Solicitation
MK 41 VERTICAL LAUNCH SYSTEM (VLS) OVERHAUL
Dept of Defense · Dept of the Navy · Sol. N4002726R0005
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Navy's Southeast Regional Maintenance Center (SERMC) in Mayport, Florida wants a contractor to overhaul MK 41 Vertical Launch System (VLS) cell hatches and uptake hatches. It will be a single-award, firm-fixed-price IDIQ supply contract with pre-priced line items and five yearly ordering periods (calendar years 2027 to 2031). The Navy picks up the hatches at Mayport, the contractor overhauls them at its own certified facility, and returns them to Mayport.
Watch out for
- Navy certification of site and people required. You need NSWC Port Hueneme certification of your overhaul site and technicians for MK 41 hatches, and the certification program documents are controlled, so a new shop may not be able to bid.
overhaul site and personnel must be certified by Naval Surface Warfare Center (NSWC) Port Hueneme
- Past performance outweighs price. Past performance on MK 41 VLS cell and uptake hatches with a final contract value over $350,000 is what counts as relevant, so a firm without that record would be rated neutral and is likely to lose a trade-off.
COMPLEXITY: Contract was performed on MK 41 VLS cell and uptake hatches.
- Key documents are restricted or were not provided. The ELIN pricing sheet (J-1) was not available to read, and the hatch overhaul manuals, safety precepts and certification programs (J-2, J-3, J-5, J-7, J-8) are controlled and must be requested on SAM.gov before you can price or confirm you qualify.
- No guaranteed volume, with possible long gaps. Quantities are only estimates and orders can stop for weeks or months, which makes staffing and cash flow hard to plan.
of weeks or months may lapse without orders, depending on the needs of the Government.
- Short timeline and award without discussions. Questions are due 12 October and offers 29 October, and the Navy may award without talking to you, so the first offer must be complete and priced right.
The Government intends to award without discussions as permitted by FAR 52.215-1.
- Heavy pre-award paperwork. You must provide named lists of qualified welders, silver brazers and NDT inspectors, a welding surveillance procedure, an org chart for the performing facility, and quality system proof before the Navy decides you are responsible.
Provide a list of qualified welders and silverbrazers by name and badge number and list of qualifications.
- Navy threat-level costs on you. You must price in delays or security costs for a higher threat condition and will not get extra pay for them.
Threat Condition Charlie shall be included in your proposal. Contractors will not receive additional compensation
- Small errors in the solicitation text. The pre-award list asks for uptake hatch technician certification under reference 3.7 (the cell hatch program) where 3.8 appears intended, and SF 33 mentions sealed offers while Section L says email, so ask a question by 12 October.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. 6 not read in full.
- N4002726R0005.pdf
- S-1 Request for Specification Clarification.pdf
- J-4 NAVSEA SI 009-012.pdf
- J-6 NAVSEA SI 009-032.pdf
- Exhibit A CDRL.pdf
- J-1 ELIN PRICING Ordering Periods 1 through 5.xlsx: spreadsheet: not read yet
- J-2 IMS 4810-6692849-0019 Rev F.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
- J-3 IMS-4810-5223397-79 Rev B ACN 3.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
- J-5 NAVSEA INST 8394.2G.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
- J-7 MK 41 VLS Cell Hatch Certification Program.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
- J-8 MK 41 VLS Uptake Hatch Certification Program.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
Full brief
What they want
- Overhaul and preserve VLS cell hatches and uptake hatches under delivery orders
- Work steps: pickup and transport, assessment, disassembly, cleaning, inspection and non-destructive testing, coating, reassembly, quality control, final preservation
- Return hatches ready for issue (Condition Code A) to Building 191 at Naval Station Mayport; return unrepairable hatches too
- Estimated volume: about 150 cell hatches and 20 uptake hatches in 2027, then about 110 cell and 20 uptake hatches each year (estimates only)
- Submit overhaul data sheets and a report on unrepairable hatches (CDRL Exhibit A)
- Hold ISO 9001-based quality system, NAVSEA welding/NDT-qualified staff, and corrosion-control-certified painters
- Use a site and technicians certified under the MK 41 VLS hatch certification programs
- Contract type
- Single-award IDIQ supply contract, firm fixed price, with pre-priced Exhibit Line Item Numbers (ELINs) ordered by delivery order. Rated order DO-A3 under DPAS.
- Period of performance
- Five ordering periods, one calendar year each: 1 January 2027 through 31 December 2031
- Place of performance
- Overhauls at the contractor's own facility; hatches picked up from and returned to Warehouse Building 191, Naval Station Mayport, Jacksonville, FL
- How they'll choose
- Best-value trade-off. Past Performance is significantly more important than Price. The Navy intends to award without discussions. Pre-award information (Volume III) is checked only for responsibility.
- Offers due
- 12:00 PM (1200 hours) SERMC local time, 29 October 2026
- How to submit
- Email to SERMC_C413_IDIQ@us.navy.mil (multiple emails allowed; the offeror must make sure the whole proposal arrives on time)
What they'll judge offers on
- Past Performance (up to five most recent finalized CPARS from the last three years; rated for relevance and performance confidence)
- Price (total of all ELINs across the five ordering periods; checked for fairness and reasonableness)
What to include when you submit
- Volume I Price: cover letter with CAGE and Unique Entity ID, completed SF 33 blocks 12 to 18 signed by someone who can bind the company, Section B CLIN prices, and Attachment J-1 with unit and extended prices for every ELIN in all five ordering periods
- Volume I also needs completed fill-ins and certifications in Sections C through K; Section K must be returned in full
- Volume II Past Performance: government pulls finalized CPARS using your CAGE, UEI, name and address; you may add an explanation of corrective actions
- Volume III Pre-Award Information: org chart, affiliates that will perform, ISO 9001 quality system proof, corrosion control certifications, MK 41 site and personnel certifications, list of qualified welders and silver brazers, list of certified NDT inspectors, and a welding surveillance SOP
- Questions go on Attachment S-1 by email, due 12 October 2026 at 1200 hours SERMC local time
- Offers that take exception to the terms and conditions are unacceptable
- Prices must be offered FOB Destination; other FOB terms are rejected
- Only the proposal pages that need a fill-in are required for Sections C through I
You must have
- Overhaul site and personnel must be certified by NSWC Port Hueneme (the MK 41 VLS In-Service Engineering Agent) for both cell hatch and uptake hatch programs
overhaul site and personnel must be certified by Naval Surface Warfare Center (NSWC) Port Hueneme
- Corrosion control certifications (NACE or SSPC/NBPI) for painting personnel
Provide Corrosion Control Certifications of personnel, NACE or SSPC/NBPI.
- Quality Management System that meets ISO 9000 series (ISO 9001:2015) standards
The Contractor shall provide a Quality Management System meeting ISO 9000 series standards.
- Non-destructive testing done only by personnel certified to the NAVSEA NDT publication (Levels I, II and III), including any NDT subcontractor
only Level I, II and III personnel currently certified in accordance with NAVSEA Technical
- Verify workers' U.S. citizenship under the DoD Industrial Security Manual; non-U.S. citizens are kept from naval vessel work sites unless the Navy approves an Access Control Plan
No person not known to be a U.S. citizen shall be eligible for access to naval vessels, work sites and adjacent
- CMMC Level 1 (Self) status entered in SPRS before award for any system that handles federal contract information
CMMC Level 1 (Self). This CMMC level, or higher (see 32 CFR part 170), is required prior to award for each
- Active SAM registration with CAGE code and Unique Entity ID
- No set-aside: open to businesses of any size
Not in the notice text
- Estimated dollar value, minimum or maximum order guarantee, and the J-1 ELIN unit price schedule were not available
- Sections E to K of the solicitation (inspection, delivery time per order, payment, special requirements, clauses, representations) were left out of the text provided, so delivery schedules and some contract terms are unknown
- The hatch overhaul manuals and certification programs (J-2, J-3, J-5, J-7, J-8) are controlled and not seen, so exact technical requirements are unknown
- How a firm gets or proves the NSWC Port Hueneme certification, and whether a firm not yet certified may bid, is not stated
- No incumbent or previous contract number is named
- Delivery order turnaround times per hatch are not stated in the text provided
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 29, 2026, 4:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Sep 28, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- N4002726R0005
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Dept of the Navy
- Office
- Southeast Regional Maint Center
- Set-aside
- No Set aside used
- NAICS
- 336611
- Product/service code
- J998
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts
- Place of performance
- Jacksonville, FL
- Contracting contact
- Danielle Fujio-Whitedanielle.b.fujio-white.civ@us.navy.mil
- Versions
- 3 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Housing, ProportionerDLA Land and Maritime plans a firm-fixed-price RFP for 171 Housings, Proportioner (NSN 2915-012681594), as a single contract with direct delivery.
- 05F | C/KC-135 | COUPLING, FLEXIBLEThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation) plans an unrestricted, 3-year indefinite quantity contract for a flexible coupling (insulation blanket) used on C/KC-135 aircraft,…
- RCU - KGX- 40A,AIRC, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source buy tied to NSN 7R-1680-015855376-P8, quantity 2 each, delivered FOB origin.
- 05F | C/KC 135 | TRANSDUCER, FUEL CONTROLDLA Aviation plans an unrestricted indefinite quantity contract for fuel control transducers (NSN 2915-011955293) for C/KC-135 aircraft, about 80 per year over a 2-year base with…
- Disconnect Assembly LowerDLA Land and Maritime plans a single firm-fixed-price contract for Disconnect Assembly Lower (NSN 1660010350628), with an estimated 79 to 150 each and no options.