Solicitation
F-16 Horizontal Stabilizer
Department of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
AI summaryThis buy of 24 F-16 horizontal stabilizers by Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Ogden, UT is restricted to qualified sources: Lockheed Martin (81755) and Aerospace and Commercial Technologies (1XKR3). Any other business must finish source qualification, including testing and a sample part at its own expense, before award. The response due date is November 13, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain, and price is the main factor. More in the summary
AI summary Beta
This buy of 24 F-16 horizontal stabilizers by Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Aviation at Ogden, UT is restricted to qualified sources: Lockheed Martin (81755) and Aerospace and Commercial Technologies (1XKR3). Any other business must finish source qualification, including testing and a sample part at its own expense, before award. The response due date is November 13, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain, and price is the main factor.
Who can bid (4)
- Be a qualified source by the award date: Lockheed Martin (81755) and Aerospace and Commercial Technologies (1XKR3) are named; any other business must complete qualification first
- To qualify: pass a Government-approved qualification test plan and test report, supply a qualification article, and show a complete data package including Lockheed Martin drawing 16T7461. The Government estimates qualification takes 270 days
- Hold a Lockheed Martin Master Tooling Agreement, because the Government does not own the data to make this assembly
Show all 4Show fewer
- U.S. contractors only, with Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Level 2, the Department of Defense cybersecurity certification for handling controlled information
How to submit: Sent to the issuing office, DLA Aviation Ogden, 6051 Gum Lane Bldg 1225, Hill AFB UT 84056-5820 (buyer Travis R Bodily, travis.bodily@us.af.mil); the text does not say whether email offers are accepted. What to include is under Full summary below. Check the solicitation's instructions on SAM.gov.
Things to watch (11)
From the version posted Oct 14, 2026.
- Serious: Restricted to qualified sources. Only Lockheed Martin and Aerospace and Commercial Technologies are named; a new business must be fully qualified before the award date, and approval does not guarantee an award.
- Serious: Qualification must finish before award; award will not wait. The Government estimates 270 days and about $5,000 in testing costs to qualify, and says award will not be delayed for a vendor still qualifying.
- Serious: Lockheed Martin master tooling needed. A bidder must prove access to Lockheed Martin master tooling and hold a tooling agreement with Lockheed Martin, which a small business may not be able to get.
Show all 11Show fewer
- Serious: Qualification article and test report at your own expense. A part must be built and tested, and the test report approved by the Government, before contract award.
- Serious: U.S. contractors only; CMMC Level 2 required. Without a CMMC Level 2 certification a business cannot be awarded this contract.
- Worth checking: Two bid choices for first article testing. Bid A (first article tested) and Bid B (waived) price the same 24 units, not extra ones; picking the wrong bid or lacking waiver proof can sink the offer.
- Worth checking: Missing waiver information makes a Bid B offer non-responsive. A Bid B offer must list the earlier contract details, or it may be rejected.
- Worth checking: Aviation critical safety item. The item is designated an aviation critical safety item, so the bidder needs a process to manage critical characteristics and safety processes.
- Minor: Submission method not stated. The text read says offers go to the issuing office but not whether email, mail or another portal is used; ask the buyer.
- Minor: Price validity period: 120 days or 60 days. The cover page says prices are held firm for 120 days, while the form's block says 60 calendar days unless the offeror inserts a different period.
- Minor: Records kept ten years. A contractor that is not the manufacturer must keep supply chain traceability records for ten years after final payment.
Read from the notice and 6 attachments. Show which files.
- SPRHA426R0028.pdf (read)
- SOW.pdf (read)
- CDRLFATR.pdf (read)
- EDL.pdf (read)
- MQR.pdf (read)
- SPI.pdf (read)
Full summary
What they want
- Build and deliver 24 EA of F-16 horizontal stabilizers, National Stock Number (NSN) 1560-01-619-8981, part number 16T7461-835, made to Lockheed Martin drawing 16T7461
- Bid A (first article tested): 1 EA first article (line 0001AB), then 23 EA production (line 0001AC), plus a First Article Test Report (Contract Data Requirements List item A001, not separately priced). First article is due 150 calendar days after receipt of order; the Government has 90 days to approve it
- Bid B (first article waived): all 24 EA as production (line 0001AD)
- Production deliveries to DLA Distribution Depot Hill, Hill Air Force Base, UT: Bid A is 2 EA a month on or before each date from February 28, 2028 to December 28, 2028, then 1 EA on January 29, 2029. Bid B is 2 EA a month through January 29, 2029
- Mark items per MIL-STD-130 with a unique item identifier (IUID required), package per MIL-STD-2073-1 using Special Packaging Instruction F011411064, and ship F.O.B. origin
- Meet the higher-level quality standard (ISO 9001:2000) listed on each line
- Keep supply chain traceability records, and tell the contracting officer right away about superseded part numbers or obsolete materials
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP: one set price per unit) purchase of supplies
- Period of performance
- First article 150 calendar days after receipt of order (Bid A); production deliveries from February 28, 2028 through January 29, 2029
- Place of performance
- SAM.gov lists none. Delivery points are at Hill Air Force Base, UT: DLA Distribution Depot Hill (production) and 809 MXSS/MXDEB (first article)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Price-driven: price or cost is the only listed factor, and all other factors combined are significantly less important
- Offers due
- November 13, 2026, 11:59 PM Mountain
- How to submit
- Sent to the issuing office, DLA Aviation Ogden, 6051 Gum Lane Bldg 1225, Hill AFB UT 84056-5820 (buyer Travis R Bodily, travis.bodily@us.af.mil); the text does not say whether email offers are accepted
What they'll judge offers on
- Price or cost (order of importance 1); for Bid A, a $10,000.00 first article evaluation cost is added to the evaluated price
- Supplier Performance Risk System (SPRS) item, price and supplier risk ratings may also be considered
What to include when you submit
- Price either Bid A (first article required) or Bid B (first article waived), not both: use Bid B only if you meet a waiver condition
- Waiver conditions: the item was previously furnished to the prime contractor for delivery to the Air Force, is currently in production for the Air Force, or was previously furnished to the Air Force, with the earlier contract finished no more than 36 months ago
- A Bid B offer must give the earlier contract number, contract item number, date of contract, and the name and address of the Government agency that issued it
- Propose your own achievable delivery schedule on the Proposed Delivery lines, after reviewing the Government's required delivery schedule
- Complete the Proposal Adequacy Checklist (provision 252.215-7009)
- Hold offered prices firm for 120 days
- Complete the solicitation's representations, such as those on covered telecommunications equipment and unmanned aircraft systems
- A business that is not yet a qualified source must submit a qualification package (see clause 52.209-1 and the attached Manufacturing Qualification Requirements)
- The apparently successful bidder must list each item's sources of supply before award (clause 252.217-7026)
After award, you must have
- Quality system meeting the higher-level standard listed on each line (ISO 9001:2000) From SPRHA426R0028.pdf:
ISO 9001:2000…
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. The approved sources named in the solicitation are Lockheed Martin (81755) and Aerospace and Commercial Technologies (1XKR3).
Not in the notice text
- About 56,331 characters from the middle of the solicitation PDF (mostly contract clause text and representations) were not read; check the full solicitation on SAM.gov.
- How offers must be sent (email, mail or portal) is not stated in the text read.
- SAM.gov lists no place of performance.
- The Government's estimate or total contract value is not given.
Eligibility and how to respond
- No set-aside: any business, large or small, can bid unless the notice says otherwise.
- How to submit, from the AI summary: Sent to the issuing office, DLA Aviation Ogden, 6051 Gum Lane Bldg 1225, Hill AFB UT 84056-5820 (buyer Travis R Bodily, travis.bodily@us.af.mil); the text does not say whether email offers are accepted. Check it in the notice before you send anything.
Notice details
- Posted
- Oct 14, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Ogden, UT, Hill Air Force Base, UT
- Product/service code
- 1560 · Airframe Structural Components
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts (FedReady's grouping, from NAICS 336413)
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Stabilizer Assy, GunThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) Weapons Support office wants quotes on national stock number (NSN) 1005009441965, STABILIZER ASSY,GUN: QTY 2, unit of issue EA (each).
- 1560014188986 / Rib, Airfoil / Aircraft, Stratofortress B-52DLA Aviation plans a full and open, firm-fixed-price buy of QTY 7 EACH of an airfoil rib (NSN 1560014188986, part number 1-75011-17) for the B-52 Stratofortress.
- Canopy, FixedDLA Aviation plans an open-to-all (unrestricted) indefinite quantity contract (IQC: the Government orders as needed) for a fixed aircraft canopy, NSN 1560-01-670-9896, P/N…
- F-16, Potentiometer, inputDLA Aviation at Ogden (Hill Air Force Base, Utah) wants to buy 3 input potentiometers for the F-16 nose landing gear steering (NSN 1620-01-049-2910LE, part number 16L070-1) for a…
- Repair of the Attitude Heading Reference System (AHRS) Applicable to the TH-1H HelicopterThe Air Force (AFSC PZAAA, FA8524) is running a market survey to find businesses that have the repair data, capabilities and experience to repair two attitude-heading gyroscopes…