Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
WallHound-Pro Detection and SentryHound-Pro Folding Detection
Dept of Defense · Dept of the Air Force · Sol. F4FFCN6253AW01
AI summary Beta
This summary was written for another version of this notice. Check what changed on SAM.gov.
Some details weren't available to this summary, so it may miss requirements. Check the attachments on SAM.gov.
The Air Force (AFLCMC at Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio) plans to buy 3 wireless detection and alert systems and 1 ferrous (metal) detection portal for secure-facility use, and it wants a specific brand name product. The notice calls this a sole-source action, but the attached justification says price would be compared among GSA schedule vendors who can supply that brand. Written responses are due 20 Oct 2026 at 12:00 PM Eastern.
Watch out for
- Brand name only, effectively sole source. The Government says one manufacturer meets its needs, so you can realistically compete only as an authorized reseller of that brand, and the manufacturer name is partly redacted in the attachment.
This is not a request for competitive proposals and no solicitation is available at this time.
- Notice and justification describe different processes. The notice treats this as a sole-source action the Government may not compete, while the justification describes a lowest-price-technically-acceptable competition among GSA vendors, so the rules for winning are unclear.
- High bar for responding. Responses must give clear and convincing evidence of capability, which is hard to show without access to the brand and GSA vehicle.
Interested sources must respond in writing with clear and convincing evidence to support their ability to provide the required supplies/services
- Bill of materials not available. The spreadsheet listing the items (IDS BOM) was not read, so exact parts, quantities and pricing format are unknown.
- Short response window. Responses are due 20 Oct 2026, about two weeks after the 5 Oct 2026 posting, with no stated submission address.
- Specifications look inconsistent or garbled. Some listed specs (for example range, sensitivity and bandwidth entries) are run together or unclear, so exact requirements need confirmation with the buyer.
Sensitivity: 4MHz, 20 MHz
Read from the notice and 1 attachment. 1 not read in full.
- Limited-Sources(Brand Name)_JA_Part 8_AFLCMCIN_IDS_Redacted.pdf
- IDS BOM - Redacted.xlsx: spreadsheet: not read yet
Full brief
What they want
- 3 self-contained wireless detection and deterrent alert systems that detect cell phones (2G to 5G non-mmWave), 2.4 GHz and 5.8 GHz Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth and Bluetooth LE, working without a PC or network connection
- Each wireless system with 3 removable omni-directional antennas, 3 removable direction-finding antennas, internal backup battery, USB firmware updates, dry contacts for cameras, DVR and speakers, 12 x 12 inch color-coded lights, voice alerts, and a stanchion mount
- 125 ft maximum coverage and detection of device identifiers such as BSSID, SSID, device ID and WPA/WPA2 data
- 1 free-standing ferrous (metal) detection portal with 8 ultra-sensitive sensors across four body zones, bi-directional gated lanes, LED indicators, siren, and an on/off security keylock
- TAA-compliant equipment (meets Trade Agreements Act origin rules)
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (FFP) award; the notice also describes it as an individual sole source action
- Place of performance
- Wright Patterson AFB, OH (the justification also mentions a system for a location at Hill AFB)
- Contract vehicle
- GSA contract vehicle: the justification refers to competition among GSA vendors capable of providing the requested brand (FAR 8.404 and 16.505 ordering rules)
- How they'll choose
- Per the attached justification: lowest price technically acceptable among GSA vendors that can supply the requested brand; if only one quote comes in, the contracting officer decides price reasonableness. The notice itself says the Government may decide not to compete the action.
- Offers due
- 20 October 2026 12:00PM EDT (notice shows 2026-10-20T12:00:00-04:00)
- How to submit
- In writing; the notice does not say where to send it
What they'll judge offers on
- Technical acceptability (meets the listed specifications)
- Lowest price
What to include when you submit
- Respond with a capability statement, proposal or quotation showing clear and convincing evidence that you can provide the required supplies
- Routine questions go to the buyer at the phone number listed in the notice (not shown in the text provided); the ombudsman is only for concerns about the process
- Review the attached Justification and Approval document for details
You must have
- Must be able to supply the specific brand name product the Government named; the justification says only one manufacturer was found that meets the requirements
only one contractor responded with a quote and it was the same BVS products that IN had initially found.
- Appears to need access to GSA contracts, since price competition is described as among GSA vendors that can supply the brand
technically acceptable competition among GSA vendors capable of providing the requested brand
- Equipment must be TAA compliant (Trade Agreements Act)
TAA Compliant
- System must work isolated from the network it protects, with no PC or external network device
Other manufacturers lack certain required specs such as the ability to make this system isolated from the network
- No small business set-aside is used, so any size of business may respond
Not in the notice text
- Where and how to send the response (email address or portal) is not stated; the only contact given is the ombudsman, which is not for submissions
- Buyer name, phone number and email are not in the text provided
- Delivery date or period of performance is not stated
- Estimated value or budget is not stated
- Exact bill of materials, quantities and pricing format are in a spreadsheet (IDS BOM - Redacted.xlsx) that was not read
- The brand name and manufacturer are only partly shown (appears as BVS) because the justification is redacted
- Whether a competition will actually happen, and who can quote, is unclear given the conflict between the notice and the justification
- No page limits or evaluation factors beyond lowest price technically acceptable are given
- The justification mentions a requirement at Hill AFB while the place of performance is Wright-Patterson AFB; where each item is delivered is not clear
FedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 14, 2026, 4:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Oct 8, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Solicitation
- F4FFCN6253AW01
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Dept of the Air Force
- Office
- FA8604 AFLCMC Pzi
- Set-aside
- No Set aside used
- NAICS
- 334290
- Product/service code
- 6350
- Business type
- Electrical & electronic components
- Place of performance
- Wright Patterson AFB, OH, 45433
- Contracting contact
- Annika Hutchinsonannika.hutchinson@us.af.mil9372147299
- Versions
- 2 (amended since first posted)
Before you respond
Full notice text from SAM.gov
Similar open opportunities
- RECEIVER-TRANSMITTE, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source repair or modification of one receiver-transmitter unit.
- CIRCUIT BREAKERNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source purchase of 3 circuit breakers.
- POWER INPUT CABLENAVSUP Weapon Systems Support plans a sole source purchase of 5 power input cables (NSN 1R-5995-016912189-BL, reference 4222AS0166-01), delivered FOB Origin.
- CIRCUIT CARD ASSEMB, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support plans a sole-source repair of 14 circuit card assemblies (NSN 7R-5998-016779794-CC), delivered FOB Origin.
- Add of two (2) Part Numbers to Existing Delivery Order (DO) SPRRA226F0092The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation, Huntsville, AL) plans to add two cable assemblies for the Bradley Fighting Vehicle IBAS system to an existing delivery order.