Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
SR Power Supplies Rack Detailed Design for ALS-U…
Department of Energy
A newer version of this notice was posted Oct 12, 2026. It moves the due date from Oct 2, 2026 to Oct 19, 2026, which is the date shown on this page. See the latest version.
AI summary Beta
Summary of the version posted Oct 8, 2026. The notice was amended Oct 12, 2026: check what changed on SAM.gov. An earlier version of our AI wrote it, so check its dates and times against the notice. This summary may miss requirements: 1 of 13 attachments weren't read (video1941612894.mp4). Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (run by the University of California for the Department of Energy) wants an engineering firm to complete the detailed design of 76 power-supply equipment racks (16 layouts) for its Advanced Light Source Upgrade. The work is a mostly firm-fixed-price design subcontract, with a preferred finish of January 31, 2027 and an agreement that runs through January 2029. Proposals are due October 19, 2026 and there is no small business set-aside.
Things to watch
- Serious: Conflicting proposal due dates. The notice says the deadline was extended to October 19, 2026, but the RFP file and the notice's older text still show October 2, so confirm the date with the procurement contact before relying on it. From the notice:
This RFP has been revised 10/1/26 to extend the proposal due date until Monday October 19, 2026.
- Serious: Aggressive design schedule. LBNL prefers all 16 rack designs done by January 31, 2027, only a few months after award, though it says it will consider other schedules. From 10.8.26 Update - DRAFT SOW, AL-1964-3328B.pdf:
However, LBNL recognizes the aggressive timeline and is open…
- Worth checking: Design inputs still incomplete. How modules inside each rack connect is not yet defined and the drafting standard and part numbering will come after award, which raises schedule and rework risk on a fixed price. From QA RFP AA-2027-01 No. 4.pdf:
LBNL is still working on this and will…
- Worth checking: Unpaid rework of design errors. You must fix design errors at your own cost, even after LBNL reviews and accepts the work and even when found during vendor fabrication. From 10.8.26 Update - Sample Subcontract, AA-2027-01.pdf:
The Subcontractor shall, at no additional cost to the University, promptly correct, revise, or re-perform…
- Worth checking: Payment only after LBNL accepts the design. Cash flow is back-loaded on a fixed price; milestone payments can be proposed but are not guaranteed. From QA RFP AA-2027-01.pdf:
LBNL must accept the design(s) before an invoice is payable.
- Worth checking: Exceptions to terms can hurt your proposal. Asking to change the Sample Subcontract terms may count against you, and unresolved exceptions can block the award. From 0. RFP, AA-2027-01.pdf:
…when exceptions cannot be resolved and agreement cannot be reached on terms and conditions, award will…
- Worth checking: Past performance in specialized design work. Factor 4 looks for detailed design packages of complex electro-mechanical or industrial power distribution equipment, which a small firm without similar projects may struggle to show. From QA RFP AA-2027-01 No. 2.pdf:
Factor 4 refers to detailed design packages for complex electro-mechanical, scientific, or…
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 1 not read in full.
- QA RFP AA-2027-01 No. 4.pdf
- QA RFP AA-2027-01 No. 3.pdf
- QA RFP AA-2027-01 No. 2.pdf
- QA RFP AA-2027-01.pdf
- 0. RFP, AA-2027-01.pdf
- 10.8.26 Update - Sample Subcontract, AA-2027-01.pdf
- 2. Sample Subcontract, AA-2027-01.pdf
- 10.8.26 Update - DRAFT SOW, AL-1964-3328B.pdf
- 1. SOW, AL-1964-3328A.pdf
- 10.8.26 Update - ACL_SR_Rack_Design.pdf
- 3. ALS-U Supplier Quality Evaluation Survey, RFP AA-2027-01.pdf
- 4. Standard Form Rep Cert, RFP AA-2027-01.docx
- video1941612894.mp4: .mp4 files aren't read yet
Full brief
What they want
- 3D rack models (native source files) and detailed assembly and production drawings for 16 Storage Ring rack layouts: 6 Standard Sector, 6 Hard Bend, 4 ATS/STA
- Drafting packages for bus bars, mechanical parts and enclosures that vendors can build from
- Electrical diagrams and interconnect/cable-harness drawings for all rack types
- Hold Preliminary and Final Design Reviews for each rack family, with LBNL review time after each
- Up to 200 hours of on-call support for vendor questions and revised drawings during fabrication, for up to a year after design
- Weekly progress updates by Zoom and email, plus a kickoff within 1 week of award and a detailed schedule within 2 weeks
- Optional: show interest and a preliminary plan for building, assembling and testing the racks later (not scored technically)
- Contract type
- Fixed price subcontract for the design, plus time-and-materials on-call support (up to 200 hours), with an optional assembly services item
- Period of performance
- From signing of the subcontract through January 31, 2029; preferred design completion date January 31, 2027
- Place of performance
- Berkeley, CA (work mainly at the subcontractor's own facility with remote coordination; occasional on-site visits)
- Estimated value
- Not stated
- How they'll choose
- Best overall value to the University (not lowest price). Technical factors are rated Excellent, Good, Acceptable or Unacceptable and listed in order of importance; price is checked for realism, reasonableness and completeness and is not weighted.
- Offers due
- October 19, 2026, 11:59 PM Pacific (extended; see red flags about older documents that still show October 2) (from the version posted Oct 8, 2026; amended since)
- How to submit
- Email to the University Procurement Representative, Arielle Anoop, AAnoop@lbl.gov
- Page limits
- Q&A says no page or file-size limits apply beyond Section 2.4
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor 1: Technical Approach & Detailed Design Methodology
- Factor 2: Schedule of Deliverables
- Factor 3: Principal Personnel
- Factor 4: Past Performance
- Factor 5: Quality Assurance & Configuration Control
- Non-technical: acceptance of Sample Subcontract terms and price proposal
What to include when you submit
- Submit three separate documents: a cover letter, a technical volume, and a business volume
- Cover letter lists your name, address, solicitation number and title, and contacts with authority to commit and negotiate
- Business volume has your acceptance of the Sample Subcontract terms (or redlined exceptions with a business case) and a price proposal
- Price proposal needs a total firm fixed price for the design package and an hourly rate for on-call support
- Include the ALS-U Quality Evaluation Survey and the signed Representations and Certifications form
- Include a proposed schedule with intermediate milestones for each rack family; any accelerated option should be priced separately
- Proposals stay valid for 90 days from the due date
- Send all correspondence only to the Procurement Representative
You must have
- Open to all sizes (no set-aside), but the Rep Cert must use the small business size standard for NAICS 541330 ($25.5 million average annual receipts) From 0. RFP, AA-2027-01.pdf:
The corresponding small business size standard for this acquisition is $25.5 million…
- Enrollment in E-Verify and use of E-Verify for assigned employees From 0. RFP, AA-2027-01.pdf:
The Subcontract will include FAR Clause 52.222-54, Employment Eligibility Verification.
- Completed Quality Evaluation Survey and Rep Cert form must be submitted with the proposal From the notice:
3. ALS-U Quality Evaluation Survey (required with submission) 4. Rep Cert Form (required with submission)
- No work with entities or people in DOE-designated Countries of Risk without prior approval From 10.8.26 Update - Sample Subcontract, AA-2027-01.pdf:
Government as Country of Risk as defined by the Department of Energy (DOE),…
- Designs must follow electrical safety codes and standards (NFPA 70, UL 61010 or UL 60950-1, NRTL-listed safety-critical parts, UL94 V-0, and others) From QA RFP AA-2027-01 No. 3.pdf:
NFPA 70 (National Electrical Code), including applicable requirements for conductor sizing,…
- Must be a responsible offeror and not currently ineligible for federal contracts or subcontracts
Current contractor
No incumbent named. A companion set of 17 Accumulator Ring racks was already designed and installed, and its design package is provided as a reference (designer not named).
Not in the notice text
- Estimated contract value and budget are not stated
- The detailed description of each technical factor (what Excellent looks like) was cut off in the RFP text provided
- Full text of the Sample Subcontract general provisions (middle sections were cut off) and the Rep Cert form
- Attachments A and B (the AR reference design package and 16 layout files) are in a Google Drive and were not provided
- Technical walk-through video from the October 8 pre-proposal conference was not readable
- Drafting standard, title block and part numbering scheme (to be provided after award)
- Which SOW revision governs: the Sample Subcontract still cites SOW Rev. A while Rev. B is marked DRAFT
Notice details
- Posted
- Sep 22, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Office
- Berkeley Natl Lab - DOE Contractor, CA
- Product/service code
- C222 · Architect and Engineering – General: Electrical Systems
- Business type
- Engineering, architecture & research (FedReady's search grouping, from NAICS 541330, not a SAM.gov field.)
- Versions
10 versions have been posted, newest first.
- Oct 12, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 19, 2026
- Oct 8, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 19, 2026
- Oct 6, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 19, 2026
- Oct 1, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 19, 2026 (changed)
- Sep 25, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 2, 2026
- Sep 23, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 2, 2026
- Sep 22, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/Solicitation (this version)Due Oct 2, 2026
- Sep 20, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 2, 2026
- Sep 20, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 2, 2026
- Sep 20, 2026 · Combined Synopsis/SolicitationDue Oct 2, 2026
- Contracting contact
- Arielle Anoop
- Attachments
Past awards and competition
Who has won work like this before, the likely incumbent, and what similar contracts paid, from USAspending.gov.
Before you respond
- How to respond to a solicitation (8 steps)
- How to read a government solicitation
- How to price a government contract
Terms on this notice: Solicitation
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- IE4 Power RFIThe Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA) is asking industry for white papers on how to install and upgrade site power at its global Defense Information Systems Network…
- High Power Microwave Engineering ServicesNaval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren posted a sources sought / industry awareness notice for a follow-on High Power Microwave (HPM) weapon systems engineering services…