Sources Sought
Sources Sought-Vehicular Final Drive
Dept of Defense · Dept of the Army · Sol. PANDTA26P0000036826
Due in 13 daysSmall business
AI summary Beta
The Army Contracting Command at Detroit Arsenal is doing market research (a Sources Sought, not a bid request) for 21 Vehicular Final Drive units (NSN 2520-00-896-9021). It wants to know which manufacturers could supply the item for a possible future small business set-aside purchase. Responses are due October 22, 2026.
Watch out for
- Not a solicitation. This is market research only, so responding does not get you a contract and there is no guarantee a solicitation will follow.
the Government is not obligated to issue a solicitation or award a contract as a
- Must be a manufacturer or meet Nonmanufacturer Rule. A reseller can only count as small if the item comes from a small manufacturer or an SBA waiver applies.
Supply a product manufactured by another small business if it is a
- First article testing and manufacturing experience asked about. The survey asks about past government manufacturing of this exact part and first article testing, so firms without that history may be a weak fit.
Does your firm have experience with first article testing (FAT)?
Read from the notice and 1 attachment.
- Sources Sought for Vehicular Final Drive.pdf
Full brief
What they want
- Complete the vendor profile and business type questions in the survey
- Say whether you have made this final drive for a U.S. Government agency before, with contract numbers
- Show you can currently manufacture the item and say where production would happen
- Describe first article testing experience and production lead time in calendar days
- Give minimum, normal and maximum monthly production rates and your current price per unit
- Describe your quality management system and the item's commercial availability
- Explain whether you meet the Nonmanufacturer Rule (make it yourself, or supply from a small business or under an SBA waiver)
- Answer questions on ordering periods, minimum order quantities and price breaks
- Contract type
- Not stated. This is a Sources Sought / market research survey, not a solicitation. Quantity is 21 with no options.
- Place of performance
- USA
- Offers due
- October 22, 2026, 2:00PM EST (SAM.gov response deadline: 2026-10-22 14:00 Eastern)
- How to submit
- Email the completed survey to Robin L. Bronson, Contract Specialist, ACC-DTA: robin.l.bronson.civ@army.mil
What to include when you submit
- Subject line: Sources Sought_ Vehicular Final Drive (Name of Firm)
- You may respond in total or in part
- Product manuals and sales media may be attached
- If proprietary, the front page must say "PROPIETARY INFORMATION CONTAINED WITHIN" (as spelled in the attachment) in all caps, plus a release statement allowing distribution to Army personnel working on the survey
- Mark confidential data with the legend "CONFIDENTIAL" in all caps; unmarked data is not protected
- Small business status claimed must be verifiable in SAM.gov
- Include CAGE code and company contact details in the vendor profile
You must have
- Notice is marked as a total small business set-aside; claimed small business status must be verifiable in SAM.gov
*If claiming small business status, the information must be verifiable in SAM.gov
- Nonmanufacturer Rule: to qualify as small business you must manufacture the item, supply a product made by another small business, or have an SBA waiver
Manufacture the product itself; or
- A CAGE code is requested in the vendor profile
CAGE CODE:
Not in the notice text
- Solicitation timing, contract type, delivery schedule and estimated value are not stated
- Technical specifications or drawings for the final drive are not included beyond the NSN
- Whether a set-aside will actually be used in the future acquisition is not confirmed (the SAM.gov field says Small Business Set Aside - Total, but the survey invites large businesses too)
Is this a fit for your business?
Create a free accountFedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 22, 2026, 6:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Oct 6, 2026
- Notice type
- Sources Sought
- Solicitation
- PANDTA26P0000036826
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Dept of the Army
- Office
- W6QK ACC- Dta
- Set-aside
- Small Business Set Aside - Total
- NAICS
- 336350
- Product/service code
- 3040
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts
- Contracting contact
- Robin L. Bronsonrobin.l.bronson.civ@army.mil5715889033
- Versions
- 3 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
This is a Sources Sought Notice/Market Research Survey to request information for Government planning purposes only. The Army Contracting Command - Detroit Arsenal (ACC-DTA) is seeking knowledge of interest, capabilities, and qualifications of various members of the community, to include both small and large businesses, for the item identified below. Responses to this Sources Sought/Market Research Survey will assist ACC-DTA in planning its acquisition strategy for a potential future acquisition. Noun: Vehicular Final Drive NSN: 2520-00-896-9021 NAICS Code: 336350 QTY: 21 No Option All Total QTY: 21
Similar open opportunities
- Housing, ProportionerDLA Land and Maritime plans a firm-fixed-price RFP for 171 Housings, Proportioner (NSN 2915-012681594), as a single contract with direct delivery.
- 05F | C/KC-135 | COUPLING, FLEXIBLEThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation) plans an unrestricted, 3-year indefinite quantity contract for a flexible coupling (insulation blanket) used on C/KC-135 aircraft,…
- RCU - KGX- 40A,AIRC, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source buy tied to NSN 7R-1680-015855376-P8, quantity 2 each, delivered FOB origin.
- 05F | C/KC 135 | TRANSDUCER, FUEL CONTROLDLA Aviation plans an unrestricted indefinite quantity contract for fuel control transducers (NSN 2915-011955293) for C/KC-135 aircraft, about 80 per year over a 2-year base with…
- Disconnect Assembly LowerDLA Land and Maritime plans a single firm-fixed-price contract for Disconnect Assembly Lower (NSN 1660010350628), with an estimated 79 to 150 each and no options.