212-4) are referenced as attached, but their text was not in the files read. The Statement of Work, other attachments and Attachment 5 (the full FAR 52.212-5 text) are also not in the text. They may hold more evaluation information and terms; check them on SAM.gov.
- The email address where quotes go is not given in the text read; the only email listed is the Contracting Officer's contact address.
- How many users or licenses are needed, and the price schedule: Contract Line Item Numbers (CLINs, the priced lines of the order) and award amount are listed as TBD.
- Whether InCites Benchmarking is optional or must be priced as an option is worded unclearly in the notice.
- The relative importance of the evaluation factors and how many past performance references to send are not stated.
- How the IDIQ ordering works alongside the base year plus four options is not explained.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: By email, referencing RFP-OD-04157; the Contracting Officer's email in the notice is Lynda.cole@nih.gov. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 23, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- National Institutes of Health Olao, Bethesda, MD
- Product/service code
- 7630 · Newspapers and Periodicals
- Business type
- Printing & publishing (FedReady's grouping, from product/service code 7630)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Credit Ratings, Research, and Data Feed SubscriptionsThe Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) library wants subscriptions to credit ratings research (Lot 1) and a credit ratings data feed delivered through its Bloomberg…
- EIU brand name justification combined synopsis-solicitationThe Export-Import Bank of the U.S. (EXIM) in Washington, DC wants to renew online access to The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint and Operational Risk country-analysis…
- Bloomberg Professional Terminal and Bloomberg AnywhereThe Export-Import Bank of the US (EXIM) plans to buy a one-year subscription to two Bloomberg Professional Terminals and two Bloomberg Anywhere online accounts, and has named the…
- Commercial Data Hub Pilot ProgramThe Department of Commerce wants to buy commercially available data (things like consumer spending, financial, health, real estate, supply chain, telecom and transportation data)…
- Support USPTO Patent Examiners with Required Non-Patent Literature