Solicitation
MJU-76/B Flare, Countermeasure
Dept of Defense · Dept of the Air Force · Sol. FA821326RB005-Solicitation
The agency plans to award to one named company. Others can only submit a capability statement to challenge it.
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The U.S. Air Force (Hill AFB, Utah) wants to set up a multiple-award IDIQ contract for production of the MJU-76/B countermeasure flare (for the U.S. and foreign military sales), with a 5-year ordering period plus a 6th-year option. The notice says it is expected to be limited to two named sources (Armtec and Chemring), but all responsible, qualified sources may respond, and bidders need a Secret-level clearance to receive the RFP. The estimated ceiling is $250 million; the first delivery order is a buy-to-budget order.
Watch out for
- Likely limited to two named sources. The Air Force expects to use limited-sources authority for Armtec and Chemring, so a new small business faces long odds unless it can also become qualified.
other than full and open competition with limited sources, FAR 6.302-1, Armtec and Chemring
- Secret clearance needed to get the RFP. Without an existing facility/personnel clearance a business cannot receive the classified solicitation material or respond.
clearance of Secret or higher in order to respond to this RFP
- Costly, slow source qualification. Qualification (data package, facility inspection, built-and-tested flares at the offeror's expense) is estimated at about $200,000 and 360 days, and award will not wait for it.
completion of this qualification effort should require 360 days.
- Only a $5,000 guaranteed minimum. Every awardee gets just the $5,000 minimum; real money depends on winning split-award shares of future orders, and DO 1 pricing above the cap earns no production share.
Minimum Award Guarantee: $5,000
- Price cap and binding DO 1 pricing. DO 1 prices over the $9,446,336 cap (CLINs 0002, 0003 and 5,000 production units) are unacceptable for the production split, and the price bands must all be bid.
The Government has established an explicit Affordability Cap of $9,446,336
- Explosives manufacturing and safety survey. Making pyrotechnic flares needs explosives-licensed facilities and passing a pre-award ammunition and explosives safety survey, including any subcontractors.
- Conflicting dates and terms across documents. The notice mentions both June 30 and October 15, 2026; older documents show 15 Jun 2026, a $3,000,000 minimum guarantee and a July 2026 start, while Amendment 0002 shows 15 Oct 2026, $5,000 and Dec 2026. The latest amendment was used here.
This Solicitation has been amended with a proposal due date of October 15th 2026.
- Late production can force a new first article at contractor cost. A production delay over 45 days (unless excusable) may require a new first article test at the contractor's expense.
Any contractor delay in production greater than 45 days may require a new First Article
- Key documents not provided. The Air Specification, first article test form, DD 254, drawings list and many clauses were not readable, so full requirements are not visible.
- No classified data in the offer. Proposals must be built from unclassified information only, which can complicate describing the technical approach.
Classified information shall NOT be submitted with the offer.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 15 not read in full.
- Solicitation Amendment - FA821326RB0050002.pdf
- Section M final.pdf
- Section L final.pdf
- Solicitation Amendment FA821326RB0050001 SF 30.pdf
- Solicitation - FA821326RB005.pdf
- Attachment 23 PHST SOW _HILL_2023.pdf
- TEP worksheet.pdf
- GFPFA821326RB005_1.pdf
- Attachment 14 MJU-76 Ordering Procedures.pdf
- Attachment 19 JQR MJU-76.pdf
- Attachment 18 - Example Request for Order Proposal 5-6-25.pdf
- Attachment 16 MJU-76 CDRL List FINAL.pdf
- Attachment 13 AFMC 260 FAT MJU-76 2-12-2026.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 12 EX2024072333-2024074618.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 9 - ES6925 MSE.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 8 TransInstruction4.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 7 REPSHIP.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 6 - ES7650_Oct2000 - MIL-STD-1916.docx: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 5 - ES7034 (Rework Repair).docx: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 4 ES6200.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 3 ES7035 Description Sheets.docx: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 2 WARP 4-19-2018.docx: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 1 FD2020-24-52553 MJU-76B Air Specv4.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- Attachment 22 - MJU-76 DD Form 254 Signed.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- MJU-76B Subcontract Supplier List.xlsx: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
- Attachment 11 EDL - 201825310_98747_DL_B.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
- Attachment 10 SPI 015904428.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
Full brief
What they want
- Manufacture MJU-76/B thrusted countermeasure flares (NSN 1370-01-677-6009, P/N 201825310) under firm-fixed-price delivery orders
- Post-award conference (CLIN 0001, fixed at $5,000) and a Measurement System Evaluation (MSE) plan
- First article production and MSE/first article testing (CLIN 0003)
- USG production units, FMS production units and FMS source-directed production units, priced in quantity bands (CLINs 0004-0006)
- 20 data deliverables under the CDRL (reports, quality plan, SPC plan, DMSMS plan, status reports and others)
- A 25-page Plan, Technical, and Risk Mitigation Approach to manufacture the flare
- Preservation, packaging and marking of explosive items per military standards
- Contract type
- Multiple-award IDIQ with firm-fixed-price delivery orders; first order is a buy-to-budget acquisition (DPAS rated DO-A6)
- Period of performance
- 5-year ordering period (anticipated Dec 2026 to Dec 2031) plus one 1-year option ordering period (Dec 2031 to Dec 2032); example order terms say delivery 20 months after receipt of order
- Place of performance
- UT, USA per the notice (contracting office is Hill AFB, UT); the contractor's manufacturing site is not stated; test and inspection shipments go to Crane, IN and China Lake, CA
- Estimated value
- IDIQ maximum $250,000,000; minimum guarantee $5,000; first delivery order buy-to-budget amount $23,615,851.84 per Section B; DO 1 affordability cap $9,446,336
- How they'll choose
- Base IDIQ goes to 'all qualified' offerors rated Acceptable on non-price factors (price is not a factor for the base IDIQ). Price on the first delivery order decides who shares that order's production funding through a split-award table.
- Offers due
- 15 Oct 2026, 2:00 PM local time (notice lists 2026-10-15 14:00 at -06:00, Mountain)
- Page limits
- Factor 2 plan: no more than 25 pages, PDF; 12-point Times New Roman, single spaced, 0.5 inch margins; extra pages may not be read
What they'll judge offers on
- Factor 1: Qualified Source Proposal (Acceptable/Unacceptable; offeror must meet MJU-76/B qualification requirements)
- Factor 2: Plan, Technical, and Risk Mitigation Approach to Manufacture MJU-76/B (Acceptable/Unacceptable; all six subfactors must be Acceptable: in-house vs subcontracted, automated equipment, machinery, defect prevention/SPC, inventory control, assembly-line flow diagram)
- Factor 3: Price Proposal for DO 1 (completeness, reasonableness, within the $9,446,336 affordability cap; no adjectival rating; sets the DO 1 split)
- Pre-award survey (DCMA, including ammunition and explosives safety) is a condition of award
What to include when you submit
- Sign and return the model contract/solicitation (Sections A through K and I) and any signed amendments
- Put DO 1 pricing on the TEP Worksheet (Attachment 15) in $X.XX format instead of Section B, except CLIN 0001 which is fixed at $5,000
- Fill in Section K representations and certifications and any clause fill-ins
- List every exception to the terms in a table with rationale
- If not a small business, submit a Small Business Subcontracting Plan (RFO 52.219-9)
- List all locations where ammunition and explosives work will be done, and whether each is a division, affiliate, associate contractor or subcontractor
- Include a qualification package if not already a qualified source
- State in Section A that the proposal is valid through the acceptance date (60 days unless offeror inserts a different period)
- Do not submit classified information with the offer
- Source selection information by email must be encrypted and marked 'Source Selection Information - See RFO 2.101 & 3.104', or sent through DoD SAFE
You must have
- Valid U.S. security clearance of Secret or higher is needed just to receive and respond to the RFP
clearance of Secret or higher in order to respond to this RFP
- Classified material must be handled under the NISPOM / industrial security rules
All classified material must be handled in accordance with the National Industrial Security Program Operating Manual
- Must be an Air Force qualified source for the MJU-76/B before award; new sources must submit a qualification package
This acquisition is limited to qualified sources: a qualification package is required for new
- Only suppliers in the United States will be considered, except by special permission
suppliers in the United States will be considered, with the exception of special permissions.
- Pass a DCMA pre-award survey, including an ammunition and explosives safety survey, of the offeror's and subcontractors' facilities
In accordance with DFARS PGI 223.370-4(iv) the PCO will request DCMA to conduct a pre-award survey within the
- Other than small businesses must submit a Small Business Subcontracting Plan (no set-aside; size standard 750 employees)
If the offeror is other than a small business, the Offeror shall submit a Small Business Subcontracting
Current contractor
No incumbent is named. Armtec and Chemring (CAGE 3DU30 and Z3487) are named as the anticipated limited sources.
Not in the notice text
- How and where to submit the offer (no email, portal or address is stated in the text provided)
- Full technical requirements: the MJU-76B Air Specification (PRF 201825310B), first article test requirements, drawings list, SPI and DD 254 were not provided or are controlled
- Middle sections of the solicitation (delivery schedule, administration data, special requirements, full clause list, Section K) were left out
- Notional quantities used in the TEP calculation are not disclosed to offerors
- Whether a first delivery order will be awarded to one or two awardees (earlier text expected two)
- Attachment 24 supplier list and other controlled attachments need access requested on SAM.gov
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 15, 2026, 8:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Sep 30, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- FA821326RB005-Solicitation
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Dept of the Air Force
- Office
- FA8213 AFLCMC Ebhk
- Set-aside
- No Set aside used
- NAICS
- 325920
- Product/service code
- 1370
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment
- Place of performance
- UT
- Contracting contact
- Ellis Swensonellis.swenson@us.af.mil
- Versions
- 6 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- COMPRESSOR,REFRIGER, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Mechanicsburg) posted a presolicitation for repair of 13 refrigeration compressors (NSN 7H-4130-015136359), delivered FOB Origin.
- AMMONIUM HYDROXIDE,NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans to buy 2,739 PG of Ammonium Hydroxide (NSN 1HM 6810-01-018-9769 X2) made to a technical data package.
- 41- Vaneaxial Fans
- Sources Sought - Directional Hemispherical Reflectometer
- BEARING, BALL, DX