Solicitation
F-22 FEC/EED
Dept of Defense · Dept of the Air Force · Sol. FA821326R3033
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The U.S. Air Force (Hill AFB, Utah) wants to buy small aircraft explosive parts for the F-22: 228 fire-extinguisher cartridges and 100 catapult initiators, plus required data reports. The solicitation names one company, Pacific Scientific Energetic Materials Co (CAGE 54181), as the sole source. Delivery to Hill AFB is due 18 months after receipt of order.
Watch out for
- Named sole source. The solicitation says the award goes to one named company, so a new bidder has very little chance without making a qualification case first.
Sole source to: PACIFIC SCIENTIFIC ENERGETIC MATERIALS CO; Cage Code 54181
- Pre-award qualification: about 360 days and $5,000-$50,000+. For the catapult initiator the Air Force expects a long qualification effort that the bidder pays for before it can be awarded the work.
the potential offeror to become qualified: $5,000 to $50,000 +.
- Qualification estimated at 360 days. The Air Force estimates the qualification effort at 360 days and says award will not be delayed to let a company finish qualifying.
qualification efforts should require 360 days.
- Explosives manufacturing and safety-critical parts. These are hazard class 1.4S explosive devices for an aircraft ejection/fire system, which brings special facility, handling, marking and shipping duties.
- Payment held until test and data reports are accepted. Cash flow risk: the government may withhold payment until key data items (A001, A005, A006) are delivered and approved.
DCMA and DFAS are required to withhold payment IAW DFAR 252.227-7030 until CDRL A001, A005 & A006 have
- Heavy data and traceability workload. Nine CDRL data items, ammunition data cards entered in the WARP system for every lot, and unique item identification marking add cost for a small shop.
IUID Required: Yes
- Rated order (DPAS). The contract carries a priority rating, so the contractor must give it priority in scheduling.
1. This Contract is a Rated Order under the Defense Priorities and
- Technical data and packaging documents are restricted. Packaging drawings are marked controlled unclassified information, and the specifications, packaging requirements and marking instruction were not provided in the text, so key technical details are missing.
- Notice text vs attachments. SAM.gov lists this as an open solicitation with no set-aside, but the solicitation document itself names a sole source, so check with the contracting officer whether competition is actually allowed.
Read from the notice and 12 attachments. 4 not read in full.
- FA821326R3033.pdf
- 5_Packaging_SOW.pdf
- 3_ADC_SOW_Jan_2018.pdf
- 12_CDRLs.pdf
- 12_CDRL_FD2020-25-50068.pdf
- 11_EDL-014881068.pdf
- 10_Item_Description-JL68-7-9pdf.pdf
- 10_ID-014881068.pdf
- 9_JFQR_JM81_Catapult_EED_DONE.pdf
- 7_ES7034.pdf
- 6_SPI_F014881068.pdf
- 6_SPI_F002800272.pdf
- 4_CADPAD_Item_Marking_Instruction.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- 2_REPSHIP.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- 1_AIR_SPEC_Typed-FD2020-25-50068.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
- 1_Air_Spec_FD2020-25-51819_DM_EM.pdf: over the file limit for one brief
Full brief
What they want
- CLINs 0001, 0002, 0003: 76 each (228 total) of three F-22 aircraft fire extinguisher cartridges (NSNs 1377-01-505-5212, -5213, -5214; DODICs JL69, JL67, JL68)
- CLIN 0004: 100 cartridge initiators (NSN 1377-01-488-1068, DODIC JM81), described elsewhere as a catapult EED for the F-22 ejection system
- CLIN 0005: required data deliverables (CDRLs A001-A009), including ammunition data cards, acceptance test plan, test/inspection report, failure analysis and obsolescence reports
- Serial-number marking and item unique identification (IUID) on all four supply items
- Military packaging and marking per the Special Packaging Instructions (hazard class 1.4S items)
- Ship free on board (F.O.B.) origin to Hill AFB, UT; inspection and acceptance at origin for the supply items
- ISO 9001 higher-level quality requirement on all supply items
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price supply contract (CLINs 0001-0004); CLIN 0005 data is not separately priced. Rated order under DPAS.
- Period of performance
- Delivery 18 months after receipt of order (marked '*18 Months ARO') for each supply line; no option periods are shown in the text provided.
- Place of performance
- USA per SAM.gov. Items ship to 649 MUNS MXW, Hill Air Force Base, UT 84056-5707 (ship-to code FV2172). Where the work is done is up to the offeror (a Place of Performance form is in the solicitation).
- How they'll choose
- Not stated in the text provided. The solicitation names Pacific Scientific Energetic Materials Co (CAGE 54181) as a sole source. Section M text that was provided covers only transportation cost clauses.
- Offers due
- 30 Oct 2026, 5:00 PM (SAM.gov shows 2026-10-30T17:00:00-06:00)
- How to submit
- Not clearly stated. Offers go to the issuing office: Dept of the Air Force, AFLCMC/EBHK, 6072 Fir Avenue Bldg 1233, Hill AFB UT 84056-5820, attn Stephanie Martin (stephanie.martin.24@us.af.mil, 801-777-2949). The Section L text that explains how to submit was not fully provided.
What to include when you submit
- Complete the SF 1447 blocks 11, 13, 15, 21, 22 and 27 (bidder/offeror to complete)
- Offered prices must be held firm for 120 days
- Fill in the representations and certifications (for example SAM-related, telecom, forced labor, place of manufacture, place of performance) and the sources-of-supply table before award
- Contractor fill-ins are needed for F.O.B. address and inspection/acceptance location
- Offerors may recommend a different economic purchase quantity with unit prices (52.207-4)
You must have
- The only source named is Pacific Scientific Energetic Materials Co (CAGE 54181). Other companies appear to be unlikely to win unless they can show they are qualified.
Sole source to: PACIFIC SCIENTIFIC ENERGETIC MATERIALS CO; Cage Code 54181
- For the initiator (CLIN 0004, NSN 1377-01-488-1068) a source must be fully qualified before award. This means a pre-contract qualification process with the Air Force engineering office (facility certification, qualification test report, a built-and-tested article). Only Pacific Scientific is listed as an approved source.
Qualification Requirement Must Be Demonstrated Prior to Any Contract Award.
- Only U.S. and Canadian suppliers will be considered for the catapult initiator.
only United States and Canada suppliers will be considered
- Quality system certified to ISO 9001 (higher-level contract quality requirement) on every supply line.
52.246-11 HIGHER-LEVEL CONTRACT QUALITY REQUIREMENT (DEC 2014)
- Active SAM.gov registration and a Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF) account for invoicing and receiving reports.
Be registered to use WAWF at https://wawf.eb.mil/
- Contractor must be able to get access to the Air Force ammunition data card system (WARP), which can need a DoD-approved digital certificate bought at the contractor's own cost.
A nominal fee is charged for each certificate.
- Cybersecurity: the NIST SP 800-171 DoD assessment clause is included, so an assessment score in SPRS is likely needed.
R-DFARS 252.240-7997 DEV 2026-O0025 NIST SP 800-171 DoD Assessment Requirements.
- No small business set-aside: the acquisition is unrestricted (SAM.gov lists 'No Set aside used').
Current contractor
Not stated as an incumbent. Pacific Scientific Energetic Materials Co (CAGE 54181) is named as the sole source and as the manufacturer of the part numbers (54181 30903946-1, 30903947-1, 30903948-1, 103377-371).
Not in the notice text
- Evaluation method and factors (Section M text provided covers only transportation clauses)
- Exact proposal submission instructions (Section L), including whether offers go by email, mail or portal
- Estimated value or unit prices (Section B price fields are blank)
- The Air Specification, Report of Shipment, and CAD/PAD item marking instruction files were not read (over the file limit)
- Middle part of the main solicitation (about 90,000 of 143,000 characters) and part of the CDRL files were left out
- Whether competitors can actually receive an award given the sole source statement, and any approval process for other sources for CLINs 0001-0003
- Whether a first article test or option quantities apply
- Place where the work must be performed and any facility or explosive-license requirements
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 30, 2026, 11:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Aug 21, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- FA821326R3033
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Dept of the Air Force
- Office
- FA8213 AFLCMC Ebhk
- Set-aside
- No Set aside used
- NAICS
- 325920
- Product/service code
- 1377
- Business type
- Manufactured parts & equipment
- Contracting contact
- Marc Mattssonmarc.mattsson@us.af.mil
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- 41- Vaneaxial FansDLA Troop Support (Defense Logistics Agency) is doing market research to find companies that can supply vaneaxial fans (NSN 4140-00-289-8783) built to a military spec.
- COMPRESSOR,REFRIGER, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Mechanicsburg) posted a presolicitation for repair of 13 refrigeration compressors (NSN 7H-4130-015136359), delivered FOB Origin.
- Sources Sought - Directional Hemispherical ReflectometerThe Army's Product Manager Vehicle Protection Systems is doing market research to find companies that can supply handheld Directional Hemispherical Reflectometer (DHR) devices,…
- C-130 Sanding Booth with Allen Bradley Control System and GVS-RPB Safety Respirator SystemDLA Weapons Support Richmond is doing market research for a C-130 sanding booth with fire suppression, ventilation, dust collection and related systems, to be installed at Fleet…
- AMMONIUM HYDROXIDE,NAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans to buy 2,739 PG of Ammonium Hydroxide (NSN 1HM 6810-01-018-9769 X2) made to a technical data package.