Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
COOLER, LUBRICATING
Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency · Sol. SPRTA1-26-Q-0456
Due in 8 days
AI summary Beta
The Defense Logistics Agency (DLA, at Tinker AFB in Oklahoma City) wants to buy 13 brand-new lubricating oil coolers for the F-16 fighter jet. The coolers are for a Foreign Military Sales (FMS) case, meaning the U.S. buys on behalf of a foreign government. It is a one-time firm-fixed-price supply buy with a required delivery date of 18 April 2027. Quotes are due 16 October 2026.
Watch out for
- Part appears to come from specific manufacturers. Only two part numbers (CAGE 12536 and CAGE 78943) are listed, and no drawings or technical data package are provided, so a small business must confirm it can legally and technically supply a new-manufacture match.
Manufacturer Part Number
- Required engineering and marking documents not included. IUID marking depends on engineering orders (IUID_EO_12117-000.pdf and IUID_EO_UA538100-5.pdf) that are referenced but not in the files provided, so marking effort cannot be judged.
IUID_EO_12117-000.pdf
- Cybersecurity (CMMC) level not filled in. The clause leaves the required CMMC level as a blank for the Contracting Officer, so it is unclear what certification, if any, is needed to be awarded.
Contracting Officer insert: CMMC Level 1 (Self); CMMC Level 2 (Self); CMMC Level 2 (C3PAO); or
- Foreign Military Sales buy. FMS purchases add rules (FMS case ship-to codes, contingent-fee restrictions, export-controlled items) and the buyer can drop the quantity before award.
FMS reserves the right to decline any quantity amount, including the current
- Rated order (DO-A1). A defense priority rating means you must follow the Defense Priorities and Allocations System rules and give this order priority in your schedule.
This is a rated order certified for national defense, emergency preparedness, and energy program use
- Aerospace quality standard and material restrictions. AS9100 certification, plus specialty-metals and hexavalent chromium clauses, can be costly for a small shop to document and comply with.
252.223-7008 PROHIBITION OF HEXAVALENT CHROMIUM (JAN 2023)
- Evaluation wording is slightly unclear. The factors are listed in order (Price first, Technical Capability second) but non-price factors combined are said to be about equal to price, and no technical submission requirements are described.
Technical Capability 02
Full brief
What they want
- 13 each of a NEW-manufacture aluminum Cooler, Lubricating (NSN 2935-01-085-2864, or alternate NSN 2935-01-237-7995)
- Part number 12117-000 (CAGE 12536) and/or alternate UA538100-5 (CAGE 78943)
- Delivery by 18 April 2027 to the FMS ship-to code DTW004; early and partial shipments are allowed
- Item Unique Identification (IUID) marking on each cooler per MIL-STD-130
- Military packaging (MIL-STD-2073-1) and shipping marking (MIL-STD-129) per the packaging sheet (AFMC Form 158)
- Higher-level quality standard AS9100 listed on the line item
- Receiving report and invoice submitted electronically in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF)
- Optional: quantity price-break quotes (economic purchase quantity)
- Contract type
- Firm-fixed-price (single line item 0001, 13 EA); combined synopsis/solicitation using a Request for Quotation (SF 18)
- Period of performance
- No base/option structure. Single delivery requirement: 13 EA required on or before 18 APR 2027; early and partial shipments authorized
- Place of performance
- Notice lists USA. Delivery is FOB origin with inspection and acceptance at origin; ship-to is FMS code DTW004 (mark for DTW400)
- How they'll choose
- Two factors, Price or Cost (most important) and Technical Capability. All non-price factors combined are approximately equal to price. The Contracting Officer will also consider SPRS (Supplier Performance Risk System) item, price and supplier risk. No named method such as LPTA or tradeoff.
- Offers due
- 16 OCT 2026, close of business (SAM.gov shows 2026-10-16T15:00:00-05:00)
- How to submit
- Furnish quotations to the issuing office in Block 5A (DLA Weapons Support at Oklahoma City, DLR Procurement Operations (AO), 3001 Staff Drive, Tinker AFB OK 73145-3070). The buyer's email is listed on the form (brent.weilmuenster@us.af.mil), but the form does not state that email is an accepted way to submit.
What they'll judge offers on
- Price or Cost (order of importance 01)
- Technical Capability (order of importance 02)
What to include when you submit
- Complete and sign the SF 18 Request for Quotation (quoter name/address, CAGE, unit price, amount, signer, date)
- Quote must hold prices firm for 120 days
- Quote may be for the primary or alternate NSN/part number (listed 'And/Or')
- Submit quantity ranges that give price breaks, including at least the 13 EA requirement (FAR 52.207-4)
- Provide a proposed delivery date for the 13 EA
- Fill in the contractor-fill-in blocks for inspection/acceptance location and F.O.B. origin address
- Complete the representations and certifications (or confirm current SAM.gov reps and certs) including place of manufacture (52.225-18) and the child-labor certification (52.222-18)
- Check the covered telecommunications and covered defense telecommunications representations (52.204-24/-26, 252.204-7016/-7017)
- Questions go to the contracting officer, not the ombudsman
You must have
- Open competition: no small business set-aside. The size standard for NAICS 336413 is 1,250 employees (relevant only for size representations).
SIZE STD: 1,250
- Active SAM.gov registration with current representations and certifications, and SAM maintenance during the contract
52.204-13 SYSTEM FOR AWARD MANAGEMENT MAINTENANCE (OCT 2018)
- Must be registered in Wide Area WorkFlow (WAWF) to send invoices and receiving reports
Be registered to use WAWF at https://wawf.eb.mil/
- Quality system standard AS9100 listed as the higher-level contract quality requirement (tailoring and exact obligations not spelled out; check the line item)
Quality Assurance: Higher Level Contract Quality Requirements
- Cybersecurity: a CMMC (Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification) clause is included but the required level is left blank. Offerors with a NIST SP 800-171 assessment in SPRS may be required to show a current score.
Have and maintain for the duration of the contract a current CMMC status at the following CMMC level, or
- Must supply a new-manufacture item and mark it with an Item Unique Identification (IUID) mark
IUID Required: Yes
Not in the notice text
- Estimated contract value or budget (not stated)
- Exact way to submit the quote (email, mail or portal); the form only says to furnish quotations to the issuing office in Block 5A
- Which CMMC level, if any, is required (left blank in the clause)
- Whether sources other than the listed manufacturers (CAGE 12536 and 78943) are acceptable, and what technical data or source approval is needed
- Tailoring or details of the AS9100 requirement
- Content of the IUID engineering orders (IUID_EO_12117-000.pdf, IUID_EO_UA538100-5.pdf) and the exact marking locations/methods
- What the 'Technical Capability' factor requires you to submit
- Payment terms and any prompt-payment discount (blank on the form)
Is this a fit for your business?
Create a free accountFedReady checks notices like this against your business profile, tracks deadlines, and alerts you to new matches. Creating an account is free.
Key facts
- Response due
- Oct 16, 2026, 8:00 PM UTC
- Posted
- Sep 16, 2026
- Notice type
- Combined Synopsis/Solicitation
- Solicitation
- SPRTA1-26-Q-0456
- Agency
- Dept of Defense · Defense Logistics Agency
- Office
- DLA Aviation at Oklahoma City, Ok
- Set-aside
- No Set aside used
- NAICS
- 336413
- Product/service code
- 2935
- Business type
- Aircraft, ship & vehicle parts
- Contracting contact
- Brent Weilmuensterbrent.weilmuenster@us.af.mil3855912959
Full notice text from SAM.gov
NSN: 2935010852864 (Alt NSN: 2935012377995) PN: 12117-000 (Alt PN: UA538100-5) NOUN: COOLER, LUBRICATING QTY: 13 EA PLATFORM: F-16
Similar open opportunities
- Housing, ProportionerDLA Land and Maritime plans a firm-fixed-price RFP for 171 Housings, Proportioner (NSN 2915-012681594), as a single contract with direct delivery.
- 05F | C/KC-135 | COUPLING, FLEXIBLEThe Defense Logistics Agency (DLA Aviation) plans an unrestricted, 3-year indefinite quantity contract for a flexible coupling (insulation blanket) used on C/KC-135 aircraft,…
- RCU - KGX- 40A,AIRC, IN REPAIR/MODIFICATION OFNAVSUP Weapon Systems Support (Navy) plans a sole source buy tied to NSN 7R-1680-015855376-P8, quantity 2 each, delivered FOB origin.
- 05F | C/KC 135 | TRANSDUCER, FUEL CONTROLDLA Aviation plans an unrestricted indefinite quantity contract for fuel control transducers (NSN 2915-011955293) for C/KC-135 aircraft, about 80 per year over a 2-year base with…
- Disconnect Assembly LowerDLA Land and Maritime plans a single firm-fixed-price contract for Disconnect Assembly Lower (NSN 1660010350628), with an estimated 79 to 150 each and no options.