Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Generator Preventative Maintenance
Department of Veterans Affairs · Sol. 36C24727Q0038
Due in 12 daysSDVOSB
AI summary Beta
The VA's VISN 7 contracting office in Tucker, GA wants a contractor to do scheduled preventive maintenance and load-bank testing on 12 emergency generators at the Carl Vinson VA Medical Center in Dublin, GA. It is set aside for certified Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Businesses (SDVOSBs). The term is one base year starting 11/01/2026 plus four option years.
Watch out for
- Site visit one or two days away. The site visit is Oct 9, 2026 at 10:00am at Building 29 of the Dublin medical center, and the provision says offerors are urged and expected to inspect the site, so you need to travel almost immediately.
Site Visit is scheduled for OCT. 09, 2026, at 10:00am EST
- Strict SDVOSB certification and subcontracting limit. Only certified SDVOSBs listed in the SBA database can bid, a missing signed 852.219-75 certificate makes the offer ineligible, and no more than 50% of payments can go to non-SDVOSB subcontractors.
(d) Offeror completed certification/fill-in required. The formal certification must be completed,
- 24/7 emergency repair response. You must acknowledge an emergency request within 1 hour, be on site within 24 hours, and be available every day including holidays, which is hard for a small shop to staff.
5. Emergency response. The Contractor shall acknowledge an emergency repair request
- Contractor must bring its own load bank and run 4-hour tests. Each generator needs a four-hour step-loaded test (the list includes two 2,060 kW units), plus calibrated exhaust-temperature equipment and calibration paperwork, so equipment and rental costs must be priced in.
the Contractor shall load-bank test each generator using a step-loading
- Price covers fluids, filters and gaskets. Lubricants, coolant, filters and gaskets are included in the price, and repairs outside the routine scope need written approval first, so an underestimate comes out of your margin.
2. The contract price shall include lubricants and coolant added during the work, as well as
- Draft notes left in the SOW. The SOW still contains unresolved [VERIFY] editing notes and the personnel risk-level table is blank, so some requirements may change or be unclear.
[VERIFY the cited edition, table, and terminology.]
- Portable generator not in the inventory. The testing section mentions a portable generator, but the inventory lists 12 fixed units and no portable one, so the true scope is unclear.
For the generator at Building 27 and the portable
- Service Contract Act wage rates apply. A Georgia wage determination is attached, so employees must be paid at least the listed rates plus health and welfare benefits.
Read from the notice and 2 attachments.
- RFQ 36C24727Q0038.pdf
- 36C24727Q0038_2.docx
Full brief
What they want
- Service Level I (twice a year) and Service Level II (once a year) preventive maintenance on 12 emergency generators
- Load-bank test each generator after service: four straight hours stepped at 25%, 50%, 75% and 100% of nameplate rating, using the contractor's own load bank
- Supply all labor, tools, equipment, lubricants, coolant, filters and gaskets, and dispose of removed fluids and parts
- Complete a maintenance record for each generator and a service report after every visit
- Report out-of-scope problems and get written Contracting Officer approval before any optional work or major repair
- Provide emergency repairs when authorized: acknowledge within 1 hour, on site within 24 hours, available 24/7
- Contract type
- Commercial services RFQ (SF 1449, FAR 52.212-4) priced per year; the notice does not name a contract type such as firm-fixed-price
- Period of performance
- 1 base year (11/01/2026-10/31/2027) + 4 twelve-month option years, through 10/31/2031; FAR 52.217-8 allows up to 6 more months
- Place of performance
- Carl Vinson VA Medical Center, 1826 Veterans Blvd, Dublin, GA 31021
- How they'll choose
- Best value considering lowest price, technical capability and past performance. The wording also says the offeror with the lowest price who shows technical capability and satisfactory past performance gets the award, so price is likely to drive the decision.
- Offers due
- 10-21-2026 12:00pm EDT (SAM.gov: 2026-10-21 12:00 Eastern)
- How to submit
- Not clearly stated. The contracting contact is Contract Specialist Stanley Turner, Stanley.turner@va.gov; the RFQ number and title must be on all correspondence and submission documents.
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor A - Lowest Price (all line items including options must be priced)
- Factor B - Technical Capability (detailed, specific, not just restating the SOW)
- Factor C - Past Performance (at least one reference for similar services, size and scope; must be satisfactory)
What to include when you submit
- Complete the fill-in clause VAAR 852.219-75 (Limitations on Subcontracting certificate) and provision 52.209-2
- The 852.219-75 certificate must be signed and returned with the quote, with the offeror's name inserted in the bracketed text
- Offeror completes SF 1449 blocks 12, 17, 23, 24 and 30
- Price every line item (0001, 1001, 2001, 3001, 4001) so the total covers the base year and all options
- Describe technical capability in detail; restating or paraphrasing the SOW is called inadequate
- Provide at least one past performance reference for similar services
- Acknowledge any amendments on the SF 1449
- Questions are due by Oct 13, 2026, 12:00 PM EST; telephone requests for information are not accepted
You must have
- Must be a small business certified as an SDVOSB and listed in the SBA certification database at the time of offer and at award
(1) Offers received from entities that are not certified SDVOSBs and listed in the SBA
- Must meet the small business size standard for NAICS 811310 (the SF 1449 shows $12.5 Million)
$12.5 Million
- Must certify compliance with the limitations on subcontracting: no more than 50% of the amount paid by the government may go to firms that are not certified SDVOSBs/VOSBs
(d) Offeror completed certification/fill-in required. The formal certification must be completed,
- On Government request, show relevant experience and certificates and licenses held by the electricians assigned to the work
c. Applicable certificates and licenses held by electricians assigned to the work.
- Contractor staff must complete annual VA Privacy and Information Security Awareness and HIPAA training (courses VA10203 and VA10176) before working each contract year
• All contractor employees working on this requirement are required to complete
- Contractor personnel need VA personal identity verification and background vetting to get VA ID badges and facility access; the risk levels in the clause are left blank
- Active SAM.gov registration (FAR 52.204-7 is listed in the solicitation provisions)
Not in the notice text
- How and where to submit the quote is not clearly stated; only the contract specialist's email is given
- The order of importance of the evaluation factors is not stated
- No estimated contract value is given
- Whether the Oct 9 site visit is mandatory is not stated; the provision only says offerors are urged and expected to attend
- The Carl Vinson memorandum 'Vendor Control for Equipment Maintenance' and the Vendor Control Requirements (Attachment A) were not included in the files
- Background investigation risk levels for contractor staff are blank in the clause
- Record retention period and the acceptance official for maintenance records are marked [VERIFY] in the SOW
- Incumbent contractor or previous contract is not named
Is this a fit for your business?
Create a free accountFedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 21, 2026, 4:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Oct 1, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Solicitation
- 36C24727Q0038
- Agency
- Department of Veterans Affairs
- Office
- 247-Network Contract Office 7 (36C247)
- Set-aside
- Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business (SDVOSB) Set-Aside (FAR 19.14)
- NAICS
- 811310
- Product/service code
- H930
- Business type
- Equipment repair & maintenance
- Place of performance
- Dublin, GA, 31021
- Contracting contact
- Stanley TurnerStanley.turner@va.gov404-828-5310
- Versions
- 3 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Generator Preventative Maintenance
Similar open opportunities
- ENDOSOFT SERVICE CONTRACT FOR PREVENTIVE & CORRECTIVE MAINTENANCEThe VA medical center in White River Junction, VT needs a service and maintenance contract for its EndoSoft endoscopy software, including remote support for the PACS information…
- The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Region 2 Heavy Equipment Maintenance and ReThe U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Region 2) plans a 10-year multiple-award Blanket Purchase Agreement for heavy equipment maintenance and repair in Arizona, New Mexico,…
- JECC/Generator Preventative MaintenanceThe Air Force (633d Contracting, Joint Base Langley-Eustis) is doing market research for preventative maintenance on one Caterpillar emergency generator, one UPS and an automatic…
- White City VA E85 Fuel Tank Pump OutThe VA's White City, Oregon campus (SORCC) wants a contractor to pump out about 3,200 gallons of old E85 fuel from an unused 5,000-gallon tank and haul it off for recycling or…
- Inspection & Testing of Electric and Diesel Fire Pumps, Engines, Controllers, and Oil/Water Separator at NWS Earle, BLDG R38The Navy (NAVFAC Mid-Atlantic) wants a contractor to inspect, test and report on electric and diesel fire pumps, their engines and controllers, and an oil/water separator in a…