Solicitation
UPS Refurbishment
Dept of Defense · Dept of the Navy · Sol. N0025327Q7001
AI summary Beta
This summary was written for another version of this notice. Check what changed on SAM.gov.
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Navy's Naval Undersea Warfare Center (NUWC) Keyport in Washington State wants a vendor to refurbish one existing Eaton 9390 UPS (a battery backup power unit): swap out its internal parts and batteries, add a wireless monitoring kit and a remote emergency power-off switch, then test and commission it. It is a firm-fixed-price request for quotes, but the notice says it is a limited-source buy (other than full and open competition), and quotes must include an Eaton (OEM) letter of authorization. Work is to be done within 90 calendar days of award, and quotes are due October 29, 2026 at 1:00 PM Pacific by email.
Watch out for
- Limited-source (not fully competitive) buy. The Navy says only one source makes these services, so unless you are that source or an authorized Eaton partner your quote may not be considered; the Justification and Approval document was a scanned file I could not read.
specific services manufactured by only one (1) source under the authority of FAR 12.102(a)
- OEM letter of authorization required. Without Eaton's written authorization naming you as a partner, the offer cannot be considered for award.
Vendor must provide OEM letter of authorization stating partners name, location and, if applicable, unique OEM
- Certified Eaton technician must commission the UPS. Commissioning must be done by a certified Eaton technician, so you need access to one (own staff or Eaton).
Commissioning will be performed by a certified Eaton technician
- Site visit on October 15, 2026 with advance base-access paperwork. It is the only Government-scheduled site visit, attendees need base access requests filed in advance and questions are not allowed during the visit.
at least five (5) business days prior to the visit
- Power outages need 10 working days' notice and after-hours work. Planned outages to the data center are only supported after hours or on weekends, which affects crew scheduling.
The Contractor shall provide the Government with at least ten (10) working days
- CMMC Level 1 (Self) and SPRS entry before award. You must have a current CMMC self-assessment status in SPRS and list your CMMC unique identifiers in the proposal, or you are ineligible.
A CMMC level of 1 (One) (Self) is required to be considered for award.
- Base access rules and device restrictions. Camera and recording restrictions and citizenship documents apply to anyone entering the site, including the site visit.
No cameras, tape recorders, or other reproduction devices are allowed.
- Scope is unclear in places. The SOW intro mentions replacing breakers but the task list does not, and acceptance refers to new 93PM UPS heads (plural) while only one serial number is listed.
Successful installation and testing of the new Eaton 93PM UPS heads.
- Work building not yet named. The building is left blank until award; the delivery ship-to lists Bldg 893, which the safety attachment includes among buildings needing Explosives Safety Officer review, so extra reviews may apply.
Building Number (to be completed at time of award)
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. 2 not read in full.
- N0025327Q7001 Solicitation RFQ.pdf
- N0025327Q7001 Safety Requirements for Contractors and Subcontractors.pdf
- N0025327Q7001 Contractors Guide Environmental Compliance.pdf
- N0025327Q7001 Security Requirements for Contractors.pdf
- N0025327Q7001 Wage Determination.pdf
- N0025327Q7001 UPS Limited Source Redacted.pdf: scanned PDF: no text to read
- N0025327Q7001 OPSEC Guide Defense Contract.pdf: scanned PDF: no text to read
Full brief
What they want
- Remove and dispose of the old UPS internal parts (power modules, power supplies, control boards, interface boards, communications card, terminal blocks, capacitors, batteries) on the Eaton 9390, serial number EG112CB11
- Install new internal components and replace all batteries with new ones matching the existing capacity
- Provide, install and configure the 93PM PredictPulse Wireless Kit and one Remote Emergency Power-off (REPO) switch
- Test the installation, place the UPS in bypass mode, and provide test documentation (CDRL A001)
- Commission the UPS into operation, performed by a certified Eaton technician
- Deliver electronic as-built drawings (CDRL A002) and laminated UPS operating instruction cards (CDRL A003)
- Meet electrical codes, obtain permits, and clean up and dispose of waste
- Give the Government at least 10 working days' notice of any planned power outage (outages can be supported after hours or weekends)
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) commercial services, request for quotation (combined synopsis/solicitation); DPAS rated order DO-C9
- Period of performance
- One base-year CLIN of 1 lot, no option years. Section F shows 90 calendar days from date of award; estimated award date is 12/12/2026.
- Place of performance
- NUWC Division Keyport, 610 Dowell St., Keyport, WA 98345-7610 (building number to be provided at award)
- How they'll choose
- Award to the technically acceptable offer that is the best value, with price and past performance compared in a trade-off if necessary
- Offers due
- October 29, 2026, 1:00 PM Pacific (notice shows 2026-10-29 13:00 at UTC-07:00)
- How to submit
- Email to brook.m.smith.civ@us.navy.mil. Only digital copies sent by email are accepted (no paper). Section M also mentions the Government Point of Entry.
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical acceptability (pass/fail): the offer must meet or exceed the specifications and other terms; this is checked first
- Price
- Past performance, equal in importance to price (sub-factors: quality and delivery, equal in importance)
What to include when you submit
- Fill out the attached RFQ (N0025327Q7001) in its entirety, including all pricing and the representations and certifications; company quote forms are not accepted
- Include an OEM letter of authorization stating the partner's name, location and, if applicable, unique OEM identification code, with the quote
- Provide FOB Destination pricing to NUWC Keyport, WA 98345-7610; price must include parts, materials, labor, equipment, shipping and travel
- Provide the CMMC unique identifier(s) from SPRS in the proposal (CMMC Level 1 Self required)
- Send questions in writing to the same email address as soon as possible; the RFQ sets the question deadline at two days before the close date
- Do not attach your own company terms and conditions; the notice says they are not preferred
- Any exceptions to the terms must be in writing and received before the closing date and time
- If attending the October 15, 2026 site visit, email a Base Access Visit Request (BAVR) and Visitor Access Request (VAR) at least five business days ahead, with a copy to the contract negotiator and contracting officer listed in the RFQ
You must have
- Current SAM registration with completed representations and certifications
The offeror must have a current registration and completed representations and certifications in the System for Award Management (SAM)
- CMMC Level 1 (Self) status in SPRS is required to be considered for award
A CMMC level of 1 (One) (Self) is required to be considered for award.
- OEM (Eaton) letter of authorization submitted with the quote
Vendor must provide OEM letter of authorization stating partners name, location and, if applicable, unique OEM
- Commercially certified electricians with UPS installation and maintenance experience
The Contractor shall employ commercially certified electricians with experience in UPS installation and
- Commissioning performed by a certified Eaton technician
Commissioning will be performed by a certified Eaton technician
- General liability and workers' compensation insurance
The Contractor shall maintain adequate insurance coverage, including general liability
- Contractor obtains all necessary permits and approvals
The Contractor shall be responsible for obtaining all necessary permits and approvals required for the
- Proof of U.S. citizenship for personnel entering the base; visit requests must follow base access rules
No employee or representative of the contractor shall be admitted to any facility or ship of the
- Registered in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF) to submit invoices after award
Be registered to use WAWF
- No set-aside is used; the NAICS size standard shown is $19 million (open to businesses of any size)
has a size standard of $19 Million
Not in the notice text
- Estimated price or budget is not stated
- The Justification and Approval (limited source) document and the OPSEC guide were scanned PDFs and could not be read, so who the named source is and the full reason are not known
- About 60,000 characters in the middle of the RFQ were not provided (payment instructions, clauses, representations and certifications, early Section L), so those details were not reviewed
- Building number, safety office contacts and sponsor details are listed as to be determined at award
- Whether the attached Service Contract Act wage determination for Kitsap County (No. 2015-5525) applies to the electricians on this job
- Whether replacing breakers is part of the work, and how many UPS units are involved
- Page limits or proposal format beyond filling out the RFQ are not stated in the text provided
- Whether a past-performance submission format or references are required is not stated in the text provided
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 29, 2026, 8:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Oct 8, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- N0025327Q7001
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Dept of the Navy
- Office
- Naval Undersea Warfare Center
- Set-aside
- No Set aside used
- NAICS
- 238210
- Product/service code
- DC10
- Business type
- Construction & renovation
- Place of performance
- Keyport, WA, 98345
- Contracting contact
- Brook Smithbrook.m.smith.civ@us.navy.mil
- Versions
- 2 (amended since first posted)
Before you respond
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Local Area Network (LAN) Cable Installation & RepairTobyhanna Army Depot in Pennsylvania wants a small business to install, repair and maintain its Local Area Network cabling (copper Ethernet drops and fiber) and to slowly remove…
- Installation of Walkway LightsThe Interior Business Center, on behalf of the National Park Service, wants an electrical contractor to install 30 government-supplied replacement walkway lights at the Iwo Jima…
- Air Compressor RelocationThe Naval Research Laboratory (NRL) in Washington, DC wants a contractor to move two air compressors from inside Building 65 to a new metal shed outside, including new slab,…
- CLWTP FISMA ComplianceThe Bureau of Reclamation (Upper Colorado Region) wants a contractor to bring the Cutter Lateral Water Treatment Plant control system (SCADA) up to current federal cybersecurity…
- CLWTP FISMA ComplianceThe Bureau of Reclamation (Upper Colorado Region) wants a contractor to bring the control system at the Cutter Lateral Water Treatment Plant in New Mexico (part of the…