Presolicitation
On-site Board Certified/Board-Eligible Diagnostic Radiology Physician Services | Orlando VAMC Responses to Vendor Presolicitation Notice Questions
Department of Veterans Affairs · Sol. 36C24827R0006
Due in 12 days
- Response due
- Oct 23, 2026, 4:30 PM EDT
- NAICS
- 621111 · Offices of Physicians (except Mental Health Specialists)
- Place
- Orlando, FL
AI summary Beta
The VA's Orlando Healthcare System plans to buy two full-time, on-site diagnostic radiologists (physicians who read medical images) at its Orlando, FL facility. This is a presolicitation: the actual RFP is expected around November 2, 2026, for a period running February 1, 2027 through January 31, 2032. It is a new requirement with no incumbent and is open to all businesses (no set-aside).
Things to watch
- Serious: Named physicians needed at proposal time. You must already have specific radiologists and backups identified, with CVs and credentials, before you can bid, which is hard for a firm that has not yet recruited. From Orlando Diagnostic Radiology Physician Services_Vendor Pre solicitation Notice Questions and Answers.pdf:
Offerors will be required to identify substitute/backup radiologists in the proposal.
- Worth checking: High productivity target. Each radiologist has to hit a set volume of work (9,000 wRVUs a year), so staffing and workload planning directly affect cost and risk. From 36C24827R0006.docx:
Each Diagnostic Radiologists must produce 9000 work Relative Value Units (wRVUs)/year…
- Worth checking: Tight credentialing timeline. Onboarding and VetPro credentialing must be done within about 60 days of award to meet the February 2027 start, so delays could put the start date at risk. From Orlando Diagnostic Radiology Physician Services_Vendor Pre solicitation Notice Questions and Answers.pdf:
It is anticipated that the contractor will be required to complete all onboarding…
- Worth checking: Continuity and backup coverage. You need a contingency plan and credentialed substitutes ready at all times, which adds staffing cost for a small firm. From 36C24827R0006.docx:
Qualified substitute personnel with credentials including board-certification/board-eligibility…
- Minor: Dates in the notice do not line up. The listed response date of 10-23-2026 comes before the RFP is expected to be issued (about 11/02/2026), so the real proposal due date is not known yet. From Orlando Diagnostic Radiology Physician Services_Vendor Pre solicitation Notice Questions and Answers.pdf:
Yes, 11/02/2026 remains the anticipated release date.
Read from the notice and 3 attachments.
- 36C24827R0006_2.docx
- 36C24827R0006.docx
- Orlando Diagnostic Radiology Physician Services_Vendor Pre solicitation Notice Questions and Answers.pdf
Full brief
What they want
- Two on-site Board-Certified/Board-Eligible diagnostic radiologists, full time, Monday to Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm, excluding federal holidays
- The two radiologists must have different subspecialties (Neuro, MSK or body imaging)
- Each radiologist must produce 9,000 work Relative Value Units (wRVUs) per year
- Qualified, credentialed substitute radiologists ready to cover when key personnel are unavailable
- A contingency plan so service continues if a physician leaves or cannot work
- Services that meet or exceed American College of Radiology guidelines
- Physicians who can read CT, MRI, ultrasound and diagnostic X-ray
- Annual proof of current board certification sent to the VA contracting officer's representative (COR)
- Contract type
- Unrestricted, full and open competitive Request for Proposals (RFP) for commercial services; pricing type not stated
- Period of performance
- Expected February 1, 2027 through January 31, 2032 (about 5 years); how it splits into base and option periods is not stated
- Place of performance
- Orlando VA Healthcare System, 13800 Veterans Way, Orlando, FL 32827 (on-site)
- Offers due
- Notice response date is 10-23-2026 4:30pm Eastern Time, but the RFP itself is expected around November 2, 2026; no response to this presolicitation is required
- How to submit
- Not stated yet; the RFP will be posted on SAM.gov and will give submission instructions. Questions go to Contracting Officer Jayne Messer by email, with the solicitation number in the subject line.
What to include when you submit
- Download the RFP and any amendments from SAM.gov; no hard copies and no individual emails
- Name key personnel and substitute/backup radiologists in the proposal
- Include CVs, board-certification/eligibility documents, licenses and other credentialing information with the proposal
- After award, finish onboarding documents and requirements within 60 days of award notice; VetPro (VA credentialing system) must begin within 3 days of first notification
You must have
- Open to all businesses (unrestricted, no set-aside); the NAICS size standard is $16 million From 36C24827R0006.docx:
…intends to solicit an unrestricted full and open competitive Request for Proposals (RFP)
- Active SAM.gov registration to be eligible for award From 36C24827R0006.docx:
…prospective contractors must be registered in SAM to be eligible for award…
- Each physician needs a current medical license from any U.S. state, territory or D.C.; licenses must be full and unrestricted, with no history of restriction, suspension or revocation From 36C24827R0006.docx:
…shall have a current license to practice medicine in any State, Territory, or Commonwealth of the United States…
- Physicians must be Board-Certified or Board-Eligible through the American Board of Radiology and keep continuing education current From 36C24827R0006.docx:
…shall be Board-Certified /Board-Eligible per the American Board of Radiology…
- At least 3 years of continuous radiologist experience in the last 4 years, including CT, MRI, ultrasound and X-ray interpretation From 36C24827R0006.docx:
Contractor physicians must possess a minimum of three (3) years of continuous Board-Certified/Board-Eligible Diagnostic Radiologist experience within the last four (4) years…
- VA credentialing and privileging (per VHA Directives 1100.20 and 1100.21) must be approved before anyone starts work; this happens after award but before services begin From 36C24827R0006.docx:
…prior to obtaining approval by the Facility Medical Executive Board and Medical Center Director…
Current contractor
None. The VA says this is a new contract with no incumbent.
Not in the notice text
- Evaluation method and factors (not given until the RFP is issued)
- Proposal due date and submission method (RFP expected on or about November 2, 2026)
- Page limits and proposal format
- Estimated contract value and pricing structure (price schedule, base and option periods)
- Whether any contract vehicle or special clauses apply
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 23, 2026, 4:30 PM EDT
- Posted
- Oct 8, 2026
- Notice type
- Presolicitation
- Solicitation number
- 36C24827R0006
- Agency
- Department of Veterans Affairs
- Office
- 248-Network Contract Office 8 (36C248), Tampa, FL
- NAICS
- 621111 · Offices of Physicians (except Mental Health Specialists)
- Product/service code
- Q522 · Medical – Radiology
- Business type
- Medical & healthcare
- Place of performance
- Orlando, FL
- Contracting contact
- Jayne MesserContracting Officer
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
See attached responses to vendor pre-solicitation questions.
Similar open opportunities
- Q403-DRAFT RFP Medical Disability Examinations-Next Generation (MDE-NG)The Department of Veterans Affairs (Veterans Benefits Administration) has posted a DRAFT RFP, not a solicitation, for Medical Disability Examinations - Next Generation (MDE-NG):…
- OH Medical Exams Blanket Purchase Agreement (BPA)The Virginia Army National Guard wants a vendor to run mobile occupational health exams (blood draws and lab work, vision, lung and hearing tests) for full-time and temporary…
- OCONUS Medical Q-Coded ServicesThe Defense Health Agency (HCD West) posted an amendment to a combined synopsis/solicitation for overseas (OCONUS) medical services under an 8(a) set-aside.
- Medical Case Reviewer Services for the Vaccine Injury Compensation Program (VICP)/ Countermeasures Injury Compensation Program (CICP).HRSA (Health Resources and Services Administration, part of HHS) wants to set up Blanket Purchase Agreements (BPAs) with individual medical experts and medical case reviewers who…
- Non-Personal Healthcare Services-Physicians & Other Professional Ambulatory Services for PRC Program