Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
Local Area Network (LAN) Cable Installation & Repair
Dept of Defense · Dept of the Army · Sol. W51AA1-26-Q-A097
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
Tobyhanna Army Depot in Pennsylvania wants a small business to install, repair and maintain its Local Area Network cabling (copper Ethernet drops and fiber) and to slowly remove an old coaxial network (BBLAN). It is a firm-fixed-price service quote, set aside for small businesses, with a 1-year base period starting Feb 1, 2027 and four 1-year options. The government supplies the cable and connectors; you supply labor, tools and fiber splicing gear.
Watch out for
- Fixed annual price no matter how much work is ordered. You price the maximum quantities (400 drops, 10 fiber runs, 5 splices) as a fixed yearly lot, and the government says the price does not change if fewer are performed, so you carry the risk if the work is smaller or harder than expected.
This pricing will remain unchanged.
- New BBLAN removal job with unknown site conditions. Removing old coaxial cable from ceilings, walls, manholes and underground paths is new work with no history, and the location drawings are CUI that only the winner receives after award, so pricing is a guess.
location of this equipment will be provided upon contract award.
- Fast response times with a 90 percent standard. Major LAN failures need on-site response in 6 business hours and restoration in 18 business hours; falling under 90 percent counts as unacceptable and the government can have another source do the repair at your expense.
the contractor shall provide on-site RM within six (6) business hours after notification
- Hard 90 percent pass line. The performance standard states a hard 90 percent pass line with cost shifted to the contractor if missed.
Less than 90% is considered unacceptable.
- Base access screening can delay or block your crew. Every worker needs a background check and in-processing before entering the depot, and delays from screening or gate closures are not paid.
process may be time consuming, and access may be delayed or denied.
- No pay for gate closures and delays. Unexpected base closures or delays cost you time with no compensation.
are not compensated for unexpected closures or delays.
- Heavy security, safety and environmental paperwork. The PWS adds OPSEC plans, CUI handling, accident prevention plans, hazard analyses, permits and many environmental rules, much of it written for construction or machinery and unclear for a cabling job; the Q&A says each will apply at different times.
- Solicitation documents are still in draft and being changed. The PWS is marked draft with placeholder phone numbers, the due date was extended, and an amendment with an updated pricing sheet and more Q&A is still coming, so requirements may shift.
Status: Draft
- Specialized fiber tools and skills required. You must own or rent fusion-splicing and OTDR test equipment and have trained staff, even though only 5 splices per year are expected.
Fusion splicing will be required. OTDR certification will also be required to prove the splices don't have
- Short window and site visit already passed. Quotes are due October 15, 2026, and the single site visit was held October 1 (recommended, not required), so you must rely on the documents and Q&A.
Attendance is recommended for offerors.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. 1 not read in full.
- Solicitation W51AA1-26-Q-A097.pdf
- Attachment I- Performance Work Statement.pdf
- ELTY 0648C.pdf
- Attachment III- Addendum to FAR 52.212-1, Instructions to Offerors.pdf
- Questions and Answers.pdf
- Attachment II- Pricing Sheet.xlsx: spreadsheet: not read yet
Full brief
What they want
- Install and terminate Category 6/6E Ethernet cable drops through government conduit (up to 400 per year)
- Install, terminate and fusion-splice fiber-optic cable, with OTDR testing (up to 10 pre-terminated runs and 5 splices per year)
- Remedial maintenance for the whole depot LAN: on-site within 6 business hours and service restored within 18 business hours for major failures
- Remove water from manholes as needed to install or repair cable (about 40 hours per year, shared with maintenance)
- Remove the old BBLAN coaxial cable and parts, about one-fifth each year (about 31 miles of cable and 2,126 components in total), and turn them in at Building 96
- Meet depot security, safety, environmental, OPSEC and CUI handling rules while working on post
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price commercial services (FAR Part 12 request for quote); priced as a lot per year
- Period of performance
- Base year Feb 1, 2027 to Jan 31, 2028 + 4 one-year options (through Jan 31, 2032); FAR 52.217-8 allows up to 6 more months, and total duration may not exceed 5 years 6 months
- Place of performance
- Tobyhanna Army Depot, Tobyhanna, PA 18466
- How they'll choose
- Award to the offer most advantageous to the government, price and other factors considered, using two factors: Price and Past Performance. The government intends to award without discussions. Relative importance of the factors is not stated.
- Offers due
- October 15, 2026 at 1:00 PM Eastern (the notice says the due date was extended and an amendment is coming)
- How to submit
- Email to Contract Specialist Jessica McHugh (jessica.l.mchugh.civ@army.mil) with solicitation W51AA1-26-Q-A097 in the subject line; get written confirmation of receipt before closing
What they'll judge offers on
- Price (total of all option prices added to the base requirement; offers with significantly unbalanced option prices may be rejected)
- Past Performance (two relevant government and/or commercial contracts from the past five years, judged on relevance and how well you performed)
What to include when you submit
- Completed and signed SF 1449 (blocks 30a, 30b, 30c) with CLIN pricing, signed by someone authorized to bind the company
- Completed Attachment II Pricing Sheet (the Q&A says an updated pricing sheet was issued)
- Past performance: two relevant contracts from the past five years
- CMMC Unique Identifier (UID) matching an active Level 1 (Self) assessment in SPRS
- Acknowledge all amendments by initialing block 19 of the SF 1449 or returning a signed copy
- Quote must stay valid at least 60 days from the due date
- Questions go by email to the Contract Specialist no later than 3 calendar days before the due date
You must have
- Small business set-aside: only small businesses can compete
52.219-6 Notice of Total Small Business
- Active SAM registration with no exclusions and no debt subject to offset; must be found responsible
the offeror must have an active registration in the System for Award Management (SAM)
- CMMC Level 1 (Self) status entered in SPRS before award, with the UID included in the quote
CMMC Unique Identifier (UID) corresponding to active Level 1 (Self) Assessment in SPRS.
- Limitations on subcontracting apply: the prime must keep most of the work in-house or with similarly situated small businesses (50 percent limit for services; lower or higher percentages apply to construction trades, and the Q&A only points to the clause)
it will not pay more than 50 percent of the amount paid by
- Trained and experienced technicians with recent Category 6/6E Ethernet drop experience at TYAD
The contractor shall provide trained and experienced service technicians with
- Background check and approval from depot Law Enforcement for every contractor and subcontractor worker before site access
A background check and approval from TYAD Law Enforcement is required for all contractor and
- Annual OPSEC Level I training (plus antiterrorism Level I, iWATCH and CUI training) for all workers
and subcontractors shall complete OPSEC Level I certification training annually
- Direct construction supervisors must hold an OSHA 30-hour construction safety course certificate, submitted with the site safety plan
complete an OSHA 30-hour safety course for construction.
- Insurance for work on a government installation (clause FAR 52.228-5 is included; amounts are not stated in the text)
52.228-5 Insurance-Work on a
- Service Contract Act wage rules apply (Wage Determination 2015-5797, Revision 33)
The services to be performed fall under the authority
Current contractor
A prior contract existed (the Q&A says the requirement has changed since the last contract), but no incumbent contractor is named.
Not in the notice text
- Estimated contract value (none stated)
- Attachment II Pricing Sheet (spreadsheet not read; the Q&A says an updated version was issued)
- Which limitation on subcontracting percentage the government will apply for NAICS 238210 (the Q&A only says to see FAR 52.219-14)
- Relative importance of Price versus Past Performance
- Small business size standard for NAICS 238210 (blank on the form)
- Contents of the middle of the PWS (about 5,600 characters, around the depot permits and approvals section)
- Amendment with the final due date and the full Q&A (not yet posted per the notice)
- Insurance coverage amounts and any bonding requirement
- Details of the ELTY 648-C visitor form (the file did not load)
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 15, 2026, 5:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Oct 6, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Solicitation
- W51AA1-26-Q-A097
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Dept of the Army
- Office
- W6QK ACC-Apg Cont CT Tyad Ofc
- Set-aside
- Small Business Set Aside - Total
- NAICS
- 238210
- Product/service code
- J059
- Business type
- Construction & renovation
- Place of performance
- Tobyhanna, PA, 18466
- Contracting contact
- Jessica McHughjessica.l.mchugh.civ@army.mil5706156125
- Versions
- 3 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Installation of Walkway LightsThe Interior Business Center, on behalf of the National Park Service, wants an electrical contractor to install 30 government-supplied replacement walkway lights at the Iwo Jima…
- FY27 Remove/Install Two (2) Commercial-Grade Laser/LED ProjectorsThe VA (Network Contracting Office 8) plans to buy and install replacements for two obsolete Christie WU7K-M lamp-based projectors at the Orlando VA Medical Center.
- Air Compressor RelocationThe Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) in Washington, DC wants a contractor to move two air compressors from inside Building 65 to a new metal shed outside, including new slab,…
- CLWTP FISMA ComplianceThe Bureau of Reclamation (Upper Colorado Region) wants a contractor to bring the Cutter Lateral Water Treatment Plant control system (SCADA) up to current federal cybersecurity…
- CLWTP FISMA ComplianceThe Bureau of Reclamation (Upper Colorado Region) wants a contractor to bring the control system at the Cutter Lateral Water Treatment Plant in New Mexico (part of the…