Presolicitation
Hose, Non-metallic
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Weapons Support office in Columbus, Ohio plans to issue a solicitation for a long-term contract for non-metallic hose, national stock number (NSN) 4720-00-817-7781. It intends a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price) indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needs arise) contract with a five-year ordering period (a three-year base and two one-year options). Competition is full and open with a HUBZone price evaluation preference, and this is a pre-solicitation notice: the solicitation is expected on the DLA Internet Bid Board System (DIBBS) on or about October 21, 2026 (passed), with offers due around November 20, 2026. More in the summary
Advance notice of a coming solicitation, not a bid yet. If it asks for capability statements, sending one is free and puts you on Defense Logistics Agency's list before the solicitation is posted. See the contact
AI summary Beta
Some details are in the notice's attachments, which this summary didn't read. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Weapons Support office in Columbus, Ohio plans to issue a solicitation for a long-term contract for non-metallic hose, national stock number (NSN) 4720-00-817-7781. It intends a firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price) indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity (IDIQ: orders placed as needs arise) contract with a five-year ordering period (a three-year base and two one-year options). Competition is full and open with a HUBZone price evaluation preference, and this is a pre-solicitation notice: the solicitation is expected on the DLA Internet Bid Board System (DIBBS) on or about October 21, 2026 (passed), with offers due around November 20, 2026.
Who can bid
- Item must comply with the Trade Agreements Act (TAA: limits the countries products can come from)
- Pass contractor first article testing before regular deliveries (unless waived)
How to submit: Upload through DIBBS (preferred) or email offers to Karin.wilson@dla.mil. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (5)
From the version posted Oct 13, 2026.
- Worth checking: First article testing required. The first unit must be tested and approved before production deliveries, which adds cost and time; delivery is 503 days with testing versus 383 days if waived.
- Worth checking: HUBZone price evaluation preference. Competition is open to all, but HUBZone firms get a price evaluation preference, which can put other bidders at a price disadvantage.
- Worth checking: The solicitation was expected Oct 21, 2026: Pre-solicitation only; offer due date is approximate. The solicitation is not out yet; the notice gives its issue date as on or about October 21, 2026 and the response date as on or around November 20, 2026. Check the notice: its text gives October 21, 2026 as the date the solicitation is expected, not the offer due date.
Show all 5Show fewer
- Minor: Solicitation number written two ways. The notice uses SPE7MX-26-R-X100 and SPE7MX26RX4100 for the same solicitation; check the number on DIBBS before searching.
- Minor: Long delivery schedule. Deliveries are due 503 days after each order (383 if first article testing is waived), and no deliveries may be made before a delivery order is issued.
Read from the notice text only.
Full summary
What they want
- Non-metallic hose, NSN 4720-00-817-7781, part number M22240-70-A, built to the technical data package and military specification MIL-DTL-22240G
- Contractor first article testing (FAT: testing of the first unit before regular deliveries) is required
- Delivery within 503 days after the order, or 383 days if first article testing is waived
- Supply under a long-term contract (LTC) for a critical DLA-managed item
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) indefinite delivery, indefinite quantity (IDIQ) long-term contract under FAR Part 12 commercial item procedures
- Period of performance
- Five-year ordering period: 3-year base period plus two 1-year option periods
- Place of performance
- Shipping is FOB origin; ship-to addresses come with individual delivery orders
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best value; price may be a significant factor but award may go to a higher-priced offer
- Offers due
- November 20, 2026, 3:00 PM Eastern
- How to submit
- Upload through DIBBS (preferred) or email offers to Karin.wilson@dla.mil
What they'll judge offers on
- Price
- Past performance
- Delivery performance
- Other evaluation criteria identified in the solicitation
What to include when you submit
- Interested firms may tell the contracting officer of their interest and capability to meet the need with a commercial item within 15 days of the notice
- Complete the entire solicitation
- Fill out the hard copy of Standard Form 1449 (SF 1449: the form you sign and return as your offer), scan it and upload it through DIBBS
- Offers must be in English and in U.S. dollars
Not in the notice text
- The solicitation itself, with its quantities, clauses and terms, is to be posted on DIBBS (http://www.dibbs.bsm.dla.mil/rfp) on or about October 21, 2026; this notice does not give quantities or estimated value
- Technical data and drawings for NSN 4720-00-817-7781 are on the DLA technical data site (TDMT at https://tdmt.dla.mil) and were not read
- Whether the 'Approved Source(s)' line limits who can supply the item is not explained
- How past performance, delivery performance and other factors are weighted is not stated
- The set-aside is not stated on SAM.gov; the notice text says full and open competition
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside, but the notice names requirements you must meet before you can bid:
- The notice mentions an approved or qualified source list. Only listed sources may be eligible, so check that your company or product is on it.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Upload through DIBBS (preferred) or email offers to Karin.wilson@dla.mil. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 13, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Office
- DLA Land and Maritime, Columbus, OH
- Product/service code
- 4720 · Hose and Flexible Tubing
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 326220)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation