Solicitation
NSN2840-01-631-0215OK_CaseTurbineAircraft_J85_PN6052T90G02_FD2030-26-00773
Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency · Sol. SPRTA126R0368
AI summary Beta
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation, Oklahoma City, at Tinker AFB) wants to buy newly made turbine cases for a jet engine (NSN 2840-01-631-0215, part number 6052T90G02). The current planned quantity is 861 units, delivered to a DLA depot at Tinker AFB, with 3 first article samples to be tested first. The notice says competition is not anticipated, and only approved (qualified) sources that also have the original maker's permission can be considered.
Watch out for
- Competition not anticipated. The Government expects few or no competing offers, so a new bidder faces a long shot unless it is already approved and has OEM backing.
COMPETITION IS NOT ANTICIPATED:
- OEM permission required or the quote is non-responsive. The Government does not own the data rights, so a small business must show written OEM permission to make the part or its offer will be rejected.
The data rights for this item are not owned by the Government.
- Source approval needed before award. Getting approved takes a detailed package (engineering data, production documents, sample parts) and the Government will not hold up award while it reviews pending requests.
AWARD WILL NOT BE WITHHELD WAITING QUALIFICATION:
- First article testing at contractor risk. You cover the cost of first article tests, and any production work before approval is at your own risk, so cash flow and rework risk fall on you.
Before first article approval, the acquisition of materials or components for, or the commencement of production
- Quantity may change and award is not guaranteed. Final quantity (216 to 1,292) is set by the Government after offers arrive, and it may award nothing, which makes tooling and pricing decisions hard.
Government reserves the right to award no contract at all depending on the quality and prices of proposal(s)
- Export-controlled drawings. Drawings are view-only through SAM.gov for authorized vendors, so you need the right registrations before you can price the work.
- No deadline extensions. The notice says the closing date will not be moved just to give more time to propose.
Solicitation Closing Dates WILL NOT be extended for the sole
- Critical safety and traceability requirements. The attached qualification document covers propulsion critical safety and critical application items, and the line items also require IUID marking, an ISO 9001 quality standard and military packaging, which add compliance cost.
Read from the notice and 5 attachments. 1 not read in full.
- SPRTA1-26-R-0368.pdf
- Attachment_1_Transportation_Data.pdf
- Attachment_2_Packaging_Requirements.pdf
- Attachment_3_IUID_Checklist.pdf
- Attachment_4_Qualification_Requirements.pdf
- SPRTA126R0368 0001.pdf: controlled: request access on SAM.gov
Full brief
What they want
- Manufacture and deliver new turbine cases (alloy steel housing for the turbine section of a jet engine), current quantity 861 each
- Prices for three quantity ranges: 216-500, 501-900 and 901-1,292 each (overall minimum 216, maximum 1,292)
- Supply 2 first article units for a fitment test and 1 first article unit that will be used up in Government testing, in addition to the production quantity
- Do not start production quantities until the Contracting Officer approves the first article
- Mark each unit with an item unique identification (IUID) mark and package to military standards (MIL-STD-129 marking, MIL-STD-2073-1 packaging)
- Ship production to DLA Distribution Depot Oklahoma, Tinker AFB; ship first articles to the Tinker first article receiving office
- Contract type
- New manufacture, fixed-quantity, firm-fixed-price contract is contemplated (rated order under the Defense Priorities and Allocations System)
- Period of performance
- First articles due 180 calendar days after award; 861 production units required on or before 17 DEC 2027; Government has 180 days to act on first article approval
- Place of performance
- Tinker AFB, OK (delivery to DLA Distribution Depot Oklahoma; first articles to Tinker AFB first article receiving)
- How they'll choose
- Best value, performance price tradeoff (FAR 15.101-1); details are in Sections L and M, which were not fully available
- Offers due
- 16 OCT 2026, 3:00 PM (local time at the issuing office, Oklahoma; SAM.gov shows 2026-10-16 15:00 Central)
- How to submit
- Offers are received at the issuing office: DLA Weapons Support at Oklahoma City, 3001 Staff Drive, Tinker AFB, OK 73145-3070. Buyer: Clifford Dockter, clifford.dockter@us.af.mil. The exact electronic submission method is not stated in the readable text.
What to include when you submit
- Offer must hold prices firm for 30 days
- Propose prices for each of the three quantity ranges, even if you suggest other ranges on provision 52.207-4 for planning only
- Instructions to offerors and evaluation criteria are in Sections L and M of the solicitation (not available in the text provided)
- Engineering Data List and drawings are export controlled and can only be viewed through a secure link in the SAM.gov notice by authorized vendors
- Complete the SF 1447 solicitation form and the representations and certifications listed in the provisions (for example 52.204-24, 52.204-26, 252.225-7973)
- Submit a Source Approval Request (SAR) as soon as possible if you are not already an approved source
You must have
- Offeror, product or manufacturer must be an approved source (meet qualification requirements) at the time of award
Award will be made only if the offeror, the product/service, or the manufacturer meets qualification requirements at
- Must submit a Source Approval Request (SAR) and have a valid Company Profile on record; approval lasts 3 years for critical safety items and 7 years for critical application items
In order to gain source approval status, the PS must submit a SAR.
- Company Profile needs a valid quality certificate: ISO 9001, AS9100 or NATO AQAP-2070
Provide one of the following QAC with a valid expiration date: ISO 9001, AS9100,
- Written permission from the original equipment manufacturer (OEM) to supply the item to the U.S. Government
specific expressed permission to provide the item to the U.S. Government, will be considered non-responsive.
- Must be authorized to view export-controlled drawings (a DD Form 2345 or export control license is needed for technical data requests)
by vendors authorized to view export-controlled data.
- Unrestricted competition (no set-aside); NAICS 336412 with a 1,500-employee size standard
Current contractor
No incumbent or prior contract is named. The notice description says solicitation SPRTA126R0368 0001 was 'issued to General Electric Company for BOA Proposal 17SEP 26', which suggests the original manufacturer is the main expected source.
Not in the notice text
- Section L (instructions) and Section M (evaluation factors and their order) were not available in the text provided, so the actual evaluation factors are unknown
- Unit prices, estimated contract value and quantity-range price schedule are not stated
- How offers must be submitted (email, portal or mail) is not clear from the readable text
- Part of the main solicitation document and part of the qualification requirements document were left out of the provided text
- The file 'SPRTA126R0368 0001.pdf' is controlled and was not provided; it may hold important technical data or requirements
- Engineering drawings and the Engineering Data List are export controlled and not included
- Whether a small business would be accepted as an approved source without already having the OEM's authorization is not described
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 16, 2026, 8:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Sep 17, 2026
- Notice type
- Solicitation
- Solicitation
- SPRTA126R0368
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City, Ok
- Set-aside
- No Set aside used
- NAICS
- 336412
- Product/service code
- 2840
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts
- Place of performance
- Tinker AFB, OK, 73145
- Contracting contact
- Clifford Dockterclifford.dockter@us.af.mil3855912762
- Versions
- 2 (amended since first posted)
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- Housing, ProportionerDLA Land and Maritime plans a firm-fixed-price RFP for 171 Housings, Proportioner (NSN 2915-012681594), as a single contract with direct delivery.
- 05F | C/KC-135 | COUPLING, FLEXIBLEThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation) plans an unrestricted, 3-year indefinite quantity contract for a flexible coupling (insulation blanket) used on C/KC-135 aircraft,…
- RCU - KGX- 40A,AIRC, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source buy tied to NSN 7R-1680-015855376-P8, quantity 2 each, delivered FOB origin.
- 05F | C/KC 135 | TRANSDUCER, FUEL CONTROLDLA Aviation plans an unrestricted indefinite quantity contract for fuel control transducers (NSN 2915-011955293) for C/KC-135 aircraft, about 80 per year over a 2-year base with…
- Disconnect Assembly LowerDLA Land and Maritime plans a single firm-fixed-price contract for Disconnect Assembly Lower (NSN 1660010350628), with an estimated 79 to 150 each and no options.